Asus Vivobook Pro 14X OLED review (M7400QE model, AMD Ryzen + 3050Ti)

13 Comments

  1. 205

    September 13, 2021 at 3:57 pm

    Great review. One thing I still miss with OLED reviews: Since OLEDs have mostly different subpixel arrangements compared to IPS displays, this should be mentioned. Even on such high res screens, I see a difference in text clarity. Not that I can see single pixels but there is still a notable difference between an UHD 14" IPS vs OLED with less subpixels. Former is just significantly sharper, finer, crispier.

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 13, 2021 at 4:57 pm

      Thanks. I'm seeing the same at FHD resolution, but the difference is small to none to my eyes at QHD and above. Is that UHD OLED touch by any chance? perhaps the touch layer might be the culprit?

      • 205

        September 13, 2021 at 6:21 pm

        Yes, it is. I am talking about the current gen Zenbook with an UHD OLED. Not sure if it is the touch layer. The difference is nuanced and as long you do not see the UHD IPS counterpart, you think, hey all fine, sharp and no pixel. But once you see the UHD IPS you see a distinct difference in text clarity. Hard to describe, would love to do a comparison with a macro lense in order to be able to count the subpixels haha.

        Because even if it's the touch layer, the OLED still lacks 1/3 or even more of subpixels…

      • Andrei Girbea

        September 13, 2021 at 6:43 pm

        Interesting. I'll try to look into it as well once I get the chance.

    • Kurt

      September 14, 2021 at 1:38 am

      Current gen ZenBooks use 2nd Gen Samsung OLED (both 16:9 FHD and UHD) which use Pentile matrix so there is noticeable "dirtiness" of the display up close.

      The new 3rd Gen OLED used here with the VivoBook Pro and other laptops like Dell XPS 15 have fixed this issue by using a different sub-pixel pattern while not identical to IPS, almost completely resolves the former graininess of static images and lack of text sharpness.

      This has also been confirmed by Shortcircuit YT channel.

      • 205

        September 15, 2021 at 1:06 pm

        You are referring to this https://youtu.be/5GBcMVwp0nY?t=538 ?

        While the subpixel arrangement looks even more weird than ever the reviewer feels better with it than with previous models, so this is some good news. The model is from April. Still IDK, this is a 16:9 FHD and I wonder how and if newer UHD OLEDs will match the clarity and crispiness of UHD IPS'. I still believe that latter give you better quality on 13 to 14 inch, I mean it's even better than an offset print.

      • Jacob

        September 19, 2021 at 7:17 am

        I haven't used a ZenBook, but I've used OLED laptops from Alienware, Razer, and HP since the OLED Alienware 13 was released in 2017. All of them used Samsung panels and none had a Pentile matrix. The subpixel layout was unusual, but each pixel had its own distinct (not shared) R, G, and B subpixel. There are review sites that have very clear images of the layout. It seems strange that ASUS would opt for a Pentile layout when non-Pentile layouts were already available.

        The HP models had significant graininess that the Alienware and Razer models did not, despite all being touch screens.

      • Andrei Girbea

        September 19, 2021 at 11:06 am

        What's interesting here is that I compared the exact same panel in a non-touch and touch variant. The touch was grainy, the non-touch was perfectly smooth. Hence, in this case the graininess is added by the touch layer.

      • Jacob

        September 19, 2021 at 12:42 pm

        I forgot I also used the OLED version of the Lenovo Thinkpad X1 Yoga, which was also touch but didn't seem grainy.

        The HP models weren't just grainy – they had tiny visible red dots on white backgrounds from the touch layer.

        I'm not sure what the policy of linking to other sites is, but the majority of OLED laptops have had Samsung panels with the following RGB, non-Pentile pixel structure (see the image near the top):
        anandtech.com/show/10697/the-lenovo-thinkpad-x1-yoga-review/6

        However, it does seem some ASUS models use panels with a different structure (see the "Display – OLED technology" section):
        notebookcheck.net/Asus-ZenBook-Flip-13-in-review-Compact-convertible-with-great-OLED-display.550248.0.html

      • Andrei Girbea

        September 19, 2021 at 1:17 pm

        I don't have the right microscope to check out the pixel structure on these 16:10 OLEDs in the late-2021 ZenBooks and VivoBooks, so we'll have to wait for others to do it. They might be different than on the Flip and other OLED ZenBooks launched earlier in the year.

  2. Kurt

    September 15, 2021 at 4:59 pm

    No, the 3rd Generation Samsung OLEDs are all 16:10, 3K, which is used on major OEMs like Dell, Lenovo and ASUS. That particular 16:9 2K display on the Galaxy Book Pro laptop is custom designed for Samsung's own laptops and they do not mass produce it for other manufacturers to source. It has been discovered to cause blurriness issues displaying text due to Windows Cleartype not playing well with the OLED panel's new subpixel matrix, source: "ColorScale" – popular Korean Tech-YouTube channel.

    If you want a proper OLED without text and static image issues, your options are limited to newest laptops like the Vivobook that sources the 3rd Gen technology.

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 16, 2021 at 10:26 am

      Kurt, I appreciate your insights on these new OLED panels. I wasn't aware of the changes

      • Kurt

        September 16, 2021 at 10:51 am

        No problem, keep up the good work :)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *