Lenovo IdeaPad 5 Pro 16 review – AMD Ryzen budget 16-inch 16:10 laptop

22 Comments

  1. Aren

    November 30, 2021 at 7:51 am

    In my country Ideapad 5 Pro costs almost the same as entry level Legion 5 Pro. Legion is heavier.
    Can you tell me if in "office" workload Ideapad is quieter and cooler than Legion 5 Pro?

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 30, 2021 at 8:52 am

      both are quiet and cool with light use. You can't really compare those two series. You're probably looking at a top-specced IdeaPad 5 Pro with a dGPU? If yes, be aware that will run louder and hotter under load than what I have here. Should still be fine with daily use, though.

      • Juan

        December 9, 2021 at 8:04 am

        How about multitasking between email office (spreadset and word), onedrive, and youtube music, how many hours will it last?

      • Andrei Girbea

        December 9, 2021 at 9:48 am

        An average of our browsing and text editing estimations

  2. sowen76635

    November 30, 2021 at 11:19 am

    Nice review thanks. Very similar in terms of build to this laptop YOGA Slim 7 Pro 16 available in Europe right now. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zunHkHAp7GE

  3. JJ

    November 30, 2021 at 2:57 pm

    Thanks for the review, especially for the explainations on heat and noise.
    Did you notice screen wobble? Other reviewer mention wobble even during typing (which is a No-Go)

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 30, 2021 at 3:09 pm

      Not really. It wobbles if you poke it or for a few seconds after you move the laptop, but it stabilizes very quickly. I'm not seeing any wobbling or movement as I'm typing right now with the laptop on the desk.

  4. Stewart Oliver

    November 30, 2021 at 10:59 pm

    Purchased a Lenovo Idea Pad 5 Ryzen 7 (15.6) which proved to be a disaster after 3 months. On closing the laptop, the black casing near the left hinge came apart with black pieces coming apart. Although laptop worked I couldn’t close it anymore. The Lenovo company refused to honour the warranty saying that the laptop was abused.
    “Lenovo guarantee claims that the product is free from defects in materials and workmanship under use.”

    I am not impressed with laptop and Lenovo. I do not recommend this product.

  5. Kalumba

    December 1, 2021 at 2:01 pm

    Hey Andrei, you guys haven't reviewed the Thinkbook 16p yet. I think it's quite a compelling laptop as it's basically a professional version of the Legion Slim 7. Would love to see your deep dive on it.

  6. Martin

    December 8, 2021 at 6:32 pm

    Have you or anyone who has this laptop made the USB-C docking function work? I have 2 monitors with USB-C docking and this laptop only says "your display connection might be limited" on both of them. I even exchanged the laptop but the issue persists across Windows 10, Windows 11, different versions of AMD drivers etc. I even took it to Lenovo certified service center and they confirmed it doesn't work with their hardware either.

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 8, 2021 at 7:09 pm

      I don't have any experience with USB-C docks. What is the limitation in your case?

      • Maritn

        December 8, 2021 at 10:01 pm

        What do you mean by limitation? I have BenQ EW3270U and Philips 328P6VUBREB and none of them work over USB-C with the laptop…

      • Andrei Girbea

        December 8, 2021 at 10:11 pm

        Got it. I no longer have the laptop around to restest my USB-C connectivity. Do these monitors work with the same USB-C cable with other laptops?

      • Martin

        December 8, 2021 at 11:09 pm

        Yeah they do, even with smartphones! It also works with Lenovo Yoga Slim 7, which is Lenovo as well and also AMD Ryzen based so I don't see any reason it shouldn't work.

      • Andrei Girbea

        December 9, 2021 at 9:44 am

        I looked around and there seem to be other reports as well with the USB-C port not working well on DP: the monitor lights up, but then it turns off. Couldn't find an explanation. Have you tried with both USB-C ports, the one in the back and the one in the middle?

        Also, no need to submit a comment multiple times, just wait for me to get it in order to approve it or reply!

  7. Martin

    December 9, 2021 at 10:14 am

    Sorry for multiple comments I'm in a place with bad connection so I wasn't sure it made it through… Yeah tried both but according to PSREF only the middle one has DP.

    Actually you're right at the beginning in one out of 100 tries it would turn on, display something in like 1024×768 instead of 4k and turn off with the error mentioned above. But never since.

  8. Michael

    December 16, 2021 at 5:47 pm

    Hello Andrei, thank you for the detailed review of this model.

    I've become somewhat weary of dividing my digital experience between a desktop PC, a beefier Pavillion gaming laptop because of the GPU and my favorite lighter and cool but ageing Matebook D14 with Ryzen graphics.

    I want my next laptop to be the only PC I use for everything, take it with me everywhere or dock it with a monitor on a desk, and no longer jump between computers. I want something similar to my Matebook D14 in 14" size, 1,5kg weight, IPS display quality, great battery life and quick USB-C charging but with better performance and the Ideapad 5 Pro 14 seems to fulfill most of these requirements.

    Right now there are two models of this Lenovo Ideapad 5 Pro selling in my country, one with AMD Ryzen 7 5800U – RAM: 16 GB – 512 GB SSD PCIe – AMD Radeon Graphics at 900€ and another Intel Core i7-1165G7 – RAM: 16 GB – 1 TB SSD – NVIDIA GeForce MX450 at 1200€

    I wish I could find a model with 32GB of RAM but it's so incredibly rare. Anyway, Windows 10/11 does a decent job of caching to disk when needed without noticeable slowdown.

    Do you think the i7-1165G7 + MX450 combo is worth the extra 300€?
    I do some image editing for scientific publications (figures, graphical abstracts), work with GIS software and might require some light video editing.

    The only game I really have interest is Halo Infinite, which runs on low settings at 35FPS on the GTX1050 3GB, but I don't really want to carry a bulky laptop around just because of 1 game, so screw if I can't use my laptop for games. I might as well just build cheap a desktop PC and use it like a console.

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 17, 2021 at 11:47 am

      The Intel+MX configuration is better balanced, but I don't think is worth that kind of extra. Sure, Graphics-wise, the MX is significantly more capable, so the question is whether the 4C i7 is enough for your needs.

      Have you also considered something like e a VivoBook Pro 14X or maybe an Acer Swift X 14, if available? AMD and more capable graphics, plus better cooling than the IdeaPad 5 Pro 14 (which is different from the 16 here).

      If possible, I'd also consider waiting for next-gen hardware updates early next year, with potential availability in stores around end of Q1. You'll get more capable Intel Alder Lake platforms and better balanced AMD with similar CPU power, but improved Vega graphics.

      • Michael

        December 18, 2021 at 2:18 am

        Hi, thank you for these suggestions.

        I wasn't aware of the Asus Vivobook Pro 14X, seems to fulfill pretty much all my requirements (except USB-C is data transfer only – I'd like my laptop to charge with the same USB-C charger of the smartphone so as to avoid another power brick to carry around).

        However, it is priced similarly to the ASUS ROG Zephyrus 14, which I thought was ASUS prime offering for this kind of segment. Can you recommend what would be the best choice between the two?

        And yes, I'd probably do better waiting for the next-gen, but I wouldn't mind getting a nice discount on a current model if possible. Right now

        VivoBook Pro 14X is 1350€ w/ 150€ discount (Ryzen 7 5800H; 1 TB; 16 GB; RTX 3050)

        Zephyrus G14 is 1274€ w/ 225€ discount (Ryzen 9 5900HS; 512GB; 16GB; RTX 3050 Ti)

      • Andrei Girbea

        December 18, 2021 at 1:27 pm

        The G14 is better value imo unless you want that OLED display with 100% DCI-P3 on the VivoBook. It's a better performer with better cooling and a better keyboard. It's also a bit thicker and heavier, though, so up to you. No need for the Ryzen 9, if you can find the Ryzen 7 for a little cheaper.

    • Geo

      January 13, 2022 at 10:57 pm

      I bought 4 of these laptops for me and some friends. The one with GPU (1650) seemed to spin up the fan quite often, but you can actually game on it. Probably I would have disabled the Nvidia card in the bios if I had kept this one for myself.

      There were variations in the quality of the keyboard too, the one similar with the reviewed one (5600h + 120hz display) had the worse keyboard, while the other 3 had a better version.

      In the end I kept the cheapest one for myself, the 600 euros (black Friday price) with 5600h and 60hz display. To my eyes, the display looks pretty much the same as the 120hz version, at least for my usage. I'm also satisfied with the touchpad, once set up at the highest sensitivity can be used enjoyably (But yeah, when you need to click instead of tap it's bad).

      There are some irritating issues though – there is no real sleep option, you have to do connected standby sleep, uses some 20-30% of the battery overnight.

      I don't care much for the aluminum case – my plasticky latitudes and ThinkPads were much nicer to touch.

      I didn't discover how to stop charging the battery at 80% or 90% … Lenovo offers a threshold of 50-60% so maybe the microcontroller has this option …

      The bios is very locked down … But there's a guy who discovered a way to unlock de bios to customize the device further … I didn't venture there yet.

      As the reviewer said, the display is the real hero – it's almost as two fullhd displays rotated and squished together … Great for work.

      • Andrei Girbea

        January 14, 2022 at 11:34 am

        thanks for the feedback.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *