Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We do not collect your personal data.  I agree  Find out more  About cookies

Acer Predator Helios 300 PH317-53 Andrei Girbea Rating: 4.25 out of 5

Acer Predator Helios 300 review (2019 PH317-53 17-inch model – Core i7, RTX 2060)

16 Comments

  1. Nelson

    June 14, 2019 at 4:11 am

    It says price when reviewed starting 1300 but I can't find it in any website. Any suggestions where to find? If it's only 100 difference seems like the 17 over the 15 is a no brainier, right?

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 14, 2019 at 10:11 am

      Hi, availability and configurations differ from region to region, so it might not be available in this version where you live, yet. Whether it's worth the extra $100 for the 17-inch is up to you, some would favor the better cooling over portability, others would prefer the 15-inch form factor.

      Also, that $1300 starting price is most likely for the 1660ti variant, it's not the price of the reviewed configuration. Sry if that was misleading.

  2. Chris

    June 21, 2019 at 7:26 pm

    Any news on when the 17-inch 1660 Ti model will be available in the United States? I haven't been able to find much on it and am shopping for a gaming laptop, but would really love the better cooling and larger screen.

    Thanks!

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 22, 2019 at 12:54 pm

      Unfortunately, no. You could try to get in touch with Acer reps on facebook/twitter and see if they can offer any updates

  3. Maciej

    July 19, 2019 at 1:45 am

    So the gtx 1660ti config in 1900usd, rtx 2060 is 1650usd, and rtx 2070 (still not sure if its max q or not) is 1800. Why in the hell is gtx the most exepsive on their site?! Do you have any info if that mayby is full sized 1660ti, and 2060 and 70 are max q? Or something?

    Here are the links:
    1660ti:
    https://www.acer.com/ac/en/US/content/predator-model/NH.Q5PAA.001
    2060:
    https://www.acer.com/ac/en/US/content/predator-model/NH.Q5QAA.001
    2070:
    https://www.acer.com/ac/en/US/content/predator-model/NH.Q5RAA.002

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 19, 2019 at 12:17 pm

      Let the price settle for a while. The 1660 and 2060 are full-power 80W, not sure about the 2070

  4. Rohan

    July 29, 2019 at 12:02 pm

    Hi, I am planning on getting this next week. The 2060 RTX version. I am not however very tech savvy and a lot of what you have said flew over my head (purely due to my own ignorance. Can you please tell me if this is a good choice? I heard the Asus scar 3 had throttling issues and I am unable to get the Y740 in my country, atleast not for another 2 months. I have already waited too long to get a new unit so want to get it asap. If you have any other suggestions also please let me know. Thank you very much.

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 29, 2019 at 1:13 pm

      Yep, this is one of the better and most price-competitive 2060 laptops out there.

      • Rohan

        August 7, 2019 at 7:18 am

        Thank you! Ive read a lot of conflicting reviews and started second guessing myself. I am getting the 17 inch version so I hope the noise and backlight bleeding is not so bad as mentioned for the 15 inch in many reviews. Btw is the Legion Y740 a definite better choice than this?

        • Andrei Girbea

          August 7, 2019 at 10:36 am

          The Y740 is a good laptop as well, but I don't think it's necessarily a better choice. it has some things on its side, like the cleaner design, better keyboard and Thunderbolt 3, but as far as I know, it's also more expensive.

          Unfortunately, QC can be problematic with modern computers, so you can end up with various flaws like screen bleeding, coil whine, wireless issues, clunky clickpads, etc etc. And that's no matter of the brand you end up choosing. that's why I always advise on buying from a place that takes return without any restocking fee, if possible, so you can return the laptop in the eventuality you get a dud.

          • Rohan

            August 7, 2019 at 10:54 am

            I am getting it from an Acer exclusive store so replacement in-case of a dud shouldn't be an issue as long as I make the complaint within 7 days of purchase. The Y740 is not that different in price here in India but its availability is still in a state of flux. I have spent over two months trying to educate myself on how these systems function (your reviews have been the most helpful along with notebookcheck), and I finally decided on this version of Helios but then saw the 740 and started second guessing myself. Thing is I've already given a small advance amount to Acer for reserving a unit for me (available tomrw eve), and I am apprehensive on whether they will return it if I shift to Lenovo. Thank you so much for your prompt responses, I guess if the difference between these two units aren't as game-changing as I presumed then Ill stick the Helios.

  5. Adrian

    August 9, 2019 at 9:54 am

    Hello, Im glad I found this side with reviews. I will buy new unit, thanks to the ultrabookreview.com I decided to take Predator Helios 300 instead of Nitro 7 (I was almost sure that Nitro 7 will be the one for me). But now Im asking myself, 17.3"or 15.6"? I didnt have to many laptops in my life, but all of them were 15.6". I like more the bigger one becouse of its thermal culture. The unit more of the time will be used on the desk in a home, but if in need: is 17.3" fit anought to grab it, put it in the case/bag and take anywahere with me? Thanks and regards!

  6. Pio

    August 12, 2019 at 5:07 pm

    Hello! Nice review. I have one question: what about the Intel HD Graphics 630 – is it activated and ready to use? In Helios 500 it was also in specification, but it appears tahat Acer deactivated it peermanently and it was not possible to use Intel HD 630. So in that case it shouldnt be in specs… All it is about the power consumption during for example web surfing – no need to use GTX. Thx in advance for an answer. /Pio

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *