Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We do not collect your personal data.  I agree  Find out more  About cookies

Asus ROG Zephyrus G15 review (2020 GA502IU model – Ryzen 7 4800HS, GTX 1660Ti, 240Hz screen)

39 Comments

  1. techdude

    April 23, 2020 at 3:25 pm

    Heat has always been AMD's weak points for decades and it still prevail in 2020.

    • genexis_x

      April 23, 2020 at 7:31 pm

      It's the laptop cooling itself that makes it look bad lol.

    • Geoff

      May 11, 2020 at 2:38 pm

      Do you think you could start including the minimum brightness reading for each laptop display? I noticed that you used to do it and then recently seemed to stop.

      • Andrei Girbea

        May 11, 2020 at 2:45 pm

        I'll have to look into it, but I might not be able to anymore.

        I've moved to a better X-Rite sensor and no longer use the same software as before. This software only measures brightness at 25% and up, which is available in the uniformity pic: https://www.ultrabookreview.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/04/screen-uniformity.png . I'll have to check if a 0% reading is available anywhere.

        • Geoff

          May 11, 2020 at 10:10 pm

          It would be greatly appreciated if you could. It looks like you're still using DisplayCal. So if you just set the screen brightness to 0% and run another "report on uncalibrated display device", it should give it to you. That's what I've been doing.

          I have chronic migraines, so the minimum brightness measurement is always the first thing I look at when it comes to reviews.

        • Andrei Girbea

          May 12, 2020 at 10:14 am

          Got it, I'll try and remember that

  2. Brian Hall

    April 23, 2020 at 5:05 pm

    Don't you think you're being a tad unfair comparing it to the Razer Blade 15 Predator Triton 500 and MSI Stealth? All those start over $2000. If those computers are the next step up and they cost $600 more, then I'd say this computer offers amazing value.

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 23, 2020 at 5:13 pm

      No they don't. 2060 version of the 2019 Triton, GS65 or Blade Base can be found for as low as $1600, even less, with various discounts. 1660Ti Zephyrus M or even the Predator Helios 300 are cheaper, and there are also the Eluktronics models to consider. Maybe I'm wrong, but I just don't think this is good value at $1399, and would rather pay more for a better product, or less for the A15s.

      Perhaps prices are different in your region? I tried to factor this in with the final score, otherwise I would have rather rated it at 3.75

      • heller

        April 23, 2020 at 5:44 pm

        but here is a much more powerful processor and battery life.

  3. Daniel

    April 23, 2020 at 8:56 pm

    Thank you! I bought both this and the 2020 Tuf from Best Buy last week, and will return the one I don't like. I have been finding myself crazy for preferring the Tuf (though the one noticeable difference is the fan noise is more on Tuf, to me) – as this Rog cost $200 more. So far, the Tuf seems both better and cheaper. Going to read that review now! The only other con I can find to my Tuf is the Wifi is gen 5. Oh, and it came with an accessory, 4 screws and I don't know, more RAM or SSD? I don't know what it is.

  4. ShIntel CEO

    April 24, 2020 at 7:22 am

    Seems like reducing fan size and flipping it so that the support will block more air flow can still cool the system down…

    Let me introduce the "Air Blocking" fan filters!

    • Rahman

      May 26, 2020 at 11:11 am

      SSD Slit is NVME Right? Or sata?

  5. Aastra

    April 24, 2020 at 8:08 am

    asus totally messed up cooling by blocking vents.

  6. Brant Dufty

    April 24, 2020 at 9:20 am

    AMD getting stuffed again!! Intel's incentives for OEM's to keep AMD's true potential under the carpet is just ridiculous!! Come on ASUS it's been made very obvious the AMD CPU's run way cooler than Intel's so you block off the fan intakes. You should be embarrassed!!

    • Nusait

      June 3, 2020 at 4:43 pm

      Between a 16GB RTX2060 1TB SSD Zephyrus G15 2020 and a 2019 1660Ti 512SSD MSI GS 65 which one would be your pick if they are priced the same at about 1800 CAD/ ~1400 USD.

      • Andrei Girbea

        June 3, 2020 at 4:49 pm

        What do you need it for?

        G15 – better CPU performance, longer battery life, but plastic build, non RGB keyboard, etc.
        GS65 – better combined and gaming performance, nicer build quality, better inputs.

        I'd lean towards the GS65 unless you really need that extra CPU power for certain loads

        • Nusait

          June 4, 2020 at 7:41 pm

          Thanks ! I'll use it for university as well as some gaming. A good display, battery life and build quality should all be pretty useful. The RTX G15 is coming soon to Canada as well as G14 which is also another good option given the price. The 144HZ G15 and MSI Gs65 are the only ones available currently. Waiting now while all the sites have backordered.

  7. Jonathan Figueroa

    May 6, 2020 at 11:50 pm

    I got the GA502IU from Best Buy (granted the cruddy 144hz panel) for $899. Seen it go on sale for that multiple times. For that price it's very hard to turn away from.

  8. bom

    May 12, 2020 at 9:34 pm

    I am confused about the "only MaxQ options" statement. As per the official website, the RTX 2060 is a non-maxQ version.

  9. Kevin Senecal

    June 7, 2020 at 7:46 pm

    Zephyrus G15 GA502IV – Ryzen 7 CPU, RTX 2060 66W, 240 Hz screen

    This is the model I bought. I had it upgraded by HIDevolution (Newegg). They put better thermal grease on the heatsinks, upgraded to 40GB DDR4 3200, and 1TB NVME SSD. I think the sound is great, at least better than my last 3 laptops. Yes the NVidia fan does get loud when gaming but it does not bother me. My desktop did the same thing. Nothing a headset won't cover. So far this machine has been everything I've been looking for. I bought one for my son and plan on buying one more for my wife. To me it's worth the money. I'm a fan of AMD and have always been since the AMD 486 CPU's.

    • rjpajaron

      June 11, 2020 at 3:23 am

      How is the keyboard? I love the keyboard layout. Programmer friendly.

  10. Evangelos Aktoudianakis

    June 13, 2020 at 10:47 pm

    https://www.scan.co.uk/products/156-asus-rog-zephyrus-g15-ga502iu-al011t-brushed-black-144hz-fhd-ryzen-7-gtx-1660ti-16gb-ddr4 – looking at this, it claims this is not a MAX-Q design. Is this the actual full version?

    Many thanks

  11. JY

    June 14, 2020 at 8:35 am

    May I ask if the screen was set at 240Hz for the battery life tests?

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 14, 2020 at 10:41 am

      Normally, Asus laptops automatically switch over to 60 Hz when unplugged, but I'm not entirely sure if the G15 does that as well. I did not that details at the time of the test and no longer have the laptop around to retest

      • Marco

        July 26, 2020 at 1:17 pm

        I can confirm it does not go down to 60fps.

  12. Chris

    June 16, 2020 at 4:32 am

    Would you recommend this laptop if I get the RTX 2060 (non-max q) and remove the paper under the vents? I plan to buy an extra cover so I still have my original if anything does go wrong.

    This is what I was looking at. https://www.newegg.com/brushed-black-asus-rog-zephyrus-g15-ga502iv-xs76-gaming-entertainment/p/N82E16834235422?Item=N82E16834235422

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 16, 2020 at 10:46 am

      I's say yes, especially if you need that powerful AMD platform. I'd still consider the Intel-based M15 as well, it's slightly nicer built imo and offers better graphics and thermals, but looses at multi-core CPU performance and battery life. Up to you

  13. Frederic Bouchard

    June 23, 2020 at 7:45 pm

    Hello Abdrei,
    Did you think that the G15 with the 240hz for around 1199$ USD is a good deal or is better to look at the A17 or Zephorus M.

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 23, 2020 at 8:27 pm

      it's a good deal, just ask yourself if you need that Ryzen CPU. If not, the Zephryus M is a better balanced product imo

      • Frederic Bouchard

        June 23, 2020 at 8:35 pm

        ok thanks Andrei

  14. Daniel

    June 24, 2020 at 11:32 am

    I keep seeing the G15 with a 4800HS, RTX 2060, 16 gb ram, and 1 tb SSD with 240 Hz display for 1799 Canadian dollars. I feel like this is a good deal, something like a Zephyrus S GX502GV with a 2060 usually costs over 2000 dollars here, and the G15 has better CPU performance (I honestly don't even need anywhere near an RTX 2060 for gaming but it would be a nice-to-have if I started delving into AI programming for the tensor cores, CPU performance is much more important to me), do you think this is a good deal?
    My current laptop is a Dell XPS 15 9570 with an i7 8750H, 4k touch display, GTX 1050 Ti Max-Q, and 16 GB ram, do you think I could sell it, scrape together a few hundred more dollars, and be able to afford the G15?
    I'm the kind of person who doesn't care about inconveniences that you can get around, so things like a lack of biometrics won't bother me, and if I needed video calls, my secondary laptop (the Chinese edition of the Huawei matebook e) has a surprisingly good webcam anyway. I haven't ever used RGB keyboard backlighting and doubt that it will be important to me, but I would love good battery life and a display that would actually let me fulfill my gaming potential. The poor response time of the XPS display combined with low refresh rate and thermal / power limit throttling has seriously impeded my ability to play, hence why I want to switch to a G15.

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 25, 2020 at 11:18 am

      If the CPU is that important, then yes, this should be a one of your better options. the RTX chip is max-q, but still only within 10-20% of the full power versions, so good enough for most games.

      Not sure about the local prices for used XPS notebooks, but you can check eBay and what other similar sites are there locally. Going with the G15, you'd take a step backwards in overall build quality and materials compared to that XPS, though.

  15. Norbert Kett

    August 3, 2020 at 1:39 pm

    so the Ryzen version of this laptop has a black paper what blocking the ventillation. the intel version has unblocked vent holes. oh intel … why im think its another bribe again?

  16. R6D

    August 23, 2020 at 2:05 pm

    Laptopmedia review says that LQ156M1JW16 screen actually has PWM at brightness below 35%.

  17. Travis

    August 27, 2020 at 1:09 pm

    Hello there, in China we got 4800hs+2060Q+240hz configuration which costs ¥8999 ($1269)or ¥8599 on sale – the mighty Legion 5i (4800H+2060+144+16/512) costs $1057 as a comparison. As a muti-purpose slim gaming laptop it doesnt lack competitiveness IMO,that is ,if you are not disgusted by their airflow blocking trick.
    I also noticed a modest power consumption increase when a higher refreshrate is activated, on both my smartphone and my old laptop. I wonder if the subject in the article is tested at 60hertz with independent GPU disabled in battery life section.
    I am new to this website. The review is professional, instructive, and enjoyable to read, thanks for the work.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *