Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We do not collect your personal data.  I agree  Find out more  About cookies

ASUS ROG Zephyrus G15 ASUS The Zephyrus G15 is a fairly competent all-round portable 15-inch laptop. It performs admirably in demanding loads and pairs the hardware with a compact build and a punchy and fast screen, a great option for daily use and gaming, and even a fine one for color-accurate work. However, the smudgy materials, the shallow keyboard, and the MaxQ-only GPU options, and especially the wonky thermal design and high internal temperatures, these all eat into its potential, both as a gaming ultraportable and as a multi-tasker. ASUS ROG Zephyrus G15 The Zephyrus G15 is a fairly competent all-round portable 15-inch laptop. It performs admirably in demanding loads and pairs the hardware with a compact build and a punchy and fast screen, a great option for daily use and gaming, and even a fine one for color-accurate work. However, the smudgy materials, the shallow keyboard, and the MaxQ-only GPU options, and especially the wonky thermal design and high internal temperatures, these all eat into its potential, both as a gaming ultraportable and as a multi-tasker. Andrei Girbea 4 5 https://www.ultrabookreview.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/04/asus-zephyrus-g15-main.jpg Andrei Girbea 4 5

Asus ROG Zephyrus G15 review (2020 GA502IU model – Ryzen 7 4800HS, GTX 1660Ti, 240Hz screen)

18 Comments

  1. techdude

    April 23, 2020 at 3:25 pm

    Heat has always been AMD's weak points for decades and it still prevail in 2020.

    • genexis_x

      April 23, 2020 at 7:31 pm

      It's the laptop cooling itself that makes it look bad lol.

    • Geoff

      May 11, 2020 at 2:38 pm

      Do you think you could start including the minimum brightness reading for each laptop display? I noticed that you used to do it and then recently seemed to stop.

      • Andrei Girbea

        May 11, 2020 at 2:45 pm

        I'll have to look into it, but I might not be able to anymore.

        I've moved to a better X-Rite sensor and no longer use the same software as before. This software only measures brightness at 25% and up, which is available in the uniformity pic: https://www.ultrabookreview.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/04/screen-uniformity.png . I'll have to check if a 0% reading is available anywhere.

        • Geoff

          May 11, 2020 at 10:10 pm

          It would be greatly appreciated if you could. It looks like you're still using DisplayCal. So if you just set the screen brightness to 0% and run another "report on uncalibrated display device", it should give it to you. That's what I've been doing.

          I have chronic migraines, so the minimum brightness measurement is always the first thing I look at when it comes to reviews.

          • Andrei Girbea

            May 12, 2020 at 10:14 am

            Got it, I'll try and remember that

  2. Brian Hall

    April 23, 2020 at 5:05 pm

    Don't you think you're being a tad unfair comparing it to the Razer Blade 15 Predator Triton 500 and MSI Stealth? All those start over $2000. If those computers are the next step up and they cost $600 more, then I'd say this computer offers amazing value.

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 23, 2020 at 5:13 pm

      No they don't. 2060 version of the 2019 Triton, GS65 or Blade Base can be found for as low as $1600, even less, with various discounts. 1660Ti Zephyrus M or even the Predator Helios 300 are cheaper, and there are also the Eluktronics models to consider. Maybe I'm wrong, but I just don't think this is good value at $1399, and would rather pay more for a better product, or less for the A15s.

      Perhaps prices are different in your region? I tried to factor this in with the final score, otherwise I would have rather rated it at 3.75

      • heller

        April 23, 2020 at 5:44 pm

        but here is a much more powerful processor and battery life.

  3. Daniel

    April 23, 2020 at 8:56 pm

    Thank you! I bought both this and the 2020 Tuf from Best Buy last week, and will return the one I don't like. I have been finding myself crazy for preferring the Tuf (though the one noticeable difference is the fan noise is more on Tuf, to me) – as this Rog cost $200 more. So far, the Tuf seems both better and cheaper. Going to read that review now! The only other con I can find to my Tuf is the Wifi is gen 5. Oh, and it came with an accessory, 4 screws and I don't know, more RAM or SSD? I don't know what it is.

  4. ShIntel CEO

    April 24, 2020 at 7:22 am

    Seems like reducing fan size and flipping it so that the support will block more air flow can still cool the system down…

    Let me introduce the "Air Blocking" fan filters!

  5. Aastra

    April 24, 2020 at 8:08 am

    asus totally messed up cooling by blocking vents.

  6. Brant Dufty

    April 24, 2020 at 9:20 am

    AMD getting stuffed again!! Intel's incentives for OEM's to keep AMD's true potential under the carpet is just ridiculous!! Come on ASUS it's been made very obvious the AMD CPU's run way cooler than Intel's so you block off the fan intakes. You should be embarrassed!!

  7. Jonathan Figueroa

    May 6, 2020 at 11:50 pm

    I got the GA502IU from Best Buy (granted the cruddy 144hz panel) for $899. Seen it go on sale for that multiple times. For that price it's very hard to turn away from.

  8. bom

    May 12, 2020 at 9:34 pm

    I am confused about the "only MaxQ options" statement. As per the official website, the RTX 2060 is a non-maxQ version.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *