Asus VivoBook Pro 15 K3500PC and K3500PA review (Intel + RTX 3050 or Iris Xe, OLED)

12 Comments

  1. Nacho

    November 30, 2021 at 12:27 am

    Good evening.

    I've been looking to Asus Vivobooks's computers and I'm a little confused. I know that I want 1TB SSD, OLED screen, so I've seen all the Vivobook PRO OLED (16, 15 and 14 sizes). My main concern is about the CPU: I chose the vivobook becasuse they usually add an NVIDIA GPU, but I don't know which CPU I should buy (the INTEL models or the AMD models)because, as you say in your review, a different CPU can bring different results in working with the NVIDIA graphics. I want the laptop to work from home (mostly word, exel, chrome, access… I don't require huge programs like Adobe premiere or anything else) and play some videogames such us Outer wilds

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 30, 2021 at 8:48 am

      You should be fine with either Intel or AMD. I prefer the AMD route because the CPUs are faster in multi-threaded applications (which you won't need from what you're saying), more efficient on battery, and the price is usually lower. Plus, the AMD models are available with 3050Ti chips, while the Intel versions only go up to a 3050. Up to you and what's available in your region.

  2. Arashi

    January 8, 2022 at 2:13 pm

    What about the HDMI? In the table it says 1.4 WTF.
    If that's true it's a huge problem, you won't be able to use modern external monitors, any cheap laptop came at least with HDMI 2.0

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 8, 2022 at 2:17 pm

      the specs are correct. You can connect a modern screen via USB-C/ Thunderbolt 4, so not really an issue.

      • Arashi

        January 10, 2022 at 11:42 am

        Yes, but then you need to buy an external adapter and you lost the Thunderbold port.
        Even if you buy a Dock with multiple ports (expensive af…) the display adapter takes at least half of the bandwidth so you won't be able to use it 100%.
        I mean, if this laptop was around 400-500€ that would be no problem…but it's almost a thousand…I don't even ask for a HDMI 2.1, just the old 2.0 that every cheap PC has (even a 100€ mini PC has it…)

      • Andrei Girbea

        January 10, 2022 at 11:46 am

        Yeah, support for HDMI 2.0 would have been better. I guess you need to drive a 4K monitor at 60 Hz, and 1.4b won't suffice?

        As far as the TB dock goes, DP has its dedicated bandwidth allocation, so I don't understand your argument.

      • Arashi

        January 10, 2022 at 12:07 pm

        Thanks for the reply!
        In my case it's a 2K 144hz monitor, my old laptop (gtx 1050 and HDMI 2.0) moves it almost fine, I will still move to Displayport so that's why I'm searching for Thunderbolt port so in my personal case it could not be a problem but still, if you are a normal user who got as you said a 4k monitor you won't be able to use it.

        Sorry, but I didn't get your point , what do you mean with "DP has its dedicated bandwidth allocation", If I understand correctly, the Thunderbolt port has 40Gbps, if I'm using a dock with a display port it will take I guess at least 20Gbps for it and the rest will be used for another ports. In this case if the HDMI would be 2.0 I could use the full 40Gbps for another devices.
        Still, It's strange that you use the port fully but it's a limitation

      • Andrei Girbea

        January 10, 2022 at 12:13 pm

        That's not how TB works. Yes, a TB3 port offers 40 Gbps of total bandwidth, but, in short – because in practice this can vary, 8 Gb are already reserved for DP and only up to 32 for everything else. You'll find more about it online.

      • Arashi

        January 10, 2022 at 12:28 pm

        I didn't know that!
        I checked and yes…
        well…I will have to balance pros and cons but being the market as it it's I think I will keep it (just bought it before seeing the review, already on his way).
        Thanks for the help Andrei!

  3. Arashi

    January 11, 2022 at 7:01 pm

    Okay, so I finally have the laptop, this are the things I dislike:

    -Windows doesn't recognize the SSD, you have to search for drivers on your own (nothing on ASUS website), also, in the Windows , you have to use external mousse to install it.
    -The HDMI, as I said before it's 1.4 version, so you will be limited to 1080p only in good quality
    -It doesn't have Ethernet – Come on! I din't even realize until I tried to use it, it's a huge problem in a working laptop (and no, Thunderbolt hub it's not an option if you have to waste around 200€ for a displayport and Ethernet)
    -The video output it's the Intel Graphics always (HDMI and Thunderbolt), so you can use the Nvidia only for brute performance but you have to work with all Intel configurations

  4. María

    January 22, 2022 at 6:58 pm

    Hi, do you think this laptop would be good for using design programs? Like the Adobe Suite for example. I am not that tech savvy, but I am an art student and I am looking for a good laptop for these kind of apps. Thank you :)

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 25, 2022 at 10:32 am

      should be OK for light and medium weight tasks

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.