Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We do not collect your personal data.  I agree  Find out more  About cookies

MSI GS65 Stealth Thin 8SG Andrei Girbea Rating: 4.25 out of 5

MSI GS65 Stealth Thin 8SG review (2019 model – i7-8750H, RTX 2080 Max-Q)

14 Comments

  1. David

    February 16, 2019 at 11:08 am

    Great review. In your opinion in the new GS65 the best 15 inch 2080 maxi laptop or the Zephrus/ Razer Blade Advanced?

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 16, 2019 at 11:42 am

      Not sure yet. We're still working on the reviews of the Blade 15 and the Zephryus 15. Each has their own particularities though, those, the GS65, the Triton and the Aero, so there's no BEST one, just one that could better cater to each one's needs.

      • David

        February 16, 2019 at 11:45 am

        Thanks for the reply. I’ve read the Blade will have better performance and be optimised for that. I’m after ultimate gaming performance overall.

        Could you give me an idea of particularities of the ones you’ve seen so far?

        • Andrei Girbea

          February 16, 2019 at 12:09 pm

          I think you should go through the reviews on the site for that.

          Our articles on the Blade and Zephyrus should be available in the near future, and we'll know which performs best at that point. From what we've tested so far, the Triton 500 come at the top as the best performer RTX 2080 max-q option, however, we had a pre-release model and final units might be clocked lower, in order to cope with temperatures and noise. Bottom point, give us a week or two and we'll be able to answer which is the best performer. Right now we can't, yet :)

  2. Alex

    February 17, 2019 at 1:52 pm

    Interesting and on point review of the GS65. However I have already bought the GS65 2060 RTX. Do you thin it is a major difference between the 2070 and 2060 rtx models?

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 17, 2019 at 4:21 pm

      I can't tell for sure, but I'd be inclined to say not really. 2060 configurations are most likely the better value of all the available options, as long as you don't care much about Ray Tracing in games

      • Alex

        February 17, 2019 at 4:28 pm

        Thanks

        • Andrei Girbea

          February 17, 2019 at 4:32 pm

          Do you plan to run any benchmarks, perhaps 3Dmark, uniengine? If yes, can you share the results? It would help others interested in the 2060 model.

          • Alex

            February 17, 2019 at 4:34 pm

            I am more than open to share them once I get the laptop on Tuesday.

          • Andrei Girbea

            February 17, 2019 at 4:39 pm

            Cool, I'll send you an email and we can further talk there. Thanks

  3. ratcashh

    February 17, 2019 at 7:21 pm

    How come noone talks about Lenovo Y740 as a competitor for these gaming laptops? Price wise they beat everything else hands down. Cooling is very good. The only issue is the smaller battery… Only if Lenovo offered to use M2 instead of the 2nd HDD and putting in a bigger battery…

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 17, 2019 at 8:35 pm

      Hardware wise, yes, it is. But the Y740 is a little thicker and heavier, and it's not as nicely made, so it's more of a competitor for the likes of the Asus ROG Strix GL504 and perhaps MSI GS63 Raider imo. The GS65, Razer Blade, Gigabyte Aero, Asus Zephyrus, Acer Triton etc are in different class.

      • ratcashh

        February 17, 2019 at 8:54 pm

        Nicely made, maybe, but that is subjective. Build quality is very strong, though, on the Lenovo.

        Weight is 2.2Kg which is almost on par with the Aero 15 X9. The only difference is 17mm more depth (250 vs 267mm) and 3.5mm more height (18.9mm vs 22.45mm). Hardly noticeable. The significant difference is the weight of the power brick. 0.9Kg (with cables) of Lenovo, vs ??? of the MSI?

        • Andrei Girbea

          February 17, 2019 at 9:03 pm

          It's about the same for the MSI as well. I agree those differences are small, and I agree there might be better value for the money in something like the Y740 or GL504, but at the same time, I also understand why some might prefer paying extra for on these premium tier options.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *