Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We do not collect your personal data.  I agree  Find out more  About cookies

Acer Predator Helios 300 review (PH315-52 model – Core i7, RTX 2060 OC)

35 Comments

  1. Jorge

    May 24, 2019 at 9:19 pm

    Where can i find the review forma the 17.3 in model?
    Do you know the launch date on Amazon?
    Thanks!

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 27, 2019 at 11:59 am

      It's in the works, will be available in a dau or two

  2. Michael Francis Warren

    June 8, 2019 at 12:34 am

    It's important to note that recent tests show that the i7 9750H runs about 5 degrees cooler and uses less power than the i7 8750H. This would likely help the heat and battery issues.

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 10, 2019 at 11:55 am

      Any link for that? You can't generalize, that's going to depend on each implementation imo.

  3. Taimur

    June 19, 2019 at 2:00 pm

    Can you post a link to get RTX2060 with 32 GB DDR4 and 2×512 SSDs for $1199? I really can't find it anywhere :(

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 19, 2019 at 2:13 pm

      that's the starting price for the base level configuration. That's why it says FROM $1199.

      • Taimur Ahmed

        June 19, 2019 at 7:43 pm

        Ah missed out on the keyword 'from' :D

    • varshith rao

      August 25, 2019 at 6:54 pm

      you can find it in amazon.com

  4. Debabrata Sahoo

    June 27, 2019 at 8:06 am

    Any idea when these models would get released in the South-east Asian markets, say, particularly India?

    This seems like one of the better valued systems on the market this year.

    Awesome writing, buddy. Enjoyed reading through it.

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 27, 2019 at 10:39 am

      No, try to get in touch with the local PR on social media and see if they can offer any info

  5. DAN

    June 30, 2019 at 1:50 pm

    VERY GOOD review BUT I HAVE A question blue light OF this screen is Comfortable or bad

  6. Environmental

    July 12, 2019 at 6:39 pm

    what's the environmental temperature when you were testing the CPU, plz?

  7. frank

    September 5, 2019 at 8:50 pm

    Predator Sense latest version added a CoolBoost feature to the Autofan, which will raise fan speeds some over defaults in auto mode.
    Addressing one of the issues mentioned in the review.

  8. Saidharshan

    October 7, 2019 at 10:29 am

    Whether all variant comes with 4 zone RGB lighting…

  9. Zai

    October 15, 2019 at 3:09 am

    Is this laptap good for content and creative work not just as gaming?

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 15, 2019 at 3:15 pm

      It's a good performance laptop, so yes. You might want a more accurate external screen, though

  10. Michael Devaney

    November 29, 2019 at 7:28 pm

    This has both ssd and nvme storage, correct? Is there a limit to the size of the storage that can be installed? Could I use 1 or 2 TB nvme disks in addition to the 2 TB ssd? Thanks

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 29, 2019 at 7:40 pm

      Yes, it has an M.2 slot and a 2.5" bay. Not sure if 2 TB M.2 SSDs are supported though.

  11. Athar

    December 16, 2019 at 3:29 pm

    Does the Turbo Button Light up? The lines surrounding the Trackpad and the lines next to the Predator logo on the lid? Do that light up? If Yes, My unit is faulty.

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 16, 2019 at 4:43 pm

      I don't remember about the Turbo button, but the others do not.

    • Uchira Samarakoon

      August 8, 2020 at 8:33 pm

      Have you found the answer to your question. Bcs I have the same issue.

  12. Jaime Andrade

    February 28, 2020 at 6:53 am

    I have the model i7-9750H, RTX 2060, 16Gb DDR4 ram, 512Gb SSD, could you help me with an optimal configuration for XTU to maintain good temperatures and good performance?

    • Jaime Andrade

      February 28, 2020 at 6:59 am

      And what program do you use to set this configuration? I checked the latest version of XTU and the i7-9750H does not list

  13. LHPSU

    April 6, 2020 at 11:37 pm

    Where are the long term impressions? Could not find them at a glance.

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 7, 2020 at 10:25 am

      I went an updated the various sections of the article with updated impressions after sporadically using the laptop for these months, and updated the benchmarks and performance/thermals sections. I'll add a note to better explain this

  14. Kingsley George Pouponeau

    April 12, 2020 at 3:22 pm

    hi. is this laptop good for 3d animation with Maya 2019?

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 12, 2020 at 4:54 pm

      Should be, yes, but also one of the new AMD 4000 configurations should make a lot of sense for that sort of load

  15. César E.

    May 23, 2020 at 10:26 pm

    I am interested in buying a gaming laptop in the price range 1200-1300 dollars, this acer is an excellent option especially the analyzed version that claims to be 1300 dollars in the United States, but when I click on the updated prices link there are no options at that price , costing almost 1500 dollars the version with 1660ti and I don't understand this, will it be a problem of incorrect search? Can you clarify for me on this matter?

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 24, 2020 at 11:02 am

      You might have to research this yourself and see where you can still find in stores.

  16. Carmella Sanchez

    July 1, 2020 at 12:36 am

    The 2019 ACER Predator Helios 300 PH315-52-75DE i7-9750H with RTX 2060, mfr date 10/24/2019 got a score of 4027 on Unigine SuperPosition on 1080P Extreme with Predator Sense fans on Auto and GPU Over Clock set to Extreme. June 30, 2020. Other benchmarks all depends, some lower and some a bit higher. Most times you will get a lower score than all the review articles you read that post benchmarks. You have to use them as a Guideline, no two computers are alike even if built with the same identical hardware – components the results will be different or should I say exact. The 2020 Acer models offer small changes, so if you have a 2018 or 2019 it is not worth spending the money for the new 2020 model. The Helios 700 or Triton 300 if you want to pay out big money can have 240Hz refresh rate screen and RTX 2080 Super max-Q but ACER used to same Intel CPU 14nm architecture only increasing – tweaking the Turbo clock frequency. So no real step up in 2018 i7- 8750H to 2019 i7-9870H and new 10th Gen 2020 i7-10750H same old processor with a slightly boosted Turbo.

  17. Ubersonic

    July 5, 2020 at 11:02 pm

    As a former Helios 300 owner I really hoped the new model would address the heat issues but it seems they have again gone for thinness over cooling :(

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 6, 2020 at 10:24 am

      I'm finishing up the review of the updated 2020 Helios this week. This here is the 2019 model

      • MS

        August 2, 2020 at 1:52 pm

        Andrei,

        Great in-depth review as always, really appreciate your detailed work.

        Any update on the review of the Helios 300 2020 model – PH315-53? I have read from other reviews that the 2020 model uses the same panel but it is somehow brighter than the 2019 model.

        Also I am confused by the large variation in the contrast ratio measurements shown in other reviews. for example this review – https://www.notebookcheck.net/Acer-Predator-Helios-300-Laptop-Review-A-modern-gaming-laptop-with-a-Turing-GPU.441292.0.html, claims a contrast ratio of 1275:1 whereas your review shows 772:1. This is making it hard for me to decide if the display is good enough for general use and gaming (not for professional photo/video work). Would love to know your thoughts on this.

        • Andrei Girbea

          August 4, 2020 at 5:22 pm

          I'm finalizing the Helios 300 review these days, should be up soon, sry for the delay.

          As for that contrast difference, it's because of the older Sypder 4 tool that we used at that time. Notebookcheck's results are more accurate, and we've also updated the sensor in the meantime. That panel is fine for everyday use.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *