Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We do not collect your personal data.  I agree  Find out more  About cookies

ASUS VivoBook S14 S433 review (S433FL/FA 2020 model )

14 Comments

  1. Dominik

    June 2, 2020 at 6:25 pm

    Interesting to hear about the variations in screen models. Guessing the same might be the case with its bigger brother S533. Laptopmedia so far only reviewed a model with a mediocre panel however.

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 2, 2020 at 7:04 pm

      they've also reviewed the S433 with the lower tier version, but panels might vary from region to region, and there's no way to tell for sure without perhaps asking the store

  2. Giuseppe

    June 5, 2020 at 2:42 pm

    Is the CB r20 multi best run (2602) a typo? I have the same cpu and after undervolting and repasting i got it to 2050 max.

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 5, 2020 at 3:10 pm

      It was, sorry. We only scored around 1400-1500 points on this sample. Yours probably runs at consistent high power in order to score above 2000 points.

  3. Kevin

    June 17, 2020 at 3:28 am

    How about the S14 M433IA-EB071TS model available here in Asia (with Ryzen 5 4500u or Ryzen 4700u) does this panel have a mediocre display?

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 17, 2020 at 12:06 pm

      it's not available here and haven't touched that, so I don't know.

  4. Shahariar Hasan Shohan

    August 19, 2020 at 7:16 pm

    Can I play GTA V on the core i5 + intel UHD versions at the lowest settings?

  5. Jaocb

    August 20, 2020 at 8:20 am

    What are your thoughts on using this for running Photoshop and lightroom?
    Not heavy editing, just a few layers

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 22, 2020 at 8:01 pm

      should be OK, but this platform would not be my first choice for this kind of loads

  6. Sylvain

    September 23, 2020 at 4:34 pm

    Don't buy this laptop unless you triple-checked every detail yourself or with the vendor.

    I bought a S433FA-EK693T (i5, 16G RAM, 512G HDD) and, though everything is indeed labeled "Model: S433FA-EK693T" on/in the box (warantee, manual, sticker on the chassis, etc), it is in fact a K413FA. Both the engraving on the chassis and the BIOS show "Model: K413FA".

    The K413FA is identical in design to the S433FA, but it has a sh***y screen (BOE NT140FHM-N44: not IPS, 50% sRGB, 500:1 contrast, poor viewing angles) that is even worse that the bad variant you talk about in your test, and a smaller battery capacity (42Wh vs 50Wh). The screen is the reason I started being suspicious in the fist place : it is so bad that after only 10m of use I though "this can't be right", and then I checked the panel reference, the engraving, the specs sheet of K413FA and S433FA, my battery, etc.

    After a 7 emails conversation with Asus Support, they still say it is a legit S433FA and they will not replace the laptop.

    Really disapointed by Asus. The fact that tech giants can do these cheap tricks and get away with it is scary.

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 23, 2020 at 8:25 pm

      Can't you return it? Looks like you where shipped the wrong product.

  7. Ibrahim

    October 20, 2020 at 1:52 am

    Hi, great review :) I have a concern between choose this model (S433FA) or the Asus VivoBook 14 X413FA, they look like the same but I know they aren't, I'll use the laptop for my office work and maybe for play some not much demanding games, but Im worry about the overheating, what of these do you recommend me ?

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 20, 2020 at 8:27 am

      I don't think the FA will have overheating issues in any case. At the same time, don't expect much in terms in gaming abilities, the FAs are Intel hardware only with UHD graphics.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *