Asus ROG Flow X13 review (GV302XV – Ryzen 9 7940HS, RTX 4060)

21 Comments

  1. YESHY

    September 15, 2023 at 7:03 pm

    FINALLY THANK YOU

    I haven't read yet, but my major gripe is that the screen isn't HDR / special (I have the 4070 version).

    (Also there's no 60W 4080 option, if throttled 80W 4090 is unrealistic, since they have to upsell their eGPU)

  2. Nelson

    September 16, 2023 at 4:26 am

    Amazing review, quality is unparalleled. I've followed you through the years and reviews just get better!

    Can you say more about charing with third party adapter?

    1. Is there pass-through or does it cycle around the battery limi like the g14?
    2. Does the battery discharge while gaming? On reddit people tried 100w adapter and it discharges. 2022 model was 65w limited this is 100w limited
    3. Does it matter which of the two usb c poets you use?

    Is the screen really glossy and it annoys you? I personally prefer screens like the g14

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 17, 2023 at 3:12 pm

      With the main charger:

      1. as far as I can tell, there is pass-through, since this is primarily designed to pe powered by USB-C. Not sure how exactly I can check this, but I'm not seeing battery discharge with daily use
      2. I'll have to double check once I get the time, I haven't specifically looked into it.
      3. No, both USb-C ports can be used for charging.

      I haven't checked the power settings with a 3rd party charger. I'll have to look into it, once I get the time (not sure exactly when at this point)

      The screen is glossy, that's a given with touchscreens.

      • Raymond C

        September 18, 2023 at 4:41 pm

        About the power pass-through, from what I have read, you can do it this way.

        1. Set a battery limit through MyAsus or third-party apps such as G-helper (I guess for a benchmark, you might want to use Asus original apps). IIRC MyAsus only lets you set it to 80%, but G-helper can set a value between 40% and 80%.

        2. After you reach the threshold, use monitoring apps to read the battery discharge rate while using the laptop. If it's 0, that means the DC pass-through is working.

        AFAIK, the G14 Zephyrus definitely has a power pass-through if you use the barrel charger, but no pass-through through the USB-C charger.

      • Nelson

        September 19, 2023 at 12:25 am

        Amazing thanks. It's sad to know it drains while gaming. This makes the point of third party usb c charging laprop …again useless. I blew my battery with the g14 using a USB c because I didn't know it was charger and discharging around the limit, now this one will discharge while gaming. Isn't the whole point of having USB c charging as being able to use any charger instead of having to bring the brick around?

        Andrei is the discharge present on both ports? Thanks!

      • Andrei Girbea

        September 19, 2023 at 11:02 am

        I only tested on the one on the left in (the XG Mobile port). BUT, there's no discharge with the main power supply that comes with the laptop. So why is it that important for you to use a 3rd party charger?

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 18, 2023 at 2:26 pm

      Hi. I've added an update on using a 3rd party charger. It's at the end of the Battery life section.

      • Jose

        September 18, 2023 at 8:34 pm

        I tested with fairly good 100w usb-c adapter, it can take 100w from 3rd party adapters, which is much better than the previous limit of 65w

      • Andrei Girbea

        September 19, 2023 at 11:01 am

        Interesting. I got different results with a MacBook Pro USB-C 67W charger.

        Edited: My initial reply erroneously claimed different results with a 135W MacBook charger. However, I actually tested my unit with a 67W Apple charger, so getting higher power with a more powerful charger makes sense.

      • JSA

        September 24, 2023 at 7:38 am

        Here is example. It was drawing 90-100w in heavier loads

      • Andrei Girbea

        September 24, 2023 at 10:42 am

        Thank you! I double checked and I must apologize for a mistake that I made in my previous comment.

        I was stating that I tested this with a 135W Apple charger, but in fact, the tests were performed with a 67W MacBook Pro 13 charger. Hence. the lower power draw in our findings.

        At this point, I don't have a higher power USB-C 3rdparty charger to perform other tests.

  3. Joosua Santasalo

    September 17, 2023 at 6:59 am

    Thx for the review!

    The X13 32gb model is actually available at 2499€ for Nordics. Got one from Asus directly.

    Great performer, and I am quite sure, that it could match the battery life of 2022 model with further updates. The increased performance seems to have reduced the efficiency by 15-20%, but compared to previous gen, this thing most certainly feels bit snappier in various loads

  4. tomas

    September 19, 2023 at 2:04 pm

    HEY ANDREI,1-do you recommend this laptop for premier pro and adobe photoshop in real world usage?
    2-general question:do you have any advice for laptop high idle power consumption?(for more battery life)

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 21, 2023 at 10:54 am

      Generally, yes, but it depends. If a 13-inch laptop is a must, then yes, this X13 and the Intel-based Z13 are your best bets. I'd say the Intel model is a little better suited for Adobe software. You'll find Puget benchmarks in both reviews, for comparison.

      If you're fine a a 14-inch device, there are other options to consider as well.

      Your 2nd question is complex. I'd try to minimize installed software and everything running in the background, use the lower power profile available, lower the screen brightness, etc. You'll have to adapt to each situation and understand what's causing the high power at idle

  5. RoFoz

    October 5, 2023 at 9:11 am

    Thank you for this superb review, which covers in detail the subtle (and not-so-subtle) differences between models. Really helpful and clear.

  6. bittricks

    October 8, 2023 at 6:59 am

    I purchased the first version of this laptop with the AMD Ryzen 9 5900HS back in mid 2021.

    Except for the rubber "pips" at the front corners of the palm deck falling out and the plastic palm deck itself, this model has been great.

    If the rubber pips fall out, you can send the unit to ASUS under warranty for a palm deck replacement. If it is beyond warranty, OEM palm decks were available directly from ASUS – it was just that they were out of stock for a long while.

    I set the power mode to Manual and the thing is a real performer given its form factor. I could multi-task with office productivity apps while simultaneously running a few virtual machines in Hyper-V, all without any noticeable issues caused by lack of hardware or memory resources.

    If I needed to upgrade to the latest version of this model, I would not hesitate to make the purchase. I'd just wait for it to go on sale.

  7. Petr

    October 21, 2023 at 4:01 pm

    Hi Andrei,
    thank you for this very informative review!
    When running on battery, does the laptop always default to integrated GPU and you can only switch it to NVIDIA dGPU by switching to Ultra mode and make a restart? That is what I read in other reviews but you seem to indicate in your text that dGPU stays at work even when running on battery, though with limited power.
    And related to this, if the laptop defaults to 35W for GPU on battery, please how does this power compare to running on integrated GPU?

    Finally, please did you try running Photoshop or other photo editing SW on this laptop on battery? If so, please how long would it roughly last?

    Thank you,
    Petr

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 22, 2023 at 1:59 pm

      By default, the dGPU is actively enabled when needed. That means that if you're running a game, the dGPU will be switched on, regardless if you're running on battery or plugged in.

      However, you can control this with the available modes: Ultimate (always keep the dGPU on) or Eco (completely disables the dGPU for all loads).

      I haven't tested gaming performance on Eco mode on battery use, if this is what you're asking. I also haven't tested battery life with Photoshop. That wouldn't be realistic to test anyway, because it would be dependent on the activity and load. General use wouldn't need a lot of power, but rendering would consume plenty.

  8. bittricks

    October 31, 2023 at 6:12 am

    Caveat Emptor

    The build quality of the palm deck remains an issue.

    1. The front standoff pips (front corner of palm deck) and rear standoff strips (in front of each hinge) are just rubber held in-place with adhesive. The adhesive is weak and both types of pips fall out if the device owner is not delicate when cleaning the palm deck or constantly puts pressure on the front pips with their wrists. Just a little bit of repetitive rubbing on the front pips causes them to fall out.

    1.1 If either falls out, the screen contacts the keys and oil outlines or scratches will result on the screen.

    1.2 This is a known issue (ASUS knows all about it) continuing on from the original version released in 2021. Despite this fact, getting a replacement palm deck can be a challenge even if under warranty because ASUS' palm deck suppliers have frequently been out-of-stock.

    1.3 ASUS does not provide replacement pips & strips; the user only has two options: either replace the entire palm deck or try to reattach the standoff pips (I tried something like 10 or different adhesives – spent over $100 USD – but the rubber pips never did stick).

    1.4 I tried to find a replacement palm deck, but the only I could find was through ASUS – which required jumping through hoops because the warranty administrative staff did not even know what I was talking about when I started the warranty process.

    2. The palm deck is still plastic that wears quickly where the hands\wrists are placed on the deck resulting in smooth, shiny sections of plastic.

    Other than that, it is still a beast of a little system. I have the original 2021 version. At this point the palm deck is beat. I just purchased the new version and the left front pip and the right rear strip already came detached from the adhesive and fell out. This is the same thing that happened on the 2021 version, but much quicker.

    Because a fix is such a challenge, I have resolved to not purchase another Flow X13 until ASUS changes the palm deck design – which is unlikely to happen. It's a shame actually. Exceptional capacity relative to size. There truly is no 13 inch equal on the market that I am aware of except for the Z13.

    If somebody needs a 13 inch powerhouse, then I strongly advise them to choose the Z13 if they can live with the quirky ergonomics.

  9. bittricks

    December 31, 2023 at 10:08 am

    I forgot to add that Armoury Crate is massive bloatware that is, except for the power configuration, entirely unneeded and unnecessary on this system. There are no RGB color capabilities on the Flow X13.

    Over the prior year, Armoury Crate updates have caused a slew of serious issue after serious issue.

    One can choose to remove Armoury Crate and replace it with G-Helper, but from the little bit of testing of G-Helper that I did on my 2 X13s, I am not confident that the power configuration works the same as the one in Armoury Crate. G-Helper enthusiasts and regular users of it insist that it works just the same as the power profiles for X13 in Armoury Crate.

    Given the cheap palm deck that wears quickly, the rubber pips that fall out and cannot be replaced, and the issues with Armoury Crate I've experienced over the prior 12 months across multiple ASUS systems (2 Flow X13s, and a tower PC system) I have made up my mind not to purchase another ASUS system.

    Shame really, but these sorts of issues are deal breakers when you pay a premium price but then get basically no viable support options.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *