Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We do not collect your personal data.  I agree  Find out more  About cookies

Lenovo IdeaPad/Yoga Slim 7 14ARE05 review (AMD Ryzen 7 4800U, Vega 8) – unmatched in its class

21 Comments

  1. Mux

    September 23, 2020 at 8:03 pm

    The 16:9 display cripples this machine, makes it very hard to use compared to 3:2 and 16:10 displays

    • Adrian

      October 17, 2020 at 10:59 am

      Thanks for this detailed review really appreciate it. By chance came across it, because I am having issues with my 13.3inch Ideapad S540 w/4600u and no discrete GPU.

      Having sleep issues where the laptop goes to sleep after two minutes no matter what setting in the power plans. Tried troubleshooting with Lenovo and they tried everything including a fresh reset of Windows. Laptop went to sleep during Windows 10 setup. Yet it works in safe mode.

      Sounds to me mine will have to wait for a BIOS update, but I've also read online of other brands laptops with Renoir CPUs having sleep problems. Especially since the May 2020 update Win 10 2004.

      I also thought I had problems with battery life as I have a 2K screen and 57Wh battery. Seems as that's not the case thankfully, since your results match up with mine when it comes to web browsing at 60% brightness in Chrome.

      • Andrei Girbea

        October 17, 2020 at 11:14 am

        Are you still within the return window? I'd recommend sending it back if you are, as these kinds of issues are difficult to troubleshoot.

        • Adrian

          October 17, 2020 at 11:18 am

          I think I am, and they wouldn't send a hardware rep for on-site repair (had paid for it as part of extended warranty) as they believe it's a software and not a hardware issue.

          At the moment, having the idea of keeping it a few months to see if there are any more BIOS updates (there have been two already in the couple of months i've owned it), to see if they fix the issue. If not, then will send it back under warranty :(

  2. mind12

    September 23, 2020 at 8:37 pm

    Thank you for this review.
    Amazing machine. Cant wait the upcoming Tiger lake reviews and prices.

    Could you help me how to translate the workstation workload test results?
    Considering this machine as a light CAD portable for my wife.

    Small mistake: the 2nd m.2 slot is a size 2242 not a 2230. https://psref.lenovo.com/Product/Yoga/Yoga_Slim_7_14ARE05

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 23, 2020 at 8:58 pm

      This page does a good job explaining Specviewperf, with further links to extra details: https://www.anandtech.com/show/12934/asrock-deskmini-z370-gtx1060-review/6 . You'll also find comparison tables on the specviewperf site if you plan to compare different laptops. This one will excel in CPU-heavy tasks, but struggle in GPU-accelerated tasks. I'm not that familiar with recent CAD versions, do they use the GPU as well?

      • mind12

        September 24, 2020 at 10:26 am

        This was useful thank you.
        For 2D Autocad workload the GPU is not needed.

        Never mind, this morning she told me that she also uses Sketchup, Archicad for 3D design and V-ray for rendering the results, so I just dropped all notebooks with integrated GPU :(

  3. bittricks

    September 24, 2020 at 8:41 am

    In North America, this model is not available with AMD. And the current Intel version is priced at $1500 USD.

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 24, 2020 at 3:13 pm

      It's $899 on the Lenovo website with i7 + MX350 . Not bad

      • mind12

        September 25, 2020 at 8:59 am

        In my country the i7 with iGPU is more expensive than a 1650 Ti legion 5. It's not a great value.

        • Andrei Girbea

          September 25, 2020 at 11:25 am

          Come on, you're comparing apples to oranges, a portable laptop with a full-size gamer. That's not fair or right.

  4. p1ayaa

    September 24, 2020 at 10:10 pm

    I returned my 4700u version, because believe it or not the keyboard backlight bleed and intensity of keyboard backlight brightness even at the lowest setting, killed it for me.

    Also the highly pitched whir that the fans gave off when I ran some games.

    Amazing but flawed product in my book – I really liked the build quality however felt sturdy and robust.

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 25, 2020 at 11:24 am

      I've seen some other people complaining about the fan noise, but it's really not an issue on my sample. Were you expecting no noise at all, or just the pitch bothers you somewhat? I was actually expecting worse before I got the product

      • P1ayaa

        September 25, 2020 at 7:07 pm

        Oh considering the performance these machines bring I certaibly expected some moderate to high noise – its par for the course.

        What bothers me is certainly the high pitch, I've had the same type of whir appear on Razer Blade Stealth late 2019 edition.

        For example I used to own Zenbook UM431DA and that thing was the exact opposite – even at its loudest you could hear the fans spinning and lots of air blown into the screen, but no high frequency whirring that annoys me.

        But its the way too bright keyboard backlight that turned me off at the end – I use my laptops at night in the dark a lot and it was really uncomfortable.

        Btw are most/all lenovo keyboards backlit that bright even on lowest settings?

        • Andrei Girbea

          September 25, 2020 at 7:50 pm

          tbh, i don't look for it. What I look is for the LEDs to be bright enough on the highest settings, I found that to be an issue with some laptops, but I've never looked at the min-brightness level and never considered that would be an issue. I understand what you mean, though.

  5. mind12

    September 25, 2020 at 1:24 pm

    True, in this ultrabook segment it's a great device.
    It depends on your needs if it's satisfying for you or not.

  6. littler

    October 2, 2020 at 10:46 pm

    Great review thank you! I own the 4800u model with a matte display. Unfortunately, I'm one of the many who experience annoying fan behaviour.

    My Slim 7 is completely silent with everyday tasks when I run it on battery. But as soon as I attach the charger while – let's say – watching Netflix the fans kick in and won't stop until i unplug the charger again. It seems as if the Slim 7's CPU starts turbo boosting for no reason as soon as the charger is attached. The only way I am able to get rid of the problem is to set max. CPU state to 99% – but that's no solution for me. Could you do me a favor and check if you encounter the same while watching either Netflix or twitch.tv when charging?

    Or do you have any idea what the reason could be and how to better the situation?

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 3, 2020 at 4:57 pm

      No, I haven't encountered this issue on my unit. Does Lenovo support have anything to say about it?

      • littler

        October 3, 2020 at 9:29 pm

        Not yet. I talked to them but no success so far. I'll try next week again. This is really weird. A friend of mine has the Slim 7 4700U – exactly same behaviour. Super silent, but once you plug in the charger it's a comepletely different thing.

  7. Norman

    October 17, 2020 at 10:55 pm

    Hi. I am an engineering student and i am looking for an affordable and powerfull laptop. I am planning to get either this one or Asus Zenbook um433iq(https://www.ultrabookreview.com/37505-asus-zenbook-um433iq-review/#c0), but I cant decide which one. Can you help me?

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 18, 2020 at 12:59 pm

      Performance wise, this offers a faster CPU, that one gets a much more capable graphics chip. The other details are in the reviews, such as the typing experience, build, screens, thermals, etc

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *