Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We do not collect your personal data.  I agree  Find out more  About cookies

Asus ROG Strix GL553VE Andrei Girbea Rating: 4 out of 5

Asus ROG Strix GL553VE review – multimedia laptop with Core i7-7700HQ and Nvidia GTX 1050 Ti hardware

11 Comments

  1. Harshvir Singh

    October 3, 2017 at 12:43 pm

    the dell 7567 has better speakers, build quality and a bigger battery than asus gl553 which has a better display. How huge are the advantages of both these laptops over the other?

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 4, 2017 at 5:27 am

      THe GL553 gets a better screen though and run quieter/cooler. It also gets the optical drive, if you need it.

      Personally I'd rather opt for the Dell for the looks, build and especially the battery. I'd make sure to get the IPS screen though.

  2. Mohamed

    October 10, 2017 at 4:33 pm

    Would you suggest the GL553 or the Acer Nitro 5? It will be used for college purposes and a little bit of gaming as well. Please also focus on the heat management of both laptops and their battery life.

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 10, 2017 at 4:43 pm

      I'd get the Gl553 between the two for the better screen and cooling, but I doubt these sell for the same price.

  3. Constantine

    November 17, 2017 at 2:57 pm

    What did you use and how did you calibrate the screen to achieve such a small DeltaE ? How complex are the steps for it and where should I put the calibrated profile you made avaiable?

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 20, 2017 at 5:42 am

      I'm using a Sypder4 Elite. the readings differ from those of the xrite sensors used by other websites. Google how to use an .icc file in Windows and you'll find out what to do with the provided color profile

  4. Prakyath

    November 24, 2017 at 7:01 am

    Which version HDMI output it has.

    • martinez_

      March 21, 2018 at 12:18 am

      I would like to know the same thing, hdmi 1.4? but hdmi 1.4 can be used to output 1080p content at 144Hz?

      regards.

  5. Nick Waterton

    August 7, 2018 at 7:34 am

    You say the unit came with two M.2 slots. The second one is “hidden behind the motherboard”. Where exactly is this located? I can’t find it on my GL553VD.
    Thanks

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 7, 2018 at 11:56 am

      I never took the motherboard apart, but now that I have a better look at the motherboard and this hwinfo log ( https://www.ultrabookreview.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/03/hwinfo.png), I realize I was wrong. There are 2 SSD drives on this test unit, the visible M.2 one next to HDD is the 128 GB one, and there's also another 256 GB MTFDDAK256TBN drive. I assumed at that point that was a M.2 SSD hidden behind the motherboard, but now I think that was actually mounted in a caddy that replaced the optical drive. You can see four screws that suggest a 2.5" HDD inside: https://www.ultrabookreview.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/03/internals-1.jpg , while in this dissasembly guide there aren't any: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ibfl1jkjcnM .

      SO in conclusion there's only one M.2 slot, as well as a 2.5" bay and the ability to mount one extra 2.5" drive instead of the optical drive. Not sure where you can find a matching cradle for it, but I'd expect Amazon/Ebay to offer some solutions.

      Sry for all the confusion and the mess-up, I've addressed the article.

      • Nick Waterton

        August 8, 2018 at 12:34 am

        I see, thanks. I’m planning on adding an extra hdd (in a bay replacing the optical), was hoping for a minute that I could just add another M.2 Drive.

        Have a caddy on order.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *