ASUS ROG Zephyrus G15 GA503 review (2021 RTX 3080 & 3070 models, QHD screens)

40 Comments

  1. Adam

    March 8, 2021 at 4:01 pm

    Hi

    Can you add to the article some screenshots showing a comparison of 1080p with QHD at different scaling (100%, 125%, 150%)? As it seems that QHD at 150% should be still a higher resolution than 1080p at 125%.

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 8, 2021 at 4:15 pm

      Good idea, I'll try to do that later today.

  2. ZODD

    March 8, 2021 at 11:57 pm

    The extreme fan noise is a bit disappointing, sure all gaming laptops can run on the louder side but this is to extreme.
    Wonder if a laptop cooler would help with this issue.

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 9, 2021 at 10:37 am

      i wouldn't go as far as extreme at 44 dB on performance and 48+ dB on Turbo. a cooling pad would help if you're also willing to play with eh fan settings in Manual mode. I'd reckon 42 dB should be achievable with OK temperatures

  3. Bobby

    March 9, 2021 at 4:12 am

    44 degrees seems very hot for the temperature during daily use. I can't work out why it's so hot. Maybe the laptop transfers heat from the components to the outside panel to help dissipate it? I guess you can't really use this laptop on your lap for normal daily use sadly. And no webcam. WHY? This laptop isn't targeted just at gamers. It would have made for a great daily driver but they had to ruin it. Poor contrast ratio on the panel is also a bit disappointing. Otherwise this would be the perfect laptop. Great display (apart from the contrast ratio), great keyboard, trackpad, speakers, battery life and performance. Only apple mbp 16 and dell xps 15 have managed to do this but the xps has weak gpu's. Great review btw!

  4. cass

    March 9, 2021 at 4:28 am

    Did either of you notice any issues with coil whine? I've had issues on my both my original unit and a replacement, so I'm wondering if it's really worth chasing down a unit that doesn't have this.

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 9, 2021 at 10:47 am

      No coil whine on mine, or any sort of other electronic noises. Unfortunately this is a random issue these days on modern laptops, I'd probably keep asking for replacements if everything else is right for you about this laptop

  5. Mul

    March 9, 2021 at 6:46 pm

    Any luck with adding scaling screenshots?

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 10, 2021 at 11:42 am

      Not yet, on it now. Sry for the delay. Will put them in the screen section in about 1-2 hours.

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 10, 2021 at 2:48 pm

      Hey, I've added the screenshots in the Screen section.

  6. Dylan

    March 9, 2021 at 11:45 pm

    Would love to see results after 3080 bios flash to unlock higher power.

  7. Jorge

    March 10, 2021 at 7:41 am

    You can also significantly lower the temperatures by using Manuel Mode and lowering the wattage of the CPU to 20 Watts. This has less of a performance impact than just disabling boost since the CPU will still boost just less often since it can't sustain the boost with the lower power limit. CPU will still boost to max frequency.

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 10, 2021 at 11:41 am

      Thanks, I'll give it a try.

      Followed your advice and yes, this seems to work well and provides a good balance of performance, temps and noise levels. I've updated the results in the performance section.

  8. Zarko D.

    March 10, 2021 at 12:54 pm

    As always great Review and a really cool device!

    Any news on when Reviews on the new G14 will be up? I guess I would sacrifice some GPU-performance for the more compact form-factor.

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 10, 2021 at 2:48 pm

      Not in the works for now. I'll ask about a review sample, hasn't been a priority so far

  9. Dave

    March 12, 2021 at 2:56 am

    Great review, thank you again!
    I was wondering if you would know if the G15 has a TPM chip? I wasn't able to find any relevant info on ASUS's website.

  10. Rizzo

    March 12, 2021 at 5:34 pm

    It’s ADAPTIVE Sync, not Active Sync.

    Nice review. When will you be reviewing the Asus G14?

  11. Daniel

    March 20, 2021 at 10:29 pm

    Any update on the Quest 2 compatibility issue with the 3070 model?
    Waiting for some more information on that is really the only thing keeping me from jumping on this.

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 21, 2021 at 3:43 pm

      Daniel, here's Derek's reply: "I never got it to reliably work with all games. Closest I got was by disabling the iGPU in device manager and rebooting. This worked, but some games like Alyx were still glitchy and unplayable"

  12. Damian

    March 22, 2021 at 1:32 am

    Ordered the 3070 model from Best Buy, will this 2nd drive and 16gb replacement for the 8gb work?

    https://amzn.to/3sdK4Mw

    https://amzn.to/391EDsD

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 22, 2021 at 10:58 am

      both should work, but I'm not entirely sure about the memory stick. You'll have to just try it out. Keep in mind that the Best Buy model comes with 8 GB on board and an extra 8 GB stick. You'll have to take that out and put this instead, but you'll still only get 16 GB working in dual-channel, not the whole 24. Upgrading the RAM might not be worth it imo.

  13. Damian

    March 22, 2021 at 3:42 pm

    As a gamer 16 gb is fine, but as a Designer and Videographer more ram should be good for Adobe Suite dual channel or not.

  14. wertzius

    March 22, 2021 at 4:59 pm

    Hey Andre, excellent review as always.

    It seems that unlike Ryzen 4000 models the Ryzen 5000 models support the boost mode "efficient aggressive" maybe you could try what it does. It should lead to less boosting and lower temps. Ryzen 4000 models just deactivate boosting at all in this mode.

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 22, 2021 at 5:24 pm

      Hi. I haven't tried that setting and right now we no longer have any of the two samples around. Will give it a try on the next AMD laptop that I get my hands on.

  15. Mafa

    April 1, 2021 at 5:38 pm

    Just out of curiosity, what do you all do with the sample laptops you receive? Is that classified information?

  16. Quersy

    April 2, 2021 at 11:13 pm

    I would like to ask about the gaming possible on just the USB charger, in Silent mode. It seems the GPU+CPU wattage is limited to 80W or so on silent so the 100W USB charger might be enough to prevent it from losing charge. If so then that’s a great laptop for sneaking some games in the office. Low performance, but you don’t have to carry the power brick and that’s a significant weight.

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 3, 2021 at 3:00 am

      I gave it a try with the 100W USB-C brick but the performance wasn't as expected and the battery kept discharging quite rapidly. They might be able to fix things with BIOS updates, but O no longer have this around to further test it

  17. Dave N

    April 4, 2021 at 9:56 pm

    How does it work outdoors? Is the screen bright enough and has no reflections? Thanks :)

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 5, 2021 at 10:34 am

      the screen is matte and 350+ nits, so can be used outdoors, but not in direct sunlight.

  18. CICARITO

    April 5, 2021 at 8:11 pm

    Sorry to bother you, but will there be a review for the G14 as it looks to me more value for money worth than G15?

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 5, 2021 at 8:42 pm

      Yes, but I'm still waiting for a review unit, so it will still take a while before we'll have the article ready.

  19. CICARITO

    April 5, 2021 at 8:51 pm

    Thanks for the reply and I am looking forward for reviews as you guys are doing a fantastic job and checking every aspect thoroughly

  20. B Robi

    April 9, 2021 at 1:27 am

    Do you think the G15 could run MSFS 2020 at high settings?

    Cheers

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 9, 2021 at 10:22 am

      I don't include MSF 2020 as part of my testing routine, but I know it's very demanding. Should run fine on the G15, search for performance numbers on Youtube, someone ought to have tested it

  21. brian

    April 10, 2021 at 5:38 am

    thank you.

  22. Anondarrk

    April 25, 2021 at 4:34 pm

    The 3080 model is now available on BestBuy for $2000. Worth the upgrade over 3070?

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 26, 2021 at 11:54 am

      up to you. you'll find the performance differences explained in the article.

  23. yoyo5678

    April 28, 2021 at 5:45 pm

    Does it have MUX ??

    I just order this laptop and wonder what to do first: bios update,windows updates, 2nd ssd installation and many more – how do I check that everything is okey and working?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *