Lenovo Legion 5 review (RTX 3060 model) – mid-range gaming laptop

17 Comments

  1. AlexS

    November 24, 2021 at 1:58 am

    I have got the 5 17.3" 5800H RTX3060 144hz screen and the Samsung PM991A in August for 1100 euro. Strangely with more performing CPU i got the 230W power brick.
    In my case the fans can go to zero. But i am always in performance mode (red light button) which seems counterintuitive. I am not sure i have hybrid activated into Vantage. I can check if you want.
    I did not tested the wifi much since i use cable.
    So far everything good, no crash even when pushing Blender and trying its alphas and betas and resorting to page file with heavy scenes that fill the RAM. If my work start to be heavy i'll replace the 16Gb with 32Gb.
    I have put the Nvidia Studio drivers and not the Game drivers since i don't do gaming that pushes hardware. I also bought W10 Pro not the Home.

  2. AlexS

    November 24, 2021 at 2:00 am

    I think in my opinion the good you should have put the full power RTX3060.
    Btw how did you measured how much watts was it using?

  3. AlexS

    November 24, 2021 at 10:17 pm

    Thanks Andrei, will install HWinfo to check it out. Will report back.

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 25, 2021 at 3:13 am

      Thanks!

      • AlexS

        January 15, 2022 at 2:28 am

        Andrei after a couple of months i can say the maximum i achieved in GPU was 127 watts, it was CUDA rendering in FStorm demo render engine. So it almost fits the 130w.In Blender CyclesX render engine Nvidia Optix it do not surpass 125w.
        BMW27 Blender scene: RTX 3060 set in Nvidia Optix mode.

        110-125w max power 12.85sec
        40w balanced power on battery 23 seconds.

      • AlexS

        January 22, 2022 at 4:46 am

        Hi Andrei, just update that while testing Unreal 5 the GPU got to 133.355w consumption in HWINFO, it was at memory limit too.

      • AlexS

        January 26, 2022 at 8:56 am

        A bit more work in Unreal editing got a real surprise but with 5800H, it got to 82 watt max consumption.

  4. Thien An

    November 26, 2021 at 1:42 pm

    I heard that if I reinstall win 10 it will delete all powerplan so it makes quiet/balance/performance mode won't work. Is that true?

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 26, 2021 at 1:58 pm

      I don't think so. I've put 1 fresh Win10 on this and then installed the wifi drivers and Vantage manually, and then Vantage took care of all the other updates

  5. fire

    December 9, 2021 at 10:33 am

    I find it insane that so many people complain that it's too heavy to lug around.
    It's understandable that we're in the era of tablets and 14"s, but I'm really having trouble imagining this much power in a slimmer body and with a reasonable price tag.
    My previous laptops over last 15 years were all over 3kg (up to 3,79) without the power supply, so I was quite shocked when this arrived on my desk. It's so light I would even say it's too much, I can't even put an usb stick in without the laptop moving. It will get me quite some time to get used to holding it down every time when I want to plug something in…

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 9, 2021 at 10:39 am

      it's not a complaint, just a detail that people should be aware of before buying, especially nowadays when there are also many good lighter options (but not as powerful).

  6. Rui Ribeiro

    January 5, 2022 at 8:16 am

    I bought it on black friday for 900€, hell of a deal.
    upgraded the ram to one slot 16gb dual rank, later ill add another one, upgraded the wificard to intel ax210
    and also bought a 2tb kingston nv1 for the extra m.2 slot

    Only thing is i might have the bad panel though you guys talked about, its the 120hz LEN156FHD-LEN9059 from 2019.
    Can i get your color calibration please? might improve colors abit on this panel.

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 5, 2022 at 9:25 am

      I don't think I have that .icc profile anymore

  7. George from Prague

    January 8, 2022 at 11:22 am

    Bought this machine at mid of april 21,underclocked core,overclocked memory and get about 45MH/S stable Ethereum hashrate.After 5 month of mining,sthis beast has paied back based on 24/7 mining.Temperatures all the time (of GPU and CPU) sat around 60C.So i got this great machine practically for free.One of best laptop i´ve ever had.Great review.

    • AlexS

      January 15, 2022 at 2:30 am

      That is 269 days so about 4 euros per day?

      • George from Prague

        January 15, 2022 at 10:06 pm

        Yes,it was giving great rewards till EIP1559 which occurde in June and dramatically send rentability of mining down.(Same as price of Eth get from all time high quite down).If somebody just want this laptop for mining now,not good idea,as Ethereum getting to proof of stake model in July. Good graph of rentability is here bitinfocharts.com/comparison/ethereum-mining_profitability.html#3y

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.