Razer Blade 15 Advanced review (mid-2021 models, RTX 3080 and 3060, QHD 240Hz)

19 Comments

  1. Drew

    July 21, 2021 at 9:37 am

    Nice review. Good of you to mention the screen flickering too as I've read a lot of Reddit users complaining about that particular issue especially on the QHD ones.

    But with all things said and done: Razer Blade 14 or Razer Blade 15?

    • Derek Sullivan

      July 21, 2021 at 6:20 pm

      I'd personally go for the Razer Blade 15, based on screen size alone. But even taking that out of the equation, I still think I'd lean towards the 15 because of the hardware features. Fhd camera, faster SSD are nice to have and I liked the fact I didn't hear fan oscillating as much on the Razer blade 15.

      The RB14 would be my recommendation only for those that are intent on having the most portable powerhouse possible. The size difference is night and day. For me, I don't mind the heft – I like bigger screens and quieter fans.

  2. R

    July 23, 2021 at 9:50 pm

    Liked the review.

    The much weaker rtx cards in these Razer products feel like a deal breaker for their price point. I'm currently thinking if I should instead just get a Legion 7 with a 3080, instead of this Razer Blade 15 with a 3070. I'd be saving money & getting a much more powerful product. Shame really, because the razer really is a much better looking machine.

    • Derek Sullivan

      July 23, 2021 at 10:19 pm

      I feel exactly the same way. That's why I have an order in for the Legion 7 3070, which should have near identical performance to the 3080 Razer Blade but for sub $2k. I should have it by next week I think too.

      I also had a 3080 version which is on backorder until November…

      • R

        July 23, 2021 at 11:14 pm

        I think MSi are even more conservative with their GS66 model. As you pointed out the Razer had some issues, but have you heard of battery bloat associated with their laptops? Do they just use lower quality batteries/worse QC. It's also good to point out that the Blade 15 base models are so much worse than the advanced, with many of the refreshes you pointed out on the advanced model missing on the base.

        Do you think it's worthwhile to wait for the 11th gen Legion 7, or pull the trigger on the AMD Legion 7? I'm a bit worried I buy the amd version, then the intel one thats around the corner is significantly better.

      • Derek Sullivan

        July 23, 2021 at 11:57 pm

        Only reason to get the Intel version is if you need Thunderbolt or want pcie gen4 ssds. Otherwise I don't see the point in paying more for the Intel version. The battery life will definitely be better with the Ryzen version(which is already not so great due to the iCue software on the Legion 7).

        Personal preference, but I am probably sticking with Ryzen for this gen of laptops. Every Ryzen I have tested in the past few months has performed very well so far and the CPU doesn't need to hit 90w to do it.

      • Derek Sullivan

        July 24, 2021 at 12:04 am

        I forgot to answer the battery bloat question. Battery swelling is a problem across all laptop brands. Defective batteries are usually the cause. I've heard of it being an issue with Razer before, but it's really a problem across all brands. If you type in a laptop brand and battery swell into Google, you'll see tons of results.

      • Derek Sullivan

        July 25, 2021 at 10:31 pm

        FYI Legion 7i 3080 popped in stock on Lenovo today. Ships this week too!

      • R

        July 28, 2021 at 2:52 pm

        Yeah I ordered the 7i with a 3080. Unfortunately the 3070 models wouldn't ship for months. Now I'm worried about slow ram! I hope they didn't cheap out.

      • Derek Sullivan

        July 28, 2021 at 3:02 pm

        I have one arriving today. Will let you know.

      • Derek Sullivan

        July 29, 2021 at 3:27 am

        So I checked HWinfo and this is the RAM that's installed: 8ATF2G64HZ-3G2E2
        It's Micron and according to a picture on eBay, it's 1Rx8…. So probably slower. I haven't run any benchmarks yet nor tried my other ram kit. Probably won't get to that until the weekend. Disappointing that Lenovo would cheap out like that on their highest end model though.

      • R

        July 28, 2021 at 3:12 pm

        I look forward to your review!!

        I've also heard that the intel legion 7i has advanced optimus, while the amd versions only have a mux switch – this is pretty significant imo, and pretty underreported. You can see the differences on the data sheets provided by Lenovo.

        Intel:
        https://psref.lenovo.com/syspool/Sys/PDF/datasheet/Lenovo_Legion_7_16ITHg6_Datasheet_EN.pdf
        AMD:
        https://news.lenovo.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/01/Lenovo-Legion-7_AMD_16in_6thGen_Datasheet_NDA.pdf

      • Derek Sullivan

        July 28, 2021 at 3:19 pm

        Yeah I have no idea why either. It's weird because the Legion 5 I just reviewed has advanced Optimus and yet the Legion 5 Pro didn't. Both had the same CPU, ram, etc

      • R

        July 29, 2021 at 4:01 pm

        Oh that's so disappointing. I had a feeling they'd cheap out on the ram, hence why I purchased the model with 16gb ram installed instead, so I can replace it myself.

      • Derek Sullivan

        July 31, 2021 at 4:30 am

        Just to follow up. Turns out the RAM in the Legion 7 isn't that bad. The 1Rx8 16GB modules perform just as well as my kit does. Could be that it's just the 8GB modules that are underperformers. It could also be that Intel CPUs aren't as reliant on the RAM type as Ryzen CPUs are.

  3. Dave

    July 24, 2021 at 10:12 am

    Hello,

    again the best and most comprehensive review out there. I really like the detail, especially when paying such a high price.

    You’ve mentioned the anti fingerprint coating. Is there a difference between the newest Razer Blade 14 and this review unit? Or does it feel like they already applied this to the 14”?

    • Derek Sullivan

      July 24, 2021 at 12:45 pm

      The coating is not on the Blade 14. It's only on the 15 and the upcoming 17. It makes a difference for sure, but it still smudges. I think it was easier to clean with the coating though.

  4. Phil

    July 28, 2021 at 9:02 am

    Hello which app did you used for undervolting the cpu? Xtu or throttles top?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *