Asus Zenbook Pro UX501 (UX501VW ) review and in-depth impressions

85 Comments

  1. Petar Lupic

    March 3, 2017 at 8:21 am

    Serius yellow color problem! I returned it back for full refund. Dont buy this if your photogrpher!

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 3, 2017 at 12:34 pm

      This review already warns about that, in the eventuality you actually read it :)

  2. Davorin

    May 12, 2017 at 2:51 am

    I send the laptop back for warranty they nedded to change the whole motherboard.
    The motherboard didnt last a year YOU SELL SHITTY PRODUCT never again I WILL BOUGT shitty asus..

    tHANK YOU FOR YOUR NO SUPPORT ASUS

  3. Andrei Oprescu

    May 31, 2017 at 5:17 am

    Hi Andrei,

    I bought the Zenbook Pro UX501JW – FJ061T (1400 euro from Romania one year ago) 128 Gb SSD + 1tb, 8 gb ram DDR, nVidia GTX 960m (I regret not buying the Skylake version 256 gb ssd, 8/12 ram DDR4 maybe was better but I don`t know how much better the prices were very similar), I use it primarly in Lightroom and it`s slow, I am very dissapointed how it performs in Lightroom, I feel like the SSD is not fast enough, even if I copy/paste a big file on SSD the speed is oscillating between 26-50 mb/sec but mostly around 26 mbps. I installed a fresh copy of windows 10 but still it`s the same.
    After 15 minutes of using only Lightroom (not even a browser opened) it really slows down, after a restart is working ok but then after 10-15 minutes again slows really bad (it takes 6-8 seconds if I want to just zoom on a picture).

    I would have prefferd the version with the matte FHD display, thats why I stayed blocked on this configuration.

    Do you have any advice on how to make it run faster? Maybe I have to install or update a driver?

    Thank you, any advice is welcomed even another system.

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 31, 2017 at 9:44 am

      Hi Andrei,

      That sounds like throttling, you should use HWinfo to monitor CPU and GPU speeds during your loads and see if the noticeable drop in performance is corroborated with a drop in frequency and high temperatures. If there's indeed thermal throttling, repasting the CPU/GPU might help.

      Ont the SSD, I don't remember exactly if this computer supports PCIe SSDs, but it probably doesn't. So I don't think you can get a faster SSD. Could try updating the ASCII drivers though, these have been a problem in the latest Windows 10 updates.

  4. Rick

    November 24, 2017 at 2:37 pm

    I actually purchased a used ux501v for work. I use it on the weekends to play fps games with my kids in multiplayer mode mostly with wifi connectivity. I purchased it instead of the XPS 15 because of the 10key pad which I use constantly at work (when off the dock). I wiped the ssd and installed an unbloated Win 10 pro and currently have the insider preview version of the os running. I use it as an outside salesman part of the time and love the touch screen as well as the needed 10key. I personally prefer the silver keys over contrasting keys for looks. I used to have a Mac Powerbook G4 and have never gotten over the appearance of the body colored keys with available backlight for the evenings. I also keep the screen at 1080 instead of 4k. It works better visually when I have it docked in my office with 3 screens running and makes little difference to me when out on the road. The scaling from a 4k to 2 HD monitors was hard on the eyes although the computer made it appear seamless. I was going to upgrade the removable ram stick to give me 24 gigs of ram, but I have had no issues with performance in any game, photo editor, or video editor yet. I've only had it 5 months, so I may still upgrade it and the 512gb hd to a 2tb, but for now, I have the fastest and most versatile computer in my company. The only disappointment is the speakers. They are basically the only weak spot on this machine. For me, it's not a big deal since I have speakers on my HDMI in the office and bluetooth in my truck. I wear headphones for gaming, so I rarely use the speakers. The battery power in my office (just a test) was just over 5 hours. In my truck, it was on and off a lot more, but it lasts a 10 hour day with 22% or better left if I don't plug it in between visits.If the battery gets weak, I will probably do all the upgrading at once. For now, it does everything I need with style and grace.

  5. Alicia

    June 9, 2018 at 5:07 am

    I've purchased my Asus Zenbook Pro UX501V in January 2016 when i just released it for not long. The model i got was built in December 2015(shown at the back of the laptop itself).I still remember that when i first bought it and turned it on when i reached home, the touchpad is faulty. Had to send it back and get a brand new laptop. Was already losing a little confidence at the time.

    So since then I've been using that laptop. However in Late May 2018, my laptop died. Sent to the service centre and was told the motherboard is faulty, cost AUD $800 to get it replaced, excluding labour cost.

    I was in shock and disappointed!!! It's only been 2 1/2 years of using it! And I spent about AUD$2.7k when I bought it! I don't think I'm a heavy user as tasks I carry out are usually, Autocad, Sketchup, Done Lumion rendering few times and that's it! I dont use it for gaming at all!

    Utter disappointment!!

    I WILL NEVER GET AN ASUS ZENBOOK AGAIN! Something for you guys to think about.

  6. Peter

    October 4, 2019 at 1:20 pm

    What is the value now of this? Do you think this is better of a macbook pro 15”, mid 2015?
    I mostly use it for photo retouching (photoshop, lightroom), sometimes doing also the video part (premiere).
    What is now the best laptop I can get around 1000$?
    Thanks

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 4, 2019 at 4:04 pm

      This is old and the hardware has come a long way since. I'd reckon you need good hardware, do you also need a good screen?

      Around $1000 can get you something like the Lenovo legion Y540 or the Acer predator helios, both with fast processors and decent graphics. They don't get the most color-accurate screens, but those aren't that bad either at about 75% AdoebRGB

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *