Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We do not collect your personal data.  I agree  Find out more  About cookies

Asus ROG Zephyrus S GX502GW Andrei Girbea Rating: 4.5 out of 5

Asus ROG Zephyrus S GX502 review (GX502GW model – i7-9750H, RTX 2070)

17 Comments

  1. Matt Langley

    May 16, 2019 at 12:22 am

    Great review. Are you going to be reviewing the 9th gen refresh of the gx701 with the 2070. I've been very curious if it can push the full power 2070 (with it's improved cooling system and funky keyboard layout) even closer to what a 2080 MQ can offer (but at a huge price savings).

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 16, 2019 at 9:01 am

      Most likely not, but I'll ask about it.

    • Ian Li

      May 19, 2019 at 1:35 am

      Me too! I really want see a review like this for GX701 with RTX 2070. Please get one!

  2. Seb

    May 16, 2019 at 7:16 am

    Nice review !

    I'm not able to find any GX502GW to buy online (Europe version) ?

    The Amazon link provided in the review does note return any result.

    Do you have any more links where i can buy this laptop ?

    Thx

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 16, 2019 at 9:02 am

      It's not available with Amazon in Europe yet, but I've seen it listed in several German stores. Look for it at the local computer dealers in your region.

  3. Peder

    May 16, 2019 at 11:08 am

    Was going to order this, but then realized it won't let me use my ROG Swift PG279Q fully.
    Checked with Asus and I'm limited to HMDI at 60hz if I wan't to use g-sync. If I use the USB-C (DP) I can go 144hz @ 1440p – but I lose g-sync.
    Not ideal. You would think their top offerings in laptops would fully support being used with their top offerings in screens.

  4. Kshitij

    May 16, 2019 at 4:42 pm

    Would you guys post a followup of its performance when gaming at 4K Ultra on an eternal monitor? I wish all such reviews would start including that.

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 19, 2019 at 12:11 am

      we'll consider it for future review, but we currently don't have a 4K monitor in our office, so I don't think we can do the tests with this laptop, which we'll most likely have to send back early next week.

  5. Koen

    May 17, 2019 at 12:58 pm

    You mentioned optimus shuts down the nvidia gpu. Isn't Optimus leaving the nvidia card on and actually switching auomatically between intel and nvidia gpu? Or did asus do it differently than other manufacturors and completely disable the nvidia gpu?

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 19, 2019 at 12:15 am

      Optimus turns off the Nvidia GPU when not needed, and automatically witches it on when required. It's not different that on other laptops

  6. Koen

    May 17, 2019 at 2:32 pm

    Do you know if Optimus mode still let's you use the Nvidia gpu? But with g-sync off course.

  7. Koen

    May 17, 2019 at 9:18 pm

    Those headpipes look a bit damaged?

  8. Andrei

    May 17, 2019 at 9:52 pm

    Thanks for the review.
    I have a question I wasn't able to get information on, and perhaps you'll be able to enlighten me since you spent some time with it.

    I'm concerned about their information pages, where they say "Up to 1TB RAID 0 storage"
    Does that mean the upper limit for RAID 0 is 2x512GB SSD's ?
    And if so, what is the upper limit for SSD drives not configured in RAID? Can we add let's say 2 x 1TB drives to have more storage?

    Start RANT
    I can get past the missing Thunderbolt (in the past 3.5 years I was never in a situation where I could say 'I sure would have loved a Thunderbolt port on my laptop' :)). But if the storage is really that limited, it's kinda discouraging, especially since this is marketed as a top tier model. What will they do, release another one in the winter with Thunderbolt and bigger storage and call it an upgrade?
    End RANT :)

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 19, 2019 at 12:19 am

      Good question, but I can't give you an answer right now. I don't see why 2x 1 TB drives won't be able to work in RAID, but I'll try to pass the questions forward and get back to you if I get an answer.

  9. Cahyo

    May 18, 2019 at 6:19 pm

    Whoa! Many Thanks for the review! I'm so excited reading this. I can say this is the ONE I've been waiting for. Can't wait for order this anymore. Can you tell me how much it will cost in Indonesia?

  10. Mark

    May 19, 2019 at 7:21 pm

    I have a question, with regards to the battery life when using for day to day productivity items will the USB type C be able to charge the battery to full or the power consumption is greater than the USB type C charging?

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 20, 2019 at 7:51 pm

      It will be enough. Daily use discharge is at about 25-30 W with serious multitasking, and the USB-C charger provides twice that.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *