Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click OK and continue to use the site.  OK

Ultrabook reviews, guides and comparisons
Asus Zenbook Flip S UX370UA Andrei Girbea Rating: 4 out of 5

Asus ZenBook Flip S UX370UA impressions – the vanity 2-in-1 laptop

14 Comments

  1. drz

    August 16, 2017 at 6:14 am

    Good review. I question Asus choice of core i5/7. I think they should have gone with core i5y/i7y (core m). These are almost as fast in geekbench! They are also more suitable for this kind of device and it would have attracted people like me as I can not tolerate annoying fans. Otherwise a perfect device. But I won't touch it unless it comes fanless later (like the UX360CA).

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 16, 2017 at 3:17 pm

      Well, Core Y is expensive and not that easy to cool. I'm a big fan of fanless experiences too, but I'm not so sure the Core i7y would run well on this build. If I were designing the product, I would have made it a little thicker and tweaked the fan profile so the fan won't kick under a certain threshold.

      • Andrea Severino

        October 30, 2017 at 12:47 pm

        I agree with you Andrei about the fanless desireability.
        But frankly I am not sure why you did not include the Lenovo 900s.
        A bit old now but lighter and smaller with 12.8mm thickness and QHD display I find it to be more the laptop the Asus must compete to (pitched mainly as small and touchpad friendly).

        • Andrei Girbea

          October 30, 2017 at 5:42 pm

          It's Core M though, while this Zenbook is Core U and the difference in performance is huge imo. These days I'd expect fanless Core U builds, there are some out there and hopefully there will be more for us to choose from.

  2. Ben

    August 31, 2017 at 4:55 am

    Hey!

    Thanks for the great review. This is the machine at the top of my list right now, but also considering the UX360UA. (I have good luck with Asus, and I figure I'll stay with them for now.)

    Intel just released their info on the Kaby Lake-R chips, and Asus's site now lists this laptop with the 8000 series chips. From your experience, do you think this model will actually receive that upgrade, and is it worth waiting?

    I'm also thinking to wait for the i5 version to come out, since I don't need it for anything heavy. Again, based on your experience, any idea when the i5 might be out? (either 7th gen or 8th gen)

    Other's I was considering are the newly announced UX461, and UX331. The convertible ability is nice, but not essential after all. Possibly the HP Spectre or Dell XPS13 too, but again, I prefer Asus.

    Thanks, and keep up the great work!

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 2, 2017 at 12:57 pm

      The quad-core KB-R would make little sense in this chassis. Perhaps an update will be available with Coffeelake Core Y later on.

  3. Marcello Patruno

    September 5, 2017 at 8:40 am

    Hello,
    thank you for the excellent testing work that you do, I have had not a fair experience with a few Asus pc, and after seen and touched with hands the HP Spectre X360 I felt that is structurally much better than the Asus machines I owned till today, is it there many difference between the i7-7500U of the HP Spectre X360 and the Intel Kaby Lake Core i7-7500U CPU of Asus Zenbook Flip UX370 please?

    Kind regards
    Marcello Patruno

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 6, 2017 at 12:37 pm

      Performance wise, the i7-7500U throttles faster on the UX370, but whether you'll actually see that in real use depends on your usage.

  4. Art Boyle

    September 16, 2017 at 1:00 am

    Thanks for this review! I'm thinking of buying one very soon however I saw a review on YouTube that indicated the keyboard tray was very bendy and flexed to much and that the screen bounced around as you used the machine because the bins didn't hold it firmly enough. I think your review much more thorough, did you experience anything similar?

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 16, 2017 at 8:39 am

      There is a little bit of flex in the main chassis, yes, but it's nowhere as bad as you're saying.

  5. Oguz Akin

    September 29, 2017 at 1:23 am

    Thank you for your review. It was very informative. I personnaly used Lenovo, Dell xps, Hp spectre during the last 4 months. They all had 8gb ram except the flip s which had 16 gb. Amongst all with 8gb ram, hp spectre was my favorite. Very solid built body and smooth processing. It was quite and never got too hot. It had very good battery life and I liked fast charging spec. Now that I am using flip s, it gives me the feeling of an hp spectre 8 gb ram with its 16 gb ram. I had no complaints so far. I think this is the best looking laptop in the market. I am not interested in a thinnest contest but it looks so pretty in your hand and extremely light to carry. I think it all boils down to cost. If I could find an hp spectre with 16 gb ram similar to flip s with the same price, then I would go with it. However, if you are a daily user with no gaming needs and concerned with how your laptop looks when you take it to a cafe, then I think flip s would win hands down. My two cents

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 29, 2017 at 3:14 am

      Tanks for your feedback. How do you cope with the loss in battery life? The Flip gets a much smaller battery than the Spectre.

  6. Danny Tong

    October 26, 2017 at 4:56 pm

    Would you recommend this over the ux490? I think the ux490 is hotter looking, but can't yoga and is more expensive.

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 30, 2017 at 5:02 am

      Idk, up to you. Personally I liked the UX370 better, but you might have different priorities and needs

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *