Real notebook reviews and analysis by real people

ASUS TUF Gaming A15 FA506QR 2021 review (Ryzen 7 5800H, RTX 3070 Laptop, 240Hz screen)

33 Comments

  1. Dante

    January 26, 2021 at 5:11 pm

    Can you maybe add gaming comparison of the rtx 2060 of the tuf a15 in the review? thanks :)

  2. Osd

    January 26, 2021 at 5:38 pm

    Hi,
    You wrote 3070 in the title.

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 26, 2021 at 5:40 pm

      thanks, it was supposed to be 3070 Laptop, not Super

  3. Jeff M.S.

    January 26, 2021 at 5:41 pm

    THE GOOD
    ● Touchpad buttons

  4. Osd

    January 26, 2021 at 8:56 pm

    On the title, it's ryzen 7 5800h.

  5. Bobby

    January 26, 2021 at 11:23 pm

    I agree reducing the framerate on battery is good. 240hz on battery is ridiculous. But maybe an option to 120hz as well.

  6. Birous

    January 27, 2021 at 12:01 am

    Another useless laptop from Asus that is too stubborn to understand their cooling design with partial obstructed vents can't be more efficient than a fully open vents design. But I guess you will need more than 60 IQ to realize that. Their "create pressure" logic has been demonstrated to be useless because their coolers are way to weak for that. I mean asus has a long history of not understanding physics.
    What i think it happened here is Asus sabotaging their own line to make gamers buy their premium gaming laptop brands and not the TUF. Otherwise I can't believe a company can be that stupid.

  7. Vidhya Dhara

    January 27, 2021 at 11:24 am

    Asus should have just given 144hz with 100% srgb in tuf. as for those who want 240hz or more they could go for their premium laptops.

  8. Paul

    January 27, 2021 at 4:30 pm

    Salut Andrei,

    vom avea zilele acestea un video cu laptopul? As vrea sa vad calitatea materialelor mai mult. Sau ce ne poti spune de calitatea constructiei?

    Mersi!

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 27, 2021 at 6:50 pm

      Should be up in a few more days. Not sure about the tablet part, never tried it, but I'd it should work as before

  9. Scouse pcgamer89 lfc

    January 30, 2021 at 9:51 am

    The honeycomb should have had vents on it all and not just part of it to massively improve the cooling, it seems like the cooling is no different to last gen model, i do wish they had made a ROG Strix model in the same chassis as this layout of the chassis can take to a meeting looks formal were their new ones just scream gamer

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 30, 2021 at 10:12 am

      I'm not entirely sure how much that would have helped. I'm having a follow-up article on performance and temperatures at a couple of different scenarios, should be up in a few days

  10. Ashish Deepak

    February 1, 2021 at 11:20 pm

    Can you put the link to the store where you had bought this variant?
    I did see it listed on a website with RTX3070 for the same price but 144hz panel.

  11. Snikeman

    February 9, 2021 at 6:21 pm

    How do you know the panel type? Is there a way I can look it see at the package? Pre-ordered one and will send it back if it has a panda panel.

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 15, 2021 at 11:12 am

      you can't tell without opening it up. Once you open it, run Hwinfo and it will show the exact panel ID (or you can check the panelID in Device manager >> Display)

  12. Dragos

    February 10, 2021 at 5:16 am

    Hello , if u connect this laptop to a normal 27 full hd 144 mhtz or more (through a usb c to displayport cable of course)it would have the same performance?

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 15, 2021 at 11:17 am

      It will return slightly higher fps on an external monitor. I'll still working on the follow-up where we test QHD performance on an external monitor, which should be up very soon. Srt for the late reply and delay

  13. Mat

    February 11, 2021 at 9:49 am

    Can You share calibrated icc profile for the screen panel? I bought this laptop I and have to calibrate it for myself.

  14. Damien

    February 17, 2021 at 5:33 pm

    Hello, I just bought this laptop, could anyone tell me what should I buy for the second ram slot? I'd like to uppgrade to 32 go, mine came with 1x16go and I don't know the reference so I don't know which model I should buy.

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 17, 2021 at 5:40 pm

      HWinfo is a small piece of software that will show you the exact kind of RAM DIMM in your unit. Try to get the same one

  15. Aaron Carrigan

    February 24, 2021 at 8:20 pm

    What's your thoughts on this variant of the A15?

    FA506QR-HN006T

    I just bought this and should be here tomorrow, I'll be glad to share my thoughts on it soon.

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 24, 2021 at 8:34 pm

      it's the one reviewed here. Good value and performance, runs fairly hot.

  16. Vctr

    February 26, 2021 at 4:39 pm

    Any idea if you can use RAM with XMP? A15 2020 couldn't use it.
    Is it possible to set it ON in BIOS?

  17. David Steele

    February 28, 2021 at 2:31 am

    I was just wondering does the 240hz variant have primus so can be avoided with an external display? Been looking at laptops all week and only came across mux and primus. But can't find the info on any retailer I found.

    Thanks

  18. Remi

    March 1, 2021 at 1:01 pm

    Hi There,

    Could you tell me where you can can select the different modes ? Silent, Performance, Turbo. I don't seem to see it in Windows. Would it be on the bios ?

    Best regards,
    Remi

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 1, 2021 at 4:05 pm

      the Armory Crate control app. It's already explained in the article

  19. Julian

    March 3, 2021 at 8:59 am

    Between this one and the Strix G15, which one has the better thermals under load in your opinion?

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 3, 2021 at 11:14 am

      they should be close in terms of internal temperatures, but the Strix G15 gets more powerful GPU options and a more competent thermal module.

  20. Nico

    March 8, 2021 at 9:12 pm

    Hi! Does someone know why it is almost impossible to buy it? Asus deleted it from its site, and the only way to buy it seems to be through Digital River Ireland Ltd (https://estore.asus.com/it/asus-tuf-gaming-a15-fa506qr-az001t.html) which is known as a scam company… seems crazy to me!

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 8, 2021 at 9:16 pm

      give it some time, this was available in stores locally and now is out of stock. Should be worldwide available at some point

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *