Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We do not collect your personal data.  I agree  Find out more  About cookies

Razer Blade Pro 17 Derek Sullivan Rating: 4.25 out of 5

Razer Blade Pro 17 review (2019 model – i7-9750H, RTX 2060)

8 Comments

  1. Stephen Pemberton

    July 9, 2019 at 3:18 pm

    Great review, im deciding between this model, the triton 500 with the 2080 and the gx702/ gx502 with the 2070. Which one would you recommend for gaming and university. I really value thermals if one sticks out with that

    • Derek Sullivan

      July 9, 2019 at 7:46 pm

      The GX502 is probably going to be the most practical for you if you plan on bring it to class a lot and want to game as well. I don't think I'd use the GX702 unless the battery life problems were addressed. Battery life might be an issue for you with the Razer Blade Pro as well. Andrei got much better results with his GX502 yest unit. It really comes down to how often you'll need to plug in.

      • Stephen Pemberton

        July 9, 2019 at 9:38 pm

        Ok thanks man, I was just concerned with the heat that everyone saids comes out of the gx502. Do you reckon that's a concern ? Also I meant the gx701 sorry:P

        • Derek Sullivan

          July 9, 2019 at 9:44 pm

          They're all going to get hot, but the GX502 actually has decent thermals if you use the fans at higher levels.

          • Stephen Pemberton

            July 9, 2019 at 10:18 pm

            Ok thanks, based just on performance does the gx502 stack up decently as well or the 2060 on razer blade contest it ?

          • Derek Sullivan

            July 9, 2019 at 10:23 pm

            I'm actually not sure on that once because the one we tested had a 2070 in it and the Razer Blade had a 2060. What's crazy though is the 2070 GX502 is cheaper than the 2060 Razer Blade Pro. So you'll be able to get far more performance for the dollar if you go that route.

          • Stephen Pemberton

            July 9, 2019 at 10:43 pm

            oh wow ok thank you, just checked the prices and the gx502 is priced simarily to the msi GS65 2070, if you had to pick one which one would you choose :P

          • Derek Sullivan

            July 9, 2019 at 10:57 pm

            Honestly, they're both really good laptops, but the Asus is better built. They did make the newer GS65 a little more robust from the 1070 model, but it's still a little creaky. I'd probably choose the Asus.

            I'd also ask Andrei in one of his articles. He actually reviewed the newest versions of both those, so his opinion would be better. I've only seen the first gen GS65.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *