2021 Lenovo Legion 5 Pro and Legion 5 – AMD Ryzen 5000, RTX graphics and more

By Andrei Girbea , last updated on March 31, 2021

Many consider the 2020 Lenovo Legion 5 the best-value gaming laptop of its generation, especially in the AMD Ryzen variants with higher-tier graphics. However, those configurations were not available worldwide, and only topped at Geforce 60 mid-level graphics, which did not suffice for some potential buyers.

That’s changing with the 2021 Lenovo Legion 5 update and especially the brand-new Legion 5 Pro, a beefier iteration with more powerful specs and a quad-fan thermal design to match them.

This article down below gathers our early thoughts on these updated Legion 5 lineups, and is a work in progress as we’re filling up the blanks.

In a few words, the 2021 Legion 5 series is mostly a hardware-update of the 2020 generation, bumped to AMD Ryzen 5000 hardware and Nvidia RTX 3000 graphics. The Legion 5 Pro, on the other hand, is different in a couple of ways. Lenovo went with a slightly more gaming-oriented design that reminds of the previous Y series of laptops from 2018, with a backlit Legion logo on the lid, opted for a 16-inch QHD 165 Hz display, a thicker chassis, and a different internal design, meant to accommodate higher-tier specs.

2021 Lenovo legion 5 Pro and Legion 5

For now, here’s a specs sheet of the Legion 5 Pro and Legion 5 models, based on the little we know so far, and we’ll update as we dig out more details. Note that while the standard Legion 5 models are available in either 15 or 17-inch FHD 16:9 versions, the 5 Pro is only available with the newer 16-inch QHD 16:10 display.

Lenovo Legion 5 Pro 16ACH-06 Lenovo Legion 5 15ACH-06 Lenovo Legion 5 17ACH-06
Screen 16-inch, QHD 2560 x 1600 px IPS, 16:10, non-touch, matte
165 Hz 3ms response, GSync support
400-nits, 100% sRGB
15.6-inch, FHD, 16:9, non-touch, matte
several panel options: 165 Hz 3ms 300-nits 100% sRGB with GSync, 120 Hz 250-nits 65% sRGB, 60 Hz 300-nits 100% sRGB
17.3-inch, FHD, 16:9, non-touch, matte
several panel options: 144 Hz 3ms 300-nits 100% sRGB with Free-Sync,
60 Hz 300-nits 100% sRGB
Processor up to AMD Cezanne Ryzen 7 5000 (up to Ryzen 7 5800H) up to AMD Cezanne Ryzen 7 5800H up to AMD Cezanne Ryzen 7 5800H
Video Radeon Vega + Nvidia RTX 3000 series (up to 3070 125-140W) Radeon Vega + Nvidia RTX 3000 series (up to 3070 115-13oW) Radeon Vega + Nvidia RTX 3000 series (up to 3070 115-13oW)
Memory up to 64GB DDR4 3200 MHz (2x DIMMs) up to 32 GB DDR4 3200 MHz (2x DIMMs) up to 32 GB DDR4 3200 MHz (2x DIMMs)
Storage up to 2 TB M.2 NVMe (dual M.2) up to 2 TB M.2 NVMe (dual M.2) + 2.5″ bay on 60Wh battery versions up to 2 TB M.2 NVMe (dual M.2)
Connectivity Wireless 6 (Intel AX20/210), Bluetooth 5.1, Gigabit LAN Wireless 6 (Intel AX200/210), Bluetooth 5.1, Gigabit LAN Wireless 6 (Intel AX200/210), Bluetooth 5.1, Gigabit LAN
Ports 4x USB-A 3.2 gen1, 1x USB-C 3.2 gen2 with charging, DP and data, 1x USB-C 3.2 gen1, HDMI 2.1, LAN, headphone/mic 3x USB-A 3.1 gen 1, 1x USB-C 3.2 gen2 with Data, gen1, power and DP, 1x USB-C 3.2 gen1, HDMI 2.1, LAN, headphone/mic 4x USB-A 3.1 gen 1, 1x USB-C 3.2 gen2 with Data, power and DP, 1x USB-C 3.2 gen1, SD card reader, HDMI 2.1, LAN, headphone/mic
Battery 80 Wh, 230 W power adapter 60/80 Wh, from 170 W power adapter 80 Wh, from 170 W power adapter
Size 356 mm or 14.01” (w) x 264 mm or 10.4” (d) x 26.9 mm or 1.1” (h) 363 mm or 14.29” (w) x 260 mm or 10.23” (d) x 26.1 mm or 1.03” (h) 399 mm or 15.69” (w) x 290 mm or 11.42” (d) x 26.1 mm or 1.03” (h)
Weight from 2.45 kg (5.4 lb), + power brick from 2.4 kg (5.3 lb), + power brick from 2.98 kg (6.6 lb), + power brick
Extras white/blue/4-zone RGB backlit keyboard with NumPad, 2x 2W stereo speakers, HD webcam with Shutter, Gray or White colors white/blue/4-zone RGB backlit keyboard with NumPad, 2x 2W stereo speakers, HD webcam with Shutter, Blue or White colors white/blue/4-zone RGB backlit keyboard with NumPad, 2x 2W stereo speakers, HD webcam with Shutter, Blue or White colors

As far as the 2021 Legion 5 models go, not a lot has changed in terms of design, construction, and overall feel from the 2020 models (here’s our review of the 2020 Legion 5).

Aside from the hardware update, these 2021 models get a slight change in IO and several different screen options, all FHD 16:9 just as before. Lenovo did change the color options, with these 2021 models now available in either Phantom Blue or Stingray White.

Back to those specs, Lenovo only announced AMD-based models for now, but I’d reckon Intel variants will also be available later on (either with Comet Lake H or once the Tiger Lake H chips become available around Spring 2021). As far as the GPU options go, we’re still waiting for confirmation, but I’d expect the standard Legion 5 models to top at RTX 3060 chips.

Update: RTX 3070 115-130W configurations of the Legion 5 have been listed in several regions. Those are more powerful than I was expecting.

Even higher power RTX 3060/3070 125-140W graphics will make it into the Legion 5 Pro models, as suggested by the fact that these ship with a 240/300W power brick by default. The 5 Pro is also slightly thicker and gets a quad-fan thermal design, paired with Lenovo’s new Legion AI Engine, an AI optimized software suite that dynamically juggles the CPU/GPU power-settings in order to improve the performance in AAA games (this software package will be available across the entire 2021 Legion lineup). Gigabyte have been using similar AI features in their laptops, not to the greatest success, though, and I wonder what Lenovo were able to achieve here, with their much heftier R&D budget. The official literature also mentions GSync support for the 5 Pro, but take this with a grain of salt until further clarified.

I was also eager for a more in-depth look at this quad-fan cooling module, but Lenovo haven’t provided any pictures for now.

2021 Lenovo Legion 5 Pro design

Specs aside, unlike the standard Legion 5, the 5 Pro gets the 2021 novelty 16-inch display with QHD (2560 x 1600 px ) resolution, 16:10 aspect ratio, 165 Hz refresh rate, and 3 ms response, as well as 500-nits of brightness, HDR 400 support, and 100% sRGB color coverage. This is also offered on Lenovo’s top-tier 2021 Legion 7 series. As a side benefit, the 5 Pro now looks a lot more modern, with thinner bezels and a much smaller chin. There’s still enough room for a camera at the top, with a privacy shutter cover.

While the press release doesn’t specifically cover this aspect, I’d reckon the 5 Pro is still a plastic build, Lenovo keeping the higher-quality construction exclusive for the Legion 7 lineup, which also gets RGB lightbars. I’d also reckon the inputs haven’t changed from the standard Legion 5 models, with the full-size keyboard available with different kinds of illumination (white, blue, or 4-zone RGB), but the Pro has received a more spacious clickpad.

2021 Lenovo Legion 5 Pro inputs - keybaord and clickpad

The IO is mostly lined on the rear of the 5 Pro, like on all the other Legion models. There’s everything you’ll need here, except for Thunderbolt support or a card-reader. In fact, you’ll only get a card-reader on the 17-inch Legion 5, but not on any other 2021 Legion. As a side note, the specs hint that USB-C charging is now supported by both the Legion 5 and 5 Pro lineups, unlike with the 2020 generations.

All in all, I’m confident both the 2021 Lenovo Legion 5 and the Legion 5 Pro are going to top the charts in their classes, but I’m looking forward to properly test them and share our findings with you. Both are expected in stores around March 2021, with the Legion 5 starting at $769 in the US, and the Legion 5 Pro starting at $999. I’d like to hear your thoughts on them in the meantime, especially on the 5 Pro.

Disclaimer: Our content is reader-supported. If you buy through some of the links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more.
Andrei Girbea, Editor-in-Chief of Ultrabookreview.com. I've been covering mobile computers since the 2000s and you'll mostly find reviews and thorough guides written by me here on the site.

48 Comments

  1. jk

    January 28, 2021 at 1:52 pm

    326 GB DDR4? I want that in my live yesterday!

  2. J

    January 28, 2021 at 3:48 pm

    "As far as the GPU options go, we’re still waiting for confirmation, but I’d expect the standard Legion 5 models to top at RTX 3060 chips, since I doubt anything has changed internally and the design would otherwise struggle with a higher power GPU."

    There are already Legion 5 15.6" and 17.3" with RTX 3070 listed in stores, at least in the Nordics.
    https://www.gigantti.fi/product/gaming/pelikannettavat/275777/lenovo-legion-5-15-6-pelikannettava-r7161000307015-165

  3. J

    January 29, 2021 at 8:05 pm

    There is actually a chance that they are 3070 115W. All of the 3060s are also listed as 115W.

    Click on "Specifikationer"
    https://www.inet.se/produkt/1965999/lenovo-legion-5-17-3-ryzen-7-16gb-1tb-rtx-3070-144hz
    https://www.inet.se/produkt/1966003/lenovo-legion-5-15-6-ryzen-7-16gb-1tb-rtx-3070-165hz

    125W for the Legion 5 Pro with 3070.
    https://www.inet.se/produkt/1965854/lenovo-legion-5-pro-16-ryzen-7-16gb-512gb-rtx-3070-165hz-qhd

    I know it is only a store so they might be wrong, but they make sure to write out Max-Q on other 3070s and 3060s.

  4. Dan

    January 31, 2021 at 11:34 pm

    Salut Andrei. For your testing of Legion 5 Pro, do you hope to receive Ryzen 7 5800 CPU version with RTX 3070 graphics from Lenovo? Based on Lenovo launch information for Legion 5 and 5 Pro, do you anticipate getting testing samples by early March?

    When you get to that point, it would be interesting to see QHD panels with RTX 3070 graphic performance comparison between different options. I think this will be popular and of interest to compare 5 Pro 16 inch with Asus ROG/Strix 17 or 15-inch QHD laptops. I am not talking only about gaming graphics, since many people will buy these laptops for dual purposes.

    Not sure if there any other mainstream laptop options with that graphics (QHD/GPU) combination and price range in March to May period. Please let us know your thoughts on that when you get a chance. Thanks.

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 1, 2021 at 11:36 am

      I doubt I will receive it from Lenovo, but I might buy it myself for a review if it gets here in time. We'll see

  5. Yber

    February 2, 2021 at 12:44 am

    psref.lenovo.com/Detail/Legion/Lenovo_Legion_5_Pro_16ACH6H?M=82JQ0023MX

  6. Loc

    February 4, 2021 at 10:10 pm

    Mistake with AX201 – it version only for Intel (CNVi V2). For AMD or obsolete AX200 or newest AX210 (work not all countries with 6Ghz – frequency blocked by drivers from Intel and not patched for this time)

  7. Ilya

    February 15, 2021 at 12:52 pm

    Do you believe there will be a config 7 5000 with 1650ti/1660ti?

  8. Vincent Lim

    February 21, 2021 at 2:14 pm

    For those wondering what the RTX3070 is rated for in the Legion 5 pro (16"), from Nvidia panel, it is reported as 140W.

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 22, 2021 at 10:51 am

      Do you have it? Does it run at 140W on games?

  9. Marc Campreciós Ester

    February 22, 2021 at 1:42 pm

    A newbie qustion on these sort of laptops.

    You say the prices will start from $769 in the US, but in Europe I can't even find the 2020 model for less than $1200. Also, links listed in comments above from other shops that are allowing pre-orders, seem to be around those $1200-$1500.

    Am I missing simthing here? In general, would be impossible, by far, to get these specs in any laptop for that those $769 in Europe. Not even refurbished.

    Thanks a lot!

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 22, 2021 at 1:45 pm

      Those are the prices Lenovo included in the initial price-launch, and most likely for configurations that will be available later on. The being said, EU prices are normally much higher than US prices because of taxes, among others.

  10. Marc Campreciós Ester

    February 22, 2021 at 1:59 pm

    Thanks for the response!

    I'm after a 2020 Legion 5 for about 1000€ ($1200), and couldn't find it any cheaper. Read pretty good reviews about it and then, got lost when I saw the 2021 model specs and US price.

    I'm understanding then, that probably we won't get these new models in EU until the end of the year and would be way more expensive.

    Is it worth it to get the 2020 Legion 5 for 1200€ right now then?

    Thanks a lot, much appreciated!

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 22, 2021 at 3:16 pm

      which GPU on that Legion 5? It's hard for me to judge local prices, I'm not familiar with every country. You'll have to check the competition and see what else you can get with similar specs, and then decide. You should also consider the screen type on each model, preferably get 144Hz+ with 100% sRGB colors.

  11. jk79

    February 22, 2021 at 2:05 pm

    Well, more like: US prices in shops typically do *not* include the "sales tax", while EU prices typically *do* include the "value added tax". In addition to that, somehow the market "standard" has established itself, that the prices in Eur are created as: take over the same number as the price in USD, and just change the currency sign from USD to EUR .. irrespectively of the significantly weaker 1 USD value versus 1 EUR (i.e. currently {as of 20220221}: 1 EUR = 1.21 USD)

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 22, 2021 at 3:37 pm

      Yep, exactly. Plus the EU VAT is higher than US taxes

  12. Marc Campreciós Ester

    February 22, 2021 at 4:24 pm

    Thanks a lot for your time!

    In terms of competition it's the best price. It's the 2020 Lenovo Legion 5 15ARH05 AMD Ryzen 7 4800H/16GB/512GB SSD/GTX 1650/15.6" with a 144Hz, 100% sRGB screen for 1000€.

    I was also considering the 2020 Asus Rog Zephyrus G15 GA502IV-HN042 AMD Ryzen 9 4900HS/16GB/1TB SSD/RTX2060/15.6" for 1300€.

    I'm a web developer and won't play much games and wanted a powerful not super noisy machine. And was convinced I was getting a good deal after I read your posts and US prices (I think it may be cheaper to take a plane from Spain to US and come back…) :D

    MASSIVE THANKS!

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 22, 2021 at 4:27 pm

      That 1000 EUR Legion 5 should be fine for your needs. No need to get the G15 2060 if you don't play games, plus the G15 has a couple of other quirks to consider.

  13. Marc Campreciós Ester

    February 22, 2021 at 7:17 pm

    Thanks a lot mate, I'm now too curious after watching another review on the new 2021 Legion 5 though. Don't know if is too stupid to get the 2020 right now, instead of waiting couple of weeks!

    Getting a laptop nowadays is not easy for doubtful ass!

    Cheers!

  14. Nick

    February 23, 2021 at 5:49 pm

    I'm considering getting the
    Lenovo Legion 5/15.6" with a 144Hz/AMD Ryzen 7 4800H/16GB DDR4/512GB SSD/NVIDIA GTX 1660Ti
    on Amazon for $999.
    Will it be worth it to wait for the Legion 5 (2021)?

  15. varsha

    March 2, 2021 at 11:17 am

    do we have a date for when in march 2021?

  16. Bruce Lyu

    March 4, 2021 at 6:03 am

    to be released in two days

  17. girgis

    March 7, 2021 at 4:49 pm

    in USA do you expect legion 5 pro with RTX 3060 under 1500 dollars?

  18. varsha

    March 7, 2021 at 5:42 pm

    they told in product launch which happened on march 5th that it could take weeks from march 5 to be available in stores.

  19. Nokedli

    March 10, 2021 at 4:05 pm

    When is it arriving in the EU?

  20. jesse p

    March 31, 2021 at 9:11 pm

    I really really want a white Legion 5 Pro but I'm gonna wait on some reviews and benchmarks before making my decision, really hoping it doesn't disappoint cus then I'll be back to watching comparisons and endlessly comparing options for the best value.

  21. Travelen

    March 31, 2021 at 11:42 pm

    I ordered Legion 5 17ACH6H (7 5800H & 3070) here in Finland the other day. Said it was released on the 17th of march – not completely sure, though, about that date. And the delivery is after 3.6.2021 for that particular model; so the product arrives at the retailer's storage at the start of june.

    Interestingly, all other 2021 Legion 5 models are due to arrive as late as start of the next year. About Pro models I don't know much about.

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 1, 2021 at 11:58 am

      The Pro is already available here with RTX 3060 and Ryzen 7 5800H, but rather expensive. I'm looking into getting one for review

  22. Peter

    April 2, 2021 at 12:40 pm

    gigantti.fi/product/gaming/pelikannettavat/275778/lenovo-legion-5-17-pelikannettava-r7161000307017-144

    Is this REALLY correct though????? Just 1350 euros for a 3070????!!!!!! From 1800 that is???

  23. JK

    April 4, 2021 at 8:20 pm

    Yes, it is real. There was even s better offer in another finnish store couple of weeks ago where Lenovo Legion 5 pro cost 1279 euros. And that version had QHD display and RTX 3070 with 140W. The offer you linked has only FHD display and the 3070 video card is ”only” 130W version.

    I”m not actually sure if you can order that outside of Finland though. (Assuming you don’t live in Finland).

  24. Peter

    April 5, 2021 at 7:01 pm

    Damn, that's crazy! I like to get my hands on one of those deals. I live in the Netherlands, so it might be an option for them to send abroad. I'll contact them anyway. The keyboard layout isn't THAT much of a difference compared to the US one.

    What other Finnish website was that where you found those deals?

    I think I'm going for the 17,3" version though. I tried the 16" version, but the odd 16:10 aspect ratio just isn't ideal outside of just office work. It's super weird for gaming and the normal 16:9 ration just gets your black bars. Also the added resolution is just not enough for a full 165Hz gaming with a 3070. I'll cut my "losses" with a 144Hz 1080p screen and 10 less Wattage from the 3070 for a bigger screen with 100% 16:9 compatibility.

    Too bad they cut the G-Synch out of the 17.3" though.

  25. Travelen

    April 5, 2021 at 9:52 pm

    Hi, I live in Finland and there is a Power.fi -site where there are good deals from time to time. There was recently 20% off of all laptops, so new Legions were a lot cheaper. Not sure if they deliver or sell to abroad though, but it's worth it to ask and if it is indeed possible, check the the site from time to time for good deals.

  26. JL

    April 5, 2021 at 9:52 pm

    power.fi/tietotekniikka/tietokoneet/kannettavat-tietokoneet/lenovo-legion-5-17ach6h-r7-rtx3070-173-kannettava-tietokone/p-1143407/

    There are many different versions of Lenovo Legion 5 pro. They have been on -20% discount on two occasions lately. That 17.3 inch version I linked above cost 1199e just a week ago. It also seems to have G-sync.

    Just did some research and unfortunayely Power and Gigantti only deliver to Finland.

  27. John

    April 6, 2021 at 8:18 pm

    If you don't like the 16:10 version nobody is stopping you from getting a 16:9. It literally makes no difference with the black bars. They are just areas of the screen that wouldn't otherwise be there on the 16:9 screen. The Pro QHD 16:10 version is obviously not just for gaming it is also for productivity and creative types. If you only do gaming why wouldn't you get the 16:9 FHD screen insteadif it is so great?

  28. Andrei

    April 12, 2021 at 1:10 pm

    Any update on when your review of the Legion 5 Pro is gonna be live?

    I already preordered mine (3070 +32 GB RAM) and it should arrive mid May and would really love to read your review before I get mine.

    Thanks!

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 12, 2021 at 2:33 pm

      No, I haven't bought one quickly enough from Pc garage when they had it, and now it's no longer in stock

  29. Daryl

    April 13, 2021 at 1:57 am

    Hi! Does the Legion 5 support USB C charging? Can i charge the laptop using the USB C port?

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 13, 2021 at 10:22 am

      the previous gen did not as far as I remember. not sure about the 2021 models yet

  30. Ladislav Sokol

    April 13, 2021 at 9:19 am

    " Marc Campreciós EsterFebruary 22, 2021 at 4:24 pm

    In terms of competition it's the best price. It's the 2020 Lenovo Legion 5 15ARH05 AMD Ryzen 7 4800H/16GB/512GB SSD/GTX 1650/15.6" with a 144Hz, 100% sRGB screen for 1000€.

    I'm a web developer and won't play much games and wanted a powerful not super noisy machine. "

    Well my colleague bought this a month ago for 830€, and I was very disappointed how loud it is even in moderate gaming (Valheim). That's the reason I'm waiting for the tests of the new Legion 5 17ACH6H (AMD Ryzen 5 5600H, RTX 3060 130W) and haven't already ordered it. Cause as I do understand the internals are the same so it will be probably very very loud. Otherwise it would have great value/price ratio (I can have it for 830€)

  31. Andrei

    April 13, 2021 at 10:26 am

    Yep, it does support USB C charging but you cannot use the laptop for heavy duty task while using an USB C charger as it can only draw 100 W from USB C. For office tasks, it should be OK. For gaming or video editing, you must use the included 300 W brick.

  32. Ash Ramesh

    April 14, 2021 at 1:12 am

    My budget is $1199 USD. Do you think the 5 pro with an RTX 3060 and 5600h will be under that price? Thanks!

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 14, 2021 at 10:30 am

      5800H + RTX 3060 + 165 Hz QHD screen was 1600 EUR here. So idk about that 3060 under $1200

  33. J4YD3N P4T1L4N

    April 14, 2021 at 12:27 pm

    When will the Lenovo Legion 5 Pro release in the US?

  34. Kolos

    April 15, 2021 at 12:54 am

    Do u think it will perform better than the Asus G17?
    I’m eager to see a comparison between those models!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *