Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We do not collect your personal data.  I agree  Find out more  About cookies

Asus ROG Zephyrus S GX502GW Asus The Zephyrus S GX502GW is a major step-up from the early-2019 Zephyrus S GX531 lineup. It still offers plenty of performance in an even smaller, lighter and sturdier package, but this time it\'s a standard, practical form-factor, with a smarter choice in materials, more accessible internal design, proper battery life, and an improved keyboard, all in a more affordable package. Asus ROG Zephyrus S GX502GW The Zephyrus S GX502GW is a major step-up from the early-2019 Zephyrus S GX531 lineup. It still offers plenty of performance in an even smaller, lighter and sturdier package, but this time it's a standard, practical form-factor, with a smarter choice in materials, more accessible internal design, proper battery life, and an improved keyboard, all in a more affordable package. Andrei Girbea 4.5 5 https://www.ultrabookreview.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/05/asus-zephyrus-gx502-main.jpg Andrei Girbea 4.5 5

Asus ROG Zephyrus S GX502 review (GX502GW model – i7-9750H, RTX 2070)

84 Comments

  1. Matt Langley

    May 16, 2019 at 12:22 am

    Great review. Are you going to be reviewing the 9th gen refresh of the gx701 with the 2070. I've been very curious if it can push the full power 2070 (with it's improved cooling system and funky keyboard layout) even closer to what a 2080 MQ can offer (but at a huge price savings).

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 16, 2019 at 9:01 am

      Most likely not, but I'll ask about it.

    • Ian Li

      May 19, 2019 at 1:35 am

      Me too! I really want see a review like this for GX701 with RTX 2070. Please get one!

  2. Seb

    May 16, 2019 at 7:16 am

    Nice review !

    I'm not able to find any GX502GW to buy online (Europe version) ?

    The Amazon link provided in the review does note return any result.

    Do you have any more links where i can buy this laptop ?

    Thx

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 16, 2019 at 9:02 am

      It's not available with Amazon in Europe yet, but I've seen it listed in several German stores. Look for it at the local computer dealers in your region.

  3. Peder

    May 16, 2019 at 11:08 am

    Was going to order this, but then realized it won't let me use my ROG Swift PG279Q fully.
    Checked with Asus and I'm limited to HMDI at 60hz if I wan't to use g-sync. If I use the USB-C (DP) I can go 144hz @ 1440p – but I lose g-sync.
    Not ideal. You would think their top offerings in laptops would fully support being used with their top offerings in screens.

    • Jack

      May 24, 2019 at 12:56 am

      Do you understand HDMI 2.0b provide up to 4k 60 HZ and can provide lower resolution with higher refresh rate?
      Both monitor outputs directly connected to Nvidia GPU so It should supports G-sync . For mini display port in zephyrus you should use an adapter usb type c to mini display port.

      • Jonathan Lin

        May 31, 2019 at 3:43 am

        Would be nice to get some confirmation on this from reviewers. Being unsure about it working on a external monitor at 144 hz with G-sync is what's stopping me from getting this.

  4. Kshitij

    May 16, 2019 at 4:42 pm

    Would you guys post a followup of its performance when gaming at 4K Ultra on an eternal monitor? I wish all such reviews would start including that.

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 19, 2019 at 12:11 am

      we'll consider it for future review, but we currently don't have a 4K monitor in our office, so I don't think we can do the tests with this laptop, which we'll most likely have to send back early next week.

  5. Koen

    May 17, 2019 at 12:58 pm

    You mentioned optimus shuts down the nvidia gpu. Isn't Optimus leaving the nvidia card on and actually switching auomatically between intel and nvidia gpu? Or did asus do it differently than other manufacturors and completely disable the nvidia gpu?

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 19, 2019 at 12:15 am

      Optimus turns off the Nvidia GPU when not needed, and automatically witches it on when required. It's not different that on other laptops

  6. Koen

    May 17, 2019 at 2:32 pm

    Do you know if Optimus mode still let's you use the Nvidia gpu? But with g-sync off course.

  7. Koen

    May 17, 2019 at 9:18 pm

    Those headpipes look a bit damaged?

  8. Andrei

    May 17, 2019 at 9:52 pm

    Thanks for the review.
    I have a question I wasn't able to get information on, and perhaps you'll be able to enlighten me since you spent some time with it.

    I'm concerned about their information pages, where they say "Up to 1TB RAID 0 storage"
    Does that mean the upper limit for RAID 0 is 2x512GB SSD's ?
    And if so, what is the upper limit for SSD drives not configured in RAID? Can we add let's say 2 x 1TB drives to have more storage?

    Start RANT
    I can get past the missing Thunderbolt (in the past 3.5 years I was never in a situation where I could say 'I sure would have loved a Thunderbolt port on my laptop' :)). But if the storage is really that limited, it's kinda discouraging, especially since this is marketed as a top tier model. What will they do, release another one in the winter with Thunderbolt and bigger storage and call it an upgrade?
    End RANT :)

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 19, 2019 at 12:19 am

      Good question, but I can't give you an answer right now. I don't see why 2x 1 TB drives won't be able to work in RAID, but I'll try to pass the questions forward and get back to you if I get an answer.

      • Andrei

        June 12, 2019 at 2:44 am

        Just to follow up on this.. I got the laptop today, added 16GB RAM and and extra Samsung 1TB 970 EVO Plus. Tested both, the Intel SSD it originally came with is disappointing.
        Will get a second Samsung tomorrow and try to set up the RAID.
        Test results:
        https://imgur.com/a/x6EaQkG
        https://imgur.com/a/QbbECKD

        • Andrei Girbea

          June 12, 2019 at 3:29 pm

          Thanks for this update!

          • Andrei

            June 12, 2019 at 9:27 pm

            I did the RAID0 setup (was pretty easy, did not encounter any problems).
            The test shows lower performance than the single SSD:
            https://imgur.com/a/yCTB3vf
            So at this point, I think I'll leave the two SSD's running separately, and set one up as a backup.
            Also, RAID0 is the only type supported by the Intel RST, so that's a bit disappointing as well.

            A few more things about the laptop:
            – easy to disassemble (watch the screw sizes :))
            – the motherboard is a bit thin, you have to be careful when un-screwing the SSD screws, as it bends quite a bit
            – the power port seems flimsy, the connector moves a bit when fully inserted. I have some worries in the long run about this.
            – other than the above, after 2 days of installing / reinstalling and disassembling the laptop twice, I found that I like it. The keyboard seems ok, although not much to compare with.

          • Cahyo

            August 16, 2019 at 4:50 pm

            So the upper limit for SSD is not 512GB unlike from the website?
            But 1TB for each slot?
            And RAID 0 by Intel RST means only Intel SSD that has benefit from RAID 0?
            Is that what you meant?

        • James

          October 10, 2019 at 4:58 pm

          What brand and type of ram did you use for the upgrade?

    • Daniel Woodard

      November 29, 2019 at 7:25 am

      Having come from a Lenovo X1 Gen 3 with thunderbolt (which was great), while it sounds good on the competition in this class thunderbolt is crippled in that they wont accept charging, so a hub is pointless as full thunderbolt connection means one plug providing power/mouse/screen/network etc, but now your up to 2 at least because of crippled thunderbolt.
      And your PowerBank you want to use on plane or in those places without Mains is useless. Thunderbolt gives you external GPU, but now you don't need it.
      So thunderbolt on other 15" gaming is really kinda pointless and given this has Powerbank charging via the same USB-C socket it adds more portability than others unless you drop to the 13" Razer Stealth but sacrifice GPU.

      • Andrei Girbea

        November 29, 2019 at 3:50 pm

        There are some particular use cases where TB3 would be useful, like powering and charging from the same external monitor, external GPU, fast data transfer, charging. Charging is covered here and the others are not something the average user would use.

        I've asked Asus why no TB3 on these gaming models and their reply was pretty conclusive: most buyers just don't care about it.

  9. Cahyo

    May 18, 2019 at 6:19 pm

    Whoa! Many Thanks for the review! I'm so excited reading this. I can say this is the ONE I've been waiting for. Can't wait for order this anymore. Can you tell me how much it will cost in Indonesia?

  10. Mark

    May 19, 2019 at 7:21 pm

    I have a question, with regards to the battery life when using for day to day productivity items will the USB type C be able to charge the battery to full or the power consumption is greater than the USB type C charging?

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 20, 2019 at 7:51 pm

      It will be enough. Daily use discharge is at about 25-30 W with serious multitasking, and the USB-C charger provides twice that.

      • Siddharth

        May 24, 2019 at 5:22 am

        I can't thank you enough for this review, my purchase depended on this … Can you please suggest which one I should go for, the Zephyrus gx502 or Asus strix scar 3 with rtx 2070?

        Also please review the Asus scar 3 asap !!
        Thanks in advance!

        • Siddharth

          May 24, 2019 at 5:25 am

          Also could you please give me a detailed idea about how long the scar 3's battery might last i.e while watching YouTube, browsing and coding etc.? With power saving features and without? It has a 66wh battery… Thanks, this would really help with my purchase

          • Andrei Girbea

            May 24, 2019 at 1:09 pm

            Search for our Scar II GL503GW review on the site, the III should offer the same results.

        • Andrei Girbea

          May 24, 2019 at 1:08 pm

          I haven't reviewed the Scar 3 yet, but it's in the works. I'd expect lower price and better thermals, but personally, based on my hands-on experience with it, I'm not a fan on the Scar 3's design so would rather pay more for the GU502 or the GX502 if interested in the 2070 version.

  11. jack

    May 24, 2019 at 1:04 am

    Do you have a review unit from Asus Rog scar III ? I'm more existed about that?
    You're review Unit from Asus gx502 was an engineering sample or ..?
    In box will they include webcam or we have to buy it separately?

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 24, 2019 at 1:07 pm

      Not yet, but will most likely get one next week. And yes, my test unit was pre-release and the box will include the webcam and other accessories in some regions (USB-C charger, mouse, etc).

  12. Henxao

    May 25, 2019 at 3:41 am

    Thank you so much for your review. Honestly, I was shilly-shally between blade 15 i7 9750 and this zephyrus but after reading your review and also many complaints about coil wine from many users of Razer blade 15, I decide to buy this zephyrus. So can you give me a website in Usa which sell it, I searched in Amazon but I didn't find it. Thank you!

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 27, 2019 at 12:05 pm

      You'll find it at excaliberpc.com or gentechpc.com and other such third party sellers. It was listed on Amazon as well, but for some reason, I can't seem to find it anymore.

  13. Aaron

    May 26, 2019 at 1:28 pm

    Thank you so much for the review!

    Just a quick question: when usb-c charge is plugged in, does the laptop stays on opt mode(so it limits power consumption)?

    Thanks!

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 27, 2019 at 12:07 pm

      I didn't get the USB-C charger so didn't test this, but you'll definitely be able to at least use it on Balanced, as this is also available when the laptop is unplugged. I expect Turbo not to be available, though

  14. Jerry

    May 30, 2019 at 11:35 am

    is Razer's quality control better or worse than Asus'?

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 30, 2019 at 1:38 pm

      Hard to say. I'd say better, but there are many that would disagree. As long as you're buying from a place that accepts returns, you should be fine, in case you get a faulty unit

  15. David Bryant

    June 3, 2019 at 1:30 pm

    Great review as always. How would this compare to the Blade 15 2018MQ 144hz, and also what is your take on the 4K OLED option for gaming, is it worth it?
    Thanks

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 5, 2019 at 1:34 pm

      I'll have a post on this matter. The Blade still has a few advantages, like up firing speakers, biometrics, better RGB control and TB3, and it's also faster in games if you go for the 2080MQ version. The Zephyrus is much more affordable though, and gets a better thermal module. I think there's better value in the ZenBook, but I can see why some users would still prefer the Blade.

      Can't comment on the OLED, haven't seen it and haven't seen any reviews either.

      • David Bryant

        June 5, 2019 at 4:05 pm

        Thanks. Does the GSync on the Asus, which isn't available on the Blade something that would sway you more to this one too?

        • David Bryant

          June 5, 2019 at 4:07 pm

          And how much faster in games do you think the Blade Max-Q is?

          Do you think 15.6 1080p is still the best option for gaming laptops over a 17.3 1080P?

          • Andrei Girbea

            June 5, 2019 at 6:23 pm

            both are reviewed here on the site, you can compare the numbers.

            I don't understand the 2nd question, but 1080p 144Hz is great for gaming no matter the size

        • Andrei Girbea

          June 5, 2019 at 6:22 pm

          It could, although at 144 Hz and above gSync is not necessarily a must. Yes, it helps, but mostly with titles that actually run at more than 144 fps, and there aren't many once you crank up the details.

  16. MD Asifuzzaman

    June 7, 2019 at 12:12 pm

    If 1 16GB stick of DDR4 ram is pre installed how it shows Dual channel until I install another 16GB?

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 7, 2019 at 2:22 pm

      I'd expect it to work in single channel if you're only using the onboard RAM

      • Jerry

        June 9, 2019 at 7:20 am

        Is there an empty ram slot? And im new to upgrading myself but do you need the exact same ram stick as the soldered one?

        • Andrei Girbea

          June 10, 2019 at 12:00 pm

          Not on this version. If you'll at pictures of the internals, the RAM slot is filled up, hence the 32 GB of RAM on this module. If you'll buy this with 16 GB of RAM, that slot is going to be empty. You're not necessarily going to need the same stick of RAM, but compatibility can be an issue. Our review unit came with a Samsung stick you can see the exact code in this picture, top left corner: https://www.ultrabookreview.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/05/hwinfo-1.png

      • MD Asifuzzaman

        June 9, 2019 at 8:24 am

        All two PCIe slots for M.2 SSD is x4 or x2 lanes??If one of them x2 then no need to buy high speed NVMe right?

  17. David Bryant

    June 7, 2019 at 9:09 pm

    What do you think the quietest 2080mq laptop is?
    Thanks

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 10, 2019 at 12:03 pm

      You'll have to look through the reviews for more details, but out of the top of my mind, the Blade 15 should be the one. The ROG GX531 might also be a good option on the Balanced profile, with the option for better performance once you switch to Turbo, but that comes with its quirky particularities

    • Charles

      September 14, 2019 at 8:55 am

      Lenovo y740 or Razer Blade 15. Both with max fan noise lower than 50dB at head level. I'm considering to choose one of them right now. Actually I can get a 2080mq of y740 with similar price to Blade 15 2070mq mercury white edition. It's just I like its aesthetics so much, making it harder for me to make final decision.

  18. Stephen James

    June 8, 2019 at 3:34 pm

    You said the device, when undervolted, ran at 4-5 degrees less, is that needed to help with thermals or when the turbo fans are running does the laptop cope just fine stock with no thermal throttling?

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 10, 2019 at 11:57 am

      That's explained in the hardware section, the CInebench loop test. With out fo the box settings, the CPU drops 100-200 Mhz in the loop, and undervolted in constantly runs at 4.0 GHz. However, with actual use, the Turbo profile with standard settings will work just fine, but I would still recommend undervolting for the slight decrease in temperatures.

  19. BATMAN

    June 9, 2019 at 2:17 pm

    I'm still waiting for the review of m gu502

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 10, 2019 at 12:00 pm

      It's in the works right now, should be up later this week.

  20. VampDeluxe

    June 12, 2019 at 11:49 am

    The light on the logo of ROG on the back stays permanently red when it's on or you can change it color too?
    And what are the effects of the keyboard RGB?(if you could make a video showing them)

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 12, 2019 at 4:39 pm

      There aren't many effects, you'll find videos on Youtube.

      The ROG logo on the lid is panel-lit, thus not RGB. It stays red and gets brighter when you pump up the screen's brightness

  21. Chris Jin

    July 2, 2019 at 3:37 am

    Hi. I bought this computer but was wondering what was your initial turbo boost power max? did you reduce it when u undervolt? or just changed the voltage because my turbo boost power max is set as 48.5w

  22. Stephen Pemberton

    July 10, 2019 at 1:05 am

    Hey man told to come ask you from another writter, was hoping you can tell me out of the MSI GS65 2070 and the GX502 2070 and the triton 500 2080 which one would you recommend the most for uni and gaming. thanks for any help possible

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 10, 2019 at 5:03 pm

      Long story short, I'd get the GX502 for a few reasons: best build quality, dual Optimus/GSync, best performance, good software package that allows to juggle with performance, thermals and acoustics. It's also well priced, gets a good screen, good keyboard, etc. I'd buy from a place that handles returns properly, Asus laptops have been plagued by quality control issues in the past, so be aware you might run into some quirks.

      As for the others, you'll get excellent performance with the 2080 Predator, as well as TB3, but the build quality is not the same, I'm not a big fan of the design and the thermal behavior is not as versatile.

      The GS65 is great if you primarily favor a lightweight device and cleaner looks, as it's the nicest looking of them all imo. It also has arguably the best keyboard. However, it's the worse performer of the three, with the 2070 80W Max-Q chip and a more limited thermal implementation, and it's also not that nicely built. Yes, they've updated the 2019 chassis, but they merely added a few plastic reinforcements inside, so the case still creaks and bends.

      Hope this helps.

      • Stephen James Pemberton

        July 15, 2019 at 11:42 am

        Thanks I got the acer triton 500 as I could get it for only 1900 AUD vs 3300 gx502.I had to return it however as it had really bad backlight bleeding so I got my money back. Now I'm tossing up between the Razer 17 2060, gx502 and the new gigabyte aero 15 :P.

        • Andrei Girbea

          July 15, 2019 at 11:51 am

          Light bleeding is random these days, if you still think there's good value in the Triton (and there is imo), perhaps you can give it another try and hopefully you won't get as bad bleeding as the first time.

          As for the others, they're all good laptops, with strong points and quirks, you'll find reviews here on the site for the GX502 and the Blade, but unfortunately not for the new Aero 15.

          • Stephen James Pemberton

            July 15, 2019 at 12:03 pm

            Thanks :) Ye I thought there was really good value in it so I tried another model out and it had light bleeding in the exact same spot which was really od so thought they had a bad batch as the day after I left the reduced the price by a further 400….. out of the Razer 17 with a 2060 and the gx502 or gx701 would you have any preference ?

          • Andrei Girbea

            July 15, 2019 at 12:25 pm

            I'd personally pick between the GX502 and the Blade. as I'm not a fan of the GX701's form factor with the down shifted keyboard, for reasons explained in the review.

            Out of the GX502, I think there's better value with the more affordable GX502, as well as overall better performance and thermals, but the Blade has a few extras like front speakers, TB3, biometrics, etc. If the Blade is not significantly more expensive where you live, then perhaps I'd go with the Blade

          • Stephen

            July 15, 2019 at 1:15 pm

            Ok thanks for that, the blade 2060 is 400 more here so a bit more expensive, only thing I'm afraid of with the gx502 is everyone who has it is reporting the cpu hitting 100deg and I prefer the thermals on the blade so I think I'll go for that.

  23. Tomtom

    July 14, 2019 at 5:19 pm

    Hi Andrei,

    I'm about to replace my older rog g751 with a new one because day by day it struggles more to keep up with the tasks that should be done. Im a graphic designer but also love to play when I have some free time so both performance / screen size / color accuracity should be important. I was that close to buy the gx701 version but then the nvidia super series just hit the stores and now I'm a bit confused.

    Did asus tell you any hints about upgrading the mobile versions as well in the near future or there will be no change in the notebook era for a while (or at least for now)? Also that would be nice to see i9 in the zephyrus series but I guess it won't happen soon either.

    As far as I see the stronger 2080maxq version beats the mobile 2070 in scores but the other one with less watts are less efficient then the 2070. Which one would you recommend the stronger 2080maxq or the mobile 2070 (both options are available here)?

    Sadly there there are no Razer retailers in my country (Hungary) but I more prefer to do things personaly when you can easily pick up or bring back your stuff when it's neccessary so Asus would be the company that I prefer.

    Thanks for the help!

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 15, 2019 at 11:35 am

      I don't have any info on Super graphics coming to laptops, but I know there will be some new releases in the Fall. There is usually a delay between desktop and mobile GPUs

      As for the second question, 2080 MQ beats 2070 at higher wattage, but it's also more expensive. As long as a chassis can cool the 2070 (like it can on this GX502, despite the higher power), the 2070 is the better value option, because it sells for a few hundreds less. There's no GX502 with 2080 as far as i know, so you're still looking at the GX701?

      • Tomtom

        July 15, 2019 at 1:06 pm

        Yes, the gx701 is the one im looking for right now because its size and power. My g751 is almost 5 kilos with the charger so I would go with a lighter one this time. About the "disadvantages" of the 701, I use extended keyboard and mouse 99% of the time so the strange keyboard location isn't a real deal to me (also the lack of the lan port or the biomethrical authentication). Is the cooling system works well on the 701?

        The scar III could be a good alternative but the 17' version isn't available here yet.

        • Andrei Girbea

          July 15, 2019 at 1:22 pm

          I'd say yes, the cooling is pretty capable on the GX701, but don't expect the same temperatures as on the G751, this is much thinner so the upper half gets fairly hot. There's a review of the 2080 model on the site that shows what to expect in terms of thermals and noise levels.

    • Javdat

      December 9, 2019 at 3:16 am

      Hi! Can you please list what resolutions and refresh rates usb-c supports on this device? Or at least will it be able to support G-Sync with 120hz at resolutions higher than 1080p? Thank you!

  24. Adrian

    July 19, 2019 at 6:10 pm

    I have just bought this beast but I need to upgrade the ram, sadly I can´t find the samsumg´s model used on your review. I found an crucial model with 2666 MHz that acording to crucial they should be compatible but I´m not sure, please tell me if I should buy that stick

  25. Jerry

    July 29, 2019 at 7:14 pm

    Hi Andrei, highly appreciate your in-depth review! It really helps me a lot and finally made up my mind to upgrade my laptop!
    There is something really odd regarding to its SSD. In your review it seems that the SSD is Intel 660p, while I did some research and found people saying that for the 1TB version it is actually using Samsung PM981, which in my opinion is a huge plus. Not sure if it is correct though, so I am wondering if you can help clarify it?

    Also, I am still very interested in getting a 240hz display. it sounds awesome and may look better. Do you have any update one that?

    FYI, some people mentioned that the touchpad sampling rate is the same 144hz for this model, which means that for 240hz display you still cannot get a buttery-smooth experience. Luckily I will not use the touchpad.

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 29, 2019 at 7:42 pm

      HI, as mentioned in the article, Asus equips this with different SSDs in different regions. If in your country other are reporting that this ships with the Samsung PM981, then that's most likely the case.

      As for the 240 Hz screen, I haven't personally reviewed it. It's pretty similar to the 144 Hz options in terms of brightness, contrast, color and response, just faster, which will matter in fast-action games that are running at high fps (close to 240 Hz). As far as I know the GX502 mostly ships with the 240 Hz screen anyway, so it's not like you have a choice :)

      • Jerry

        July 30, 2019 at 8:02 pm

        Hi Andrei,

        I am currently in US so it is very interesting to notice that difference. The display is no-brainer for me if they all come with 240hz, which is great!

        Actually I am having a real hard time making my decision between Razor blade 15 and GX502. The $200 difference does not matter, but the specs are pretty similar and it's hard to pick one.

        I would like to consult you regarding to your personal choice between these two models. It seems that GX502 has better cooling system and a hybrid-material body, while razor is unibody but the temperature can be shocking. When both goes to heavy load, how does it feel when you put your fingers on the keyboard? I am a bit afraid that razor may burn the keyboard with that high temperature, but at the meantime, the unibody seems pretty solid to me.

        Here are the two models. Differences are the material, SSD, max-q, TB3 (which I don't think is a big deal)

        Razer Blade 15 Gaming Laptop 2019 – Intel Core i7- 9750H 6 Core, GeForce RTX 2070 Max-Q, 15.6" FHD 1080p 240Hz, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD, CNC Aluminum, Chroma RGB Lighting, Thunderbolt 3 Compatible

        ROG Zephyrus S Thin and Portable (2019) Gaming Laptop, 15.6” 240Hz G-SYNC FHD IPS, GeForce RTX 2070, i7-9750H, 16GB DDR4 RAM, 1TB PCIe Hyper Drive SSD, Per-Key RGB, Windows 10 Pro, GX502GW-XB76

        Thank you again for your quick reply:)

        • Andrei Girbea

          July 31, 2019 at 11:38 am

          Hi, a few things to consider:

          1. The GX502 actually gets the full-power version of the GTX 2070 chip, so it performs significantly better with games than the Blade
          2. Even so, the GX502 is thermally superior to the Blade
          3. I personally prefer the interior-materials on the GX502, they're less prone to smudges.
          4. The Blade is a bit more solid, given the GX502 gets that moving AAS system on the back. The Blade also looks a bit cleaner and nicer imo.
          5. The Blade gets better speakers, better clickpad and an IR camera, plus Thunderbolt 3. Up to you if these matter.
          6. Quality control can be problematic, and I think Razer does it better than Asus. It's important to buy from a reputable source that handles eventual returns smoothly, and test the laptop once you get it: performance and CPU/GPU temperatures, screen quality, speakers, headphone jack, wireless, etc.

          Hope these help.

  26. Amir

    August 30, 2019 at 1:31 pm

    Hi, How is the thermal performance of the GX502GW, considering 90+ c CPU average temperatures in games tested above? Is it a good performing laptop in this area or not, relative to Acer Triton 500 or Razer 15 advanced?

  27. Amirhossein

    September 1, 2019 at 5:29 pm

    Hi Andrei, thanks for your review. I'm considering buying this laptop(Asus Gx502GW), but I think something is wrong with it, considering the 90+ temperatures that it has under load while playing games, do you think it has a good thermal control relative to Acer triton 500 or Lenovo Legion 740 ? Good thermal performance is really important to me, should I buy it or not?

    Thank you for your answers.

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 3, 2019 at 2:17 pm

      all these laptops run hot, but among these options I prefer the thermal performance and flexibility of the ROG, with the Legion second and the Triton as a third option.

  28. student

    December 6, 2019 at 5:35 pm

    Hi can we buy thid model with i7 and gtx 1660ti 16gb ram etc…
    Thank you

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *