Asus ROG Zephyrus G15 (GA503) and G14 (GA401) 2021- Ryzen 9 5900HS, RTX 3070/3080 and QHD screens

By Andrei Girbea , last updated on April 2, 2021

Following the overwhelming success of the Zephyrus G14 last year, Asus are updating the full-size 15-inch 2021 Zephyrus G15 on the same design and construction lines.

That means the updated 2021 Zephyrus G15 now gets a magnesium-alloy exterior with improved IO, updated inputs, updated screen options, and the latest hardware specs paired with a revamped thermal module and internal redesign.

Previously, the 2020 Zephyrus G15 struggled to match the G14 in performance, as it was based on an older product design, and that’s entirely changing this year. It still caught a lot of interest, though, as one of the very few AMD-based 15-inch ultraportables and its competitive pricing in most markets.

As far as I can tell right now, the 2021 G15 has an edge over the smaller G14 model this time around, with higher-tier displays and graphics options, and improved inputs and IO, among others, and that’s because the 2021 G14 is mostly a hardware bump to Ryzen 5000 + RTX 3000 of the previous iteration, with potentially upgraded screens, but otherwise similar to the 2020 variant.

Update: Here’s our full review of the 2021 Zephyrus G15, covering both the 3070 and 3080 models.

2021 Asus ROG Zephyrus G15 (left) and G14 (right)

2021 Asus ROG Zephyrus G15 (left) and G14 (right)

Asus chose to quietly announce these laptops and didn’t give us a lot of info, so bare with us as we’re filling up the blanks in this preview article. I did get to spend a few hours with both the 14 and 15-inch Zephyrus G 2021 models, enough to make a first idea on what to expect in terms of feel, design, and features, as well as take a couple of good pictures of the two side by side. We’re not talking performance in any way in this article, that’s coming in the future reviews, once we get our hands on the finalized products.

Here’s a quick specs sheet of the two, and we’ll further touch on some of the important aspects down below.

2021 ASUS ROG Zephyrus G15 GA503Q – review 2021 ASUS ROG Zephyrus G14 GA401Q
Screen 15.6 inch, 16:9, non-touch, matte, 3 panel options:
QHD 165Hz 3ms response, 100% DCI-P3, Pantone validated
FHD 240Hz 3ms response, 100% sRGB, Pantone validated
FHD 144Hz , ~70% sRGB
14 inch, 16:9, non-touch, matte, 3 panel options:
QHD 120Hz, 100% DCI-P3, Pantone validated
FHD 144Hz, 100% sRGB, Pantone validated
FHD 60Hz response, ~70% sRGB
Processor up to AMD Cezanne Ryzen 9 5900HS, 8C/16T up to AMD Cezanne Ryzen 9 5900HS, 8C/16T
Video Radeon Vega and Nvidia RTX 3000 Laptop Max-Q (up to 3080 80W + Dynamic Boost ) – with ActiveSync Radeon Vega and Nvidia RTX 3000 Laptop (up to 65W 3060) – with ActiveSync
Memory up to 48 GB DDR4 3200 MHz (8 or 16 GB soldered, 1x DIMM) up to 48 GB DDR4 3200 MHz (16 GB soldered, 1x DIMM)
Storage 2x M.2 PCIe x4 SSDs 1x M.2 PCIe x4 SSD
Connectivity WiFi 6 (Intel AX201) 2×2 with Bluetooth 5.1, Gigabit LAN WiFi 6 (Intel AX201) 2×2 with Bluetooth 5.1, LAN with adapter
Ports 2x USB-A 3.2, 2x USB-C gen 2 with data, DP1.4 and charging (left), HDMI 2.0b (??), LAN, micro SD card reader, headphone/mic, Kensington Lock 2x USB-A 3.2, 1x USB-C gen 2 with data, DP1.4 and charging (left), 1x USB-C gen 2 data-only (right), HDMI 2.0b (??), headphone/mic, Kensington Lock
Battery 90 Wh, 200 W power adapter, USB-C charging up to 100W 76 Wh, 180 W power adapter, USB-C charging up to 100W
Size 355 mm or 13.97” (w) x 244 mm or 9.6 (d) x 19.9 mm or .78” (h) 324 mm or 12.75” (w) x  222 mm or 8.74” (d) x 19.9 mm or .78” (h)
Weight from 4.2 lbs (1.9 kg) + charger from 1.64 kg (3.65 lbs) without Anime Matrix display, .59 kg (1.3 lbs) power brick and cables, EU version
Extras white backlit keyboard, no webcam, six speakers, finger-sensor in power button, without Anime Matrix Display white backlit keyboard, no webcam, quad speakers, finger-sensor in power button, optional Anime Matrix Display

The images in this article should speak clearly of how similar the two models are now in design.

Both are built from the same kind of materials, get the same boxy construction, and are available in two colors, a silver version with a silver keyboard and white lid, and a darker version with a black keyboard and dark-gray lid. Both look nice, but since I truly resent silver keyboards with white backlighting for their limited contrast, I prefer the darker colors. For illustration, I’ve picked the dark G15 and the white G14.

Asus put the optional Anime Matrix display on the lid on the G14, but not on the G15, as well as added a reflective prismatic nanofilm layer under the array of dots on both, which shines in different colors based on the angle you’re looking at it. You’ll need to watch some videos to better understand what this means, but it’s similar to the prismatic-dots effect on the 2020 Zephyrus M.

That aside, both laptops utilize a form of Ergolift, with the main chassis lifting up on rubber feet at the bottom of the screen, in order to improve the airflow underneath the laptop. Both models draw fresh air from the bottom, with unobstructed intakes over the fans, and blow it out through channeled vents under the screens and on the sides. I’d also expect fairly similar thermal modules, with two fans, 4 radiators, and a complex array of heatpipes. I haven’t got to open them up for a more in-depth look, but there should be some advantages for the larger 15-inch model, given the extra space inside.

Both laptops are about 20 mm thick, but the G15 is slightly larger, as it has to accommodate a 15.6-inch display. Still no webcam on any of these or IR, but both get finger-sensors in the power buttons. The larger format of the G15 also creates space inside for a more spacious clickpad and speakers flanking the keyboard, with now a six-speaker system in the G15, compared to the quad system in the G14. The keyboards are, however, identical on the two, and that’s good news, as the 2020 G14 is one of my favorite typers to date.

Asus also squeezed a couple of extra ports on the Zephyrus G15, which includes a LAN connector and microSD card-reader as extras. Most of the IO is placed on the left side of the G15, and that could lead to some cluttering. The two laptops ship with dedicated barrel-plug chargers, but both support USB-C charging up to 100W.

As for those screens, the Zephyrus G15 now tops at the impressive QHD panel with 165 Hz refresh, 3 ms response, and 100% DCI-P3 colors. This is most likely reserved for the higher-tier configurations, while mid and lower-tier models will ship with FHD panels of various assortments. I’d be careful of the 144 Hz panel, which could be the more washed-out version previously offered with the 2020 Zephyrus G15.

As for the G14, this also ships with either QHD or FHD panels, and I’m expecting some improved panels over the 2020 models, such as a 144 Hz FHD with faster response times. This needs to be confirmed, so take it with a lump of salt for now.

Specs and performance

Both 2021 ROG Zephyrus G models are built on AMD Cezanne Ryzen 5000 processors and mid-tier Nvidia RTX 3000 graphics. These two preview models both top at the Ryzen 9 5900HS, and I’m not sure whether the exclusive Ryzen 9 5980HS bin will also make it into these products, or remains reserved for the ROG Flow X13 Supernova edition. Update: it’s only available on the Flow X13, for now

For the GPU, Asus offers three options for the Zephyrus G15: 3060 (GA503Q), 3070 (GA503QR), and 3080 (GA503QS), all Max-Q. The 14-inch model only gets previous-gen GTX 1650 50W chips on the lower model, an RTX 3060 65W Max-Q (GA401Q) on the mainstream configurations.

The CPU and GPU are paired with SSD storage, and I’m expecting 2x slots on the G15, as well as DDR4 3200 MHz memory, with most likely 16 GB soldered and one expandable DIMM on both, as well as 76 Wh batteries. Again, these specs aren’t entirely confirmed.

Much like the other 2021 ROG laptops, Asus applied liquid metal on the AMD CPUs on these Zephyrus models, which should help with thermals. The official literature also mentions the updated Arc Flow fans on the G15, with improved airflow, as well as updated Performance/Noise settings in Armoury Crate, including the 0db Technology meant to completely shut off both fans with casual use on the Silent profile.

At this point, I can’t tell whether the Arc Flow fans have also been implemented in the G14, but they probably have not.

Asus Rog Zephyrus G15 2021 GA503

Some early thoughts

I’m glad Asus finally updated the G15. I knew it was coming, they generally use the same design for two years, and the previous model was based on the 2019 design.

Aside from the change in aesthetics and screens, the Zephyrus G15 now integrates higher-specced hardware and an updated thermal module with unobstructed airflow, which will hopefully keep that at bay inside the compact form-factor. At last, this is finally a proper alternative for the Intel-based Zephyrus products, and even outmatches them, especially now with Intel’s Tiger Lake H hardware late to the party and not available for a few months.

On the other hand, I do expect the 2021 Zephyrus G15 to lose the affordable pricing that made the previous generation attractive, with all these updates.

As for the 2021 Zephyrus G14, this won’t attract as much attention this year, with the G15 taking the prime time. It still gets the updated hardware and screens, and I’m curious whether the liquid metal and other thermal tweaks will help with the high temperatures in sustained loads, somewhat of an issue with the previous generation that required limiting the CPU for a friendlier gaming experience and improved reliability. I’d also expect some of the potential G14 customers to migrate to the smaller ROG Flow X13 when looking for a portable performance laptop.

Nonetheless, we should have our reviews for these Zephyrus Gs up in the next couple of weeks, so stay close. In the meantime, I’d love to hear what you think about these updated ROG Zephyrus G14 and G15 2021 models, so please get in touch in the comments section below.

Update: Here’s our full review of the 2021 Zephyrus G15, covering both the 3070 and 3080 models.

Disclaimer: Our content is reader-supported. If you buy through some of the links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more.
Andrei Girbea, Editor-in-Chief of Ultrabookreview.com. I've been covering mobile computers since the 2000s and you'll mostly find reviews and thorough guides written by me here on the site.

71 Comments

  1. Haythem Gataa

    January 13, 2021 at 10:29 am

    I was planning on buying the 4K M15, but with the QHD G15 on the way, with the fingerprint scanner, the larger touchpad, the more interesting display, the better performance, this seems to be a way much better deal! I hope they release it before March

  2. Mihai

    January 13, 2021 at 5:00 pm

    Sincer, ma simt "inselat" de Asus, dupa 5 luni de "mixed feelings" cu al meu G15 2020. L-am luat, asa cum ai mentionat si tu in review, in mare parte pentru display-ul superb de 240Hz si cu 3ms response time, plus performanta foarte buna (in Romania vine cu Ryzen 9 4900HS, nu Ryzen 7). Problema majora este ca l-am luat cu 6700 de lei de la Altex si deja sunt nevoit sa il trimit la un service autorizat. Am avut parte de zeci (nu exagerez) de crash-uri de sistem in diferite ipostaze, pe care am reusit sa le si reproduc de cateva ori in incercarea mea de a diagnostica problema. Ele au aparut, de obicei, cand un videoclip rula pe fundal intr-un tab Chrome sau cand imi foloseam tableta grafica pentru a scrie in Microsoft Whiteboard. Ecranul ingheta, input-urile se blocau si eram fortat sa resetez sistemul de la butonul Power, riscand mereu sa pierd date importante. Comportamentul asta este haotic si nu imi pot da seama de cauza lui exacta (hardware sau software). Mult timp am suspectat o problema la driverele placii video integrate si am experimentat cu numeroase versiuni, atat OEM, cat si direct de pe site-ul AMD, dupa care, la sfatul serviciului suport Asus, am reinstalat complet Windows in speranta unui conflict software care va fi rezolvat astfel. Nici vorba, dupa cateva saptamani problema a revenit. Adaug si ca temperaturile sunt, intr-adevar, foarte ridicate la load mare, dar bune la utilizare joasa-medie.

    Versiunea 2021 (GA503) arata ca Asus si-a dat seama de problemele de design ale variantei vechi. Nu prea stiu ce sa fac in acest moment, decat sa astept recenziile pentru aceste variante noi. Am nevoie imediata de laptop si nu il trimit inca in service, dar nu pot sa nu sesizez cum au imbunatatit, cel putin pe hartie, calitatea constructiei, racirea (6 heat pipes in loc de 4, ErgoLift), tastatura si touchpad-ul, difuzoarele (6 in loc de 2…), IO + CPU si GPU.

    Intrebarea principala ramane: crezi ca pretul noului G15 va fi semnificativ mai mare in Romania dupa toate aceste schimbari? Voi avea sanse sa vand varianta actuala si sa cumpar cu nu mult in plus varianta 2021? Daca pretul va fi dublu, iar cei de la service vor reusi sa rezolve problema crash-urilor sau sa il inlocuiasca, cred ca ar fi mai bine sa raman la varianta actuala. Scuze pentru mesajul excesiv de lung. Multumesc pentru tot!

