Lenovo Legion 5i review (2022 Gen 7 model – i7-12700H, RTX 3060)

11 Comments

  1. AlexS

    September 3, 2022 at 3:56 am

    Nice
    Some comments. It is still the strongest contender for the most balanced laptop for gaming and content creation.

    The RTX3060 is rated at 140W was some sort of change that now allows an extra 10w ?
    That said the result seems to not show those extra 10w in Blender BMW i get 12.85-13.1 sec in my 130W 2021 Legion 5.

    I was surprised by the GPU temperature of 87ºC despite extra pipe, it is true i have the 2021 17" and i elevate the back but i never got more than low 70ºC even pushing 130w.

    Concur with criticism of available screens. I am ok with my 300nit almost 100% sRGB but better options should be available.
    PS: typo in this QHD 1920 x 1080 px

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 3, 2022 at 8:54 am

      What do you mean by some sort of change to allow for the extra 10W?

      I'm not seeing much benefit in benchmarks or games from moving to the 140W implementation either. Perhaps drivers are still a bit early at this point and things might improve later.

      As far as the temps go, yes, previous-gen Legion 5 ran the GPU at sub-80s even with the laptop on the desk, but also at 10-15W lower power in our tests. What I got on the 2022 Legion 5i is on par with the results on the 5i Pro, both i7-12700H + RTX 3060 140W.

      • AlexS

        September 3, 2022 at 7:38 pm

        I was only aware that 3060 could go to a maximum of 130w(w 15w boost)while 3070 maximum of 145w. 140w puts it as almost same power. So the boost got an increase from 15w to 25w.

  2. AlexS

    September 3, 2022 at 4:04 am

    Another point i forgot to make regarding the power profiles.

    I found hybrid modes consumption is bigger than a performance profile while navigation web at least accordingly with HWINFO

    When in Hybrid more i have the igpu and dgpu spending energy even if dgpu idle it consumes about 10w. While in performance mode only the dgpu spends energy. The 3060 is at 13w idle in Mux mode. while the with both in hybrid mode it is more like 18w.

  3. alex

    September 5, 2022 at 8:52 am

    thanks in advance for fulfill my request, with this i can understand, strix scar 15 with rtx 3060 performing well if tweaked, and lift up while using. due to fully costumize with armory crate software, but how about long term ussage on your opinion ?

  4. Milo

    September 10, 2022 at 6:26 am

    Hi
    Can you review new Asus S16X with either AMD 6000 or Intel 12gen CPU? It seems 2022 version is available. Some even without dGPU and with IPS screens making them interesting office machines.

  5. AwesomeLeo

    October 16, 2022 at 8:25 pm

    Hey. I have the same specs except with i5 12500H. My laptop runs super hot in games especially fortnite. Cpu goes to like 97°c and GPU to 80+°c in performance modes and the fps is less at 100 fps at high settings. Is this normal? Is there any fix to this? In balanced modes.. the cpu sits at 80-85°c n GPU at 77-80°c and fps further lower at 80-90 fps

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 17, 2022 at 8:38 am

      weird. I don't test Fornite, so I don't have results to compare it with. Have you tried bumping up the back or placing the laptop o a stand to improge airflow into the fans?

      • AwesomeLeo

        October 18, 2022 at 4:41 am

        Oh not yet, i have to give that a try… I will give that a shot n see if things improve

    • MadMax

      October 23, 2022 at 10:24 pm

      Sounds like you need a really good cooling fan to put under your Legion. A good $50 cooling fan can prolong the life of any gaming laptop for sure.

  6. NikoB

    November 25, 2022 at 1:32 am

    The funny thing is that not a single series and model from different manufacturers allows using the reference Intel profile for 12700h – 115W(PL2)/45W(PL1)…

    It's too bad that there is no mode with maximum impulse performance (at least up to 60 seconds) and coolers turned off or at minimum speed.

    The keyboard could be better if the Esc,F1..F12 row was full height buttons. As well as the full width of the numpad.

    Models with AMD are clearly better for the home in terms of quietness in normal operation. They also average 25-30% better battery life, officially. The fact that they are weaker on average in the maximum profile is unlikely to be noticeable to anyone, and they have a huge margin for a sober buyer.

    And L5Pro 6800+3060 16/1Tb costs $1100 in the USA right now. But in other countries, such a freebie, alas, no.

    These series are rather a clumsy attempt to make a general-purpose laptop, with a "gaming" leaning towards it. Lenovo needs to decide what it wants to do and for whom.

    I'd rather personally get an L7 with a 3050 (or without it). Unfortunately, there are no such models.

    I also note one puncture of Lenovo marketers, which the author did not notice – the L5Pro 2022, despite the fact that this is a higher series, the webcam is only 720p, and the L5 is 1080p, like the top L7. Strange right? Everything should be different – the L5 is 720p, the L5Pro is 1080p, and the L7 is [email protected]

    Therefore, I do NOT recommend the L5Pro to those who often use professional videoconferencing – it is better to take the L5 or L7.

    I also note one more puncture of Lenovo marketers –
    L5i has TB4.0, L5 does not have AMD. The L5i Pro has TB4.0, but AMD doesn't, although the Zen3+ has an onboard USB40 controller (aka TB4.0). But for some reason, Lenovo brought out the USB40 port only in L7 AMD (and this version is also the quietest in all 3 lines). Why is that again? L5Pro AMD must have at least one USB40 port, but L7 AMD must already have 2 such ports…

    It's better to play on much faster desktop cards with much less noise even at 4090…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *