Lenovo Legion 7i review (Gen 7 2022 model- i9, RTX 3080Ti)

25 Comments

  1. AlexS

    August 29, 2022 at 11:00 pm

    Hi Andrei, nice review.

    I question how much weight represents a less slim chassis, specially designed for cooling.

    PS: i believe there is a typo in the side by side chart when you compare 12900 and 12700, the GPU should be changed to 3070 in 12700 i think.

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 30, 2022 at 7:32 am

      Thanks, updated. Some might preffer a thinner and lighter design, especially if they don't need the kind of hardware available in this sort of full-size chassis. It's good to have enough options for every need and budget

  2. AlexS

    August 29, 2022 at 11:03 pm

    Side note that AMD+Radeon pair with non Nvidia possibility is a very bad move from AMD. Nvidia is much better for 3D application render and video encoding acceleration.

  3. Josh

    August 30, 2022 at 12:35 am

    THIS is what I was looking for. Great review as always. I currently have a 2021 G15 3070 and am looking at upgrading to the Legion 7 series in the future. I’m really looking forward to what the raptor lake or meteor lake cpus in this will look like along with rtx 4000 series. I think I’ll probably upgrade to that one.

  4. Taslar

    August 30, 2022 at 12:28 pm

    Great review, but can we expect review and/or comparison with Legion 7 RX 6850m XT?
    I'm interested in advantage edition, but everyone is focusing on Intel + Nvidia combo.

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 30, 2022 at 12:35 pm

      I don't have that yet, but I'm asking for it. Perhaps I'll be able to have a review around the end of September. No guarantee.

  5. Adrian

    August 31, 2022 at 4:23 pm

    Great review! Any idea on what's the total power CPU + GPU that this laptop can handle? Thank you!

  6. Marky T.

    September 1, 2022 at 11:40 am

    This laptop not only has RJ-45 port for Ethernet, but the speed of it should be 2.5Gbps – from the specifications and videos on YT. Can you confirm this ?

  7. Joel T

    September 2, 2022 at 10:29 am

    The workaround to turn off the lightbar or any light on the keyboard or lid, is to set Effect=Always Color=Black in Spectrum. Power of the LED driver should be saved but probably the LED controller is still running.

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 2, 2022 at 10:35 am

      Thanks. Haven't tried it. It should work, but it's not ideal by any means.

  8. Adrian

    September 2, 2022 at 6:56 pm

    I ended up buying this exact configuration ot the Legion 7i. But for some reason Advanced Optimus is not working at all. A notification pops up saying it wasn't able to switch to the dGPU mode. I have it set to hybrid mode and all the latest drivers but it just can't switch for some reason. Did you find any issues on your review unit? Any idea why could this happen?

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 2, 2022 at 7:35 pm

      I noticed notifications when it switched between the GPUs, but it worked fine. I only tested in two games, though, and ran the others tests in dGPU. I did use the Hybrid mode for all the benchmarks.

  9. Adin

    September 7, 2022 at 8:10 am

    Hi Andrei, great review as always.

    But now i'm confused, do you think it's better if i take this legion 7i 3080Ti or scar 17 SE 3080Ti? My use is as a desktop replacement, the laptop always stays at home.

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 19, 2022 at 9:38 am

      There are pros and cons with both. The Scar offers a bigger screen and higher gamut coverage, as well as better audio. the Legion is more compact and feels more premium to the touch, plus offers slightly higher power settings, and slightly better cooling if you put this on a stand to allow for proper airflow into the fans.

  10. Foray Fief

    September 24, 2022 at 12:08 am

    Are you sure about the Hello-compatible IR camera?

    I couldn’t find anything about IR on Lenovo's website (Legion 7 (AMD/Intel) Gen 7’s technical specifications, build options, etc.) and Notebookcheck.net’s review of the 16IAX7 explicitly states that the camera lacks an IR sensor.

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 26, 2022 at 9:25 am

      That was a mistake on our end, thanks for the heads-up, and sry for the confusion. I've updated the article.

  11. toni

    September 25, 2022 at 11:20 am

    Hello and fantastic review, i am about to receive the laptop running the same configuration on October 1st. However there is one fundamental element that i did not pick up in your review : for gaming using ultra graphics settings, raised using cooler pad, which lenovo mode should i be using ? balanced? performance? with or without AI? and what about GPU mode?
    I am a bit confused at this level. Thanks

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 26, 2022 at 9:27 am

      These are explained in the settings. Performance mode with the back of the laptop raised up is ideal for best performance, but you'll have to accept the 50 dBA fan noise. Balanced mode is a good middle-grounder as well, with quieter fans an about 85% of the performance possible on the top profile.

      For the GPU mode, there aren't any, but I would choose the default GPU overclocking option.

  12. Adrian

    October 13, 2022 at 11:00 am

    fantastic review. You are the only one reviewers who is writing about Quite mode where fans can be iddle but in one part you are writing that they are never be iddle and in the second part with edge and netflix you are writing that they go iddle or 30dB. Can you tell if web browser and programming can work with quite mode and iddle vents? Because I want to use laptop like this, Asus TUF Dash F15 is going to iddle mode but Lenovo has more pros for me (QHD+, 500nits, ports on back, more alu on chaisis and for me 3070ti) so I opted for Lenovo. Legion 5i does not have thermal chamber so it's good but do not have opportunity to go iddle. Thank you in advance.

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 13, 2022 at 11:19 am

      They're never idle even with very light use, but are quiet enough not to bother

  13. Paul

    November 24, 2022 at 10:50 am

    Looked like the perfect machine for me, but I just spoke to Lenovo's sales team and they tell me the Thunderbolt 4 ports don't support docks. A deal breaker to easily plug in at home.

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 24, 2022 at 11:20 am

      That's weird. What kind of doc? I don't see why regular TB docks won't work

      • Paul

        November 24, 2022 at 11:43 pm

        Sure is. I can scarcely believe it myself; hard to spend that much money when the sales guys say it won't work though. I have 3 monitors (1xHD, 2x 2k) in my current setup as a critical part of my work flow with an XPS15 and a Dell dock.

        I asked them to clarify if they meant Lenovo's ThinkPad dock or any 3rd party dock too. He told me no docks would work. A bit of googling showed a few on Reddit not having much luck getting docks to work, though a lot of the conversation was concentrated specifically on charging the laptop. I wouldn't mind plugging in both the 300W PSU as well as the dock. I guess it is a way to segment their products, but no dock is a deal-breaker unfortunately.

      • Andrei Girbea

        November 25, 2022 at 12:14 pm

        I still don't understand why it wouldn't work and would probably consider giving the laptop a try as long as the stores in your area allow for easy returns without any restocking fee.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *