ASUS ROG Strix G17 G713 review (G713QR 2021 model – Ryzen 7 5800H, RTX 3070 Laptop)

27 Comments

  1. Adi

    March 4, 2021 at 7:55 pm

    How does the lid robustness compare to last year G17 or G15? A couple of months ago I had to return a Strix G15 G512 with a fragile plastic lid that had serious bending/twisting issues (the rest of the chassis was quite sturdy). Although this was not the main reason for returning it, I'm interested to know whether its 15" and 17" successors had solved this problem. This might prove especially important on some occasions when I travel with the laptop in my backpack.

    Also, how does the G713 compare to the current Scar version, since both the Strix and Strix Scar have a metallic lid this year?

    I own a ROG GL552VX from 2016 (thick bezels, aluminium lid) which seemed quite sturdy in comparison, considering the way the lid bends and flexes. I'm afraid that build quality suffered a downgrade since then, at least with regard to the screen construction.

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 5, 2021 at 10:23 am

      As far as I remember without having the two side by side, the lid is stronger on the 2021 G17 and doesn't or bend when you pick it up from a concern. The metal on the Scar is somewhat even thicker though, but again, I don't have the two side by side for a direct comparison. I was quite impressed with the build quality on both

  2. Mike88

    March 5, 2021 at 1:07 pm

    Please update GPU-Z screenshot with last version of GPUZ wich u can find to download, and it's showing the real values. It's very important.

  3. Ivan

    March 6, 2021 at 4:57 pm

    Do you think it is a better choice to combine 3070 with Ryzen 7 or 9 in case I will use my laptop mostly to work with applications for the Architecture field, such as Autocad, Revit, Adobe, Modellation app, Rendering app., etc.

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 6, 2021 at 5:12 pm

      What's the price difference? I wouldn't pay more than 50 USD/EUR extra for the Ryzen 9, and even then it might not be worth it. They're very similar, just slightly higher clocks on the Ryzen 9

  4. Ivan

    March 6, 2021 at 5:33 pm

    For the moment there is no price for the configuration with Ryzen 7…the difference between the G17 and the SCAR 17 (both with 3070 + ryzen 9) is 300 €, probably due also to the extra features that you already mentioned in your article. I don't know if 300 € more are justified in this case.

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 6, 2021 at 5:35 pm

      The performance and thermals are going to be similar. If you don't care about the design, materials, RGB, keyboard, and audio of the Scar, then the G17 is what I'd go with.

  5. Ivan

    March 6, 2021 at 6:00 pm

    Thank you for the suggestions. I don't really care about the RGB and partly of the design, but I definitely care about the materials and I am intrigued by the keyboard. Audio is a plus I think.

    I am also considering Lenovo Legion 5 pro as an option, but I have some doubts about the size of the screen 16 inches compared to 17 inches + the resolution that probably in the case of the Lenovo will not be the best for some applications I am using.

    Also regarding the stiffness of the laptop itself, the Asus seems to be well constructed.

    Indeed the price of the Lenovo is very attractive.

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 6, 2021 at 6:04 pm

      I'm intrigued about the 5 Pro as well. Haven't touched it yet, looking forward to when available here. That 16-inch 16:10 is closer to a 15-inch screen in size with an extra part at the bottom

  6. Ivan

    March 6, 2021 at 6:19 pm

    Thank you! I am looking forward to reading your review regarding it!

  7. Ivan

    March 8, 2021 at 10:11 am

    Did you manage to tweak those thermals?

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 8, 2021 at 10:32 am

      what do you mean? I haven't done anything besides what's explained in the article, I had to move up to other articles

  8. Marc

    March 9, 2021 at 11:58 am

    This interests me, I thing I will wait to see that…
    I travel a lot and while I am usually willing to lug around a heavy laptop (obviously I would prefer lighter), the size is actually of a larger concern. This is simply because of how hard it is to pack a 17 vs a 15in. So the idea of a 16in 16:10 laptop being of similar size to a 15in… is interesting. My major concern is cpu single/multicore performance and to a lesser extent the GPU so long as it is in the 3070 class ( i want the larger video memory). tho larger wattage headroom is also important on the GPU it is something I am willing to "downgrade". Basically 5800H seems to fit the bill for me, 3070 (prefer larger wattage but ok with even the lower end of that), size and weight, and upgradability. (with the caveat that the whole package should be good quality). The other things are screen resolution/brightness. So I am having a lot of trouble trying to decide on which laptop to get :(
    OH yea.. usage case: learning AI and doing AI training, Gaming, overall travel work/entertainment

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 9, 2021 at 12:01 pm

      I'd just hold on for a month or two. By April/may we'll have the Legions in stores and some reviews, as well as the new Intel Core H hardware. Plus current AMD Ryzen H will most likely be cheaper and more widely available as well.

  9. Razvan

    March 22, 2021 at 9:33 am

    I decided to buy this laptop after i read your review a few times and compared it with other models.
    I really glad i bought it, the monitor it's really great, looks amazing , colors are beautifull.
    As for thermals , well i am pleased with them.
    Prime95 for 1h CPU temp at 77 degrees.
    Unigine 4.0 all settings maxed out i got GPU at 78 degrees.
    Aida64 + Furmark i got 83degrees CPU and 80 degrees GPU after 55minutes of testing.
    As for games i only tested Witcher 3 and Cyberpunk 2077, both on everything setting to maximum, i got some 120 fps average in Witcher 3 and 65 fps Cyberpunk ( no RT ) , with RT ultra i got 35 fps ,but enabling DLSS Quality got me a stable 50-55fps and no dowside in image quality as i can see. Both Witcher 3 and Cyberpunk after 1h of playing in turbo mode were under 80 degrees, both CPU and GPU
    The only think that i think is weird, is that in Witcher 3 if i set it on 60fps,sometimes the GPU goes to 100% with 700-800Mhz and then jumps back to 30-40% with 1900-2000Mhz while maintaining 60fps.
    Overall i think it's a great laptop amd especially since i got it on a sale , just 1400euros :)

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 22, 2021 at 11:00 am

      Hi Razvan, thanks for your feedback and I'm glad this article helped. Your temps are better than what I get on this unit.
      For the 60 fps cap, you're using Whisper Mode? That's what I use and seems to be working alright.

  10. Razvan

    March 22, 2021 at 11:49 am

    Well i think it helps on temps that i always use my laptop on an aluminium cooler ( fans off , but still is about higher with 2cm ).
    I am not using whisper mode on the 60fps cap, i just set the limit on Riva and still using Turbo mode, for in game stats i use MSI Afterburner.
    I play ( when i have the time after job, wife , kid ) just offline and RPG mostlt, so over 60fps it's kind of uselles for me.
    Just a litlle weird that the GPU drops on frequency sometimes, i for one haven't discovered why, can't be temps since on the 60fps cap it has something like 65-68 degrees on Witcher 3 all on ultra.

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 22, 2021 at 12:01 pm

      AH, ok. Is there any noticeable fps drop with the GPU clocks down to .7 GHz? The kind that would cause stuttering and be noticeable with games?
      If yes, you could give whisper mode a try as well (only possible on the Silent profile), it worked pretty well for me with quiet fans and low temps.

  11. Razvan

    March 22, 2021 at 12:16 pm

    No drop at all, fps is fixed at 60 fps, if i wouldnt have seen the MSI Afterburner stats i could never tell the GPU drops at 0.7 Mhz , so there is no problem at fps or gameplay, just that randomly ramps up to 100% with ~700Mhz then goes back to 1900-2000Mhz. I havent seen this happened in Cyberpunk. First i thought it goes on iGPU on some areas of the game , but i doubt the iGPU could give 60fps on ultra with Witcher 3.
    I'll test some games and pay attention to Afterburner maybe i can see why, try even without fps .
    As far as performance goes, it's great,i have just for 5 days, but i cant find a fault to this laptop, just curios why it does that sometimes :)

  12. Hans-Christian Heine

    March 24, 2021 at 9:05 pm

    I have issues with a different but similar Asus Notebook: ASUS ROG Zephyrus Duo 15 SE:
    I have recorded the issue and uploaded to YT clips for demonstration of (1) laggy behavior on external monitors: https://youtu.be/YlXHBaPzYcE (2) throttling with video-playback and gaming simultaneously: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ptp9m23JVoY
    The latter was quite striking, as the temps were ok and I had the fan profile set to turbo-performance.
    I think throttling is quite an issue with Asus Zen3 Notebooks right now, either the VRMs are not up to specs or the BIOS needs more updates to fix it.

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 24, 2021 at 9:14 pm

      Hmmm, did you contact Asus about it?

      I haven't experienced this sort of behavior with any of the ROG laptops tested this year, but at the same time I've only connected one external monitor via DP, not two.

      You should run a couple of more tests and try to figure our what's going one. For instance, have a single monitor connected via DP, then the same single monitor via HDMI, then have two (one via DP and one via HDMI). Also, try to disable the main display and see if that helps, etc. There might be an issue with the fact that the DP is hooked straight into the dGPU, while the HDMI and the internal screen go through the iGPU. The VRMs should be fine, I don't think that's the issue

      I no longer have the DUO around to test this out.

      If you can't figure it out, then send the laptop back if it's withing your return window.

  13. Hans-Christian Heine

    March 25, 2021 at 1:54 am

    Hi Andrei,
    so far I've tested both a single monitor (4k smart tv) and a set of other two HDMI external screens. I suspected the same, that one was connected to igpu and the other to dgpu. To note: the duo won't allow external screens when the dgpu is not switched on (so igpu only is not possible). I think that most io is still done with the igpu, be it only throughput at times. Somehow this affects thermals and clock speeds, causing hangups as I have encountered. Sometimes dragging a MS Word Window alone on an external screen would cause delayed responses afterwards (typing, scrolling menu bar selections). I fear that there is a bug with Zen3 mobile chipset concerning igpu dgpu interplay, that affects core speeds in a dramatic way, this sporadically on actions like redraws.
    I returned the notebook as DoA and am hoping that this is a one-off. But some other review sites are reporting strange fluctuations in core speed as well. It may be that one can deliberately trigger them in low usage scenarios, pinpointing at the real reasons they may cause them, and not only arguing that these are high peak usage related and one-offs.

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 25, 2021 at 6:28 pm

      I only have the scar 17 at this point and I tried replicating what you're saying, but I can't. You're still going to get a replacement for the one you've sent back? Looking forward to your feedback on this matter if you do.

  14. Chris Proost

    April 17, 2021 at 4:58 am

    Thanks in great part to this review I just threw down on a slightly different variant of this laptop. The difference is 32 Gb, against the 16 I've seen everywhere else, of same speed RAM in exchange for a downgrade on the screen to 144Hz HD IPS quality VA like the 300Hz one (it's the 5800H CPU btw)
    I figured no games in my library and few I'm likely to play (not a mp/online shooter, BR/moba/esports fan) will ever push past 144Hz at high/ultra settings, even with a 3070. Besides I'm unsure if I could tell, seeing no difference between 120 and 144Hz previously.

    So yeah, was a tough decision tbh made easier by such reviews as this (thanks again) and the fact that my original plan of fully upgrading my old ailing desktop and fixing my gf up one of her own ended up pricing to 3.5 grand instead of around 2 grand just for mine alone due to the scalping and mining awfulness aso atm. Far cheaper to get a £1800 fairly 4K worthy laptop for now (got the TV for it already and DLSS will help with that a lot) and letting my gf have my only 18 month old 8750H/1070 Asus ROG Strix Scar as it's more than enough for her. I'll look at desktop upgrades again in a couple of years when things are sane again maybe.

    I do have one question though for you guys… how's undervolting aso do for this? I know heat will always be a thing with gaming laptops. Is Throttlestop ok for Ryzen CPU's, anybody have any advice or numbers? I had a -150.6 mv on that 8750H and it still got pretty toasty under load, even if capping fps too.

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 19, 2021 at 9:47 am

      There's no UV possibility on Ryzen laptops, and as far as I can tell, probably won't be possible on future Intel models either, but we'll have to see about that. I did cover a few options that can help with temps in the G733 and GA503 articles though, would work here as well

  15. Chris Proost

    April 19, 2021 at 4:56 pm

    Thanks Andrei. Well, no UV option is unfortunate. I have to ask, is there a reason/cause for that lack of UV?

    Anyway, I'll be taking a look at the articles you mentioned in due course as well as swapping the barely used SM961 m.2's from my old desktop once my new toy arrives. The 1Tb for that spare slot and the 256Gb can go in my old Asus ROG G751JT to refresh and make it useful again.

    Cheers!

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 20, 2021 at 9:52 am

      As far as I understand, it's because it would be too difficult and even risky to properly support UV in the multitude of AMD laptop SKUs, without risking for people bricking their processors (which has occasionally happened with Intel models in the past). I have an article that goes over how you can get better thermals on AMD laptops on my to-do list, unfortunately, though, that implies limiting the CPU in one way or the other (disabling boost or limiting the PL1 power level), so it's not ideal, but there's not more that can be done at this point.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *