Lenovo Legion Slim 7 review (15ACH6 with AMD – all-around ultraportable)

23 Comments

  1. Richard Bennet

    October 14, 2021 at 1:55 am

    I can respect – and I believe – that anyone is entitled to their opinion, esp. if they have the wallet to back it up, and good for them.
    But for myself – as a long time PC user, hobbyist, DIYer, and inveterate bargain hunter, I had to laugh out loud at your comment, grumbling at being forced to endure an FHD SCREEN in the shadow of the QHD. Uh… WOW.
    Sir, you are a crybaby! Now I'm not going to take that priviledge from you, but I have just made a shrewd deal on a MUCH older laptop, with my FIRST FHD Screen.
    I am THRILLED… and You are Very Jaded, buddy.
    Good one.

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 14, 2021 at 9:16 am

      Well, if you can respect my opinion, then why bash it and then call me names. Isn't this contradicting your "respect"?

      • The Omnomnom

        October 14, 2021 at 5:21 pm

        The Review is fair, as is the opinion on FHD screens. 16:9 is not ideal since so many people work from home now. Screens upwards of 14 inches do benefit from WQHD. 350 Nits and average colour accuracy are no longer Things you have to put up with, if you are shelling out more than 1k or 1.2k.

        Dont get me wrong. I think the Legion Slim 7 offers an attractive package. But the criticism of it is precise and valid.

        Does one really need any of this in the end? No ofc not. Does not change the facts though or make anyone delusional …

  2. Aurelio

    October 27, 2021 at 10:08 am

    I loved that you were able to test a "lower" spec option (5600H + 3050Ti) of this laptop, as it really illustrates what a great option this is…
    I read so many reviews on 8 Core specd laptops that I tend to forget that, overall, these last gen 6 Core are really great performers.
    Furthermore, if we can save $200 to $300 and the "only" tradeoff is that we have to wait a few more minutes in a day (on those times that we demand more cpu-intensive tasks from the computer – and, quite frankly, usually those tasks are sparse and don't last all day long anyway).
    Now, in the long time, 5 to 7 years down the road, I can't say if I'll miss that extra cpu power or not…

  3. SCSI

    November 12, 2021 at 6:46 am

    I just picked up a Ryzen 7/RTX3060 version from BestBuy here in the US thats on sale for the November Holiday 'season'. I had bought an open box Asus Zephyrus G15 that had better specs, but the bios had been corrupted and the keyboard didn't work right and I didn't like the physical layout of that keyboard. I've always been quite picky about my keyboard on laptops as I work in IT (yea I use an external keyboard sometimes, but not on a gaming laptop, typically). So far I've been quite impressed, though if BestBuy picks up the Legion 5 Pro series, I'd be tempted to trade in for that as that is a nicer line.

  4. Alex

    November 22, 2021 at 9:51 pm

    Hello Andrei,

    Could you please help me choose between legion 7 slim and zephyr m16 based your experience? Both with exact same low spec, 3050 ti, fhd screen and exact same price.
    Which is better is case of comfort daily use? (I am a software developer)

    Thanks in advance

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 23, 2021 at 11:16 am

      Slim 7: a bit sturdier built and more portable, AMD hardware so longer battery life, better thermal design imo with the hot air going to the back and not into the screen,
      Zeph M16: better keyboard, better 16:10 screen options, better IO with more full-size ports, more powerful hardware, Intel-only so more limited battery life, better speakers

      You'll find more details on the reviews. I'd lean towards the m16

      • Alex

        November 23, 2021 at 11:35 am

        Thanks for your reply and also your amazing review,
        Any better alternative choice in this class for non-gaming comfort daily use? (GS66, Delta 15, Aero 15….)

      • Andrei Girbea

        November 23, 2021 at 11:38 am

        I enjoyed the recent Aeros a lot. good build, battery, ports. Keyboard and the design might not be for everyone. Worth considering though. I have a few nits with the GS66, but that could be OK as well if you're OK with the quirks. you'll find them in the review. Haven't tested the Delta.

        Screen choice would probably be the decisive factor for me, especially the 16:10 WQHD panel on the M16. Is that what you're looking at, or the FHD+ option?

  5. Alex

    November 23, 2021 at 12:05 pm

    Dear Andrei,
    I am not sure how much impact have the WQHD panel, also 3050 ti should be enough for nights casual gaming(maybe cooler than 3060 version), please let me know if you think it worth 400$ more.
    At the moment I have M16 FHD 3050 ti for 1100$ (I can return it to BestBuy until next mount)

    Option2: M16 WQHD 3060 for 1500$ (Does it worth?)

    Option3: Aero 15 4k AMOLED 3060 for 1350$ (How much glossy is the screen? How soft is the keyboard? Wobbly screen… Why you think it's better than M16?)

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 23, 2021 at 12:11 pm

      3060 GPU performance is about 25% higher than 3050Ti. The QHD screen is higher res, brighter and reciher colors at 100% DCI-P3, compared to the FHD. Up to you if the price difference is worth it.

      For the other questions, you'll need to watch some youtube videos. Also, make sure you understand the particularities and potential downsides of the OLED screens, such as flickering, black crush, and potential burn-in if used at very high brightness.

      I'd probably stay with option 1 at those prices, the FHD 3050Ti M16.

      • Alex

        November 23, 2021 at 12:24 pm

        I know the different on the paper, But I am not sure about the screen because I have no idea about real life different (I have never seen M16 WQHD), Is there so much different?
        Also, I am not sure if 3060 cold rich 25% more performance on this thin and light chassis.
        What do you think? 1500$ is much more than 1100$ :D

      • Andrei Girbea

        November 23, 2021 at 12:29 pm

        Go and look for reviews on youtube then and compare the numbers. I haven't tested the 3050Ti or 3060 M16, but the 3050Ti results should be close to what we got here with the L7Slim.

  6. srinivasan

    January 5, 2022 at 11:50 am

    how did you make the cpu tdp 5W while checking battery life? did you use any software?

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 5, 2022 at 11:54 am

      no, those are average power draw as per Hwinfo logs

  7. msembhi

    February 2, 2022 at 5:02 pm

    How did you manage to get that much battery life? Would it significantly differ for say word processing, using teams etc. for work. I've never got anywhere past 5hours – closer to 4.5hours. I installed windows 11, this made no difference and returned back to windows 10 and saw no difference. The battery health is also fine. Do you have any tips?

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 3, 2022 at 9:56 am

      Haven't done anything special, just standard settings. I was quite amazed of those runtimes as well.

    • Martin

      May 19, 2022 at 2:22 pm

      I want to buy an Legion S7 but I haven't decided yet what screen I want to take and I'm wondering what screen do you got. There are FHD, WQHD and UHD options.
      Which one do you got?

  8. Dexter17

    May 5, 2022 at 9:49 am

    Buyers adivce please
    I just got admitted into college. Will be studying Computer science.

    I am confused between Asus zephyrus g15(r9 + 3060), zephyrus g14(r9 + 3060) and legion slim 7(r7 + 3060).
    Looking for a balance between portability and perfomance.

    Also how much of perfomance can i expect from these compared to the (Ryzen 7 3700X + 1660ti + 16gb) PC I already have.

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 5, 2022 at 10:03 am

      you'll find the reviews for all of these on the site. The G15 is the higher-performance options, then the G14 and then the Slim 7 . G15 should be better in CPU loads, and fairly close in GPU loads to your desktop. Other aspects such as inputs, screens, build, battery life should be considered as well.

  9. Arthur

    June 2, 2022 at 9:42 pm

    Lenovo Legion Slim 7 is a great, excellent, very good laptop!

  10. Andrew

    August 17, 2022 at 8:38 pm

    Hi Andrei,

    I have been searching for a laptop for school between $1,000 and $1,500 and your reviews have been immensely helpful in my decision so far. Reading through a lot of them, I've narrowed my options down to this laptop and the Asus Vivobook Pro 16X. What attracts me to the 16X is the bigger 16:10 screen with similar specs. I play video games when I have time (Rocket League and Minecraft mostly) and I am a little worried I would regret getting the 60Hz screen over the 165Hz screen on this model.

    The ROG Zephyrus M16 would have both a bigger screen and a higher refresh rate, but your reviews on both the 2021 and 2022 model show that when browsing, it has a shorter battery life than either of these, and I want to make sure I don't have to plug my computer in all the time when I'm working on campus away form home.

    Do you have any advice?

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 18, 2022 at 11:41 am

      AMD laptops are more efficient in general. The VivoBook Pro is a balanced laptop, but if gaming is important to you and plan to run more demanding titles in the future, perhaps something like a Zephyrus G15 might make sense as well. It's cheaper than the M16, but only 15-inch screen

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.