Lenovo Legion 7i and Legion 5i / 5Pi 2020 gaming laptops update on Legion Y540/Y740 series

By Andrei Girbea , last updated on April 4, 2021

With 10th gen Intel Core H hardware now available, everyone is updating their notebook lineups, including Lenovo.

Among others, they have some brand new Legion gaming models in the works, called Legion 5 and Legion 7, scheduled as follow-ups for the popular Legion Y540 and Y740 series. Looks like Lenovo decided to dump on their previous naming scheme, so these are no longer called Legion Y550 and Legion Y750, instead just 5i and 7i for the Intel versions, and Legion 5 for the AMD model.

First off, both of these are powered by Intel Core H 10th platforms, with the 4C/8T Core i5-10300H and the 6C/12T Core i7-10750H in most configurations, as well as the 8C/16T Core i9-10980HK on the higher-tier Legion 7i. No mention of the enticing 8C/16 Core i7-10875H, so that’s most likely not going to be an option.

An AMD Ryzen variant of the Legion 5 is also in the works. That’s only going to be called Legion 5, as the i at the end is only reserved for the Intel versions. While the Intel version are available in 15 and 17-inch variants, the AMD model is only available as a 15-inch laptop with up to a 144 Hz panel, 60Wh battery and only up to GTX 1650Ti graphics (we’re waiting for confirmation on this, other sources mention up to RTX 2060 and 80W battery). There’s no AMD variant of the higher-tier Legion 7.

Update: Our detailed review of the Legion 5 is available here.

The Intel-based Legion 5i is going to top at an RTX 2060 GPU configuration, while the Legion 7i variants will get an up to RTX 2080 Super graphics chip, most likely the Max-Q 80W version. Both offer support for up to 32 GB of DDR4-3200 MHz memory, although 32GB DIMMs might also be compatible, for up to 64 GBs.

Update1: Here’s a first review of the Legion 7i in the i9-10980HK /RTX 2080 Super Max-Q configuration. It’s not in English, so use translate. We’ve also updated some of the info below based on these findings.

Update2: Aside from the AMD Legion 5, there are also two versions of the 5i: a basic Legion 5i with a plastic chassis, and a Legion 5Pi available with higher tier specs and an 80Wh battery, and perhaps partially made out of aluminum. This needs to be confirmed. We’ve been told that the 5Pi won’t be available in North America.

Update3: There’s also an IdeaPad Gaming 3 model introduced at the bottom of the stack, as a follow-up for the IdeaPad L340 from 2019. It only gets Intel 10th-gen and lower-tier GTX 1650/1650Ti graphics. We’ll cover it in a separate article.

Lenovo have also improved the internal design and cooling module to some extent, and we’ve covered that further down. The i7’s chassis looks much like the Y740’s, so I wasn’t expecting much to have changed, but it actually did. Those early rumors suggesting 2.x M.2 storage with RAID support and an 80Wh battery have been confirmed for the 7i.

Here’s a quick specs sheet of the two 2020 Legion models, and we’fill in the blanks when possible.

Lenovo Legion 5i 15/17-inch / Legion 5 – review Lenovo Legion 5Pi 15-inch Lenovo Legion 7i 15IMH
Screen 15.6 inch, matte, non-touch, 60/120/144/240 Hz options on Intel 5i models
17.3 inch, matte, non-touch, 60/144 Hz options on Intel 5i models
15.6 inch, matte, non-touch, 60/120/144 Hz options on AMD models
15.6 inch, matte, non-touch, 240 Hz 500-nits
no 17-inch version
15.6-inch, matte, non-touch, 144 or 240Hz 3ms, 100% sRGB, 500-nits
no 17-inch version
Processor 10th gen Intel Comet Lake Core H CPU, up to Core i7 6C/12T
AMD Ryzen 4000 CPU, up to 8C/16T (on Legion 5)
10th gen Intel Comet Lake Core H CPU, up to Core i7 6C/12T 10th gen Intel Comet Lake Core HK CPU, up to Core i9 8C/16T
Vide0 up to Nvidia RTX 2060, with NVIDIA Advanced Optimus/G-SYNC on Intel models
up to Nvidia GTX 1650Ti on AMD models in NA (up to RTX 2060 in other regions)
up to Nvidia RTX 2060 up to Nvidia RTX 2080 Super, with NVIDIA Advanced Optimus/G-SYNC
Memory up to 32 GB DDR4 2933 MHz (2x DIMMs) on Intel and DDR43200 MHz on AMD versions up to 32 GB DDR4 3200 MHz (2x DIMMs)
Storage 1x M.2 SSD, 2.5″ HDD cage 1x M.2 SSD 2x M.2 SSDs with RAID support
Connectivity Gigabit LAN, Wireless 6 AX, Bluetooth 5.0
Ports 2x USB-A 3.1, 1x USB-C with DP, HDMI 2.0, LAN, mic/headphone, Kensington Lock 3x USB-A 3.1, 1x USB-C with Thunderbolt 3,  1x USB-C,HDMI 2.0, LAN, mic/headphone
Battery 60/80 Wh on 15-inch models,
80Wh on 17-inch variant
80 Wh 80Wh
Size 15-inch – 363 mm or 14.29” (w) x 260 mm or 10.23” (d) x 25.5 mm or 1” (h)
17-inch – 363 mm or 14.29” (w) x 260 mm or 10.23” (d) x 25.5 mm or 1” (h)
360 mm or 14.19” (w) x 255 mm or 10.03” (d) x 19.9 mm or .78” (h)
Weight ~2.5 kg (5.5 lbs) for 15-inch
~3 kg (6.6 lbs) for 17-inch
~2.5 kg (5.5 lbs) ~2.2 kg (4.9 lbs)
Extras white or optional Corsair 4-zone RGB backlit keyboard with 1.5 mm travel, webcam, Black or Green variants, plastic build, bottom speakers Corsair TrueStrike RGB backlit keyboard with 1.3 travel, RGB light bars, webcam, Iron gray version, fully metallic build, quad speakers

On the other hand, there seem to be some slight design and exterior changes between the 2020 and the 2019 Legions. Both the 5i and the 7i keep the simple lines and known Legion/Lenovo branding elements.

The 7i also gets RGB illumination in the exhausts, as well as a redesigned RGB keyboard and a new light bar spreading around the front, like on the ROG Scar, plus redesigned speaker cuts on the bottom. There’s also an extra set of speakers above the keyboard.

These aside, there’s also a slight IO redesign on that back edge between the two generations, and what looks like a new color scheme for the 7i, with a Dark-Blue tint. Perhaps some new materials as well, based on these previews images. Oh, and no longer a nose cam, but instead a webcam at the top of the screen, where it should be placed. This also gets a privacy shutter, the kind we’ve previously got with ThinkPads.

 

Lenovo Legion 7i vs Legion Y740 series

And here’s the redesigned keyboard on the Legion 7i in more detail. It’s a shallower implementation this time around, with 1.3 mm of travel and what Lenovo calls Soft-Landing switches, and I’ll need to spend some time with it before drawing any conclusions. There’s also a larger clickpad, made out of glass and with Precision drivers.

Legion 5i/7i keyboard

And here’s another picture hinting the interior redesign, the blue color and the new webcam on the Legion 7i Y750.

Legion 7i redesign, keyboard and webcam

 

I’ve also added a picture of the internal redesign (Source: lab501). The source mentions a redesigned thermal system with larger fans, increased fin-count, and a new vapor chamber module. This is reported to do a good job cooling the Max-Q 2080 Super (80W, as far as I can tell), but the CPU still reaches high temperatures of up to 100 C in demanding tasks. I look forward to getting our own review unit and take this through our own set of tests. The reported GPU temperatures and fan noise of under 40 dB seem almost too be good to be true.

Down below you can also notice that the HDD bay was thrown out and replaced with a large 80W battery. The speakers are still small, so don’t expect much on that front.

Lenovo Legion 7i thermal module, vs 2019 Y540

Lenovo Legion 7i thermal module, vs 2019 Y540

The 5i remains the more basic model, with a black color scheme and without RGB chassis elements.

It too seems to have been redesigned, though, and while I can’t tell these details for the few existing pictures we’ve got from Lenovo so far, I’m rooting for a metallic build this time around and hopefully an RGB keyboard as well. Looks like the RGB keyboard might be an option, but the exterior is probably still plastic. Update: There are actually two versions, the Legion 5i gets a plastic construction, while the legion 5Pi is made out of metal.

The image below does suggest a new keyboard implementation, with a redesigned NumPad/Arrows section.

Lenovo Legion 5i vs Legion 540 series

I’ve also added a few more pictures of the AMD-based of the Legion 5i Y550, which might differ from the Intel model in some ways.

Lenovo were eager to communicate that the Intel-based Legion 5i and 7i are the first performance notebooks to get Nvidia’s Advanced Optimus technology. In few words, this allows both Optimus and GSync simultaneously on a laptop. GSync was offered on the previous Legion Y740 as well, but only at the expense of battery life, when you opted to disable the iGPU in software.

This time around, the iGPU and the dGPU are both connected to a physical switch called Dynamic Display Switch, which smartly selects the GPU of use based on the active load. This means the Intel UHD iGPU takes over with light use and video, and then the GPU and GSync get activated with games. This was not available in this form in the past, and I’m looking forward to seeing it in action.

Keep in mind there’s no way to implement this technology on existing products, as it requires both a software and a hardware component.

Nvidia Advanced Optimus implemented on the Legion 5i and 7i

In all fairness, though, GSync and Optimus have been previously available on laptops from Acer, Asus and Lenovo, but not at the same time. You had to choose between one mode or the other and then restart the laptop, while now it happens on of the fly, as far as I understand.

No word on whether Dynamic Boost is also implemented on these laptops, but hopefully it is.

Nvidia Dynamic Boost

There’s not much we can tell about these two right now, so I’ll leave you with some pricing information. The RTX 2060 configuration of the Legion i5 is set to start at $829, while the RTX 2070 version of the Legion 7i is scheduled from $1599, with availability varying between regions and starting around May 2020. Those are some aggressive prices on what were previously some of the more aggressively priced options in their niches, so I’d expect a lot of interest around these.

The IdeaPad Gaming 3 is set to start at around $730, and also scheduled for availability around May.

AMD Ryzen 4000 variants of the Legion 5 have also been recently listed in some stores, starting at around 1400 $CDN with a Ryzen 7 4800H processor, 32 GB of RAM and 512 GB of SSD storage. Base level variants are expected to start for as low as $759 in the US.

Update: Our detailed review of the Lenovo Legion 5 is available here. Stay tuned for our reviews of the Legion 5i and 7i in the near future.

Looking forward to spending more time with them for some proper reviews.

Disclaimer: Our content is reader-supported. If you buy through some of the links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more.
Andrei Girbea, Editor-in-Chief of Ultrabookreview.com. I've been covering mobile computers since the 2000s and you'll mostly find reviews and thorough guides written by me here on the site.

195 Comments

  1. J.G.

    May 29, 2020 at 3:24 pm

    You're welcome.

    It's interesting to see that all pre-built 7i models from that link offer 3200 MHz Memory, both with i7 10750 and i7 10850 CPU's. There has been a discussion whether Comet Lake processors would go up to 2933 Mhz or 3200 Mhz. Strangely enough, the 7i model which you can customize only offers 2933 Mhz.

    5i and 5Pi models only get 2933 Mhz, while the 5 AMD model goes up to 3200 Mhz (which was previously stated).

    Question is, will all Intel Legion models allow to upgrade to 3200 Mhz, or will this be motherboard dependant? And if so, why does Lenovo restrict that 7i model from choosing 3200 Mhz memory?

    Andrei, any thoughts?

  2. alex r paetznick

    June 2, 2020 at 9:35 pm

    What brand and model is the NVME drive? I can't tell from the photo

    • J.G.

      June 3, 2020 at 1:33 pm

      That's never the same, it changes from model to model, even within the same model you could get Samsung, WDC, Seagate or anything else. Not only with Lenovo, any brand does it. Sometimes you're luckier than others ;)

  3. J.G.

    June 3, 2020 at 5:53 pm

    Just as we feared… please be aware of those cheap 120 Hz panels on the Legion 5 models, avoid them at all costs!

    Here a (quick google-translated) review on the Legion 5 15IMH05H (1299 euros!?) from a dissapointed buyer:

    "Great specs, top performance, and then all thrown away on a fluttered screen. What a sin! The screen just achieves 50% sRGB coverage and 38% Adobe RGB. On the webshop is advertised with "for lifelike colors". Unfortunately, not achievable. Uncalibrated turns red orange-brown, other colors pale, skin tones make everyone a terminally ill to see. Calibrated a minor improvement, but still absolutely unsuitable for working from the laptop screen. Too bad such a missed opportunity. Maybe nice for a gamer where colors do not really matter, but if you also want to run graphic applications with this laptop, look better further…"

    tweakers.net/productreview/238336/lenovo-legion-5-15imh05h-81y6003qmh.html

  4. mind12

    June 3, 2020 at 6:37 pm

    Psref specifications got updated but still only the "g" version has G-sync screens listed:
    psref.lenovo.com/Product/Legion/Lenovo_Legion_7_15IMHg05
    psref.lenovo.com/Product/Legion/Lenovo_Legion_7_15IMH05

  5. J.G.

    June 4, 2020 at 12:29 am

    Well, it looks like both those psref links do have typo mistakes, and the answer comes just simpler from:

    news.lenovo.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/04/Lenovo-Legion-7i_Intel_15Inch.pdf

    It seems all 500 nits panels will be G-Sync/HDR400/DV certified, whether they are 144 or 240 Hz, whether configured on 15IMHg05 or 15IMH05 models.

    Also for what it seems, 300 nits panels will not featured G-Sync, nor DV, and for sure not HDR400.

    Which makes more sense, imho, and corrects my previous statement: there'll probably be some Legion 7i models with 300 nits panels and no G-Sync, but right now only in few models in (Latin) America and UK:

    psref.lenovo.com/Product/Legion/Lenovo_Legion_7_15IMH05

    Case closed? ;)

    Also, only the 500 nits / 144 Hz panel gets 100% Adobe RGB certification (which is the one used on all 15IMHg05 units), better suited as graphical workstation.

    While the 500 nits / 240 Hz panels will 'only' get 100% sRGB certification, meanly meant as high refresh gaming screens.

    • mind12

      June 4, 2020 at 3:27 pm

      Awesome case closed :). Now we just need a great review.

      • j.g.

        June 4, 2020 at 4:54 pm

        How fast is your russian? ;)

        Legion 5(AMD): youtube.com/watch?v=uw1fVOIGYHk

        Legion 7i: youtube.com/watch?v=5NB2ExvndZ4

        Andrei, when can we expect a proper review? Are you getting any unit soon?

      • Andrei Girbea

        June 4, 2020 at 5:09 pm

        They're not yet available over here, so not within the next 2 weeks. I'm keeping my eyes peeled for them and will snug one of each as soon as possible.

      • Tom

        June 6, 2020 at 8:24 pm

        If these notebooks are available, please also compare whether you should buy or switch from the old versions (Y540, Y740) to the new ones.

      • mind12

        June 4, 2020 at 5:34 pm

        I have already seen those :), however without subtitles it's hard to process.

        Searching for new content (here, reddit, google search) everyday…
        I'm getting obsessed with the 7i.

      • Marius46

        June 5, 2020 at 3:20 pm

        You and me mind12, hoping the 7i to be my first gaming laptop cause it seems so superior, have a great feeling about it. Casually waiting for the DELL G5 SE as well

  6. mind12

    June 5, 2020 at 4:13 pm

    I have an 8 year old Lenovo Y580. That was a great build that day and I would like a new replacement, also long-term build for myself. The 7i just matches my expectations not too fancy but elegant, a little gamer and all metal build with also great hardware.

  7. j.g.

    June 5, 2020 at 9:58 pm

    Well, you are all in for a treat (no russian needed :)

    laptopmedia.com/review/lenovo-legion-7-15-review-tackling-the-new-super-graphics-cards-with-an-improved-cooling/

    youtube.com/watch?v=vN6HgiGcXDA

    Enjoy

    • j.g.

      June 5, 2020 at 10:31 pm

      Still, not a word on G-Sync, AOT, or Dynamic Boost features. We'll have to wait for a more extended review then, but from what this one tells, at least it sounds promising.

    • mind12

      June 6, 2020 at 12:35 am

      Already read it, Reddit was faster but thank you. Really satisfied but could have been a little bit deeper review. Nothing about advanced optimus sadly.
      Can't wait to have one here on notebookcheck.net.

  8. j.g.

    June 5, 2020 at 11:20 pm

    And it seems Europeans will have to wait till July to get their hands on a Legion 7i, at least coming from one of Lenovo's main official resellers:

    alternate.nl/Lenovo/LNV-Legion7-81YT005NMH/html/product/1640131?

    The Legion 7i is in US and Asia already available, together with Legion 5 models, but in Europe only the later, and not yet everywhere.

    • mind12

      June 7, 2020 at 12:09 am

      That's sad, I hoped we could get it in a week or so. Also expected lower prices :(
      I hate that US dollar price is directly converted to Eur when it arrives to Europe.

      • Andrei Girbea

        June 7, 2020 at 11:50 am

        don't forget that EU prices include tax, and US prices do not, and that's added to the final bill So it's not a direct conversion, even if US prices end up cheaper in most cases.

      • j.g.

        June 7, 2020 at 1:29 pm

        Also don't forget that the model I linked was the highest tier with the RTX 2080 Super.

        You could always get a 'basic' Legion 7 in Europe (this one: https://psref.lenovo.com/Detail/Legion/Lenovo_Legion_7_15IMH05?M=81YT005BMH) for 1750 euros (retail price, prior to discounts once it hits shops). This includes the 500 nits/ 144Hz panel with all the screen features.

        https://www.alternate.nl/html/product/1640128?utm_source=Tweakers&utm_medium=cpc&utm_campaign=Tweakers_Notebook&utm_term=PL6IZNDY (there's just a typo: no RTX 2070 but 2060).

        Coming from your "8 year old Lenovo Y580", it will feel as getting a sky rocket.

        If not, the cheapest Legion 7 you could get would be through UK (https://psref.lenovo.com/Detail/Legion/Lenovo_Legion_7_15IMH05?M=81YT0001UK), the only model with a 300 nits screen in EU (and i5 CPU, no i7 version). I guess this one would be around 1400-1500 euros, but it's not listed yet. We'll see.

      • mind12

        June 7, 2020 at 2:27 pm

        Yeah I'm looking forward to this 81YT005BMH spec model with the RTX2060. My initial max budget was 1500 Eur but it seems it won't be enough for this. I hope for some early discounts.

      • Marius46

        June 7, 2020 at 7:40 pm

        Didn't expect it either to be that expensive, hopefully dynamic boost is a thing. 81YT005BMH with the RTX2060 is also the one I'm interested in, I wonder how much would be the price difference for the version with Intel Core i7-10850H.

  9. mind12

    June 8, 2020 at 10:12 am

    Dynamic boost is only a thing for the Super Max-Q GPUs if Lenovo "implements" it.
    That 5% performance difference is not that much.
    https://www.notebookcheck.net/Short-Review-Nvidia-Max-Q-Dynamic-Boost.466222.0.html

    (I can't reply to your messages Marius but only yours. Why?)

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 8, 2020 at 10:51 am

      That's a limitation of our current layout. You can only reply to nested comments down to a depth of 4. It's something we're going to address in a future update, but not much we can do about it right now. Sry.

  10. mind12

    June 8, 2020 at 12:06 pm

    Check this out, we will get the revised 2060:
    https://www.reddit.com/r/GamingLaptops/comments/gyt180/new_revised_20602070_in_laptops/

    Based on this review it's 2060 109W.
    Paused here and camera google translated to english :)
    https://youtu.be/xlsJG9X9DdE?t=33 – Spec
    https://youtu.be/xlsJG9X9DdE?t=366 – GPU Sensor status HWInfo

    (CPU (10875) power limit long 85W, short 107W)

    I'm so excited.

  11. Kong

    June 8, 2020 at 11:46 pm

    Now that a few reviewers and even customers have received their 7i, can we expect a review from you soon? Really looking forward to a more in-depth review of this laptop!

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 9, 2020 at 10:55 am

      it's not available over here yet, and I don't have an exact timeframe of when I'll be able to get it. I'll keep you all updated once I get my hands on any of these

  12. Jamesp

    June 8, 2020 at 11:55 pm

    What is the model number and key layout for the AX wireless card?

  13. Cef

    June 9, 2020 at 12:43 am

    In the case of 7i, will Europe only get RTX 2060 with 10750h? Or will there be the 8C/16T 10875H? And if so, what would be the price of "gorgeous" 10875H?

    Also, Why only-Intel premium laptops this year?
    In comparison to Ryzen 7 4800H, 10875H reduces the usage time on battery and uses even more than 2x more energy when plugged in. Why are you just only marketing this beautiful, nice-looking, aluminum chassis, an average weighted laptop that also has good battery capacity with *6C/12T 10750H* or *8C/16T 10875H* instead of Ryzen? This so sad :(.

    • mind12

      June 9, 2020 at 11:47 am

      There will be 10875H – https://psref.lenovo.com/Product/Legion/Lenovo_Legion_7_15IMHg05

      Not just this laptop other big brands also don't have premium Ryzen configurations.
      If you find a Ryzen build it's paired with only lower end GPU's or max RTX2060 and/or bad screen quality,cooling, battery. Idk the why.

      • Andrei Girbea

        June 9, 2020 at 12:38 pm

        The why is a complex question imo, but for the most part, I think it's due a couple of reasons:
        – past AMD platforms haven't been competitive enough, and OEMs only implemented them on lower-tier products, and for good reasons imp. This cannot change over night, it requires R&D and a lot of spending. The Zephyrus G14 is pretty much the only "premium" AMD option, with its share of culprits, but I'm pretty sure AMD pitched in heavily during its development process, both financially and with their knowledge. It was and still is the flagship product for the Ryzen 400 Mobile platform.
        – with the hardware implemented on lower-tier products, OEMs have to cut corners here and there in order to meet the lower price-tags and not cannibalize on their higher-margin products. Sure, that's bad for us buyers, but business is business.
        – OEMs probably had all sorts of different deals already in place with Intel on exclusively implementing their products in the higher-end products, and again, these cannot change over night.

        I'd expect better AMD products in the next 6-12 months, given how competitive these platforms are.

  14. j.g.

    June 9, 2020 at 1:15 pm

    All regions will get Legion 7i models up to RTX 2080 Super Max. Just check your country: https://psref.lenovo.com/Product/Legion/Lenovo_Legion_7_15IMH05

    From previous press releases, CPUs will go up to i9-10980HK, but will be later available.

    Also, Legion 7 AMD/RTX 2060 models are expected on the second half of the year.

    Keep in mind that the pandemic has delayed release dates on everything and worsen retail prices, that's how it is.

    Retail price for the Legion 7 15IMHg05 (i7-10875H+RTX 2070 Super Max-Q) starts around € 2250:

    https://tweakers.net/pricewatch/1562786/lenovo-legion-7-15imhg05-81yu002gmh.html

    (and yes… Lenovo changed the psref models again, including RTX 2070/2080 GPUs on the 15IMHg05 models. So that 'g' was probably referring to the i7-10875H processor and nothing else)

    But be aware these new models will be available only later in August: https://www.alternate.nl/html/product/1648738?utm_source=Tweakers&utm_medium=cpc&utm_campaign=Tweakers_Gaming%20notebook&utm_term=PL6IZNEC

    Patience is your friend, young Padawan ;)

  15. j.g.

    June 9, 2020 at 1:43 pm

    Sorry, my mistake. AMD models with RTX 2060 will only be available this year on Legion 5 models, not on Legion 7 ones. My apologies.

    Also, from Lenovo US, those 15IMHg05 models are called Legion 7i Premium, and can be configured with a RTX 2060 from $ 1750, so expect something around € 1800 in EU:

    https://www.lenovo.com/us/en/laptops/legion-laptops/legion-7-series/Lenovo-Legion-7/p/81YUCTO1WWENUS0/customize?

    • mind12

      June 9, 2020 at 3:16 pm

      And we are back where we were before, only the premium customization mentions G-Sync :D
      The normal does not, even if it's 500 nits:
      https://www.lenovo.com/us/en/laptops/legion-laptops/legion-7-series/Lenovo-Legion-7/p/81YTCTO1WWENUS0/customize?

      • j.g.

        June 9, 2020 at 11:43 pm

        And again, I guess that's still a typo. From Lenovo Malaysia, where several Legion 7 are already available:

        https://www.lenovo.com/my/en/laptops/legion/legion-7-series/Lenovo-Legion-7/p/88GMY701410

        Look the specs sheet down below / screen section: 3 type screens, 2 of them with 500 nits AND G-Sync, the third one with 300 nits/no G-Sync.

        Why on earth would Lenovo offer a 500 nits/240 Hz screen with a RTX 2080 and no G-Sync?

        And why would they offer 2 different 500 nits/144 Hz panels, one with G-Sync and the other without it, and yet another 2 more with 500 nits/240 Hz, also with and without G-Sync?

        So… you can get this 'old';) thing for $1500 and G-Sync:

        …and not G-Sync on a Legion 7 with a 500 nits panel?? It makes no sense.

        Also, from the original press release:

        "The display is also a highlight, coming in at 15.6 inches at a 1080p FHD resolution. Lenovo is offering both 144Hz and 240Hz options with 500 nits of brightness and Dolby Vision HDR. NVIDIA G-Sync is also on board to keep frames coming in smooth without tearing."

      • mind12

        June 10, 2020 at 11:35 am

        Awesome you convinced me again :)

        But seriously, how messed up is lacking the G-Sync from specs on an official ordering page for a gamer laptop?

  16. Alex

    June 9, 2020 at 5:33 pm

    Anyone know where to find the psref for the i9-10980HK version B&H has? MFR #81YT000BUS
    I can't find it anywhere.

    • mind12

      June 9, 2020 at 7:05 pm

      That model is not listed on PSREF.

      • alex r paetznick

        June 9, 2020 at 7:47 pm

        I know which is why I said I can't find it. Was looking for someone who might know where its hiding or if they have any information on it since its not listed on psref.

      • j.g.

        June 10, 2020 at 12:17 pm

        This seems a direct specific retail model on US. A (national/official) reseller can place a (big) order on a 'tailor made' product for a specific deal/reason (retail branding/ first to offer/ pre-orders on full price without competition/ profit margins/ quarter tax engineering, etc.).

        For the general regions/consumers this Legion 7 i9-10980HK model will take some time to arrive, that's probably why it's not listed on psref yet.

      • j.g.

        June 10, 2020 at 12:38 pm

        What I find even more interesting… the Legion 7 Premium from Lenovo US doesn't allow you to choose that 240 Hz panel on the highest configuration, but if you could, you would probably end up on that same price tag of $ 2900 with a i7-10875H vs a i9-10980HK with the same configuration.

        Even more, the 'regular' Legion 7i model does actually allow you to match that very same configuration and choose a 240 Hz screen for $ 2850. So for those $70 extra from the B&H offer you would get a i9-10980HK instead of a i7-10750H.

  17. j.g.

    June 14, 2020 at 1:00 am

    The Legion 5Pi starts to be available in Europe. Here some updates and photos:

    https://www.lenovo.com/gb/en/laptops/legion-laptops/legion-5-series/Lenovo-Legion-5Pi-15IMH05/p/88GMY501438

    – It's lighter than the Legion 5 (2.3 vs 2.5 kg), so the chasis must be a bit different.

    – Up to 10th Gen Intel® Core™ i7-10875H / RTX 2060 (an alternative to the Legion 7i then, for those seeking that 8-core configuration)

    – Up to 240 Hz/500 nits/HR400/DV screen panel (with G-Sync, I guess).

    – Steel Grey distinctive colour (but no aluminium?)

    – Different backside panel / logo.

    – No Webcam at all!

    – Thinner bezels, actually borrowed from the Y540 series.

    So actually, the 5Pi is not quite the same build as the 5(i), but more as an hybrid between Legion 5 and 7 (a Legion 6 perhaps? ;).

    That's the thing with these short teasers, you get distracted with all the fancy and the music and you miss those little details. Watch it again: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dQ6mgAsjYIw

    The basic 5Pi model is in Sweden already available, 1-2 days delivery. Also in other regions:

    https://www.lenovo.com/se/sv/laptops/legion-laptops/legion-5-series/Lenovo-Legion-5Pi-15IMH05/p/88GMY501438

    https://www.lenovo.com/sg/en/laptops/legion/legion-5-series/Lenovo-Legion-5Pi-15IMH05/p/88GMY501438

    • Alexp

      June 16, 2020 at 10:32 pm

      Ya its 1" vs 0.79" thick so def different chassis. Too fat for my liking

  18. mind12

    June 21, 2020 at 8:51 pm

    Eagerly waiting for a thorough and english review.

    Someone has already received a 2060 version and created an AMA thread on reddit:
    https://www.reddit.com/r/GamingLaptops/comments/h7cyh9/legion_7i_arrived_ama/

    • j.g.

      June 22, 2020 at 12:18 pm

      I've just read that reddit thread and also your question to Mr. JeepTanksMister about AOT.

      Since he got a 300 nits panel model, he cannot test AOT since he's got no G-Sync(!).

      I have the impression both of you are still misunderstanding what AOT is and also what AOT vs OT means (no offense intended ;)

      OT: Automatic iGPU/dGPU switching (G-Sync is NOT available).

      (On brands/models where G-Sync is available (but no AOT is yet implemented), hard switch (reboot) between OT and G-Sync is required. They cannot be both active on the same session)

      AOT: Automatic iGPU(G-Sync OFF) / dGPU(G-Sync ON) switching. No reboot required.

      (right now, only Legion 7 and 5Pi WITH 500 nits panels will feature AOT)

      Therefore, models without G-Sync panel DON'T need NOR have AOT (!), only need/have OT.

      We will have to wait then for a review of a Legion 7i (or 5Pi) with 500 nits/G-Sync panel to know how AOT really performs.

      • Andrei Girbea

        June 22, 2020 at 12:23 pm

        For everyone interested, I've just got a Legion 5 with Ryzen 7 4800H/GTX 1650Ti this weekend and currently running tests. If you're interested in any particularities, let me know.

        The Intel models are still not available over here.

      • j.g.

        June 22, 2020 at 12:55 pm

        Great to hear! When do you expect to have the full review?

        Also I'm curious, even not being a HP fan, if the new Omen 15 would be a contender for the Legion 5 / Nitro / A15 series:

        https://store.hp.com/us/en/pdp/omen-laptop-15-ek0019nr

        RTX2060, 144Hz panel and Thunderbolt 3 (!), around $1100…not bad at all for the specs, performance aside. Also AMD models will be available, and thank God for the re-shaping :)

      • Andrei Girbea

        June 22, 2020 at 12:58 pm

        I'd reckon end of the week or early next week. I have other some other articles planned for this week.

        Idk about the Omen, HP laptops are hard to come by over there and haven't tested their products in a long while.

        A

      • Kong

        June 23, 2020 at 10:36 am

        That's really exciting, looking forward to your review!

        Do you have any plans to review the higher tier devices (5p, 7i, 7i premium) once those become available?

      • Andrei Girbea

        June 23, 2020 at 11:23 am

        I do

      • mind12

        June 22, 2020 at 2:03 pm

        No offens taken, I missed that 300 nit detail.
        Anyway thanks for clarifying it again, I saved your post to my gamer notebook pick sheet :D

      • James Barnett

        June 30, 2020 at 10:49 pm

        To clarify, my i7-10750H with the 300 nit panel does not support G-Sync, but it does still support AOT. The advantage is about an 8% increase in FPS since it doesn't have to send it through the iGPU but can go directly to the panel.

  19. James Barnett

    June 26, 2020 at 5:15 am

    I have the pre-built 7i i7-10750/300 nit 144 mhz panel/2060, and talked to some techs at Lenovo, and can maybe answer some questions.

    This replaced the Y740, and like it has 3 power profiles, and like it Silent and Balanced provide 80w to the GPU, and Performance provides 95w–somehow they've always managed push the 90w MQ cards to 95w. On a 2060, the difference between 80w and 95w in testing equals a 7.2% gain in both frame rate and average clock speed in the Heaven benchmark.

    Only the 8 core i7 and i9 models support gsync–the lower CPU models can be configured with the exact same panel but to not support gysnc for some reason.

    The dynamic MUX–I forget the name of it–is beneficial even on models lacking gsync. You can still select Optimus mode (and may want to), but using the dynamic MUX resulted in around a 8% FPS increase and lower heat on the CPU since the frames weren't being sent through its iGPU. It's not flawless, though–once something like a game engages the dGPU, some other programs run on the dGPU and others don't. For the ones that run on the dGPU once a game activates it, which includes Chrome and Edge, the dGPU will remain active until all those programs are closed. In Optimus mode, the dGPU shuts down as soon as a game is exited. That really only matters if you run on the battery and don't close Chrome, etc., that you opened while playing a game.

    Cooling on the dGPU–at least the 2060–is excellent. Even in 95w mode it maxed at 67C. Cooling on the CPU is terrible, enough that I'm wondering if I have defective paste–with the 6 core i7, I hit 95C and thermal throttling while *idling* at 3% CPU usage. Quiet and Balanced vs Performance also seem to a bug–running Prime95, the fan spins up fully in Quiet and Balanced to vacuum levels, but in Performance it remains barely audible. The seem to work as expected on non-artificial loads, though.

    Thermal isolation between the dGPU and CPU seems to be excellent–the dGPU maintained the same 65C and clock speeds whether the CPU as at 70C or 100C (yes, it hits 100C).

    I was worried about GPU thermals beyond the 2060–but the GPU cooling is as good as the CPU cooling is bad, at 65C with a 2060 running with 95w @1682 mhz, there is plenty of thermal room there for a beefier dGPU.

    The keyboard is one of the best I've used on a laptop.

    Really, the only big complaint is the insanely poor cooling on the CPU. A CPU shouldn't hit a thermal limit idling at 3% usage. Scrolling a webpage also hits it. And currently you can't undervolt 10th Gen Intel CPU's to help. I can't imagine what the 8 core i7 or i9 is going to do.

    If you don't need it now, I'd wait for the AMD version–they have it in the Legion 5, but not the 7 yet, but I believe they do plan an AMD version of the 7. With the poor CPU thermals, the AMD CPU will really shine. I'm either going to return it for a replacement or repaste the CPU myself–if that helps, I'll update.

    • mind12

      June 26, 2020 at 10:17 am

      Thank you for this detailed mini review.

      Yesterday I've found a reddit post also about the lacking G-Sync in the 10750 versions.
      The low wattage 2060 disappoints me more than the G-Sync, it should hit close to 115W to be worth the cost. :(

      I hope you will solve your CPU cooling issue, will you check thermal pasting? Dissolving a new laptop with a chamber could be risky.

      • James Barnett

        June 27, 2020 at 6:09 am

        I'm probably just going to RMA it–I really think the paste is defective, 30 minutes of Prime95 with all 6 cores over 90C and the air blowing out is near room temperature, but I don't want them saying I broke it re-pasting. Fire up the 2060 and it blows out serious heat. I'm not sure if I'll re-order the same one and replace the thermal paste if it has the same issues, go with a different laptop, or wait and see if they come out with an AMD version. I'd consider the Legion 5 if it came with better than a 1650 TI.

        I wish I could find someone else with a 7i to see if they have the same issue.

      • j.g.

        June 27, 2020 at 1:19 pm

        About the RTX 2060 heat. Could you please try to undervolt your GPU through MSI Afterburner and see if that helps.

        The only way to achieve this for Pascal and Turing cards is to create a different graphic profile. Just rise the dots +165 and keep a straight line to the right from around 1500 Mhz/725 mV. That way voltage will remain at 725 mV and temps should be lowered quite a lot.

    • j.g.

      June 26, 2020 at 11:37 am

      Have you checked on the Bios if you can unlock undervolting? Several models are locked from stock but the bios allowed it to be changed.

      • James Barnett

        June 27, 2020 at 5:42 am

        Yeah, unfortunately you can't unlock undervolting. You really can't do much in the Bios at all.

    • James Barnett

      June 27, 2020 at 5:48 am

      I ran Cinebench R20 on it–1893 in Performance mode, 1925 in Balanced. The lowest R20 score of all the i7-10750 laptops Notebookcheck tested was 2600. That was with everything off (anti-virus, iCue, etc.).

      • Andrei Girbea

        June 27, 2020 at 9:54 am

        you can use HWinfo :: Sensors and monitor how the frequency and power fluctuate with Cinebench. ~3000 points should be normal for a 10750H

      • James Barnett

        June 27, 2020 at 9:21 pm

        Yep, all cores quickly stabilize @ 2394 mhz, with the top ones around 95C and triggering Thermal Throttling. Ring/Uncore immediate triggers thermal throttling, drops to 2094 mhz, and stays there.

        CPU Package Power sticks at 22.5w–I've never seen it break 26w in the HWInfo max column under any conditions. The power profiles are supposed to limit to 25w for quiet and 45w for balanced and performance–I assume I don't reach those because the thermal limits kick in before it gets above 26w. The Power Limit Exceeded flags in HWInfo never trigger. The PL1 and PL2 Power limits you can see change as you click through the profiles: Silent = 25w/45w, Balanced = 60w/107w, Performance = 75w/107w–but it never breaks the Silent PL1 limit in any mode.

        I ran Cinebench R15 just because there are more values out there to compare to: 836 multi-core vs an average of 1300 for 10750H's. Average of a *4 core* i5-10300H beats it with 886, and it's closer to a low power 4 core i5-10210U (665) than to other 10750H's.

      • Andrei Girbea

        June 28, 2020 at 10:34 am

        XTU should show what's causing the throttling, but looks like thermals are the culprit. You should consider just returning it, I don't think repasting can address it

      • James Barnett

        June 27, 2020 at 9:37 pm

        BTW, it does boost up to 4.4 ghz on a core or two very briefly under very light, single-core loads, so boosting isn't turned off.

    • James Barnett

      June 28, 2020 at 4:16 am

      I actually got the courage to chat with Lenovo tech support expecting to spend a few hours of "Reset Windows from the factory image, etc." Instead he agreed within 2 minutes it was probably a CPU thermal paste issue and offered to send out a tech to re-paste it or to just replace it. Best support I've seen for a laptop.

      So I'm going to RMA it and I guess replace it. I was looking at maybe the MSI GS66 since apparently you can still undervolt the 10750H in it after a BIOS setting, or maybe even an GS65 with an 8th or 9th gen, but it's for my son for college and play and he really liked keyboard better than the MSI's.

      If he didn't need it by August, I'd just wait for a quality 4800H laptop (the Elektronic MP-15 looks promising, but I'm not sure it would ship in time and don't really know the company).

      I'll update on thermals once I get it.

      @Andrei Girbea, I'm not sure if my previous reply posted, but it settles at 2394 mhz in Cinebench R20, around 1933 mhz in Prime95, and never pulls more than 26w to the CPU Package in any mode or circumstance, I assume due to the thermal throttling.

      • Andrei Girbea

        June 28, 2020 at 10:46 am

        Yes, I got and replied to your previous comment, I just got to it a bit late due to time difference.

        I finally got to spend time with the GS66 as well, the review should be up around next week. There are a couple of other options to consider in that niche, though, such as Asus, Gigabyte, Acer, maybe even Razer if within budget, but somehow I was expecting the Legion 7i to be among the better options.

        I don't have personal experience with Eluktronics because they're not available over here, but I've heard good things about them. They're mostly rebranding a generic barebone, with extra software, support and warranty services. That AMD model they have looks promising.

      • James Barnett

        June 28, 2020 at 12:58 pm

        I nearly bought the Advanced version of the Razer, but I read so many horror stories of people unable to get support when there is a hardware issue, and that a lot of people were getting them with hardware issues out of the box.

        The Y740 the 7i replaces got really good reviews for the cooling system–effective and quiet–and the quiet part was a key requirement since he'll be using this in class and in a small dorm room while his roommate is trying to sleep. Hopefully I just got a defective unit, and I liked that support immediately agreed. The cooling is *not* quiet–louder than my older GS65 with a 1060, and I was a bit worried about being the guinea pig for Nvidia's new dynamic MUX, etc.

        It really feels like it was rushed out before it was ready, and if the CPU temps are under control in the replacement unit, I'm sure they'll fix the bugs in the power profiles, so that quiet is actually not louder than performance. I really wish they'd allow you to manually set the fan profiles for each mode, but few laptops seem to do that for some reason. And hopefully they'll add the ability to undervolt to the BIOS at some point–though since the power modes are dynamically changing things like P1 and P2 watts, etc., that you can set in Throttle Stop and XTU, I'm not sure they wouldn't override an undervolt as well.

        It has good points–the keyboard is incredible, even the 300 nit panel is good, it actually has a numpad, etc. And in GPU-bound games the 2060 is outperforming, due to the dynamic MUX and extra 5 watts. He mainly plays Civ 5, though, and the AI turns are painfully slow–though hopefully just with this unit.

        The others you mentioned all had some issue in the reviews that turned me off–often fan noise, with the Y740 and Razer standing out as the quietest. Unfortunately while this 7i does keep the 2060 cool enough to run at good clock speeds, it isn't quiet about it.

        If I could I'd really wait 9-12 months for more 4800H's to come out–these Intel chips are just too hot and power hungry for truly portable laptop, especially when there isn't an option to undervolt them.

      • Andrei Girbea

        June 28, 2020 at 3:26 pm

        The Blade has a lot of potential, but is also plagued by so many posible issues and what looks like poor support. However, I also think Blade users are more visible online on the forums/reddit.

        As for the noise part, well, cramming powerful specs inside a compact laptop is going to require fast spinning, and thus noisy, fans. It's just physics. That's for the max performance profiles, however, that's why I mentioned that most laptops offer a Silent/Quiet profile these days. Unfortunately, with the power-hungry Intel processors, they also tend to run hot on these profiles. So far, the Gigabyte Aero 15 was surprisingly among the better balance of performance/noise, but still runs fairly hot internally. The Asus Zephyrus M/S also are also fairly OK on Silent, although perhaps a bit too aggressive on the fans and their sub 40 dB setting.

        Curious what you decide on in the end.

      • James Barnett

        June 29, 2020 at 10:59 pm

        Yeah, I didn't expect quiet, but the Y740 was rated as one of the quietest by notebookcheck.com–41.6 dba in Witcher Ultra, 45.2 at max load. This thing is easily hitting 56 dba (that Russian youtube review's sound meter showed 58)–and it's doing it in *Silent* mode drawing 25w, though that last part is surely do to my defective cooling. I wish they'd let you manually set the fan profiles–for Silent he'll be using in class, it would be fine to have some pretty severe thermal throttling, but not fine to disturb the class, but it seems to be using the 25w CPU limit rather than a separate fan profile. I'd have liked to get the Y740 if not for that crazy keyboard layout. Trying to talk my son into a different laptop, but he really likes the keyboard on this, and he will be typing a lot of term papers, etc., on it.

      • Andrei Girbea

        June 30, 2020 at 10:20 am

        Fwiw, I find most keyboards to be pretty good these days, this having the perk of including a Numpad, which most other 15-inchers in this class don't

      • James Barnett

        June 30, 2020 at 10:58 am

        I let him try my old GS65–the steel series keyboard is pretty good. But I have to agree with him–the 7i keyboard almost feels like a mechanic one, but without the clickiness–it has the same kind of feedback. I've never wanted to do a lot of typing on a laptop keyboard, but I could see using this one.

        I'll have the new one by Thursday, I'll report on the thermals, etc., once I get it. If they aren't much better than the first one, this series is a bad downgrade from the Y740–if only they could take the 7i keyboard and put it on a Y740….

      • jg

        June 30, 2020 at 2:03 pm

        Since you are getting a replacement on the 7i to give it still a chance, please be aware that many RTX mobile cards are unlocked from stock, and their base frecuency-voltage graphics are exactly the same whether they are desktop or mobile versions, RTX 2060, 2070 or 2080 models.

        That's why they can become quite noisy and hot from stock settings on high workloads, since they can boost performance way beyond their turbo limits, as if they are delivered overclocked/overvolted from Nvidia itself.

        https://www.notebookcheck.net/NVIDIA-GeForce-RTX-2060-Laptop-Graphics-Card.384946.0.html

        In theory, the RTX2060 has a 1200 Mhz turbo limit, but on my Y540 it was reaching 2000 Mhz from stock settings, with the subsequent noise, and power throttling. After talking to Lenovo Support and researching the web, I found out that high temps and coil whinning/rattling noises on RTX cards can be also caused by this issue. And since the cooling system feeds both CPU and GPU, this issue can also lower the thermal margins and performance for the CPU.

        In theory the Bios should control the voltage delivered to the GPU card within the official margins, but not every brand delivers efficient settings for each model from scratch. That's why the Acer Nitro (aesthetics aside) performs so well out of the box, but it can be knocked out by other models with the same specs (and terrible stock performance) only with the right tweaking.

        My experience with Lenovo is that of great concepts/basic hardware which always needs adjustments.
        In my case, my Y540 came with a faulty AC Adapter (which was the one causing at first electrical noises) which couldn't output voltage properly. It was swiftly replaced by Lenovo, and while the electrical noises were completely gone, and I had my CPU undervolted, my RTX 2060 kept giving me high temps and noisy performances (audible from 50 cm distance).

        After running HWINFO64 and OC Scanner (+185 result) with MSI afterburner, I finally tried several graphic profiles and compared the data. Since I cannot post images, here just a general link and video about how to undervolt your GPU:

        http://forum.notebookreview.com/threads/rtx2060-undervolting-results.830371/

        (my final frecuency/voltage profile, the one I use since then, is very similar to the img posted there on the thread)

        Just by raising the frecuency dots +165 till you reach/cross the 725 mV voltage value, and by flatenning the curve from there to the right, you can both undervolt the card and prevent the turbo frecuency from raising higher than 1500 Mhz.

        And by that, my temps never go higher than 65 degrees (v-sync on) or 70 degrees (v-sync off), while performance is just 5-10 % lower than the 'unlocked-overvolted-overclocked' stock profile. Also all noises are completely gone, even if I put my head against the keyboard I can barely hear anything from the GPU. Fans will of course kick in while heavy GPU tasking/gaming, but with light workload/gaming not even that, or just for a few moments.

        If it wasn't for the keyboard (cannot compete with the one from the Legion 7) I almost would recommend you to get a deal on the last Y540's on the market for your son. Understated design, flexible upgrades, cool and quiet as hell (now ;).

        Anyhow, these RTX powerhorses can be a bit of a problem sometimes (also on desktops, I've read).
        I hope the info above helps you in any way with your choice.

    • James Barnett

      June 30, 2020 at 11:32 pm

      I got RMA'd 7i today. *Massive* difference. Still i7-10750H, 16GB, 2060, 300 nit 144hz panel, no undervolts.

      Fans never too loud. CPU performing excellent, much cooler and maintaining more than twice the speed.

      Cinebench R10:
      –New Perf Mode: 3262 score, stable 4.2 Ghz, CPU pulling 72w vs old score of 1893, 2.3 Ghz, 25w
      –New Balanced Mode: 3106, stable 4.2 Ghz, CPU pulling 60w vs old score of 1925, 2.3 Ghz, 25w

      Prime 95:
      –New Perf Mode: 4.2 Ghz, 72w vs old 1.9 Ghz, 25w, 72C
      –New Balanced Mode: 3.4 Ghz, 60w, 84C
      –New Quiet Mode: 2.3 Ghz, 25w, 63C

      Heaven (default settings, 1920×1080):
      –New Perf Mode: 4301 score, 171 FPS, GPU 1,665 mhz and 95w
      –New Balanced Mode: 4065 score, 161 FPS, GPU 1536 mhz and 80w

      Witcher 3 Ultra settings:
      –Perf Mode: 75 FPS from balcony, 90 FPS indoors, 1620 mhz
      –Balanced Mode: 63 FPS balcony, 82 FPS indoors, 1500 mhz

      GPU temps: 66-70C under all loads.

      I'm *very* pleased now.

      Also posting from as separate comment so people can find this easier next to my original review, since I can't edit it.

  20. j.g.

    June 26, 2020 at 11:48 am

    From TechSpot:

    "One last quick note about undervolting before we head to benchmark results. As we discussed in our Core i7-10875H review, more OEMs are locking down undervolting this generation, likely to prevent Plundervolt exploits. This was the case on the MSI GS66 Stealth. You may re-enable undervolting through the advanced options in MSI’s BIOS though."

    https://www.techspot.com/review/2022-intel-core-i7-10750h-vs-9750h/

    Could you please check if your Lenovo bios allows it and report back? Thanks

    • James Barnett

      June 27, 2020 at 5:45 am

      The 7i Bios doesn't have an option to re-enable undervolting. It really doesn't have many options at all

      • j.g.

        June 27, 2020 at 11:02 am

        Thanks for the info. That's rather dissapointing :(

        Are you at least allowed to underclock through ThrottleStop?

      • James Barnett

        June 27, 2020 at 8:28 pm

        In XTU the options are grayed out. In Throttle Stop it lets you *try*, but when you hit apply, save, etc., the the undervolts don't apply–Throttlestop itself in the top left still lists all the offsets as 0 in the top right, and HWInfo lists the offsets as 0.

  21. j.g.

    June 26, 2020 at 12:01 pm

    Also, have you checked if you're allowed to underclock your CPU through ThrottleStop?

    Many applications and GPU-dependant games don't require the full CPU turbo and will likely end up bottlenecking and thermal throttling your machine. Could you please try an UC-profile underclocking the turbo frequency (all cores) to something like 3.5 Ghz, then test those apps/games again and compare scores/temps?

    Don't forget W10 stock settings are also far from power-thermal efficient on any machine and need tweaking, also with undervolting being allowed. You could also try to tweak these settings:

    https://www.ultrabookreview.com/10156-how-to-tweak-your-laptop-p1/

  22. Andrei Girbea

    June 26, 2020 at 3:27 pm

    For everyone following and interested, here's my review of the AMD-based Legion 5: https://www.ultrabookreview.com/39830-lenovo-legion-5-review/

    The Legion 5i has also been listed here, but at around 1600 EUR for the i7/ GTX1660Ti model, and that's way too much to justify investing in it just for a review.

  23. j.g.

    June 27, 2020 at 11:36 pm

    Just an important update on Lenovo Plundervolt policy, for anyone following:

    Last Bios update on Legion Y series (BHCN38WW for Y540 models) 'silently' disables undervolting, combined with W10 update KB4497165 from last week. So don't update if you want to keep undervolting enabled, or roll back to BHCN36WW if you already did (also on Linux systems).

    There's still a discussion whether the security implementation from that microcode is even necessary on 2019 Y series models, since SGX software seems to be disabled (?), therefore not affected in theory by Plundervolt. If that's true, why then disable undervolting?

    Only thing I know for sure, KB4497165 didn't disable undervolting by itself on my Y540 last week. Also both 9th gen i7-9750H and i5 -9300H CPU's from 2019 Legion models are not listed as affected by the microcode vulnerability. But still, the updated got self-installed last week on my system, even while stating: "Install this update for the listed processors only":

    https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/4497165/kb4497165-intel-microcode-updates

    I really really 'love' Windows ;)

    Anyhow, today I prevented at least the Bios update. I hope Intel will soon solve those vulnerabilities without disabling undervolting globally.

    I enjoy frying eggs on the pan and a my hands cool on the keyboard, not the other way around!

    • Jeffrey

      July 13, 2020 at 11:34 am

      I just updated to BHCN38WW on my Y540, and my i7-9750 is still undervolted:

      ibb.co/yR3229Q

      ibb.co/SRjjLNK

      • JG

        July 15, 2020 at 11:41 am

        Do you also have KB4497165 installed? There were users reporting both updates combined disabling undervolting.

        Apart from that, now that I see your values, I'm just curious: Have you tried undervolting even further? How is the stability on your machine?

        Sweet spot on mine is -0.145 V. Great stability and low temps/fans/noises (-.150 V wasn't stable enough).

  24. James Barnett

    June 30, 2020 at 11:37 pm

    Update to previous mini-review with a new RMA'd 7i today. *Massive* difference. Still i7-10750H, 16GB, 2060, 300 nit 144hz panel, no undervolts.

    Fans never too loud even under full loads, and Quiet mode is now actually quiet. CPU performing excellent, much cooler and maintaining more than twice the clock speeds.

    Cinebench R20:
    –New Perf Mode: 3262 score, stable 4.2 Ghz, CPU pulling 72w vs old score of 1893, 2.3 Ghz, 25w
    –New Balanced Mode: 3106, stable 4.2 Ghz, CPU pulling 60w vs old score of 1925, 2.3 Ghz, 25w

    Prime 95:
    –New Perf Mode: 4.2 Ghz, 72w vs old 1.9 Ghz, 25w, 72C
    –New Balanced Mode: 3.4 Ghz, 60w, 84C
    –New Quiet Mode: 2.3 Ghz, 25w, 63C

    Heaven (default settings, 1920×1080):
    –New Perf Mode: 4301 score, 171 FPS, GPU 1,665 mhz and 95w
    –New Balanced Mode: 4065 score, 161 FPS, GPU 1536 mhz and 80w

    Witcher 3 Ultra settings:
    –Perf Mode: 75 FPS from balcony, 90 FPS indoors, 1620 mhz, 95w
    –Balanced Mode: 63 FPS balcony, 82 FPS indoors, 1500 mhz, 80w

    GPU temp: 66-70C under load in both modes.

    I'm *very* pleased now.

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 1, 2020 at 9:51 am

      that's more like it

    • jg

      July 1, 2020 at 10:11 am

      Wow, that's a big difference indeed!

      I'm glad to know both you got a right unit and that the Legion 7 can perform as intended :)

    • mind12

      July 1, 2020 at 10:33 am

      Promising, glad it worked out for you.

      Could you check the device ID of the 2060 using GPU-Z? Still wondering whether it is the 115W version or not. GPU memory should also run on 1.25V and the clock speed of vRAM should be 1350Mhz in GPU-Z Sensors.
      You can check GPU power with HWInfo.

      1F15 ID is the refreshed 2060 while 1F11 is the old one.
      Comparison here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=971J_bPQCho&feature=youtu.be&t=214

      • James Barnett

        July 1, 2020 at 6:05 pm

        It's 1F55 (10DE 1F55-17AA 3FCF) with the lower clocked vRAM (1353 mhz), so I'm sure a variant of the refreshed version. Really 1F55, not 1F15, GPU-Z lookup can't find it though it shows up in devicehunt.com with no information other than that it's a 2060 Mobile. I'd posted the HWInfo GPU power above–80w in Balanced mode, 95w in Performance mode. I suspect the card itself is the 90w version–the Y740 used the same 80w/95w for the 90w versions of the 2060 and 2070MQ.

      • mind12

        July 1, 2020 at 6:27 pm

        Thank you.
        Various informations cycles everyday through Reddit about the 7i: the G-Sync confusion, USB-C charging (started today, sales rep told you shouldnt charge it or you will ruin the motherboard) and 2060 GPU wattage.

        I can't understand how this guy achieved 109W: https://youtu.be/xlsJG9X9DdE?t=366
        If you look closely the HWInfo maximum wattage was 109W. However that device is the "premium" one with the 10875 i7 but I dont think it should make any difference.

      • James Barnett

        July 2, 2020 at 1:20 am

        @mind12, his spec list @ 14:13 does clearly say "RTX 2060 6G 109 Watts". But mine will only do 80/95w. Maybe there's a difference between premium/non-premium or the US and Chinese models. Or maybe "dynamic boost" is only available with g-sync monitors (which are only available with the premium models, even though you can get the same panel without g-sync on the i7-10750H and lower)–supposedly it can up the watts by 15, but if there's any place to enable it I can't find it–the NVIDIA 3d settings/power modes did nothing–though I kind of think that's how I'm getting up to 95w in performance mode, another 15w would put it at 110w. He's also got 3200mhz RAM where all the US models list 2900mhz (and it's definitely what I have), so there's at least some hardware differences. He's also got a BIOS version not available in the US drivers section. It would be nice if companies listed the watts of these cards.

      • Andrei Girbea

        July 2, 2020 at 10:25 am

        I noticed there's also a GPU power difference between different games. I haven't yet tested this 2060, but on the 2070/2080 SUper models that I've tried the GPU runs at 90 to 105W between titles, on the exact same power profiles. Witcher 3 for instance is something that allows the GPU to run at higher power.

      • James Barnett

        July 2, 2020 at 11:07 am

        Witcher 3 is one I tried. Everything that used the GPU at all was either 80w or 95w depending on the power profile.

        If the premium version really does get a 110w version, you'd think they'd want to advertise that–specs really should list the watts.

  25. jg

    July 2, 2020 at 10:52 am

    3200 Mhz ram is only compatible with 8-core Intel i7 10875H and i9 CPUs (and AMD), at least officially. That's why you get 'only' 2933 Mhz on yours.

    It's pretty confusing with all the re-naming stuff, but I guess that 'premium' label should stand for something extra, both for (110W) GPU, (8-core) CPU and (3200 Mhz) RAM. So it makes some sense to me.

  26. mind12

    July 3, 2020 at 11:32 am

    • jg

      July 3, 2020 at 12:08 pm

      Jezz, what a mess… Will Lenovo Marketing Department ever make up their minds? XD

      • mind12

        July 3, 2020 at 4:08 pm

        It wouldn't surprise me after all this if only the premium-gsync model's 2060 could go close to 115W and the standard one could remain only on 90W. Despite the fact that the cooling is the same.

      • James Barnett

        July 4, 2020 at 10:34 am

        Maybe. I don't really get why they don't all have gsync–mine definitely has Advanced Optimus (I can see the speed increase when the dGPU connects directly to the panel vs normal Optimus mode, which can still select), the panel can clearly do variable refresh since it's the same as the gysnc ones, and laptop gsync doesn't require an expensive gsync module like external monitors do. All I can think is they intentionally disabled it for product segmentation, so maybe the same segmentation idea for the 2060.

        Though laptopmedia.com/review/lenovo-legion-7-15-review-tackling-the-new-super-graphics-cards-with-an-improved-cooling/#temperatures-and-comfort lists the 2080 Super as 90w when nVidia spec allows "80-150+"–it would seem odd to max out the 2060 and leave the 2080 Super stuck at 90 (+5) watts.

      • Andrei Girbea

        July 4, 2020 at 12:44 pm

        The max-q 2080 Super is 80 to 105W in all the laptops that I've tested, and I'd expect the same on the 7i.

        As for that 2060, 115W would be difficult to cool imo. Look like the ROG Scar 15 for instance, which is available with the 115W version of the 2070 and barely copes with it, despite the beefy thermal module and thick chassis.

  27. jg

    July 6, 2020 at 1:23 am

    Not a real fan of these canucks (kind of find their reviews both bias and flawed), but still:

    youtube.com/watch?v=4jeZ4XGe6w0

  28. Driz

    July 10, 2020 at 5:13 pm

    10875H w/ 2933MHz mem & 2060/2070/2070Smq/2080Smq is available on the 7i

  29. jis78

    July 19, 2020 at 1:04 am

    I got legion 5pi, which is supposed to have higher performance out of the box. HWINFo recorded max gpu power 103w with 2060 when playing Hitman 2 with a max temp of 78 degrees of celsius.

  30. JG

    August 11, 2020 at 4:07 pm

    For anyone interested, here a nice comparision between 2080 Super laptops, were the Legion 7i seems to stand out both as the all-round best and best-for-the-buck:

    tweakers.net/reviews/8012/1/rtx-2080-super-laptops-duurder-is-niet-altijd-beter-inleiding.html

    (in Dutch though, use G-translate)

    I wonder how much higher would it even score with a fast Samsung SSD, instead of the WD drive.

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 11, 2020 at 4:16 pm

      Something's wrong with their Zeph Duo and Blade Pro scores, they're significantly lower than what we got in our tests. Look at the 3Dmark Firestrike Physics/Graphics for reference.

      Unfortunately, Lenovo aren't interested in sending us the 7i and the 2080 is just way too expensive to justify getting for the review alone. I hope to get to test it as well and compare it to the other options.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *