Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click OK and continue to use the site.  OK

Ultrabook reviews, guides and comparisons
Asus VivoBook Pro N580VD / M580VD Andrei Girbea Rating: 4 out of 5

Asus VivoBook Pro N580VD / M580VD review – mid-range multimedia laptop

42 Comments

  1. Conrad

    August 6, 2017 at 7:03 am

    Thanks, was waiting for this one.

    I'm looking for a good multitasking rig, 7700HQ, 1300 euros max. I don't care much for gaming, but a good FHD screen is a must (no washed-out colors). There don't appear to be many options besides the Vivobook pro. I have found the Aspire 7 screen to be mediocre at best, amd aggressive laptop gaming color schemes are out of the question.

    Q: What ever happened to the Intel Optane memory the high-end configurations of the N580 supposed to be equipped with?

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 6, 2017 at 11:30 am

      I don't think Optane is going to make such a big difference on this laptop if you already put an SSD in the M.2 slot. It's supposed to make laptops with a regular HDD much faster for a fraction of the price of an SSD, so it would make more sense in the lower end configurations.

  2. mystiq

    August 7, 2017 at 5:44 am

    great review as always andrei, when i saw the internal of this vivobook pro especially on the heatpipes side, i think the thermal is good compared to UX550VD ? LOL

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 7, 2017 at 10:16 am

      It's better, yes. The two are pretty much the same thickness, but the N580 has the heat-pipes hooked up to both fans, as well as better intake and output grills. As you can see from the hwinfo picks, performance is really solid here, with no speed drops and throttling in everyday use and games

      • mystiq

        August 11, 2017 at 10:17 am

        okay, thanks in advance for the information about the thermal cooling, so in term of speakers sound wich one do you like between vivobook n580 , zenbook UX550 or the dell 7567 ??

  3. Frankinet Baptiste

    August 7, 2017 at 10:17 pm

    Glad I waited for the review!
    Thank you so much, I almost bought the 4k model as it was on sale and looked to fulfill my needs (design, video editing) but the RGBW screen just don't cut it so it's a no go for me.

    What 15" laptop do you recommend instead (with an higher resolution than FHD and good color reproduction )

    Again thank you for the detailed review.

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 8, 2017 at 3:16 pm

      What's your budget? Most laptop gets RGBW 4K panels, with some exceptions. I don't have a list, but that's a good topic for a dedicated article.

      • Baptiste Frankinet

        August 14, 2017 at 8:31 am

        About 2000$, did you review one with color reproduction close to adobe rgb?

        • Andrei Girbea

          August 14, 2017 at 2:41 pm

          I think there might be some options, but I don't have a detailed list right now. I found one at some point on some forums, but I can't seem to dig it out at the moment. I plan to have an article on this topic, but it's probably going to take a while.

          The Dell XPS 15 gets an RGB UHD screen, for instance, but it might jump outisde that budget once specked up. You should also look at some of the Aliewnare and Gigabyte options.

  4. zdzihu

    August 8, 2017 at 1:51 am

    It seems you are wront about no PCIe support on M.2 slot: hidevolution.com/asus-n580vd-db74t.html
    They sell that model with PCIe 3.0 x4 NVMe drive.

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 8, 2017 at 3:16 pm

      Thanks, updated

    • Kappa

      August 14, 2017 at 12:23 pm

      Hello
      I didnt quite understand what you said about M.2 SSD
      I am curious if this laptop suports M.2 SSD, and is there any model of asus vivobook pro n580vd line that doesn't support M.2 SSD.

      Thanks

      • Andrei Girbea

        August 14, 2017 at 2:34 pm

        it does support M.2 SSD. There are however a few different types of M.2 SSDs, with SATA, PCIe and PCie 4X(NVMe) speeds. The test unit came with a slower SATA SSD, but the faster ones should also be compatible based on the listings available around the world.

        • Kappa

          August 15, 2017 at 4:25 am

          Thanks for the reply
          Im planning to buy 1080p version with i5 7300HQ and gtx 1050 4gb
          So I can't know what kind of ssd aupport I will get?

          • Andrei Girbea

            August 15, 2017 at 4:38 am

            Does that config come with an SSD? If yes, i'd expect a SATA one to be included. If it comes with a HDD you can add an SSD of your choosing in the M.2 slot. Standard M.2 PCIe SSDs should work imo, like the Samsung 950/960 series, but I can't confirm 100% without trying one.

        • Kappa

          August 15, 2017 at 4:42 am

          That model comes with 1 TB of HDD, but nowhere says anything about SSD

          • Andrei Girbea

            August 15, 2017 at 6:40 am

            There's no SSD then, the M.2 slot is free and you can buy one, place it inside and then reinstall Windows on the SSD from an USB drive.

        • Kappa

          August 15, 2017 at 6:54 am

          You just made my day :)
          I will buy this laptop
          Thanks for help

          Best regards

  5. elina

    August 8, 2017 at 9:06 am

    Very interesting your article … thank you
    But are you sure that the Thunderbolt is well present on the USB-C port of the Asus Vivobook Pro N580VD.
    You are the only site to mention this.
    The official sites ASUS Global & ASUS USA do not say anything about it.
    Can you confirm, please, that the Thunderbolt is there and functional?
    thanks again

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 8, 2017 at 2:55 pm

      That was a mistake in the specs sheet, there's no TB3 here

  6. Ahmed Mohamed

    August 8, 2017 at 7:21 pm

    What is the difference between N580 and M580? Does it contain one more spare slot for RAM; so as to upgrade the ram up to 32gb if needed?

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 10, 2017 at 3:31 am

      I can't tell, to be frank. I think both get two RAM slots, it would be surprising for Asus to create two designs with different internals. From what I can tell the M580 is sold in North America and right now comes with the FHD TN screen, while the N580 is available in Europe and other regions.

  7. Cherry

    August 10, 2017 at 1:50 pm

    What are some similiar premimum laptops like this other than the zenbook pro, the dell xps, and the lenovo yoga 720? I mean weight, thickness and perfomance wise?

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 10, 2017 at 2:46 pm

      Perhaps the Gigabyte Aero 15, but it's not really the same in terms of build quality and gets a 1060. The Razer Blade could be perhaps an alternative if you're looking at 1060s, but expensive. There's also the 15 inch MackBook Pro, but again, not really the same.

      There's a longer list of 1050/1050 Ti laptops here: http://www.ultrabookreview.com/14153-laptops-nvidia-1050/ , but most are not built to be ultra portable like these three are.

  8. Hesam Habibi

    August 11, 2017 at 2:25 am

    Thank you
    I have two question.
    1. When N580 will come to Asia?
    2. I am a programmer and graphic designer. I want a lap top that support these matters.
    Do you think this lap top is enough for me?
    3. how much the top panel of N580? (Full version)

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 11, 2017 at 3:14 am

      1. don't know, but I'd reckon soon
      2. yes, but I'd get the configuration with the 70% NTSC IPS panel
      3. it's about 200 EUR extra over here. I wouldn't pick the UHD panel for graphics work though, it's a RGBW panel

  9. Calle

    August 13, 2017 at 9:29 am

    Thanks for the great review. I ordered one with the following screen specs:

    15,6
    1920×1080
    300 cd/m2
    Functions:Ultra Slim Design, ASUS Splendid Video Intelligence Technology, anti-glare, WideView, 72% NTSC colour gamut.

    Is is possible to know which of the screens (of those you listed) it is?

    /Calle

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 13, 2017 at 11:23 am

      Should be the one with the better IPS screen, the best buy imo. Can you tell us where is this available and who sells it?

      • Calle

        August 13, 2017 at 12:11 pm

        That's what I thought as well. Thanks for the quick response though.

        Here's the url to the product, it's a Swedish site, don't know if it's available in English.

        dustinhome.se/product/5011022407/vivobook-pro-15-n580vd

        Since I haven't got it yet(will ship next week) , I don't know if the specs listed are correct.

        I noticed that they also sell the 8gb ram, i5hq and 256 ssd with the same listed screen 2000 skr (200 euros) cheaper.

        • Andrei Girbea

          August 13, 2017 at 2:12 pm

          Got it, thanks. Please let us know what you think about it when you get it, if you have the time.

  10. James Elkann

    August 13, 2017 at 5:48 pm

    Thanks a lot for the review, it's very useful and detailed. How hard is to service the laptop?

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 14, 2017 at 2:30 pm

      It's easy, the back is hold in place by a handful of screws

  11. Andres

    August 13, 2017 at 8:27 pm

    I'm thinking of getting this laptop for college from Amazon. The model is the N580VD-DB74T from this link: amazon.com/N580VD-DB74T-VivoBook-Touchscreen-backlit-keyboard/dp/B0747S3V8D/ref=cm_cd_al_qh_dp_t

    Would this be good value for the price? I think this model comes with the better IPS screen, but I'm not 100% positive. Also, what do you think the battery life would be on this FHD model from regular college activities (typing, internet videos, wifi browsing, etc.). Lastly, it seems that this cools pretty well for a laptop in this class, is that correct?

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 14, 2017 at 2:31 pm

      it's a good option IF you need that 512 GB SSD and IF you want a laptop with this kind of graphics. Otherwise you can get similar hardware for a few hundreds less.

  12. Kappa

    August 14, 2017 at 12:27 pm

    I have question about dispay
    I am interested in asus vivobook pro N580VD. How can I be sure what type of display I will get (TN or IPS)
    On the web from where I want to buy this laptop says

    Display 15.6" FullHD (1920×1080) non-reflecting screen, ultra slim 300nits, 16:9, NTSC:72%, Wide View

    Can I know if I'm getting TN or IPS.
    I contacted the store but I stil didn't get the answer

    Thanks

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 14, 2017 at 2:35 pm

      That's IPS, the better one mentioned in the Screen sectio. The "Vide View" mention tells us it's IPS.

  13. Kappa

    August 14, 2017 at 12:32 pm

    Sorry for spamming, but I have one more question
    What do you think about bezels. Are they noticible.

    And the model I can purchase in my country is Gold color. In your opinion what so you think about gold color

    Thank you very much

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 14, 2017 at 2:37 pm

      The bezels are what we've seen on laptops released in the last years, so it's up to you if you find them small enough or no. Options with smaller bezels and similar hardware are more expensive though.

      The Gold color is not actually golden, it's a sort of subtle silver with a slight gold accent as far as I can tell, so I don't think you should worry about that.

  14. sonko

    August 18, 2017 at 8:42 am

    do you have any info if every version of n580vd has M.2 slot ?
    on official asus website there is no single word about m.2, I asked seller whom I want to buy this laptop (N580VD-DM297) and he replied that he got info that there is NO M.2 slot but he will check once they arrive to him, asus support so far didn't replied to me…
    it would be weird if some versions wont have m.2 but can I be sure ?

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 18, 2017 at 1:01 pm

      I doubt there are versions without an M.2 slot but I can't be absolutely sure about that. What's I'm also not entirely sure is whether the M.2 supports higher than SATA speeds. the official website mentions SATA only, but some shops list it with NVMe.

  15. Nico

    August 19, 2017 at 4:06 am

    There are selling a version with a touch screen in France (screen is said to be glare, and NTSC 72%, 300 nits), which is apparently 0.3kg heavier and 0.13cm bigger (its height). What do you think about that? Should I get it?

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 19, 2017 at 4:35 am

      It's the better IPS FHD panel in the list. Personally I would rather get a matte display than a touchscreen on a 15-inch clamhsell laptop, but that's just me. If you're actually going to use that touchscreen, then go for it. Otherwise you'd be paying extra for something you wouldn't use and something that also adds glare and reflections in proper lit rooms, due to the glass coating on top of the panel.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *