Lenovo Legion 5 Pro review (Ryzen 7 + RTX 3070, 16:10 QHD+ screen)

41 Comments

  1. Mul

    June 16, 2021 at 10:06 am

    Is there Lenovo Ideapad 5 Pro on your list to review? It seems to be a bit similar to Legion but with weaker GPU, more oriented towards productivity work.

    • Derek Sullivan

      June 16, 2021 at 1:08 pm

      Possibly with Andrei, but it's not on my list at this time.

      • Mul

        June 16, 2021 at 1:59 pm

        Thanks.

        As a sidenote. You may want to consider changing your discussion software. Current one seems outdated. There is no thumb up-down option.

    • wck

      June 22, 2021 at 9:09 pm

      Thinkbook 16P RTX3060 is better than ideapad pro 16.

      ideapad pro 16 is called Xiaoxin (小新)pro 16 in China.

  2. Federico

    June 17, 2021 at 4:35 am

    Can you take a look at DPC latency? I'd use the laptop for amateur home music production with a DAW (Ableton live), so I should worry about sync or noise issues when I record voice or instruments via ext sound card or run/render/export a mix with several tracks/plugins/samples.
    It seems the safest option around is trusting ad hoc assembled laptop, unless getting ready to struggle with driver updates or odd tricks (i.e. disabling wifi to reduce DPC latency…).
    However, many other features of this laptop look brilliant, so maybe I'd give it a chance. Just hoping I don't get fans too noisy while I record voice/instruments with external mics…

    PS: hard to get it available again in Italy, not sure if hoping that for Amazon prime day… do you know if it's due to planned marketing timing, or to production/distribution issues with some components?…

    • Derek Sullivan

      June 17, 2021 at 6:14 pm

      Will take a look next chance I get.

    • LW

      June 17, 2021 at 6:43 pm

      Jarrod on YouTube covered the DPC latency in his video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HIm8vTualEE

      The info's at 5:22

      • Federico

        June 17, 2021 at 8:18 pm

        Thanks!
        In this other review at 10:16 it's said it's ko with wifi on and ok with ethernet on :-o
        https://youtu.be/TpXQ6owGJ-4
        Apart from Latencymon check, it would be interesting a realistic example of usage with a DAW, but difficult to find around at the moment for this specific recent model.

  3. Aren

    June 17, 2021 at 10:44 am

    Dell Inspiron 16 PLUS was released today. Can you review it?

    • Derek Sullivan

      June 17, 2021 at 6:14 pm

      I probably won't be getting that one anytime soon, sorry.

  4. LW

    June 17, 2021 at 5:53 pm

    One thing to do to really improve the battery life is remember to switch the screen frequency down to 60Hz (instead of the 165Hz) by pressing Fn-R ("refresh"). I found this adds a couple of hours to the battery life, making the windows battery estimate 10 hours or so on mine. I never actually tried testing the battery to see if it did make it this long. Pity the laptop doesn't switch the refresh rate automatically when unplugging, like on the Asus laptops.

    Great review, though!

    • Derek Sullivan

      June 17, 2021 at 6:13 pm

      Yes, very good point! I agree too, it should be a feature in all the software tweak kits.

  5. Govarthenan

    June 17, 2021 at 9:16 pm

    What do you think about Linux compatibility on this laptop?

    • Derek Sullivan

      June 17, 2021 at 9:26 pm

      That's never been part of my testing so I don't know. I have limited experience with Linux and it's mostly with older PCs and RPis. What's the concern though, the CPU?

      • Govarthenan

        June 17, 2021 at 9:48 pm

        Well… this is only my second laptop so I'm concerned about that. I've seen people say AMD is no more the odd guy when it comes to Linux. Also, I have this pretty niche question… Do you think it'd be any harder than a regular laptop to type in this thing for a guy with short fingers?

      • Derek Sullivan

        June 17, 2021 at 11:52 pm

        It's a standard sized keyboard so it shouldn't really make much of a difference in comparison. The only thing that differs compared to other laptops is the size of the palm rest area. This is pretty on the larger side of that department. But that only affects where your wrists lie.

    • LW

      June 18, 2021 at 2:22 am

      I think the original Jarrod Youtube review mentions testing Linux, and I seem to remember most of the important hardware was recognized. I don't fully remember, though.

    • Vic Hardy

      June 26, 2021 at 5:20 pm

      I have one on order as of yesterday and I'm a linux guy so I'll dual boot it with linux on the 2nd 1T SSD. I just bought a new MSI GE76 with the new 8 core i7 from Costco, but it's only 1T SSD, 3060, and I could not get their new 'killer' wifi circuit to play with linux. I'm taking it back (go Costco).

      I'll report back in a couple weeks on linux compatibility when I receive it.

  6. Mul

    June 17, 2021 at 9:47 pm

    Could you run 3D Mark benchmarks for integrated Vega 8 GPU in this laptop? I am curious how it compares against mobile GTX 1650.

    • Derek Sullivan

      June 18, 2021 at 12:14 am

      I've been trying to figure out how to force the iGPU to run a game but no such luck. I tried power saving mode in Radeon Graphics, but it's still using the Nvidia GPU for some reason. There's no option for switchable graphics either.

      • LW

        June 18, 2021 at 2:20 am

        If you go into the NVIDIA Control Panel (you can reach this by right-clicking on the NVIDIA icon on the task bar on the lower right). Then on the left panel, select "Manage 3D Settings", then under the "Global Settings" tab, there is a selection box for "Preferred Graphics Processor", and under this you can change from "Auto-Select" to "Integrated graphics".

        I have not tested this, but came across it in learning about this laptop. Hope it helps.

      • Derek Sullivan

        June 18, 2021 at 2:24 am

        Wow, major brain fart on my end haha! I should have known that. Having Nvidia control panel and Radeon control panel at the same time threw me off. Thanks and will post results shortly

    • Derek Sullivan

      June 18, 2021 at 3:14 am

      Updated in the performance section. I could only get Time Spy to run on Vega. Fire Strike absolutely refused to run on anything besides the 3070. Something with Optimus wasn't letting it switch.

      • Mul

        June 18, 2021 at 6:46 am

        Thank you.

  7. yoyoyo5678

    June 18, 2021 at 11:39 am

    how is the wifi?

    • Derek Sullivan

      June 18, 2021 at 12:27 pm

      It's been great for me. No drops and good range. I read somewhere that some people struggle with Bluetooth though. Particularly controllers. I haven't been able to test it yet though.

  8. Bruce Lyu

    June 20, 2021 at 7:27 am

    How much tgp can be retained when using PD charging?

    • Derek Sullivan

      June 22, 2021 at 12:42 am

      As far as I've been able to tell, PD charging is only for charging. It can't supply the GPU. TGP was 40W whether on battery or 100W PD.

      • Bruce Lyu

        June 22, 2021 at 4:26 am

        Online see someone who said that the battery can reach the highest TGP, but because of the damage to the PD charger so it can not maintain the highest TGP.

      • Derek Sullivan

        June 22, 2021 at 4:43 am

        I can try it if you can point me to the settings he used to let he battery run at that high of a TGP. I've never seen a battery capable of going that high though.

        I'd be more worried about the battery than the PD charger. It should be putting out 100W regardless of what the laptop is doing.

  9. Aren

    June 27, 2021 at 9:36 pm

    Quiet mode seems ridiculously restricted. Single core performance dropping by 75% is crazy.
    What is more crazy is that Lenovo can't be convinced to give users more control over CPU, GPU and fans to make better power/noise profiles.

  10. roman

    July 3, 2021 at 11:20 am

    Quiet mode CPU -25W.No 10-12W.Deactivate in W10 office mode.Quiet mode is best mode.

  11. Adam Pearce

    July 9, 2021 at 8:05 am

    Hi there, can you share your nahimc settings? The sound quality is bugging me. Also did you play around with the x-rite color software it comes with?

    • Derek Sullivan

      July 9, 2021 at 12:56 pm

      Can't share the exact settings since I no longer have the unit. If I recall correctly though, I used the default settings on music and adjusted the equilizer to have more of a bell curve.

      I never touched the x-rite software, sorry.

  12. Yanto H

    July 12, 2021 at 2:27 pm

    Can I add 64GB (2 x 32GB) DDR4 3200MHz to the unit ? If I can, what is the BIOS setting for RAM on Lenovo Legion 5 Pro RTX 3070 8GB (AMD Ryzen 7 5800H CPU) ? The BIOS setting support XMP tweak/setting or not ? The BIOS setting support 1.2V or 1.35V or both voltages for RAM installation ? How do I access the BIOS setting for RAM installation ? Advanced BIOS option ? Can I install Crucial 64GB (2 x 32GB) DDR4 3200MHz CL 16 1.35 V RAM and get full speed 3200MHz CL 16 ? How about Kingston HyperX 64 (2 x 32GB) DDR4 3200MHz CL 20 1.2V RAM ? Kingston runs at 3200MHz CL20 1.2V on the laptop ?

    Thank you for your kind attention and assistance :-), Derek.

    • Derek Sullivan

      July 12, 2021 at 5:38 pm

      The first ram kit you suggested should work. As for the bios settings, I don't recall there being any options for RAM.

      • Rick109

        July 19, 2021 at 9:30 pm

        In the latest bios version there is a Memory OC label at the same menu where the GPU and CPU OC is handled.

        I have tried inserting XMP ram and the label was still exactly the same and does absolutely nothing.

        Whats going on with this label and why is it there when it has absolutely no purpose?? Its so confusing.

        Is this label a broken XMP feature or is lenovo messing with us?

        Could you please contact lenovo about the Memory OC label? I have bought an XMP kit to find out that the label does absolutely nothing and screwed me over, AMD processors heavily rely on RAM latency & timings.

      • Ralph

        July 30, 2021 at 6:04 pm

        Lenovo claims a maximum supported memory of 32gb. I need confirmation of 64gb before ordering. As returns might not be ideal.

      • Derek Sullivan

        July 30, 2021 at 6:10 pm

        I have no way to confirm that unfortunately. I only have a 32gb kit. Maybe someone else can though. Perhaps replaying to the other comment that asked about it.

  13. Ranón

    July 28, 2021 at 5:30 pm

    I apologize for my English, I have used a translator for ease. I was looking for reviews on this team and have come up with yours. I have loved the analysis. It is a laptop that quality-price for work and leisure is drawing my attention. Even if I have that issue with the color theme on the screen, for illustration / design / video editing could it work fine?

    • Derek Sullivan

      July 28, 2021 at 6:16 pm

      It's a 100% srgb panel and is color accurate so it should be ok for illustration and video editing as long as you don't need a wider gamut. I know illustrates that use 100% srgb and others that use only 100% dci-p3 or more. It just depends on the work you do I guess.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *