Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We do not collect your personal data.  I agree  Find out more  About cookies

Asus ROG Zephyrus S GX531GX Asus The Zephyrus S GX531 is a niche product within an already small niche, and that\'s because Asus chose to sacrifice on practicality and portability in order to favor cooling and performance. As a result, this laptop performs better than the other RTX 2080 Max-Q 15-inch gaming ultraportables on the market and keeps the components at slightly lower temperatures, but unless you keep it plugged in and on a desk, you\'ll struggle with its ergonomics, shallow keyboard, and rather short battery life. Down below we\'ll explain how we reached this conclusion. Asus ROG Zephyrus S GX531GX The Zephyrus S GX531 is a niche product within an already small niche, and that's because Asus chose to sacrifice on practicality and portability in order to favor cooling and performance. As a result, this laptop performs better than the other RTX 2080 Max-Q 15-inch gaming ultraportables on the market and keeps the components at slightly lower temperatures, but unless you keep it plugged in and on a desk, you'll struggle with its ergonomics, shallow keyboard, and rather short battery life. Down below we'll explain how we reached this conclusion. Andrei Girbea 4 5 https://www.ultrabookreview.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/03/asus-zepphyrus-ux531-main.jpg Andrei Girbea 4 5

Asus ROG Zephyrus S GX531GX review and benchmarks (i7-8750H, RTX 2080 Max-Q)

10 Comments

  1. Dilusha Bandara

    March 12, 2019 at 6:18 am

    Have you benchmarked the Zephyrus S GX701 with games yet? Really looking forward to see those results.

  2. fabrizio

    March 31, 2019 at 11:52 pm

    Compliment for the review but the model shown in the movie disassembly is not exactly the zephyrus gx531 2019 , do you know how to open it to change the ssd.? thanks

  3. Koen

    May 17, 2019 at 7:55 pm

    I'd like so see comparison with a screen of 400/500 nits next to it. Could you do that in the next review. Or at least a picture in the outdoors on max brightness. I understand it's better to use indoor. But don't understand just how much it sucks outdoors. I have a 3y old dell xps, I think it only reaches 300 nits cd/m2 as well so it should be a little bit less. I do use it outdoors though from time to time.

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 19, 2019 at 12:17 am

      thanks for the suggestions, will try to add pictures shot outside in future reviews

  4. Koen

    May 20, 2019 at 12:57 am

    The picture of latencymon shows bad latency. What were you doing to cause this?

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 20, 2019 at 7:52 pm

      We test latency while browsing between a few tabs, with a Youtube clip playing in the back. Unfortunately quite a few Asus laptops suffer from latency issues.

      • Koen

        May 21, 2019 at 5:10 pm

        I'm having a hard time trying to understand the DCP issues I came across on the internet. It seems for all laptops, you can find threads about latency issues. I don't understand how much is bios vs software related.

        For instance the dell xps 15 has been monitored for a while now on notebookcheck for it's DCP latency issues. The latest bios update halfed the latency. So yea here it's clear that the bios can make it better.

        Then there's lenovo x1 extreme users saying it's more likely to be in their software, the latency.

        What would be the case here? Maybe it's actually the optimus functionality as well that makes this happen.

        Any clue what laptop from these would be best for music production, thus requiring good latency?

        You think this is also the bios's fault?

        • Andrei Girbea

          May 22, 2019 at 1:54 pm

          That's a good question, I've never looked much into this matter because latency is not something that would affect my workflow. I'll try to get in touch with Asus on this matter and get back with a reply, if I get one.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *