Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click OK and continue to use the site.  OK

Ultrabook reviews, guides and comparisons

The complete list of Intel KabyLake-R (8th generation) portable laptops and ultrabooks

By Andrei Girbea , updated on September 15, 2017

The vast majority of ultraportable laptops available in the last years have been built on Intel Core U hardware-platforms, with options for dual-core processors with and without HyperThreading.

And while I find that the Kaby Lake hardware generation provides solid performance for everyday tasks like browsing and editing texts and watching movies, especially when paired with the right amount of RAM and the fast SSDs available these days, there’s still only that much a dual-core CPU can do in terms of multitasking and intense multi-core loads.

This changes as of Q3 2017 with the introduction of the Intel KabyLake-R (Refresh) line which includes the first low-voltage quad-core processors Intel is going to put in portable laptops. These are part of Intel’s 8th generation of chips, thus they get a 8 after the dash in the denomination, but they are in fact a revised version of the Kaby Lake architecture and nor the Coffee Lake or the  Cannon Lake series, both scheduled for the future.

We’re not going to get in depth on the performance of these quad-core Core U notebook-processors in this post, will save that for other articles (here’s the one that covers the Core i5-8250U, with more updates to come). We will however mention below the CPUs that are part of the KabyLake-R series and their particularities, and then we’ll jump to the main topic of the article, the list of Core U quad-core ultraportable laptops you will be able to find in stores in the months to come.

First of all, these are the Core U Kaby Lake R processors that we’re aware of at the time of this post (to be updated).

  •  Core i5-8250U – 1.6 GHz base clock with up to 3.4 GHz Turbo, HyperThreading, 6MB L3 cache – $297;
  • Core i5-8350U – 1.7 GHz base clock with up to 3.6 GHz Turbo, HyperThreading, 6MB L3 cache – $297;
  • Core i7-8550U – 1.8 GHz base clock with up to 4 GHz Turbo, HyperThreading, 8MB L3 cache – $409;
  • Core i7-8650U – 1.9 GHz base clock with up to 4.2 GHz Turbo, HyperThreading, 8MB L3 cache – $409.

They share a few common traits, like the 15 W TDP, 14 nm lithography, support for up to 32 GB of DDR4 memory and the Intel HD 620 graphics chip integrated within the die. The increased number of cores is the strong selling point here, while the graphics inside is the same as on the standard KabyLake dual-core options, just capable of running a little faster.

You will however notice that the base clocks of these quad-core CPUs are much lower than those of the existing dual-core Kaby Lake processors, but that compensates by Turbo speeds, so performance per core is pretty much on par with the Core i5-7200U or i7-7500U. Multi-core performance gets a major boost though. We already spent some time with laptops built on this platform and can confirm the fact that the quad-cores show 30 to 60% gains in benchmarks and certain demanding loads, but we can’t share anything else for now.

Price wise the quad-core CPUs are only marginally more expensive than the dual-cores ($281 for i5-7200U, $297 for i7-8250U; $393 for i7-7500U, $403 for i7-8550U), so the newer configurations won’t cost an arm and a leg. There is however one important question that remains to be answered in reviews, and that’s how will these quad-cores perform thermally and acoustically in these thin-and-light laptops that were already running pretty hot with dual-core builds, as well as whether they’ll be able to consistently maintain their Turbo Speeds in continuous loads. Stay around for details in our future tests.

Knowing all these things, let’s jump to the actual list of laptops built on these quad-core ULVs, available below. Details are still very scarce for now, but the list is a continuous work in progress and we’re constantly updating it. However, if you spot anything that’s not in here and it should be, please tell us about it in the comments section at the end.

ModelTypeScreenHardwareBatteryWeightPrice
Acer Aspire 5 A515clamshell15.6″ TN HD / IPS FHD matteCore U w/ Nvidia MX15048 Wh2.1 kg / 4.6 lbs$799
Acer Spin 5 SP513-52Nconvertible13.3″ IPS touchCore U w/ Intel UHD 62054 Wh1.5 kg / 3.3 lbs$799
Acer Swift 3 SF314-52clamshell14.0″ IPSCore U w/ Nvidia MX15048 Wh1.7 kg / 3.75 lbs$799
Acer Swift 3 SF315-51Gclamshell15.6″ IPSCore U w/ Nvidia MX15048 Wh2.1 kg / 4.6 lbs$699
Asus VivoBook S410UNclamshell14.0″ IPS matteCore U w/ Nvidia MX15042 Wh1.45 kg / 3.2 lbs
Asus VivoBook S406UAclamshell14.0″ IPS mattteCore U w/ Intel HD 62039 Wh1.2 kg / 2.7 lbs
Asus Zenbook 13 UX331UNclamshell13.3″ IPS mattte / touchCore U w/ Nvidia MX15050 Wh1.13 kg / 2.5 lbs
Asus Zenbook UX430UARclamshell14.0″ IPS FHD matteCore U w/ Intel UHD 62050 Wh1.25 kg / 2.75 lbs
Asus Zenbook Flip S UX370convertible13.3″ IPS FHD touchCore U w/ Intel UHD 62039 Wh1.1 kg / 2.42 lbs
Asus Zenbook Flip UX561UNconvertible15.6″ IPS FHD touchCore U w/ Nvidia MX15052 Wh1.9 kg / 4.2 lbs
Asus Zenbook Flip UX561UDconvertible15.6″ IPS FHD / UHD touchCore U w/ Nvidia 105052 Wh2.1 kg / 4.65 lbs
Dell Inspiron 13 5000 2-in-1 (5379)convertible13.3″ IPS FHD touchCore U w/ Intel UHD 62042 Wh1.7 kg / 3.71 lbs$799
Dell Inspiron 13 7000 (7370)convertible13.3″ IPS FHD matte/touchCore U w/ Intel UHD 62038 Wh1.40 kg / 3.1 lbs$799
Dell Inspiron 13 7000 2-in-1convertible13.3″ IPS FHD touchCore U w/ Intel UHD 62042 Wh1.75 kg / 3.86 lbs$879
Dell Inspiron 15 5000 2-in-1 (5579)clamshell15.6″ IPS FHD touchCore U w/ Intel UHD 62042Wh2.2 kg / 4.85 lbs$749
Dell Inspiron 15 7000 (7570)clamshell15.6″ IPS FHD/UHD touch/matteCore U w/ Nvidia 940MX42 or 56 Wh1.99 kg / 4.4 lbs$799
Dell Inspiron 15 7000 2-in-1 (7579)convertible15.6″ IPS FHD touchCore U w/ Nvidia 940MX42 Wh2.65 kg / 5.84 lbs$849
Dell Inspiron 17 7000 2-in-1 (7773)convertible17.3″ IPS FHD touchCore U w/ Nvidia MX15056 Wh3.0 kg / 6.6 lbs$999
Dell XPS 13 9370 (?)clamshell13.3″ IPS FHD matte or QHD+ touchCore U w/ Intel UHD 62060 Wh1.3 kg / 2.7 lbs$799
HP Envy 13clamshell13.3″ IPS FHD matte or QHD+ touchCore U w/ Nvidia MX15057.8 Wh1.42 kg / 3.15 lbs
HP Envy 15clamshell15.6″ IPS FHD touchCore U w/ Intel UHD 62052 Wh2.05 kg / 4.5 lbs
HP Envy 17clamshell17.6″ IPS FHD touchCore U w/ Nvidia MX15055.8 Wh3.05 kg / 6.7 lbs$1100
HP Envy x360 15tconvertbile15.6″ IPS FHD touchCore U w/ Nvidia MX15055.8 Wh2.17 kg / 4.8 lbs
HP Pavilion 15clamshell15.6″ HD/FHD matteCore U w/ Intel UHD 62041 Wh1.90 kg / 4.2 lbs~$600
HP Spectre Pavilion x360 14tconvertible14.0″ IPS touchCore U w/ Nvidia 940Mx41 Wh1.72 kg / 3.8 lbs
HP Spectre x360 15convertible15.6″ IPS UHD touchCore U w/ Nvidia MX15079 Wh2.00 kg / 4.42 lbs$1279
HP ProBook 440clamshell14.0″ HD/FHD matteCore U w/ Intel UHD 62048 Wh1.65 kg / 3.6 lbs
HP Spectre x360 13convertible13.3″ IPS FHD touchCore U w/ Intel UHD 62057.8 Wh1.29 kg / 2.85 lbs
HP Spectre Proclamshell13.3″ IPS FHDCore U w/ Intel UHD 62038 Wh1.2 kg / 2.65 lbs
Lenovo IdeaPad 320s 15-inchconvertible15.6″ IPS FHD touchCore U w/ Nvidia 1040 (?)52 Wh1.90 kg / 4.2 lbs$699
Lenovo Legion Y720convertible15.6″ IPS FHD glossyCore U w/ Radeon MX550 / MX56060 Wh3.2 kg / 7.1 lbs
Lenovo Miix 520tablet + folio12.2″ IPS FHD touchCore U w/ Intel UHD 62039 Wh~2.25 kg / 2.77 lbs$999
Lenovo Yoga 920convertible13.9″ IPS FHD/UHD touchCore U w/ Intel UHD 62070 Wh~1.3 kg / 3.0 lbs
Xiaomi Mi Notebook Proclamshell15.6″ IPS FHD glossyCore U w/ Nvidia MX15060 Wh1.95 kg / 4.3 lbs$1199

Here’s a short glossary of the terms mentioned above:

  • Types:
    • clamshell: traditional computer whose screen closes on top of the keyboard and does not flip into any sort of tablet mode;
    • convertible: 2-in-1 laptop whose screen rotates or converts to a tablet mode (or similar), but cannot be detached from the base;
    • detachable: 2-in-1 laptop whose screen detaches from a solid base and can be used independently as a tablet;
    • tablet + folio: stand-alone tablet paired with matching keyboad-folio;
    • slider: 2-in-1 laptop whose screen slides up and down on top of the body and reveals a keyboard hidden underneath.
  • Resolutions: HD ( 1366 x 768 px), WXGA+ (1440 x 900 px), HD+ (1600 x 900 px), FHD (1920 x 1080 px), WUXGA (1920 x 1200 px)  FHD+ (2160 x 1440 px), retina (2304 x 1440 px), QHD (2560 x 1440 px), WQXGA (2560 x 1600 px), QHD+  (3200 x 1800 px), UHD (3840 x 2160 px) – also see this post;

That’s about it for now, but like I said earlier, we’re constantly updating this list and adding new ultraportble laptops built on Intel KabyLake-R / Coffee Lake quad-core Core U processors. The comments section below is also open for any suggestions and questions, and we’re around to help out if we can.

Andrei Girbea, Editor-in-Chief at Ultrabookreview.com. I never liked carrying big laptops around and that fueled my passion for mobile computers back in the 2000s. Things have changed much since then, but I'm still interested in the topic and in the meantime I've owned and tested hundreds of thin and lights, so I know a thing or two about them. You'll find mostly reviews and guides written by me here on the site.

50 Comments

  1. A.

    August 19, 2017 at 7:06 am

    This article is so confusing that I feel that I don't understand a thing, anymore!

    First, you list 4 processors with their prices, but the list is weird: the more powerful i7 models with 8 Mb L3 cache are cheaper (297 USD) than the weaker i5 models with only 6 Mb of L3 cache (409 USD). Are you sure it's not the opposite?

    Next, the table of laptops that you have compiled contains two links to reviews of already existing laptops with Kaby Lake (not Coffee Lake) processors. Also, the Dell XPS 13 9360 is almost one year old and, in general, most of the laptops in that table are NOT based on Coffee Lake, but on Kaby Lake, and are NOT quad-core but double-core – so what exactly is this article trying to say? I'm totally lost!

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 19, 2017 at 7:57 am

      1. The prices were obviously interchanged, the i5s are cheaper than the i7
      2. About the links,they point towards older articles because most of those were available with dual-core processors in the past (Dell XPS 9360, Asus Zenbook UX430, Hp Specte x360, etc), when we reviewed them, and versions with the quad-cores at some point in the future. However, except for the hardware, those versions linked are identical tot he ones with the newer hardware. Still, I'll remove the links to not cause any more confusion.

      Hope this makes sense.

  2. mystiq

    August 19, 2017 at 11:04 am

    okay that for the low TDP, so how about the high TDP like HQ processor coffe lake ? any news about that ?

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 19, 2017 at 3:42 pm

      We should know more next week, but as far as I understand right now, KabyLake-R will only get 15 W TDP CPUs and the higher W quad-cores are to be updated with Cannonlake towards the end of the year or early into 2018.

  3. db

    August 19, 2017 at 11:42 pm

    The Acer Swift 3 with a i5-8250u and MX150 is already on Amazon (not shipping) but doesn't appear on your list.

    amazon.com/Acer-i5-8250U-NVIDIA-GeForce-SF315-51G-51CE/dp/B0746NV7XG/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1503200240&sr=8-3&keywords=laptop+mx150

    * SF315-51G-51CE
    * SF314-52G-55WQ

  4. DDD

    August 20, 2017 at 3:58 pm

    How fast is HP normally with refreshing their line up with the newest Intel releases? I'm asking because I just got a Spectre X360 13.3" 4k (which was released in February 2017 I believe)? If a Quad Core model if this laptop is to be expected within a few weeks I might be better off returning it and waiting for the new release.

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 21, 2017 at 2:55 am

      Honestly, I can't tell and it's going to differ from country to country. KabyLake-R is expected to ship in Q4 in most regions, so I'd reckon beginning of October.

      • Ron Bright

        August 26, 2017 at 6:37 am

        Where do you get your information for example that the HP Spectre x360 13 will be upgraded with the new quad core chips? Such info seems unavailable anywhere else but on your list.

        • Andrei Girbea

          August 26, 2017 at 12:49 pm

          Here: browser.geekbench.com/v4/cpu/3242820

          • Ron Bright

            August 27, 2017 at 4:52 am

            Hi and thanks. I'd seen that. Yet the only HP Spectre test with 8th-generation quad core on that list was way back in June, which seems like quite an anomaly. Maybe someone tested it and found it wanting? Maybe it didn't cool sufficiently? Anyway I hope you're right. http://browser.geekbench.com/v4/cpu/3242820

  5. Akshat

    August 21, 2017 at 5:04 am

    How much performance difference we can expect between kaby lake and coffee lake processors. Also is there any difference in the power consumption department too?

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 21, 2017 at 8:37 am

      I'll have a post about that in a day or two

  6. Siddhant Agarwal

    August 22, 2017 at 12:22 pm

    Hi the HP Envy x360 Convertible has also been updated with i5-8250u and mx150

    store.hp.com/us/en/pdp/hp-envy-x360-convertible-laptop-15t-1za23av-1

  7. johndoe

    August 22, 2017 at 10:37 pm

    There is also an ASUS VivoBook S406UA, currently available in Australia/Germany pricelists. It's a thin-bezel, 1.2kg ultrabook, with Core i5-8250U or i7-8550U, no Thunderbolt, but with Windows Pro onboard. Available, probably, since late-October or so, with localized keyboard layouts only :(

    Since in my country we ONLY NOW started to receive UX430UA (ugly glossy blue, which is a certain deal breaker), I hardly imagine S406UA can appear here with non-blue case and US-keyboard somewhere nearby this year. Besides, DELL can delay shipping XPS13-9370 for inifinity, as usual, so I just don't see any rivals to present X1 gen5 i7-7500u.

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 26, 2017 at 4:39 am

      Thanks, there's also just a 39 Wh battery on that laptop, that's really small for this day and age, I doubt you'll get more than 4 hours of real-life multitasking with it.

      Not a big fan of the NIL-coated blue UX430 either.

      Still, the i5-8250 is very interesting, I've been playing with two different laptops built on it and personally. I wouldn't recommend an i7-7500U over this, especially if you actually need the multitasking abilities of a quad-core. with daily tasks you're not going to feel the difference, but with demanding loads even the i5-8250U is a serious bump over the i7-7500U.

      • johndoe

        August 26, 2017 at 6:48 am

        Thank you for your reply.

        Could you please tell me at least your opinion, is it worth waiting for KabyLake Refresh, in terms of heat/noise (in comparison with x1c 7500u)? How long TurboBoost can maintain top frequencies in KBR ultrabooks? Does the fan spin all the time, or stops in idle? And about Zenbook UX331, since you have it for review, does it have the same look and feel as UX330, or any differences (e.g. worse materials, odd noise, coil whine maybe)?

        Waiting desperately for your reviews, hopefully before IFA 2017 ? :)

        • Andrei Girbea

          August 26, 2017 at 12:51 pm

          I'd say yes. The two laptops I have with the i5-8250U don't run any hotter then the dual-core similar builds. Fan spins all the time with the two laptops I have, but that might differ from device to device. No coil whining, but again that's going to differ.

  8. Dinesh

    August 24, 2017 at 9:39 am

    You might want to add the following laptops to your list:-
    Asus Zenbook Flip UX561UN (MX150) – asus.com/2-in-1-PCs/ASUS-ZenBook-Flip-UX561UN/
    Asus Zenbook Flip UX561UD (GTX 1050) – asus.com/Laptops/ASUS-ZenBook-Flip-UX561UD/

  9. Dan

    August 24, 2017 at 11:34 am

    HP is listing a 15" Spectre x360 with the 8550U shipping sep 9 if ordered today.

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 26, 2017 at 4:44 am

      Thanks, that's a nice addition, one of the most interesting offers on the list with that big battery and very nice build. I would have preferred a FHD screen configuration, the UHD has its benefits, but it's also expensive and power hungry.

  10. Jarecki

    August 25, 2017 at 10:42 pm

    Hi, any links to UX331 and 430UAR?
    Cheers

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 26, 2017 at 4:20 am

      I don't know where I've read about the 430 model, and the UX331 is something I'm working on right now. Expect an impressions article in a week or so.

  11. Andrei Girbea

    August 26, 2017 at 4:43 am

    Thanks everyone. I've updated the list, if you spot anything else that's missing, please get in touch.

  12. James

    August 26, 2017 at 11:30 pm

    I wanted to buy xps 9560 for photo and 4k video editing, but now I wonder if I should wait.

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 27, 2017 at 2:42 am

      I don't think they'll update the XPS 15 with the existing 15 W quad-cores, but an update will happen once the 45W Coffee Lake CPUs are released.

  13. Po-wei

    August 27, 2017 at 5:06 am

    Since KabyLake U series CPUs cannot TurboBoost at the highest frequency for a long time with TDP lock, I wonder whether the KabyLake-R U-series CPUs would have much better performance when you usu it for a long time.
    There are 4 core for incoming CPUs are the TDP are still 15TDP, would it be large differnece between benchmark and real life experience?

    If it would increase 30-60% performace in both single-core and multi-core, i have better wait for a while to buy new laptop!

  14. Wei

    August 27, 2017 at 9:46 pm

    Asus UX331UN listed on Geekbench.

    Most likely an MX150 given the UN nomenclature.

  15. El

    August 27, 2017 at 10:14 pm

    No 17" UHD laptops in the list yet, which is what I want for a gaming laptop. How about some indication of which video card will do best? Can we game with the GPU built into the chip?

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 28, 2017 at 6:56 am

      Not really, the GPU built=in is the Intel HD 620. I'd go for at least an Nvidia MX150 for fhd gaming, preferably even a GTX 1050.

  16. Dieter

    August 28, 2017 at 10:49 am

    Dell's entire 5000 and 7000 lineups will be refreshed with Kaby lake-r according to notebookcheck.

    Thanks for this topic btw. Insanely useful.

  17. Vlad

    August 28, 2017 at 7:26 pm

    What about spectre 13"?

  18. Eddie

    August 30, 2017 at 9:24 am

    Nothing to see here phones having been getting quad core chips for ages lol.

  19. Kyle

    August 31, 2017 at 2:02 pm

    Will any of these have increased TDP? I understand that some Lenovo Thinkpads currently ship laptops with raised 25 watt ULV processors.

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 31, 2017 at 2:41 pm

      I've heard the XPS 13 will get 20W versions and I'd reckon others will too. Can't tell for sure for now though

  20. dieter

    August 31, 2017 at 6:30 pm

    Do you think the UHD screen on the ux561ud is PenTile? Also, would battery life of 52Whr be decent with a 1050 in regular use? Thanks!

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 2, 2017 at 12:48 pm

      Probably yes. For battery life, expect about 10-14W per hour of daily use, more with heavier multitasking.

  21. Anon

    September 3, 2017 at 2:37 pm

    Do you know the release date for any of the Asus laptops?

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 4, 2017 at 3:54 am

      Most of the laptops in this list should be available from mid-September, early October.

  22. Be

    September 4, 2017 at 10:59 am

    Samsung has announced they'll be updating their Notebook convertible in September, but haven't released any more details yet. I'm hoping they put a Thunderbolt 3 port on it.

  23. mikro

    September 5, 2017 at 3:34 am

    You probably forgot Asus Zenbook UX331UN which will have MX150 and Kaby Lake R processors.

  24. Dieter

    September 11, 2017 at 3:30 am

    Hi Andrei,

    seems Xiaomi just announced their new 15.6" Mi Notebook Pro with i7-8550U processor and Nvidia MX150.

  25. Jacob Delis

    September 12, 2017 at 11:37 am

    Costco also has an HP Pavilion that is not listed. It is not on their website, but it is in the store. I5-8250U, 12GB of ram, 1TB HD. Priced at $550. If I had the money I would buy it. I have some pictures of it, so feel free to email me!

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 14, 2017 at 5:04 am

      HI Jacob, any info on the model name? I can't even access costo.com in my country, somehow they seem to have banned traffic from my ISP.

      Update: i'd reckon it's this one? slickdeals.net/f/10556548-hp-pavilion-15-cc123cl-touchscreen-laptop-intel-core-i5-8th-gen-for-550 . Careful on that screen, it's TN and really bad for this day and age.

      • Kris

        September 14, 2017 at 5:03 pm

        I've seen a 17" Envy floating around with similar specs.

        amazon.com/HP-17-u220nr-Laptop-i7-8550U-Windows/dp/B074VBGWV4

      • Jacob Delis

        September 18, 2017 at 12:47 am

        Yes! It is on their website now. Sorry for just replying back.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *