Lenovo IdeaPad/Yoga Slim 7 14ARE05 review (AMD Ryzen 7 4800U, Vega 8) – unmatched in its class

35 Comments

  1. Mux

    September 23, 2020 at 8:03 pm

    The 16:9 display cripples this machine, makes it very hard to use compared to 3:2 and 16:10 displays

    • Adrian

      October 17, 2020 at 10:59 am

      Thanks for this detailed review really appreciate it. By chance came across it, because I am having issues with my 13.3inch Ideapad S540 w/4600u and no discrete GPU.

      Having sleep issues where the laptop goes to sleep after two minutes no matter what setting in the power plans. Tried troubleshooting with Lenovo and they tried everything including a fresh reset of Windows. Laptop went to sleep during Windows 10 setup. Yet it works in safe mode.

      Sounds to me mine will have to wait for a BIOS update, but I've also read online of other brands laptops with Renoir CPUs having sleep problems. Especially since the May 2020 update Win 10 2004.

      I also thought I had problems with battery life as I have a 2K screen and 57Wh battery. Seems as that's not the case thankfully, since your results match up with mine when it comes to web browsing at 60% brightness in Chrome.

      • Andrei Girbea

        October 17, 2020 at 11:14 am

        Are you still within the return window? I'd recommend sending it back if you are, as these kinds of issues are difficult to troubleshoot.

        • Adrian

          October 17, 2020 at 11:18 am

          I think I am, and they wouldn't send a hardware rep for on-site repair (had paid for it as part of extended warranty) as they believe it's a software and not a hardware issue.

          At the moment, having the idea of keeping it a few months to see if there are any more BIOS updates (there have been two already in the couple of months i've owned it), to see if they fix the issue. If not, then will send it back under warranty :(

  2. mind12

    September 23, 2020 at 8:37 pm

    Thank you for this review.
    Amazing machine. Cant wait the upcoming Tiger lake reviews and prices.

    Could you help me how to translate the workstation workload test results?
    Considering this machine as a light CAD portable for my wife.

    Small mistake: the 2nd m.2 slot is a size 2242 not a 2230. https://psref.lenovo.com/Product/Yoga/Yoga_Slim_7_14ARE05

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 23, 2020 at 8:58 pm

      This page does a good job explaining Specviewperf, with further links to extra details: https://www.anandtech.com/show/12934/asrock-deskmini-z370-gtx1060-review/6 . You'll also find comparison tables on the specviewperf site if you plan to compare different laptops. This one will excel in CPU-heavy tasks, but struggle in GPU-accelerated tasks. I'm not that familiar with recent CAD versions, do they use the GPU as well?

      • mind12

        September 24, 2020 at 10:26 am

        This was useful thank you.
        For 2D Autocad workload the GPU is not needed.

        Never mind, this morning she told me that she also uses Sketchup, Archicad for 3D design and V-ray for rendering the results, so I just dropped all notebooks with integrated GPU :(

  3. bittricks

    September 24, 2020 at 8:41 am

    In North America, this model is not available with AMD. And the current Intel version is priced at $1500 USD.

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 24, 2020 at 3:13 pm

      It's $899 on the Lenovo website with i7 + MX350 . Not bad

      • mind12

        September 25, 2020 at 8:59 am

        In my country the i7 with iGPU is more expensive than a 1650 Ti legion 5. It's not a great value.

        • Andrei Girbea

          September 25, 2020 at 11:25 am

          Come on, you're comparing apples to oranges, a portable laptop with a full-size gamer. That's not fair or right.

  4. p1ayaa

    September 24, 2020 at 10:10 pm

    I returned my 4700u version, because believe it or not the keyboard backlight bleed and intensity of keyboard backlight brightness even at the lowest setting, killed it for me.

    Also the highly pitched whir that the fans gave off when I ran some games.

    Amazing but flawed product in my book – I really liked the build quality however felt sturdy and robust.

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 25, 2020 at 11:24 am

      I've seen some other people complaining about the fan noise, but it's really not an issue on my sample. Were you expecting no noise at all, or just the pitch bothers you somewhat? I was actually expecting worse before I got the product

      • P1ayaa

        September 25, 2020 at 7:07 pm

        Oh considering the performance these machines bring I certaibly expected some moderate to high noise – its par for the course.

        What bothers me is certainly the high pitch, I've had the same type of whir appear on Razer Blade Stealth late 2019 edition.

        For example I used to own Zenbook UM431DA and that thing was the exact opposite – even at its loudest you could hear the fans spinning and lots of air blown into the screen, but no high frequency whirring that annoys me.

        But its the way too bright keyboard backlight that turned me off at the end – I use my laptops at night in the dark a lot and it was really uncomfortable.

        Btw are most/all lenovo keyboards backlit that bright even on lowest settings?

        • Andrei Girbea

          September 25, 2020 at 7:50 pm

          tbh, i don't look for it. What I look is for the LEDs to be bright enough on the highest settings, I found that to be an issue with some laptops, but I've never looked at the min-brightness level and never considered that would be an issue. I understand what you mean, though.

  5. mind12

    September 25, 2020 at 1:24 pm

    True, in this ultrabook segment it's a great device.
    It depends on your needs if it's satisfying for you or not.

  6. littler

    October 2, 2020 at 10:46 pm

    Great review thank you! I own the 4800u model with a matte display. Unfortunately, I'm one of the many who experience annoying fan behaviour.

    My Slim 7 is completely silent with everyday tasks when I run it on battery. But as soon as I attach the charger while – let's say – watching Netflix the fans kick in and won't stop until i unplug the charger again. It seems as if the Slim 7's CPU starts turbo boosting for no reason as soon as the charger is attached. The only way I am able to get rid of the problem is to set max. CPU state to 99% – but that's no solution for me. Could you do me a favor and check if you encounter the same while watching either Netflix or twitch.tv when charging?

    Or do you have any idea what the reason could be and how to better the situation?

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 3, 2020 at 4:57 pm

      No, I haven't encountered this issue on my unit. Does Lenovo support have anything to say about it?

      • littler

        October 3, 2020 at 9:29 pm

        Not yet. I talked to them but no success so far. I'll try next week again. This is really weird. A friend of mine has the Slim 7 4700U – exactly same behaviour. Super silent, but once you plug in the charger it's a comepletely different thing.

  7. Norman

    October 17, 2020 at 10:55 pm

    Hi. I am an engineering student and i am looking for an affordable and powerfull laptop. I am planning to get either this one or Asus Zenbook um433iq(https://www.ultrabookreview.com/37505-asus-zenbook-um433iq-review/#c0), but I cant decide which one. Can you help me?

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 18, 2020 at 12:59 pm

      Performance wise, this offers a faster CPU, that one gets a much more capable graphics chip. The other details are in the reviews, such as the typing experience, build, screens, thermals, etc

  8. Adam

    November 10, 2020 at 10:07 pm

    Have you tried this? tenforums.com/tutorials/72133-add-system-unattended-sleep-timeout-power-options-windows.html. Kind of stupid fubction of windows. Add it through registry file, and set it in battery setting to large number. Could solve you the problem.

  9. Adam

    November 10, 2020 at 10:15 pm

    I had a same problem. I got ryzen 4700u. It was quiet on battery, but crazy on chrager. I even tried the intel version with i5 and mx350. And guess what – it was even worse. Intel unit started pulsing fan on battery even during youtube. As a ultrabook user, its crucial for me to have a laptop which can cope with basic tasks fanless. This is not that case. Lenovo got bad reputation about fan spinning more than necessary. And despite of that, both laptops were hot as hell even during light multitasking. I really liked the design, IO, price/performance ratio, display, snappiness – just everything – except of that unbearable fan noise….such a pity.

  10. Alexandru Mihael

    November 14, 2020 at 8:48 pm

    Hey there.
    I just bought this model and it serms that it has a problem with the trackpad. On the left side, it has a very annoying sound when touching. It looks like it is not perfectly fitted there.. Should i consider retunring the unit or is a common problem of construction?
    Thanks!

  11. Michael Edward

    December 5, 2020 at 12:24 pm

    Would I ever appreciate the speed and power of the ryzen 7 if my daily task were email, word processing, surfing and netflicks? I currently have i5 10th gen with 16gb which seems more than adequate.

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 5, 2020 at 1:27 pm

      I'd say a little bit with heavier multitasking between those apps all running at the same time, but for the most part, no

  12. DJ

    December 5, 2020 at 2:11 pm

    This laptop sold out within 24 hours when it was put up for pre-order in my country, and I was lucky enough to get one. (Maybe they have restocked now, I'm not sure.)

    It's been perfect for me so far. I'm happy that Lenovo built a quality machine around the Renoir's flagship U-series chip. (I've read that this Yoga, as a ‘halo’ product, involved more collaboration than usual between the OEM and AMD, and it clearly paid off.) It's almost crazy that Lenovo sells this for cheaper than comparable, but inferior, Intel-based products, but I guess that's what happens when AMD still has to play catch-up on mindshare in the laptop market.

    By the way, the adaptive brightness/ambient light sensor can be turned off with the default Windows Settings app:

    System → Display → untick “Change brightness automatically when lighting changes”

  13. Wil9620

    December 7, 2020 at 9:04 pm

    Great review, well-detailed, it helped me a lot !

    Here in France we only have 2 available versions : 4500u with 8GB RAM and 4700u with 16GB RAM.

    I am planning to use it for school (word + mail + web + powerpoint basically). I know that 4500u is more than OK, but do you think 8HB RAM will be enough, and will still be enough in 2-3 years for that usage ?

    Also do you think that there is a difference in battery life between the 4500u / 8gb RAM and the 4700u / 16gb RAM model ?

    Thanks !!

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 8, 2020 at 10:49 am

      Hi. I'd reach for the 16 GB version, especially if you plan to keep it for 3+ years. Battery life is the same between the two.

  14. A.

    December 20, 2020 at 12:19 am

    It's a bit strange that you got a glossy screen: have you ordered the laptop from abroad? I'm asking because all the models available in Romania come with anti-glare displays, not with glossy ones (see the table at https://psref.lenovo.com/Product/Yoga/Yoga_Slim_7_14ARE05).

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 20, 2020 at 2:28 pm

      yes, this unit was ordered from a different country.

  15. Stefano

    January 22, 2021 at 10:26 am

    I see quite a lot of complaints about noise loudness / pitch. Does that also apply when setting the laptop to Battery Saving? I've briefly tested an Ideapad 5 and found that it becomes super quiet in that modality (33 dB under full load). Of course you loose relatively a big slice of available performance, but those CPUs are so powerful that for many tasks that modality might be just fine. Apparently it works fine even with real-time audio tasks.

  16. Jan

    March 26, 2021 at 11:04 am

    Thanks for this great review. Any update on the Intel versions?
    Also, I'm considering this laptop for business use, mostly visualising data (tableau, power bi), large excel/google drive files, cloud database connections and furthermore online meetings, browsing and emailing. Would I need the AMD 4800 for that typically, or less is fine?

    Thanks.

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 26, 2021 at 11:06 am

      the 4700U should do just fine as well, although if you can wait, Ryzen 5000 updates should be available in the next few months and those are quite an improvement in general performance. No update on the Intel models

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *