Razer Book 13 review (16:10 FHD/UHD touch screens, Tiger Lake hardware)

14 Comments

  1. jon

    December 21, 2020 at 12:03 am

    thanks for the review! there's an html typo under "the good" section, 2nd bullet.

  2. Serge

    December 21, 2020 at 2:36 am

    Tests keep screaming – amd is better, faster , more power efficient, cheaper and almost year later still no razers, no xps, no lg gram or anything premium based on renoir.. wth ?

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 21, 2020 at 11:20 am

      hopefully, those will be available next year with Ryzen 5000. For what is worth, though, Ryzen 4000 is not faster across the board, but only in some multi-core loads, and I can argue that most users won't run the kind of tasks that would take advantage of that on this sort of laptops. That however, will probably change with Ryzen 5000 as well

  3. mik

    December 21, 2020 at 1:57 pm

    CL36 for LPDDR4x-4266 is according to Intel spec, all LPDDR4x-4266 Tigerlake devices have this latency. Have a look in the datasheet (Volume 1), here just a screen: https://imgur.com/a/nKbDsD0

    DDR4-3200 CL22
    LPDDR4x-4266 CL36

    I have to disagree with this statement:

    So in short, the RAM on this model looks faster, but isn’t.

    You are correct that the latency may be worse but on a Iris Xe iGPU powered machine it is mainly about bandwidth, all the DDR4 powered Iris Xe devices do score a lot lower in 3dmark Firestrike, timespy etc, they are a lot slower. LPDDR4x-4266 is the fastest memory for this device and also benefits some CPU benchmarks like compressing/decompressing.

    • Derek Sullivan

      December 23, 2020 at 3:32 pm

      Interesting, thanks for the insight. I'll have to research that a little more.

  4. Gary Hunt

    December 22, 2020 at 7:25 pm

    Can you get home end, pgup and pgdown keys via Fn +arrow keys combinations? Thanks and as always thorough and helpful review.

    • Derek Sullivan

      December 23, 2020 at 3:29 pm

      I didn't specifically test it, but Razer has had that feature on their Blade lineup since at least 2015. It's probably safe to assume it still exists.

  5. TGL

    December 27, 2020 at 1:20 am

    "Note that one of my games wouldn’t even run, due to the lack of driver support."

    Intel 27.20.100.9079 graphics driver, yet all the reviewers on this site refuses to do a simple check of Intel's downloadcenter website to install the latest Intel graphics drivers.

    • Derek Sullivan

      December 27, 2020 at 1:56 am

      It didn't work even after an update. Doom actually warns you on launch that it doesn't support Intel drivers. Did you actually get yours to work?

  6. Matteo B.

    December 27, 2020 at 2:23 pm

    Dell XPS 13 are still more expensive, especially in Europe. And the do not have the vapor chamber on the clamshell model, that make them more expensive and less thermal efficient. This Razer seems much more balanced on the Tiger Lake platform.

  7. Justin Capalbo

    December 28, 2020 at 7:20 pm

    Thanks for a detailed review. You listed the webcam in the cons section. I was going to purchase this laptop for my wife for her therapy practice (which is remote right now). She is using my razor blade stealth right now and is fine with the webcam quality. Is the razed book’s webcam quality worse or around the same? Thank so much! Hello

    • Derek Sullivan

      December 28, 2020 at 7:38 pm

      It's exactly the same. If you like the one in the RBS, this is no different. I only list it as a con because it's weak compared to others I've seen. On gaming laptops, it's fine but since this is intended for productivity and work, my opinion is it should be better.

  8. Jimmy

    December 29, 2020 at 8:30 am

    Thanks for the great review!

    I was already planned to buy Zenbook S (UX393EA) but the I saw this review from the Razor book. What is your feeling about the build quality, display, thermals etc. if you compare Razor book 13 to UX393?

    My daily usage (95%) will be browsing, netflix etc. and occasionally light gaming (Fortnite etc.)

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 29, 2020 at 11:22 am

      I'll chip on this as I've reviewed the ZenBook S. Both are well built, although slightly different in design. The ZenBook has the larger 3:2 screen on its side, but this also makes it a taller overall laptop, so not everyone might consider that an advantage.

      Thermals and performance, on the other hand, that's where the Razer Book wins with the superior thermal design and slightly thicker construction.

      I'd also expect the Razer to slightly win at keyboard/clickpad, but the ZenBook is a close 2nd on those. Finally, the ZenBook gets a large battery and should last longer on a charge.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *