Asus ROG Flow Z13 review (model – i9, RTX 4060)

24 Comments

  1. Piotr

    March 8, 2023 at 12:54 am

    There is an illusive variant with RTX 4070 and 32GB RAM listed by some retail networks. Not sure if it's some sort of an exclusive or something else.

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 8, 2023 at 10:25 am

      Interesting. will look into it

      • Piotr

        March 8, 2023 at 5:02 pm

        I'm looking at oleole.pl/laptopy-i-netbooki/asus-laptop-gz301-i9-32gb-1tbssd-4070-w11.bhtml – it was/is also listed on euro.com.pl – another Polish retail network but of same owner. It was also seen on German MediaMarkt but then removed. Someone on Asus ROG Flow reddit has it on order but still not delivered. There was also some pics of a weird variant where the back plate was some sort of ruggerized aluminum with no paint, just some rubber elements.

      • Andrei Girbea

        March 8, 2023 at 9:26 pm

        According to the main Asus website, the Flow Z13 is only available with 16GB and an RTX 4060 variant for now. I wouldn't be surprised if a 4070 would be available at some point, though, given they already announced a 4070 configuration for the AMD-based Flow X13 2023.

      • Piotr

        March 8, 2023 at 11:16 pm

        Yes, it's not listed but it's available in a few stores with pretty much NEXT DAY delivery and some already ordered it :D

      • Andrei Girbea

        March 9, 2023 at 11:04 am

        But is that a legit store that actually delivers the orders? Sry, I'm not familiar with your local market

      • Piotr

        March 9, 2023 at 1:48 pm

        MediaMarkt, Saturn, Euro, OleOle are part of EU network of retail stores that sell various electronics. They often get unique SKUs just because of the volume they can order from the vendor. The only question would be if they got the allocation or just expect to have it (that's why I'm waiting few days to see what happens with "next day delivery" and those people that claimed to ordered one).

        And in this case there is also some collab of Asus with ACRNM for few customized variants of their latest laptops. The collab is on Asus website while Z13 modified by/for them looks like so: reddit.com/r/FlowZ13/comments/11f4j9y/flow_z13_with_32gb_and_rtx4070_gz301vic_looks/

      • Andrei Girbea

        March 9, 2023 at 2:14 pm

        All I can say right now is don't rush into buying the 4060 if you have the budget for a higher GPU option. Given those listings and the leaks, I guess that 4070 option will happen at some point.

        BTw, I also found it mentioned here: https://rog.asus.com/articles/rog-gaming-laptops/the-complete-list-of-2023-geforce-gpu-power-specifications-in-rog-and-tuf-gaming-laptops/

      • Piotr

        March 9, 2023 at 2:17 pm

        If anything it will be 32GB RAM for me. Not nececarily Z13.

    • Gustav Kampp

      April 1, 2023 at 12:49 pm

      This was a recommendable review, thank you.

      I just bought this unit, and so far I completely agree with your findings, at least the ones I used myself.
      It seems there is a huge potential i haven't benefited from yet.

  2. Ionut

    March 8, 2023 at 11:05 am

    I also bought this model and really enjoy it (had a Surface Pro 8 previously). The biggest downsides for me are the speakers (which are really weak, even after tweaking dolby atmos profiles) and the lack of a stylus holder.

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 8, 2023 at 11:13 am

      true, the speakers could definitely be better. There used to be an HD audio option under Speakers in Windows 11, but it's no longer available with the latest updates. That made a difference for me

    • Ionut

      March 9, 2023 at 5:14 pm

      For a GPU that is running at maximum 65W,I really don't see the point of a Z13 with RTX 4070. If this really comes out, it will only have mediocre fps improvement over RTX 4060

  3. 9xqzhav6

    March 9, 2023 at 8:29 pm

    XG Mobile(2023) GC33Y is not 175W.
    Boost Clock 1815MHz 150W No Dynamic Boost

    The complete list of 2023 GeForce GPU power specifications in ROG and TUF Gaming Laptops | ROG – Republic of Gamers Global
    https://rog.asus.com/articles/rog-gaming-laptops/the-complete-list-of-2023-geforce-gpu-power-specifications-in-rog-and-tuf-gaming-laptops/

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 9, 2023 at 8:39 pm

      Thanks for the heads-up on that.

      It's unclear to me at this point if that info there is right, or the 4090 in the XG will be allowed to run at 150++W. From the time I've spent with the early unit, thermals seem to allow more than 150W, so I don't quite understand why they wouldn't allow Dynamic Boost on it. I'll look into more details once I get to use a final unit.

  4. Paul

    March 10, 2023 at 12:24 am

    Would you know if the USB-C output from the XG Mobile is an actual display output ? That would mean we could connect 3 displays now! Thanks.

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 10, 2023 at 10:22 am

      I haven't checked. Will do once I get to test a final unit.

  5. mark

    August 23, 2023 at 10:52 am

    GENERAL QUESTION: Is there a way to reduce the power of the CPU when the laptop is not connected, for example, 13900hx 130w to 13900hx 70w. For more battery.

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 23, 2023 at 12:09 pm

      The CPU automatically caps down in power based on requirement. It never runs at that kidn of power on battery use anyway.

      Whenever you're reading that a CPU is designed to work at let's say 130W TDP, that is the top limit that it can reach. In reality, it works anywhere between 1 and 130W based on load.

  6. TJ

    August 24, 2023 at 9:47 pm

    Right now my ideal device would be a 14.5in 'tablet' style laptop running all AMD. Think that has a chance of entering the market in the next year?
    Similar to a Samsung Tab Ultra sizing / speakers / screen but with gaming laptop capabilities.

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 26, 2023 at 10:44 am

      very slim chances imo. The tablet format is hardly pursued by OEMs anymore. And if it were, I doubt you'll find a tablet with that large of a screen

  7. Mo

    August 28, 2023 at 5:21 pm

    Hi, will there be a review of the x13 happening this year? Looks like a great improvement, compared to last years.
    Thanks!

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 30, 2023 at 5:01 pm

      yeah, in the next couple of days. Life's been busy lately and I still have to catch up with a few laptops that I've yet to publish.

  8. bittricks

    October 8, 2023 at 7:23 am

    The model with the i7-12700H 512 GB SSD and 16 GB RAM is on sale for $1099 directly from ASUS. That is a whale of a deal.

    Myself, I'd replace the original keyboard\track pad that ships with the unit with a wireless keyboard and mouse (Logitech MX and MX Anywhere would integrate nicely with the Z13 form factor).

    I've tried the Z13 i7 and i9 models. Both are more than sufficient for moderate to heavy workloads.

    With either the Z13 or X13 I would stick to only the FHD+ versions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *