Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We do not collect your personal data.  I agree  Find out more  About cookies

Asus ROG Zephyrus S GX531 review (GX531GX model- Core i7, RTX 2080 90W)

22 Comments

  1. Dilusha Bandara

    March 12, 2019 at 6:18 am

    Have you benchmarked the Zephyrus S GX701 with games yet? Really looking forward to see those results.

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 13, 2019 at 5:08 pm

      will have an update in the following weeks

  2. fabrizio

    March 31, 2019 at 11:52 pm

    Compliment for the review but the model shown in the movie disassembly is not exactly the zephyrus gx531 2019 , do you know how to open it to change the ssd.? thanks

  3. Koen

    May 17, 2019 at 7:55 pm

    I'd like so see comparison with a screen of 400/500 nits next to it. Could you do that in the next review. Or at least a picture in the outdoors on max brightness. I understand it's better to use indoor. But don't understand just how much it sucks outdoors. I have a 3y old dell xps, I think it only reaches 300 nits cd/m2 as well so it should be a little bit less. I do use it outdoors though from time to time.

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 19, 2019 at 12:17 am

      thanks for the suggestions, will try to add pictures shot outside in future reviews

  4. Koen

    May 20, 2019 at 12:57 am

    The picture of latencymon shows bad latency. What were you doing to cause this?

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 20, 2019 at 7:52 pm

      We test latency while browsing between a few tabs, with a Youtube clip playing in the back. Unfortunately quite a few Asus laptops suffer from latency issues.

      • Koen

        May 21, 2019 at 5:10 pm

        I'm having a hard time trying to understand the DCP issues I came across on the internet. It seems for all laptops, you can find threads about latency issues. I don't understand how much is bios vs software related.

        For instance the dell xps 15 has been monitored for a while now on notebookcheck for it's DCP latency issues. The latest bios update halfed the latency. So yea here it's clear that the bios can make it better.

        Then there's lenovo x1 extreme users saying it's more likely to be in their software, the latency.

        What would be the case here? Maybe it's actually the optimus functionality as well that makes this happen.

        Any clue what laptop from these would be best for music production, thus requiring good latency?

        You think this is also the bios's fault?

        • Andrei Girbea

          May 22, 2019 at 1:54 pm

          That's a good question, I've never looked much into this matter because latency is not something that would affect my workflow. I'll try to get in touch with Asus on this matter and get back with a reply, if I get one.

  5. Adam

    December 14, 2019 at 9:31 am

    Does this laptop support G-Sync on an external screen that supports it?

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 14, 2019 at 1:22 pm

      I haven't tested it at the time, perhaps some of the other readers and owners can pitch on that?

      • Adam

        December 20, 2019 at 8:50 am

        I got the laptop. It doesn't work at all with my pg279q monitor. I don't mean G-sync doesn't work. It doesn't work at all, there is no signal via Displayport. I've tried another monitor that has no G-sync support and it works with that one. So I'm very confused and disappointed.

        • Adam

          March 13, 2020 at 3:23 pm

          Sorry I haven't updated this comment. The problem was with the cable I had used. I had bought an expensive USB-C to Displayport cable and G-Sync works with 144Hz.

        • Andrei Girbea

          March 13, 2020 at 3:26 pm

          Thanks for the update!

  6. Manthan

    March 13, 2020 at 9:41 am

    I'd like so see the performance of the device while running software related to architecture and design field such as AutoCAD, Rhino and Lumion which deals with 3D modelling and rendering.

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 13, 2020 at 3:14 pm

      The CPU+GPU stress tests that we're doing account for performance in demanding loads. We don't run workstation specific tests on gaming laptops, at least we did not at the time of that review

  7. Bing

    July 21, 2020 at 6:57 pm

    Sorry to "necro" this old review. What are you thoughts if this laptop can be bought for around $1.9k? It seems that the newer intel processors are really not that much of an upgrade, and this system does have better cooling then most other systems (the down shifted design does make sense).

    Personally I'd prefer a laptop with AMD processor right now, but none of them have even a RTX 2070… What are you thoughts?

    I have a Aero 15x right now (thanks to your helpful reviews and guides) which I plan to sell. And I find that with these thin and light laptops heat and fan noise is just something that I will have to live with. So the best I can hope for is for a system that will provide best cool and possibly extend the life time of the laptop for the long run.

    If it were you, would you buy a GX531 for around $1.9K? (I am afraid about the crappy Asus warranty though… but that is a separate concern).

    Thank you!

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 21, 2020 at 7:07 pm

      Hi, is that for the 2080 configuration, or the 2070?

      It's been a while since that review and we've updated our testing methodology in the meantime. The components are still running fairly hot in this as far as I remember, and I'd rather go with the Zephyrus S GX502 if that's available for the same kind of money. With thr GX531, Asus went for a very thin profile and that limited the thermal design, hence those high temperatures even with the downshifted keyboard. I feel that GX502 is a better-balanced product, even if it has to cool a more powerful 115W GPU.

      If you're looking for good thermals on an early 2019 product that you could find for cheap, I'd also suggest the Acer Predator Triton 500.

      • Bing

        July 21, 2020 at 8:20 pm

        Thank you for your reply Andrei!

        It is the RTX 2080. Unfortunately there are no deals on GX502, and tbh, I kinda want a numpad, so laptops like Razer are out of the question (since they are expensive and have reliability issues from what I gathered). And due to thunderspy vulnerability TB3 is not really that much of a value add for me anymore…

        I have not actually considered Acer stuff, since I always associated them with cheap stuff that breaks. Though that is not a fair assessment, since I never owned any of their "gaming" or premium products.

        I just wish that there is a laptop with AMD processor (runs cooler and powerful enough and don't have to deal with plundervolt) with a 2070 or 2080… sigh…

        So it seems like the cooling system is not THAT good compared to others anyway, right?

        Thank you again!

        • Andrei Girbea

          July 21, 2020 at 9:00 pm

          Like I said, the cooling in this is fine, but still keeps the hardware at high temperatures. Look at the Hwinfo logs for more details.

          AMD HS hardware would be great in this form factors, although probably won't help that much with gaming. I hope we should see more competent AMD notebooks by the end of the year.

  8. Bing

    July 21, 2020 at 10:06 pm

    Awesome, thank you SO much Andrei! It is maddening that we don't have any high end AMD laptop… I heard rumor that AMD processors are not in high end laptops due to deals that manufacturers made with intel. But who knows…

    Anyway thank you so much again!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *