MSI GS63VR Stealth Pro review – Nvidia GTX 1060 graphics in a compact 15-incher

92 Comments

  1. Francisco Ortiz

    February 2, 2017 at 2:54 am

    Hey Derek Quick followup…thanks to your instructions i managed to upgrade the ssd for a 480gb BPX NVME UNit getting around 2500 read and 1600 write. Very happy with the machine now…didi a clean install and alll is well.

  2. Lee lie

    December 13, 2017 at 4:36 am

    Can i charge laptop using thunderbolt 3 for daily used.

  3. ninjataki

    March 16, 2018 at 7:15 am

    Hi Derek. Been researching this laptop like mad, tho yeah there are a few diff configs arent there! I'm late in on this, its now March 2018 but hey im in Australia and all we get is BS like late as and at total BS prices. Anyway I want this form factor and trust MSI so I'm sold on this laptop. HOWEVER!

    Now we have choices here of 1060 or 1070 MaxQ. also theres the 15 or 17" decision. I'm hearing mixed things. Some reviews claim good temps on the 17" but all reviews i read claim bad on 15". I want to ask you so many things but I'll collect my main thoughts and number them k.

    1. I don't game much but 'might'. Will do video eds eg Sony Vegas. I care more about screen color etc. Dont want the TN. Dont want 4k cause kill the b attery (at least on the 15, dunno the 17) Is there a way to know through windows what panel your getting in the panel lottery? I refuse to buy the LG screen, especially for the BS price we gotta pay here.

    2. Do you think due to having more space the 17" will run cooler than the 15? I prefer 15 size however temp is imperative to me for component longevity!

    3. I've heard MSI were slack and didnt bother to accommodate the MaxQ properly, they just dumped it in and altered nothing about the cooling. Hence getting bad reps on the 1070maxq combos.. sadly. Like I said before, cooling is primary to me even more than having a sparkling 1070. Im wondering if the 17" 1060 + IPS config is best for screen and cooling overall.. what do you think? I heard that 1070 maxq is only marginally better than 1060 non maxq anyway.

    I appreciate your help a lot! This laptop excites me, Im currently typing on my Travelmate 5720 with HD2600! My other lappy is DV6-6135tx with HD6770m (now a class 3 mid card but hey it holds up well considering its 2011 model!)

    THANK YOU KINDLY!

    • Derek Sullivan

      March 16, 2018 at 8:04 am

      First off, don't waste your money on the max-q. It's far too expensive and if you don't game much, it's worthless.

      Now onto the form factor; I think since you don't want Tn or 4k, you're pretty much locked into the 15" version. As far as I know, those are the only two options for the 17". Probably for the best because the 15" form factor is way more portable feeling.

      Unfortunately I don't know which models have which screen. You probably have to consult the forums to determine that. I did just recently get a "whitebook" model on eBay that had a higher quality LG screen in it. It's actually quite good and probably equal to Samsung's top FHD panel.

      In regards to heat, both laptops reach high thermals. I think the GS63VR probably gets hotter in the center and if it's on your lap. But in all honesty, if you're not doing heavy gaming, it's probably not going to affect you all that much.

      Hope this helps. Let me know if you have more questions.

      • ninjataki

        March 16, 2018 at 8:55 am

        Thanks for a fast reply! After reading your 17" review im leaning towards the 4k. However I notice here in Aus they all list "IPS level 4k", isnt that tn? models say MSI GS73VR 7RF-296AU, with another same but 239au, then another 240au. But nothing appears different in the specs! but price is vastly different. Extremely confusing!!

        I dunno.. 15.. 17.. ughhhhh

      • Derek Sullivan

        March 16, 2018 at 9:46 am

        I'm not aware of any 4k TN screens on the market. I could take a look at any links you have.

      • Andy

        March 17, 2018 at 9:18 am

        I read somewhere that the saying "ips level" was code for "great TN", they might have been off.

        Sorry for all the questions, it's just your reviews was the most practical comprehensive i've found and I really do have my heart set on this lappy but need to get the config right first go cause it is a lot of money.

        I'm picking up a vibe that the 17" is not proportional to the 15", meaning it loses a ton of that great portability for a meager gain of those 2". I've never held the 17" in RL, only the 15". If that statement is true then I'll go the 15" Perhaps thats the reason the 15" is redicolously expensive here in AUS but the 17" is actually cheaper!

        Dam so for my purpose of business, Vid editing and very occasional gaming (I dont play shooters, just like sim city etc strategy maybe the odd Jap Sexy Beach style game haha), you think the 120hz is a no-go? That would leave FHD panel-lottery or batt draining but good quality panel 4k.. what would you do? Also if I follow your undervoltage thing i can keep heat off right?

      • Derek Sullivan

        March 17, 2018 at 10:11 am

        So, for the "IPS level" concern – yes, for many manufacturers, it usually means PLS, AHVA or even really nice TN. It's very vague and I don't like the smoke and mirrors, but most manufacturer's marketing teams these days advertise that way. In the case of the 4k GS73VR, the panel is AHVA, which is very hard to distinguish from IPS.
        It's actually a really nice screen(assuming they haven't changed it since I had reviewed the Skylake model).

        What's really frustrating is resellers tend to just transpose the specs they get from MSI, which sometimes have errors. I haven't checked recently but when I was originally reviewing this and the GS73VR, almost everyone had the wrong screen and most had at least one spec wrong. It also really drives me crazy that they all put the same MSI marketing graphics, which basically have *ALL* the highlights of all models. So sometimes screen features that do not exist with that specific model makes determining the specs quite difficult. Even a couple custom PC builders claimed the GS73VR had a 120Hz true IPS screen, which is completely false. I even emailed them to verify and they did so, but were wrong and lost all credibility with me to this day.

        Yes, I've seen the same in the US – in many stores the 17" version is actually cheaper. It's mainly because the demand is lower and almost all of the components are exactly the same as the 15" model. Believe it or not, the only differences are the screen, battery and the case, which probably have identical costs to the 15" equivalents. As far as proportionality goes, the 17" model is pretty much in line actually. It's still actually one of the most portable 17" laptops available. But in comparison to the 15" model, it's 1.5lb heavier and almost 1.5" wider, which might make it difficult to put in some backpacks. It fit perfectly in mine though, which is why I kept it for so long. I have the GS63VR now though and thoroughly enjoy the lighter and thinner experience, while keeping the same hardware inside. The 180 degree hinge is also nice. Either way you go is nice – it'll just depend on your weight preferences and ultimately your screen choice.

        For your purposes, I'd avoid the 120Hz screen. It's really for gaming and not worth losing the benefits of IPS. The 4k screen on the 17" model is really nice(again assuming it hasn't changed) but also uses more battery. Worth the sacrifice in my opinion? Yes, but keep in mind that the programs you use for video editing might not scale well. My wife had this issue and ended up having to switch the resolution to FHD to do work. YMMV

        If you go 15", you'll have to deal with the lottery. After getting this whitebook GS63 model, this is the 5th screen I've heard of in this model to date. The 4k version is nice but is a battery hog. And for the FHD version, 3 out of the 4 are fine, with the 4th being atrocious(in my review). 1 out of the good 3 has PWM, but that may not affect you(I never notice).

        Worst case scenario, if you lose the lottery, you could always change the screen yourself. I tried it on the model I have now and it's not really that hard – it just depends on how handy you are and if you have the right tools. I could walk you through it if it came to that.

        For your last question, yes UV will help with heat. I also repasted with LM to further lower temps but I would not recommend that unless you really know what you are doing and are willing to take the risk.

  4. Andy

    March 19, 2018 at 7:30 am

    So after much thought I realized that 4k in a 15" just doesn't seem right. But in the 17" it works better imo, especially for my purpose of vid pro- adding real estate etc.

    The last thing to consider was that the 1060 can't really take advantage of the 4k (if I were to actually hit it with a high grade game), whereas if I were to go the 1070 + 4k + 17" aren't I hitting a good relatively safe future proof balance?

    That plan sounded great BUT that combo doesn't seem to exist in Australia! WTH!! It seems though I can get the !7" 4K 1060 here cheapest of all the combo's !? Go figure. So question is whether to go for that or hold out for a future 1070 4k 17" to hit that safe ground..

    What do you think oh oracle of the laptop world Derek my friend?

    • Derek Sullivan

      March 19, 2018 at 8:59 am

      Do you mean for games? If so a yes the 1060 is a little lacking for 4k. You would have to switch to FHD settings. But for everything else, the 1060 is more than enough. What programs are you planning on running?

      • Andy

        April 1, 2018 at 6:27 am

        My apologies Derek on not replying sooner. Actually I've made up my mind and I'll quickly share why.

        Form Factor and 180. I want the tight form factor of the 15", even over the 17". I though about other high end but cheaper alts like Asus rog gamer/Zeph and Acer Triton but only the MSI can open lid 180 which I need to use under my desk (like a keyboard) connected to an ext monitor.

        I wont settle for a 1060, I want the future proofing and 4k pushing power of the 1070 minimum. I'm willing to play the panel lottery and wont get 4k 15".

        So now it's very simple for me. I will sit tight and wait for a good GS63VR 7RG deal :) In the meantime my DV6 and Acer 5720's will tide me over.

      • Derek Sullivan

        April 1, 2018 at 6:38 am

        Nice, I'm glad you got it figured out.

  5. Bruno Monjon

    May 27, 2020 at 12:53 am

    Hello guys, I have this ultrabook, but 1 integrated component has fried. Could you help me finding this component? its name is AKVA625, I've no ideia where to find it…

    • Derek Sullivan

      May 27, 2020 at 2:06 am

      I’m not sure. Where are you getting that model number if the part is fried?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.