Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We do not collect your personal data.  I agree  Find out more  About cookies

Asus ROG Zephyrus S GX701GX Asus The Asus ROG Zephyrus S GX701 is a 17-inch ultraportable gaming laptop mostly meant for desk use, hooked up to a mouse, and potential buyers will primarily benefit from its smaller size, premium build, and lighter weight when carrying it around. It\'s nicely crafted, it types well, it gets a good-quality screen, punchy speakers and is one of the fastest RTX 2080 MQ devices on the market, but its ergonomics when not on a desk, limited IO and high price might steer you towards something else. We get in-depth on all these aspects in the review below. Asus ROG Zephyrus S GX701GX The Asus ROG Zephyrus S GX701 is a 17-inch ultraportable gaming laptop mostly meant for desk use, hooked up to a mouse, and potential buyers will primarily benefit from its smaller size, premium build, and lighter weight when carrying it around. It's nicely crafted, it types well, it gets a good-quality screen, punchy speakers and is one of the fastest RTX 2080 MQ devices on the market, but its ergonomics when not on a desk, limited IO and high price might steer you towards something else. We get in-depth on all these aspects in the review below. Andrei Girbea 4.25 5 https://www.ultrabookreview.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/01/asus-zephyrus-gx701-main.jpg Andrei Girbea 4.25 5

Asus ROG Zephyrus S GX701GX review (i7-8750H, RTX 2080 Max-Q, FHD 144 Hz screen)

20 Comments

  1. Tim Lesnick

    January 29, 2019 at 6:58 pm

    Excellent review. That keyboard and trackpad is a disaster for us lefties, though I recognize that we're a minority.

  2. poopy

    February 6, 2019 at 10:17 am

    are you guys going to do the msi gs75 like this?

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 6, 2019 at 12:44 pm

      We're working on the GS65 (RTX 2080) and GE75 (RTX 2070 and 2060) right now, and hopefully will also be able to review the GS75 next

      • poopy

        February 7, 2019 at 6:31 am

        Awesome, I look forward to these reviews.

  3. yivanes

    February 14, 2019 at 7:39 am

    Are you sure the GX701GW uses the Max-Q version? It's listed as a regular RTX 2070 on asus.com

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 14, 2019 at 10:53 am

      Hmmmm, good point. I'll ask about that, maybe they were able to squeeze a full 2070 in there. The smaller GX531 does seem to get the Max-Q variant though.

  4. JACOB

    February 14, 2019 at 3:18 pm

    Just Bought it based on your review – the only concern is the battery spikes – i hope its not hardware related problem – the GS75 getting much longer battery life according other websites – 82mAh comparing to GX701 who have "only" 76mAh .. i hope they will fix it ASAP

    Detailed review – THANKS !

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 14, 2019 at 3:27 pm

      Looking forward to your detailed impressions. I'm also curious about battery life and performance. If you're planning on running benchmarks, perhaps we can further chat on email?

      • Jacob

        February 14, 2019 at 3:30 pm

        yeah, I defiantly will run a lot of benchmarks and ill update my results here – ill get it by the end of this month so stay tuned

  5. Vin

    February 18, 2019 at 6:21 am

    Can you tear it down so we could see its serviceability?
    Also how many nvme m.2 slots are there?

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 18, 2019 at 11:18 am

      I wasn't allowed to do that, but I'm being told there are two M.2 slots inside. Can't confirm 100% though

  6. Dilusha Bandara

    March 5, 2019 at 6:31 pm

    Hi, I'm considering buying RTX 2060 variant of this laptop. Will it have lower temperatures when working/gaming?

  7. Dilusha Bandara

    March 12, 2019 at 2:59 pm

    I really want to see some benchmarks of this laptop.

  8. Stephen James

    June 8, 2019 at 3:38 pm

    Does the laptop need to be undervolted at all to accommodate lower temps or does it run fine stock with no throttling etc

  9. LWT

    June 26, 2019 at 4:50 pm

    Excellent reviewer. I just wish you had covered silent mode on this review.
    I'd quite happily give up 20% game performance to run this machine quietly.

    I imagine silent mode + mild gpu overclock would fit this machine perfectly.

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 26, 2019 at 6:03 pm

      Yeah, I didn't look into it at that point, but I covered it in later reviews of the ROG GX502 and GU502. I'd expect similar results to the GX502, with a 20% drop in performance and an increase in temperatures. Undervoltign the GPU is something else to look into if you plan to get the maximum performance on Silent.

      • LWT

        June 28, 2019 at 11:05 am

        Thanks for replying Andrei. And yes I noticed you started doing this. It's much appreciated – gives a much better idea of what these machines are capable for different users / scenarios.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *