Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We do not collect your personal data.  I agree  Find out more  About cookies

ASUS TUF Gaming A15 FA506IV ASUS If you’re shopping for a gaming notebook and don’t have thousands to spend for, this Asus TUF Gaming FA506 could well be the best bang for your buck in the months to come. With the latest AMD hardware on board, an updated screen and various other improvements over the previous FX505 generation, the 2020 TUF notebook is highly competitive in is class. Yes, it still lacks certain bells and whistles, but it\'s well priced, performs spectacularly well for its class, and doesn’t majorly compromise on any important aspect. ASUS TUF Gaming A15 FA506IV If you’re shopping for a gaming notebook and don’t have thousands to spend for, this Asus TUF Gaming FA506 could well be the best bang for your buck in the months to come. With the latest AMD hardware on board, an updated screen and various other improvements over the previous FX505 generation, the 2020 TUF notebook is highly competitive in is class. Yes, it still lacks certain bells and whistles, but it's well priced, performs spectacularly well for its class, and doesn’t majorly compromise on any important aspect. Andrei Girbea 4.25 5 https://www.ultrabookreview.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/03/asus-tuf-gaming-fa506-main.jpg Andrei Girbea 4.25 5

ASUS TUF Gaming A15 FA506 review (FA506IV model – Ryzen 7 4800H, RTX 2060 90W)

25 Comments

  1. David

    April 13, 2020 at 7:29 pm

    "choppy with multitasking"? That sounds like there's something seriously wrong. Because I'm currently on a significantly slower i5-8250U and there's no choppiness whatsoever, even on "best battery life" setting.
    And I run a LOT of stuff at times – recently upgraded from 16 to 24 GB RAM…

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 13, 2020 at 8:01 pm

      Perhaps our expectations of choppiness are different, but I can hardly use any laptop on Best Battery or lower with multitasking.

      • David

        April 15, 2020 at 8:23 pm

        I thought you might say that – which I find funny because only recently, I wrote a comment on AMD's marketing video here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tZAo11tu3DU
        … because there are multiple spots in the video where the playback on the AMD machine stutters. Which I found hilarious. :)

        I mean I guess when I hit Windows + E, Explorer doesn't pop up quite as fast as on my watercooled multimedia workstation but… those lags are very small. And since "choppy" means "not smooth", I would associate that with e.g. stuttering Youtube videos, stuttering scrolling in browsers, etc.
        Which I did get on a fully passive-cooled machine I built once. But the peace and quiet I got in return – mmmm… ;)

    • Dhruv Sharma

      April 15, 2020 at 10:49 pm

      The tuf gaming notebook can't have thunderbolt as that's an option only for intel powered device as they own the interface. No AMD powered notebook(or for that matter AMD compatible motherboard) will provide Thunderbolt support as they cant

  2. Phoenix

    April 14, 2020 at 9:54 pm

    This is the perfect laptop.

    Too bad the screens are 45NTSC.

    I'm not sure if that is a deal breaker for me or not.

    Will have to do more research.

    I really like the look of this Laptop and also what it has under the hood but I don't know about that display.

    • carl

      May 11, 2020 at 11:47 pm

      what does that effect exactly and what to aim for?

    • ret

      May 20, 2020 at 2:30 pm

      i seen the review on the a15 priced 1200 usd and compared it to the https://www.ultrabookreview.com/35782-asus-proart-studiobook-17/
      i need an machine for sculpting and the rt book is an joke in my opinion for 2020
      he tells us in the reviews termals arent good on the a15 but compared to the other intel mess its ok (praised art book for termals)
      the minuses for the art book are price weak cpu weak battery and for the price too hot
      so i should spend about 1100 usd more for an accurate screen and build quality but lose in productivity and comfort????

      • Andrei Girbea

        May 20, 2020 at 2:35 pm

        That's something you'll have to answer for yourself. Imo, the ProArt series doesn't make much sense with an RTX 2060, it's better suited for a Quadro chip. But if you need that 17-inch 16:10 screen, it might be worth paying extra. So do you?

  3. John

    April 19, 2020 at 11:21 am

    if I want a longer lasting laptop and better temps I should be using turbo mode in games???

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 19, 2020 at 7:18 pm

      This might not be the ideal choice for that, it runs hot on both Turbo and Performance

  4. Vid

    April 22, 2020 at 6:40 am

    Hello, do you know if european midrnge models, such as the one with ryzen 7, rtx2060 and 16gb ram get the 90Wh battery also? They have started selling them in my region but no 90Wh battery, which is a shame… Ill have to wait for lenovo 5 then…

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 22, 2020 at 12:26 pm

      Configurations vary between regions, so yes, those higher tier models should get the 90W, but it's up to the local Asus branch to offer those configurations. Make sure to check with the seller

    • Lars

      May 11, 2020 at 11:24 am

      alternate.nl/ASUS/TUF-FX506IV-HN187T-15-6-inch-laptop/html/product/1595537?event=search

      Here you go mate.

  5. Corey

    April 23, 2020 at 10:34 pm

    I've been trying to find the panels for this and the Zephyrus G15 144hz on the internet for over 24 hours now. Panelook doesnt have any 144hz panels with sRGB this bad, and I was wondering if you could expand upon that. My price range is basically at the EXACT edge of the 45%NTSC and 72%NTSC split, and so it's been difficult for me to find exactly what i'm looking for especially as a ton of new laptops are coming out this quarter. Ideally looking for a gaming laptop that I can also do web-design work on, under $1500. but I'm also impatient.

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 24, 2020 at 10:22 am

      You can find our tets of the 144 Hz panel in the screen section, but these are recorded with an older sensor and reality the max brightness is about +3o nits and contrast should be a little better as well. Color coverage is right, though.

      We also tested the 60 Hz 45% NTSC panel here: https://www.ultrabookreview.com/36432-amd-tuf-gaming-fa506iu-review/#a4 . It'd dimmer and more washed out, plus slower in games.

  6. Nils

    April 24, 2020 at 10:31 am

    Hello,

    I'm looking to buy a new gaming laptop, but I recently fixed my old MSI GE62 Apache so I "can" hold it out just a little longer.
    I have a above average budget, but I want a sustainable and good product. I'm also really leaning towards a Ryzen 4800 or similar processor, because I'm not keen on Intel being in a monopoly for so long.

    Would you recommend the TUF, the zephyrus or wait for another laptop model to come out?
    Or just tell me throw away principle and for something else?

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 24, 2020 at 11:46 am

      Hi, that's a fairly old laptop, I'd rather look at something newer for a couple of reasons: better hardware, better thermals, extra features that might be available.

      Is the GE65 Raider within your budget? It's a great performer, but has a small battery. Also, MSI have the GE66 Raider in the works, could be a great laptop, but should wait for some reviews first.

      Ryzen options are unmatched in multicore performance, but are dragged down by thermal designs that cause hot temperatures, and fairly poor screens. That's why I think there's better overall value in some of the Intel options for now, unless you really need that 8C/16T processor.

      • Nils

        April 24, 2020 at 12:05 pm

        Hey, yes it is quite an old timer with it's own set of thermal issues. I also don't like the plastic cover, since it's a bit fragile when I need to take it apart.
        I don't use the laptop for gaming outside, I'm looking for one that usually goes inside.

        The GE65 raider is within my budget, I'm not loyal the MSI brand.

        Would you recommend waiting to see what the new 300 Hz screens of the Raider GE66 can do, with a comprehensive review? I agree that screen and thermals are really important.

        • Andrei Girbea

          April 24, 2020 at 12:14 pm

          I would. The 300 Hz screen is not much over the existing 240 Hz on the GE65, pretty much the same. However, there's a larger battery in the GE66 and possibly more powerful hardware. We should have a review around May, so if you can wait, I'd do it. The GE65 should also get cheaper once the GE66 starts shipping, so there's at least that.

          The ROG Scar III from Asus is a tier match for the GE65, but not a big fan of its design and larger footprint. We've reviewed both here on the site.

          TBH, there are a lot of good options out there, each with their own quirks, so you'll just have to figure out what matters most for you. Since you plan to keep this indoors, I'd go with one of the full-size models over the more portable ones, such as the Raider and Scar, 2019/2020 generations. Gigabyte makes some mood full-size Aorus laptops as well. I'd also buy from a place that offers good warranty and return policy, as quality control can be a random issue with modern laptops.

      • Carl

        May 18, 2020 at 10:46 pm

        I’m aiming for 2070 supers atm, no point doing 2080 only to have medium settings…….not sure which one though yet, defo gsync though. Shame the new G14 doesn’t have gsync, I’d compromise for that one. Have you tested the 3XS vengeance options from scan before?

  7. Manny

    April 25, 2020 at 12:37 pm

    Hey there keep up the good work with the reviews really helpful. Ive been meaning to get a new laptop. Should I get this one or the
    ASUS ROG Zephyrus M GU502GU-XB74, price wise this seems like the better choice as the rog is still 1800$ online. What do you think? Thanks in advance

  8. carl

    May 11, 2020 at 11:43 pm

    Hi,

    Best review site by a mile, thank you sooo much!

    So I nearly made the error of buying the GA502IV (G15) with its thermal problems

    Then I considered the 144hz FA506IV

    but in this video you actually recommended the M series instead which leaves me

    I know nothing of the M yet trying to track the review down, basically I need a screen to learn to code with, not game and I suffer bad eye strain which is where higher refresh comes into effect (60hz kills me!). I also find IPS helps (No PWN) and higher RGB (less differing with colours) so would this be your recommendation still? Thanks

  9. Eitan

    May 18, 2020 at 9:29 pm

    Will you recommend the A15 for character animation in Maya ?

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 18, 2020 at 9:35 pm

      I'd say yes, but I'm not using Maya on a daily basis, so I'm not 100% sure it can benefit from the Ryzen 8Core CPU.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *