Asus ROG Zephyrus G14 GA402RJ review (RX 6700S, Ryzen 9 model)

26 Comments

  1. Mathew

    April 6, 2022 at 7:55 pm

    Does it have battery bypass for usb-c charging? Previous models 2021 and 2022 took energy from discharging battery instead straight from charger. It results with constant charging discharging loop of battery. Stock charger had normal battery bypass after reaching full battery.

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 7, 2022 at 12:34 pm

      We're looking into it

    • Derek Sullivan

      April 8, 2022 at 1:24 pm

      I think this has the behavior you are describing. When it fully charges, it'll stop charging and switch to a light discharge. And then when the battery gets down to about 98% it starts charging slowly again.

      I did it again with a Cinebench loop and this time I used a USB power monitor to see what the chargers behavior is. During the first 13 loops, there was a light discharge on the battery and the charger was putting out 45-50W. On the last two loops, the charger switched off completely and the laptop started drawing 45W from the battery. It didn't affect performance at all and I wouldn't have noticed, had I not been monitoring. So I'm guessing this is what you were meaning.

      • Mathew

        April 9, 2022 at 10:33 am

        Thank you for commitment in solving this. In my opinion your description proves that it can't bypass battery for usb-c power delivery- its always either charging or discharging it. For me it is a deal breaker. I would be greatfull if you check this while USB4 arrives. This guides me for chosing rog flow x13. Once more thank you.

  2. Adrien

    April 7, 2022 at 11:16 pm

    Great review thanks! Do you know what's the best way to connect it to an external screen? HDMI, usb-C on the left or right?

    Can you feel the difference between the model with and without Anime Matrix? In terms of thickness and weight

    • Derek Sullivan

      April 8, 2022 at 12:25 am

      I've only used HDMI so far. But on paper, both usb-c are displayport compliant so they both should work fine.

      Andrei tested the animematrix model and I tested this one, so neither of us have that comparison. Mine is a little lighter though. A mere tehth of a pound.

  3. rabbitkun

    April 10, 2022 at 9:43 am

    Very nice review, I've been looking for a review with this specific config. Looks like I'll be saving up for this config, hopefully I could get it on 3Q this year 😁

  4. Odae

    April 14, 2022 at 8:17 pm

    I think you have the RJ and RK models mixed?

    "Only my model is the lower-end Zephyrus G14 GA402RK version." – the RK has the 6800S

    "my model is much better than the model most of the tech reviewers were getting (the GA402RJ variant)." – the RJ is the 6700s variant.

    Confirmed via Amazon too.

  5. Vlad

    April 17, 2022 at 9:30 pm

    Does it really have the USB4? Also, what is the default performance mode when not using armory crate software? Thanks!

    • Derek Sullivan

      April 17, 2022 at 11:13 pm

      From what I understand, there a USB4 port but it'll be activated in a later update.

      As for Armory crate, when disabled, the graphics card appears to stick with whatever armory crate set it at before disabling. The CPU is driven by the power plan in Windows. It appears to be on balanced mode by default which is equivalent to performance mode in armory crate. I didn't uninstall it completely though, just disabled.

      • Vlad

        April 18, 2022 at 12:22 am

        Thank You so much for your response! I appreciate your time dedicated both to the content and comment responses! Awesome work! :)

        I wonder what power plan for GPU it would be if it would be a clean system with Armory Crate never installed. Maybe I should not be against the software though – it has MUX switch, power management, rgb etc. I'm just worried about potential battery life impact from this background service. Also, it seems like there is BIG issue with AMD GPU drivers – I could not install any latest AMD generic driver from their website no matter what I try. The only one that installs fine – is the one dedicated to the G14 on AMD website. Problem is – it is from February and it means that there is no way to stay up to date in terms of GPU drivers other than relying on ASUS. The dedicated G14 driver from AMD website (I believe it is the same as the one from MyASUS and Windows Update) has some issues in certain games. For example, in AC Valhalla in-game metrics (F1 button) does not show proper GPU temps – just whatever the lowest possible integer value with minus sign.

      • Andrei Girbea

        April 18, 2022 at 11:14 am

        As far as I understand, you need to update the AMD drivers through Asus/Windwos update. Direct AMD drivers won't work. I wouldn't worry much about Armory Crate being a hog.

      • Vlad

        April 19, 2022 at 12:08 am

        The thing is – the issue in AC Valhalla is present even on the latest available installable driver through updates. I guess due to OEM specific things. Anyways, inability to install latest drivers with new features like RSR or latest optimizations for new titles – is a big issue for many potential buyers.

  6. Lynton

    April 18, 2022 at 2:26 pm

    thanks for the review. those 'silent' mode numbers are interesting indeed! It must be that much of the vapour chamber heat extraction capacity is used by the gpu in that mode and the cpu being 6nm is just very power efficient

  7. Matt

    April 19, 2022 at 4:40 am

    Great review. On my GA402RJ with the 6700S when using a USB-C to DP adapter and a DP cable, the right USB-C port works with my 4K monitor, but the left one doesn’t (no signal).

    Any ideas? They’re both supposed to have DP. I’ll contact ASUS support about this tomorrow.

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 19, 2022 at 9:01 am

      is that 4K and more than 60 Hz? The left USB-C is connected to the AMD dGPU, and perhaps there are some limitations in the supported bandwith. In my tests I'm using a 1440p wide format display, and it worked fine on both UBS-Cs

      • Matt

        April 19, 2022 at 6:46 pm

        4K 60hz is the goal, but when it’s plugged in Windows just thinks it’s some garbage fake resolution, and the monitor says no signal. I tried it with a 1080p monitor and it worked, so I’m choosing to believe that the port is not simply broken. Asus support had nothing to offer. They also didn’t know anything about the potential USB4 rollout, or whether if it happens it will support Thunderbolt 3 docks.

        Have to figure out if I want to chance it, or return it and wait for a Dell X14.

      • Andrei Girbea

        April 19, 2022 at 6:51 pm

        As far as I understand, USB4 support is up to AMD and the USB Implementers Forum at this point. I was hoping they would get the licensing figured out by mid-2022, but there's no guarantee when USB4 will come to these AMD laptops.

        Is it a must to drive that monitor through the USB-C left port?

  8. Matt

    April 19, 2022 at 7:00 pm

    Nope not at all. This current triple screen setup is more than good. But I was hoping to have Thunderbolt 3 dock support so I could switch between this and a work laptop with one cable swap.

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 19, 2022 at 7:03 pm

      I figured. Up to you, but realistically, UBS4 might still take a while and there's no guarantee it will work with TB docks. And then, whether the X14 is worth it overall over the G14, that's something else to consider in your decision.

  9. Dave

    April 23, 2022 at 2:52 am

    Thanks for reviewing a lower end model, so often they get overlooked because only the best is sent out as test samples.

    In terms of battery life could you do a few more "light gaming" tests? You have the Witcher at Max Performance, but what about something more CPU dependent like Civ VI, Kerbal Space Program, or Football Manager? Could I squeeze 2-3 hours out of a game like that? What if you run a game on the Vega Graphics as opposed to the 6700? Or even using the 6700 but at lower settings?

  10. Vlad

    May 14, 2022 at 9:06 am

    Asus did confirm that they are investigating Radeon drivers issue. Not being able to install any other than ASUS version of gpu drivers is not expected behavior. Hopefully fix will be released soon. The ASUS version is based on old Adrenalin software. The issue is even more severe with the recent release of new driver preview by AMD that improves DX11 performance significantly.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.