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 13, 2021 at 5:26 pm

      Salut Mihai.

      Sry for your frustrating experience, looks like you were unlucky and ended up with a potential dud. Asus haven't communicated the pricing and availability yet, I'll ask and get back to you. Please shoot me an email (Contact page) if I don't within a couple of days.

      As for the g15, yeah, it's a major upgrade this year, but I'd still hold for reviews before getting it. Hopefully, we should have our review before this will be available in stores.

  3. Mihai

    January 13, 2021 at 5:51 pm

    Thanks a lot for the quick reply and for the help! I almost forgot to mention – I really appreciate everything that you're doing on this site. Lots of high-quality reviews that bring objective and valuable information.

  4. Andrew

    January 15, 2021 at 12:09 am

    Seems the G15 2021 will have a 100W RTX3070 instead of 80W
    Also 2 NVME slot is confirmed as well as a spare memory slot for DDR4 3200
    Price will be 13999RMB(2168USD), has a pre-order discount for 1000RMB(154USD)
    Found on the Chinese shopping website JD.com

  5. LTiempo

    January 17, 2021 at 9:13 am

    Thanks for this breakdown! I'd like confirmation of the inclusion of HDMI 2.1 on the G15 (and the lack of it on the G14), because that will play the biggest role in my purchasing decision. Sources are scarce right now, but Anandtech said that the G15 has has HDMI 2.0b (https://www.anandtech.com/show/16367/ces-2021-asus-rog-zephyrus-g15-with-next-gen-amd-ryzen-mobile).

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 18, 2021 at 11:18 am

      I need to check. I know there's HDMI 2.1 on the ROG Scar and ROG Zephyrus Duo, but not entirely sure on the G15

  6. Haythem Gataa

    January 18, 2021 at 11:20 am

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 18, 2021 at 11:28 am

      I noticed that, but I'm not entirely sure it's true. I don't see why they wouldn't put HDMi 2.1 on a 3070/3080 config

  7. ken

    January 19, 2021 at 12:49 am

    So close…
    Asus could have added a 16:10 display to the G15 and there should have been 2 mem slots instead of soldering one.

    Only one USB-C port on the G14 could take power delivery charging too…would be nice if they fixed that on the G15, but it's definitely the more interesting of the pair this year…

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 19, 2021 at 11:58 am

      as far as I can tell Lenovo have exclusivity on those 16:10 165 Hz panels. However, keep in mind those are 100% sRGB, while this 16:9 option is 100% DCI-P3, and when given the choice, the nicer colors wins over 16:10 for me.

      As for the RAM, well, there's 16 Gb onboard and you can easily throw in an extra 16 GB. DO you really need more than 32 GB on a laptop?

  8. Y

    January 19, 2021 at 7:44 am

    Thanks for sharing these info. Quick question. Do the fans stop completely during low load? Or does they get so quiet that is not audible even in a very quiet environment? I work at night a lot. The fans in my G14 get very obvious in a quiet environment. Coming from a ThinkPad this is very annoying. I preordered the G15. Heard they put liquid metal in it so I Wonder if it's still the same.

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 19, 2021 at 12:01 pm

      They stop completely, as per what Asus calls the 0Db Technology, but only as long as the hardware stays under a certain temperature (60 C or around that). This also only works on the Silent profile, so it will take a toll on the performance. I haven't adequately tested these G14/G15 models yet, but I've experienced the tech on the ROO Zephrysu Duo and ROG Flow X13, and I expect the same here.

      As for the other question, yes, there's liquid metal on all the ROG models this year, including the AMD versions.

  9. Haythem Gataa

    January 19, 2021 at 12:07 pm

    You can pre-order from now? Where?

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 19, 2021 at 12:19 pm

      there was for a little time, but ran out of preorder stock.

  10. Vico

    January 19, 2021 at 10:43 pm

    Damn, it looks like they messed up the placement on the bottom right speaker of the g15. From looking at pictures you posted showing the bottom of both you will notice the bottom right speaker is on the inside part of rubber foot and the bottom left speaker is on the outer part of rubber foot(the correct way). The g14 is fine and is what it's supposed to look like. I hope Asus fixes this when g15 comes out :(

  11. Vico

    January 19, 2021 at 10:54 pm

    Both G15 speakers should be close to each bottom corner. The bottom right speaker is away from the corner.

  12. Nam Le

    January 20, 2021 at 3:00 am

    I have read some speculation and hands-on but yours was the first saying that the RTX 3060 and RTX 3070 is supposedly MAX-Q. Recently (like today), Overclockers UK allow people to preorder these laptops but it just says RTX 3060 but on the other hand. In contrast, the G14 get an explicit mention that it is a MAX-Q version. Is it possible that the G15 get the full-sized GPU? Attached links for refferences.

    https://www.overclockers.co.uk/asus-rog-zephyrus-g14-ga401qm-nvidia-rtx-3060-32gb-14-qhd-120hz-ryzen-r9-5900hs-gaming-laptop-lt-2da-as.html

    https://www.overclockers.co.uk/asus-rog-zephyrus-g15-ga503qm-nvidia-rtx-3060-16gb-15.6-qhd-165hz-ryzen-r7-5800h-gaming-laptop-lt-2d6-as.html

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 20, 2021 at 10:40 am

      RTX 3060 should be full-power, but I doubt the 3070/3080 are not MQ. I don't think they can cool more than a 90-100W GPU in this chassis. Also too early to tell anything on the performance of those 3000 chips

  13. Pedro G. Manrique

    January 21, 2021 at 2:53 am

    First of all, thaks a lot for this great article.
    The new Asus Gs, looks like very good, but I am afraid the price will grow up. It is difficult find a good laptop around 1000€ with good battery, box material, screen, and cpu / gpu.

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 21, 2021 at 9:37 am

      The G15 is already listed in the US, and the prices are competitive for those high-end configurations. Cheaper 2060 models should also follow, but yes, 1000 EUR is not possible with this class of hardware. The TUF Dash series might be there, though.

  14. Stuart Middleton

    January 21, 2021 at 1:24 pm

    I've pre-ordered the 5800HS/3070 G15 from Scan here in the UK for £1900. Released on 15th March.

    I've currently got an MSI GE66 Raider with an i7/2070.

    It's definitely a maxq GPU in the G15, but I believe that Asus implementation is 90w, but it allows for another 10w (possibly 20w) via dynamic boost 2.0. It will have approximate performance of the previous gen 2080 Super apparently.

    From what I understand, the maxq variants of the GPU are identical to the maxp version from a hardware point of view. The bios is different and lowers the TDP. So there could be potential to flash it!

    This might also be the case for the Turing mobile GPUs, I'm not sure.

  15. Jon

    January 21, 2021 at 2:28 pm

    Great article.

    I'm interested on buying a new laptop this year so my main options are Lenovo Legion 7 (2021) 16" and this Asus ROG G15 15.6", both AMD Ryzen 5 and RTX 30 series. Which one do you think have better display? I'm excited about 16:10 instead of 16:9 because of my work mainly graphic design, text editors…

    Do you think Lenovo Legion 7 will have better display than this Asus ROG 15?

    Thank you all.

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 21, 2021 at 3:59 pm

      Hard to say for now, but from what I can tell, the 16:9 QHD on the Asus are 100% DCI-P3, while the 16:10 QHD on the Lenovo are 100% sRGB. Brightness, contrast etc should be similar between the two. That's something else I'd consider in the decision. Looks like it's better colors on the Asus vs extra size on the Lenovo

  16. Nam Le

    January 21, 2021 at 3:46 pm

    From the other side of the pond, I agree with you too. It seems like all indication points toward Asus limiting the BIOS and then you may be able to flash it to unlock higher voltage.

    The best way to understand MAXQ is better-binned chips that could is slightly more efficient and as such use less voltage to achieve slightly better results, at least that's what I heard. Although, 80w is still crippling the GPU.

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 21, 2021 at 3:53 pm

      I'm still waiting for a final review unit before I can run tests, but I generally expect the 3060/3070/3080 to run at around 90W as well + up to 15 of Dynamic Boost.

      When asking for more, you should really consider whether the thermal design would be able to handle a higher TDP. That's one of the main reasons these GPU's are power limited in compact builds: in order to run at satisfactory temperatures and performance. Otherwise, if let loose, they'd run at 85+ C and thermally throttle anyway.

  17. Christopher Dass

    January 21, 2021 at 4:13 pm

    It doesn't come with any RTX 2000 series?

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 21, 2021 at 4:30 pm

      The G14 does come with older GTX hardware, but the G15 does not, at least at launch

  18. Stuart Middleton

    January 21, 2021 at 5:18 pm

    I'm not sure if I'd be brave enough to mod/flash the bios of the GPU to turn it into a full MAXP version. But, if Dynamic Boost could be modded/tricked to give the full 100w to 110w for gaming (assuming temps were under control) then I'd be all for that.

    Until the laptop is reviewed and benchmarked though, this is just all conjecture.

  19. Wertzius

    January 22, 2021 at 2:39 pm

    HDMI 2.1 is not possible as the HDMI port is still connected to the iGPU. VEGA does not support HDMI 2.1, so no HDMI 2.1 on the laptop.
    HDMI is only possible on Intel Xe chips or if the HDMI is connected to the dGPU instead.

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 22, 2021 at 2:41 pm

      Thanks!

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 22, 2021 at 5:27 pm

      Are you sure about HDMI 2.1 on Iris Xe? As far as I can tell Iris Xe is HDMI 2.0b as well. That means HDMI 2.1 would only be possible with a direct dGPU connection, which is not available on any laptop that I'm aware of, for now.

  20. Stuart Middleton

    January 22, 2021 at 6:07 pm

    Gigabyte's Aorus and Aero line of RTX 30 laptops support HDMI 2.1.

    https://www.gigabyte.com/Laptop/AERO-15-OLED–RTX-30-Series#kf

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 22, 2021 at 6:18 pm

      Thanks! That means they are directly connecting the HDMI port with the dGPU.

  21. Dev

    January 22, 2021 at 7:28 pm

    And how are the thermals for the G15 so far? Are the fans kinda loud like the G14?

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 22, 2021 at 7:34 pm

      I don't have a final sample yet, so haven't ran any tests.

  22. Stuart Middleton

    January 27, 2021 at 9:13 pm

    Early reviews of the 3070 in the ASUS Dash and the 3080 in the G15 talk about really poor GPU performance – no better than last generation.

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 27, 2021 at 9:29 pm

      I'm finishing up on the Dash right now, should be up in about an hour. I disagree, the GPU perf is OK for a 3070 80W, roughly 20% over 2070 Super 80W and higher with RTX. G15 is 3070 100W, so faster. What are we comparing them with previous gen?

  23. Stuart Middleton

    January 27, 2021 at 10:37 pm

    Excellent, I'll look forward to the review. Previous gen 2080 (albeit higher wattage versions) outperform the 3070 and 3080 in some gaming benchmarks.

    You'd like to think that current gen hardware, even at lower wattage, could outperform previous gen.

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 28, 2021 at 10:40 am

      It's all about in the wattage with these 3000 series GPUs. From my tests so far, a 3070 80W is about on par with a 2070 Super 25W in rasterization, and a bit superior in RTX. But ff you'd compare a 3070 80W with a 2070 Super 115W, the latter would be faster. I know it's confusing, but we can't really properly compare unless we're looking at the same power

  24. Markus

    January 27, 2021 at 10:52 pm

    The G15 one is only 300 nits and ~1:1000 contrast. The legion 7 one is much brighter at 500 nits and HDR400. So propably much better contrast, too. So if you don't need perfect colour space then the Lenovo one will most likely be the much better choice.

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 28, 2021 at 10:41 am

      Brightness and contrast have little to do with colors. It's all about the gamut coverage, that's my argument here. I haven't touched either of the two panels, though, so I'll wait before drawing any conclusions

  25. Alain

    January 28, 2021 at 12:52 pm

    Hi, do you know the TDP on the 3060 model? Also, would you happen to know the relative performance of the 3060 model as well? Worried that the 3060 is 65W.

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 28, 2021 at 2:58 pm

      I don't, but it's not going to be 65W for sure. Probably somewhere between 80 to 100. Hoping for 100

  26. Dan

    January 29, 2021 at 2:33 pm

    Salut Andrei, BestBuy in the USA now lists (to be released Feb 15, 2021) ROG Zephyrus G15 with QHD screen, Ryzen 9 5900HS, 16GB Memory, 1TB SSD and RTX 3070 (??W). I am interested in your evaluation of 3070 graphics performance, and QHD screen, as well as overall thermal performance of this 15 inch laptop. Would you be able to get G15 with 3070 and QHD to evaluate, by mid February? This is likely to be very popular item in USA considering $1799 price tag and popularity of 2020 G14 at BestBuy.

    Could you also evaluate thermal performance on some of new ASUS and Lenovo Legion laptops with one of the low profile cooling pads that can be purchased for US$35-45? Some of these pads have large diameter, very quiet fans that move a lot of air and could improve both thermal and noise problems of these compact, high performance laptops. This would be very helpful evaluation, since we share your thermal concerns and think of possible mitigating solutions.

    I appreciate your comprehensive reviews on things that really matter on laptops, and consequent updates you do. Keep up the good work.

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 29, 2021 at 4:49 pm

      Hi, I don't have a G15 yet, and will most likely only get it around 12-13 Feb. I do have another laptop with the same screen, and it's pretty good: ~380 nits of brightness, 1200:1 contrast, 98% DCI-P3/88% Adobe RGB colors.

      As far as performance goes, from what I understand there's a 80W 3070 in that laptop, with up to 15W boost. So I'd expect the gaming performance of somewhere between the TUF F15 and A15 already tested here on the site. Closer to the A15.

      I also expect that to be very popular, our coleague Derek order one for himself as well, so we'll be able to share two points of view for you guys.

      As for a cooling pad, I don't have any, but I'll try to see if there are any good ones available locally. Never liked them tbh, a laptop needs to run well without any external help to win me over.

  27. Augustin

    January 30, 2021 at 11:16 pm

    Hi, from what I've heard last year the G15 had obstructed vents with some "plastic" or "paper" you said the new G15 version doesn't have anything covering the vents and the new G15 can now finally "breath" normally am I right?

  28. Pedro G. Manrique

    January 31, 2021 at 1:26 am

    Wow!! Rog G15 GA503 with rtx 3080 and 32GiB of RAM with SSD 1TB has a very big price in Spain 3099€. This is the link https://rog.asus.com/es/laptops/rog-zephyrus/2021-rog-zephyrus-g15-series/

  29. Stuart Middleton

    January 31, 2021 at 2:48 pm

    For a bit of perspective regarding the low wattage GPUs in the 2021 G15 – the "Max-P" version of the 2070 refresh in my 2020 GE66 Raider is a 115w part. With +1000MHz on the memory and +130MHz on the core, it scored 8418 (graphics) in Timespy.

    The 3070 in the 2021 A15 (which will hopefully be comparable to the 3070 in the G15) scores nearly 900 higher in Timespy. Bearing in mind, the 2070 in my GE66 is a higher wattage GPU AND overclocked (and in a thicker, larger chassis).

    So, despite my initial worries about the 3070 in the G15 being a bit weak (I nearly cancelled my preorder), given the size and aesthetics of the laptop I think that I'll more be than happy with it's performance.

  30. Miguel

    February 4, 2021 at 5:13 pm

    Quería aprovechar su conocimiento, iba a comprar el rog 14 (Asus ROG Zephyrus G14 GA401IV-HE133T AMD Ryzen 9 4900HS/32GB/1TB SSD/RTX 2060/14") pero por la gráfica no acabo de decirme y estoy a punto de adquirir este modelo: asus rog zephyrus m15 gu502lw-az056t . El precio actual es España es 1699 euros para ambos. Debería esperar un mes a la renovación de modelos. Además, quiero preguntarle, el modelo 14 habla de una gran duración de batería, en torno a 8 o 9 horas, cuánto dura la batería en los 15, aunque sea actuales. Muchas gracias de antemano

  31. Miguel

    February 4, 2021 at 6:58 pm

    Sorry, i am using the Google translator and i dident realize. I wanted to take advantage of his knowledge, I was going to buy the rog 14 (Asus ROG Zephyrus G14 GA401IV-HE133T AMD Ryzen 9 4900HS / 32GB / 1TB SSD / RTX 2060/14 ") but because of the graphics 2060 i dident decide and I am about to acquire this model: asus rog zephyrus m15 gu502lw-az056t. The current price is Spain is 1699 euros for both. IN YOUR OPINION (SORRY Y NEED USE UPERKEYS, THE CORRECTOR..) I should wait a month for the renewal of models? Also, I want to ask you, the model 14 speaks of a great battery life, around 8 or 9 hours,BUT, how long the battery lasts in the 15, even if it is current. Thank you very much in advance. AMD SORRY ABOUT MY POOR ENGLISH AND THE UPERKEYS.

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 4, 2021 at 7:42 pm

      Mi Miguel. No worries.

      You didn't mention what you need the laptop for. If it's primarily gaming, then the M15 is what I'd get over the Zephyrus G14, but if it also work that could benefit from the powerful AMD processor, then the G14 is a good option as well. Just make sure you understand that the RTX 2060 in the G14 is slower than the 2060 (and even the 1660Ti) in the Zephyrus m15.

      As for whether you should wait for the new products, check out if they would be within your budget. I'd reckon these 2020 model should be discounted by now.

  32. Miguel

    February 4, 2021 at 8:06 pm

    Firt, really thanks.

    Y need my laptop for work, but y like spend time playing games. Its very important for my that my laptop have at least 5 real hours of battery using internet, word, analitycs, facebook, youtube…

    1.Im sure that the G14 have this battery, but ¿G15?
    2.Its better AMD processor than Intel, for the battery?

    ¡Saludos! from Spain

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 4, 2021 at 8:20 pm

      The M15 that I've reviewed came with the 4K screen, and only lasted for 2-4 hours of daily use on a charge. You'll probably reach towards 5 hours with the FHD screen, but overall the AMD platform is more efficient and will last longer. Both the G14 and M15 get the same 76 Wh battery.

  33. Miguel

    February 4, 2021 at 8:27 pm

    Thanks very much

  34. Monesh

    February 6, 2021 at 2:42 pm

    Hey Andrei,

    Hope you're doing well.

    Does this laptop have switchable graphics or a mux switch which will allow me to directly use the dGPU?

  35. Stuart Middleton

    February 8, 2021 at 2:54 pm

    I'll be taking delivery of the 5900HS, 32GB, RTX 3080 G15 in white in 7 days (February 15th). I cancelled my pre-order of the 5800HS, 16GB, RTX 3070 version as it wasnt available until March 15th (here in the UK).

    I'm surprised that there hasn't been more reviews, especially as the laptop will be released in a matter of days (I've only seen two reviews).

    I really didn't want the laptop in "Moonlight White", but its the only option at the moment.

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 15, 2021 at 11:11 am

      Looking forward to your feedback. You're getting it before I do over here, still waiting for the review unit to arrive, but it's been delayed due to shipping issues.

  36. IAmPoor

    February 12, 2021 at 5:26 am

    The monitor is not directly connected to the screen, the HDMI is also connected to the iGPU.

    Only the type(display port 1.4) is connected to the dGPU.

  37. Hckygoalie31

    February 12, 2021 at 4:25 pm

    Some models have 8GB of RAM soldered and another 8 populated in the free memory slot. The gray best buy model follows this design (GA503QR-211.ZG15) which is disappointing but not the end of the world. You can switch between iGPU and dGPU in the Armoury crate software that comes loaded on the G15. It also has single-zone RGB on the keyboard.

  38. Ben Crayfourd

    February 16, 2021 at 3:55 pm

    Hi Stuart,
    Have you got your Zephyrus yet? I've been waiting on my Strix Scar 15 for over a week now – it was due then but because of shipping issues as Andrei mentions, the Strix Scar 15s are not due until late Feb

  39. Stuart

    February 16, 2021 at 4:16 pm

    Hi Ben, my G15 arrived from Scan this morning at 11am. Overclockers were due to have them in last week but thats been delayed until the end of this week. I was expecting mine to be delayed too, but credit to Scan, they received a shipment of G15s yesterday morning and just over 24 hours later it was delivered.

    I was actually going to get the Scar 15 with the QHD screen and 16GB 3080, but I just couldnt wait until the middle of next month for stock.

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 16, 2021 at 4:22 pm

      Glad to hear you got the G15, looking for your impressions :) I'm still waiting for mine, it was initially scheduled for last week and now there's a slim chance it might arrive tomorrow.

  40. Stuart

    February 16, 2021 at 5:04 pm

    Hi Andrei, I won't go into benchmarks as I'll leave that to your review. But I'm really impressed with it so far. It looks and feels like a premium device. I'm not a fan of the white chassis – it looks very Apple to me, I'd have preferred the eclipse grey version but that isnt available yet in the UK.

    Given the size and thickness of the laptop, I'm pleasantly surprised with the temps and noise.

    As I don't have a separate desktop rig anymore, this laptop has to be my daily driver aswell as a gaming machine. For that purpose, its pretty much perfect.

  41. Andrei Girbea

    March 8, 2021 at 3:07 pm

    For those still following, our full review of the 3070 and 3080 G15 models is available here: https://www.ultrabookreview.com/45159-asus-zephyrus-g15-ga503-review/ . Sry for the delay, this test took a lot of time.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *