Lenovo Legion 7i review (Gen 7 2022 model- i9, RTX 3080Ti)

15 Comments

  1. AlexS

    August 29, 2022 at 11:00 pm

    Hi Andrei, nice review.

    I question how much weight represents a less slim chassis, specially designed for cooling.

    PS: i believe there is a typo in the side by side chart when you compare 12900 and 12700, the GPU should be changed to 3070 in 12700 i think.

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 30, 2022 at 7:32 am

      Thanks, updated. Some might preffer a thinner and lighter design, especially if they don't need the kind of hardware available in this sort of full-size chassis. It's good to have enough options for every need and budget

  2. AlexS

    August 29, 2022 at 11:03 pm

    Side note that AMD+Radeon pair with non Nvidia possibility is a very bad move from AMD. Nvidia is much better for 3D application render and video encoding acceleration.

  3. Josh

    August 30, 2022 at 12:35 am

    THIS is what I was looking for. Great review as always. I currently have a 2021 G15 3070 and am looking at upgrading to the Legion 7 series in the future. I’m really looking forward to what the raptor lake or meteor lake cpus in this will look like along with rtx 4000 series. I think I’ll probably upgrade to that one.

  4. Taslar

    August 30, 2022 at 12:28 pm

    Great review, but can we expect review and/or comparison with Legion 7 RX 6850m XT?
    I'm interested in advantage edition, but everyone is focusing on Intel + Nvidia combo.

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 30, 2022 at 12:35 pm

      I don't have that yet, but I'm asking for it. Perhaps I'll be able to have a review around the end of September. No guarantee.

  5. Adrian

    August 31, 2022 at 4:23 pm

    Great review! Any idea on what's the total power CPU + GPU that this laptop can handle? Thank you!

  6. Marky T.

    September 1, 2022 at 11:40 am

    This laptop not only has RJ-45 port for Ethernet, but the speed of it should be 2.5Gbps – from the specifications and videos on YT. Can you confirm this ?

  7. Joel T

    September 2, 2022 at 10:29 am

    The workaround to turn off the lightbar or any light on the keyboard or lid, is to set Effect=Always Color=Black in Spectrum. Power of the LED driver should be saved but probably the LED controller is still running.

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 2, 2022 at 10:35 am

      Thanks. Haven't tried it. It should work, but it's not ideal by any means.

  8. Adrian

    September 2, 2022 at 6:56 pm

    I ended up buying this exact configuration ot the Legion 7i. But for some reason Advanced Optimus is not working at all. A notification pops up saying it wasn't able to switch to the dGPU mode. I have it set to hybrid mode and all the latest drivers but it just can't switch for some reason. Did you find any issues on your review unit? Any idea why could this happen?

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 2, 2022 at 7:35 pm

      I noticed notifications when it switched between the GPUs, but it worked fine. I only tested in two games, though, and ran the others tests in dGPU. I did use the Hybrid mode for all the benchmarks.

  9. Adin

    September 7, 2022 at 8:10 am

    Hi Andrei, great review as always.

    But now i'm confused, do you think it's better if i take this legion 7i 3080Ti or scar 17 SE 3080Ti? My use is as a desktop replacement, the laptop always stays at home.

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 19, 2022 at 9:38 am

      There are pros and cons with both. The Scar offers a bigger screen and higher gamut coverage, as well as better audio. the Legion is more compact and feels more premium to the touch, plus offers slightly higher power settings, and slightly better cooling if you put this on a stand to allow for proper airflow into the fans.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.