Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We do not collect your personal data.  I agree  Find out more  About cookies

Lenovo Legion 7i and Legion 5i / 5Pi 2020 gaming laptops update on Legion Y540/Y740 series

By Andrei Girbea - @ andreigirbea , last updated on May 5, 2020

With 10th gen Intel Core H hardware now available, everyone is updating their notebook lineups, including Lenovo.

Among others, they have some brand new Legion gaming models in the works, called Legion 5 and Legion 7, scheduled as follow-ups for the popular Legion Y540 and Y740 series. Looks like Lenovo decided to dump on their previous naming scheme, so these are no longer called Legion Y550 and Legion Y750, instead just 5i and 7i for the Intel versions, and Legion 5 for the AMD model.

First off, both of these are powered by Intel Core H 10th platforms, with the 4C/8T Core i5-10300H and the 6C/12T Core i7-10750H in most configurations, as well as the 8C/16T Core i9-10980HK on the higher-tier Legion 7i. No mention of the enticing 8C/16 Core i7-10875H, so that’s most likely not going to be an option.

An AMD Ryzen variant of the Legion 5 is also in the works. That’s only going to be called Legion 5, as the i at the end is only reserved for the Intel versions. While the Intel version are available in 15 and 17-inch variants, the AMD model is only available as a 15-inch laptop with up to a 144 Hz panel, 60Wh battery and only up to GTX 1650Ti graphics (we’re waiting for confirmation on this, other sources mention up to RTX 2060 and 80W battery). There’s no AMD variant of the higher-tier Legion 7.

The Intel-based Legion 5i is going to top at an RTX 2060 GPU configuration, while the Legion 7i variants will get an up to RTX 2080 Super graphics chip, most likely the Max-Q 80W version. Both offer support for up to 32 GB of DDR4-3200 MHz memory, although 32GB DIMMs might also be compatible, for up to 64 GBs.

Update1: Here’s a first review of the Legion 7i in the i9-10980HK /RTX 2080 Super Max-Q configuration. It’s not in English, so use translate. We’ve also updated some of the info below based on these findings.

Update2: Aside from the AMD Legion 5, there are also two versions of the 5i: a basic Legion 5i with a plastic chassis, and a Legion 5Pi available with higher tier specs and an 80Wh battery, and perhaps partially made out of aluminum. This needs to be confirmed. We’ve been told that the 5Pi won’t be available in North America.

Update3: There’s also an IdeaPad Gaming 3 model introduced at the bottom of the stack, as a follow-up for the IdeaPad L340 from 2019. It only gets Intel 10th-gen and lower-tier GTX 1650/1650Ti graphics. We’ll cover it in a separate article.

Lenovo have also improved the internal design and cooling module to some extent, and we’ve covered that further down. The i7’s chassis looks much like the Y740’s, so I wasn’t expecting much to have changed, but it actually did. Those early rumors suggesting 2.x M.2 storage with RAID support and an 80Wh battery have been confirmed for the 7i.

Here’s a quick specs sheet of the two 2020 Legion models, and we’fill in the blanks when possible.

Lenovo Legion 5i 15/17-inch / Legion 5Lenovo Legion 5Pi 15-inchLenovo Legion 7i 15IMH
Screen15.6 inch, matte, non-touch, 60/120/144/240 Hz options on Intel 5i models
17.3 inch, matte, non-touch, 60/144 Hz options on Intel 5i models
15.6 inch, matte, non-touch, 60/120/144 Hz options on AMD models
15.6 inch, matte, non-touch, 240 Hz 500-nits
no 17-inch version
15.6-inch, matte, non-touch, 144 or 240Hz 3ms, 100% sRGB, 500-nits
no 17-inch version
Processor10th gen Intel Comet Lake Core H CPU, up to Core i7 6C/12T
AMD Ryzen 4000 CPU, up to 8C/16T (on Legion 5)
10th gen Intel Comet Lake Core H CPU, up to Core i7 6C/12T10th gen Intel Comet Lake Core HK CPU, up to Core i9 8C/16T
Vide0up to Nvidia RTX 2060, with NVIDIA Advanced Optimus/G-SYNC on Intel models
up to Nvidia GTX 1650Ti on AMD models in NA (up to RTX 2060 in other regions)
up to Nvidia RTX 2060up to Nvidia RTX 2080 Super, with NVIDIA Advanced Optimus/G-SYNC
Memoryup to 32 GB DDR4 2933 MHz (2x DIMMs) on Intel and DDR43200 MHz on AMD versionsup to 32 GB DDR4 3200 MHz (2x DIMMs)
Storage1x M.2 SSD, 2.5″ HDD cage1x M.2 SSD2x M.2 SSDs with RAID support
ConnectivityGigabit LAN, Wireless 6 AX, Bluetooth 5.0
Ports2x USB-A 3.1, 1x USB-C with DP, HDMI 2.0, LAN, mic/headphone, Kensington Lock3x USB-A 3.1, 1x USB-C with Thunderbolt 3,  1x USB-C,HDMI 2.0, LAN, mic/headphone
Battery60 Wh on 15-inch models, no 80 Wh variant in NA, might be available in other regions
80Wh on 17-inch variant
80 Wh80Wh
Size15-inch – 363 mm or 14.29” (w) x 260 mm or 10.23” (d) x 25.5 mm or 1” (h)
17-inch – 363 mm or 14.29” (w) x 260 mm or 10.23” (d) x 25.5 mm or 1” (h)
360 mm or 14.19” (w) x 255 mm or 10.03” (d) x 19.9 mm or .78” (h)
Weight~2.5 kg (5.5 lbs) for 15-inch
~3 kg (6.6 lbs) for 17-inch
~2.5 kg (5.5 lbs)~2.2 kg (4.9 lbs)
Extraswhite or optional Corsair 4-zone RGB backlit keyboard with 1.5 mm travel, webcam, Black or Green variants, plastic build, bottom speakersCorsair TrueStrike RGB backlit keyboard with 1.3 travel, RGB light bars, webcam, Iron gray version, fully metallic build, quad speakers

On the other hand, there seem to be some slight design and exterior changes between the 2020 and the 2019 Legions. Both the 5i and the 7i keep the simple lines and known Legion/Lenovo branding elements.

The 7i also gets RGB illumination in the exhausts, as well as a redesigned RGB keyboard and a new light bar spreading around the front, like on the ROG Scar III, plus redesigned speaker cuts on the bottom. There’s also an extra set of speakers above the keyboard.

These aside, there’s also a slight IO redesign on that back edge between the two generations, and what looks like a new color scheme for the 7i, with a Dark-Blue tint. Perhaps some new materials as well, based on these previews images. Oh, and no longer a nose cam, but instead a webcam at the top of the screen, where it should be placed. This also gets a privacy shutter, the kind we’ve previously got with ThinkPads.

 

Lenovo Legion 7i vs Legion Y740 series

And here’s the redesigned keyboard on the Legion 7i in more detail. It’s a shallower implementation this time around, with 1.3 mm of travel and what Lenovo calls Soft-Landing switches, and I’ll need to spend some time with it before drawing any conclusions. There’s also a larger clickpad, made out of glass and with Precision drivers.

Legion 5i/7i keyboard

And here’s another picture hinting the interior redesign, the blue color and the new webcam on the Legion 7i Y750.

Legion 7i redesign, keyboard and webcam

 

I’ve also added a picture of the internal redesign (Source: lab501). The source mentions a redesigned thermal system with larger fans, increased fin-count, and a new vapor chamber module. This is reported to do a good job cooling the Max-Q 2080 Super (80W, as far as I can tell), but the CPU still reaches high temperatures of up to 100 C in demanding tasks. I look forward to getting our own review unit and take this through our own set of tests. The reported GPU temperatures and fan noise of under 40 dB seem almost too be good to be true.

Down below you can also notice that the HDD bay was thrown out and replaced with a large 80W battery. The speakers are still small, so don’t expect much on that front.

Lenovo Legion 7i thermal module, vs 2019 Y540

Lenovo Legion 7i thermal module, vs 2019 Y540

The 5i remains the more basic model, with a black color scheme and without RGB chassis elements.

It too seems to have been redesigned, though, and while I can’t tell these details for the few existing pictures we’ve got from Lenovo so far, I’m rooting for a metallic build this time around and hopefully an RGB keyboard as well. Looks like the RGB keyboard might be an option, but the exterior is probably still plastic. Update: There are actually two versions, the Legion 5i gets a plastic construction, while the legion 5Pi is made out of metal.

The image below does suggest a new keyboard implementation, with a redesigned NumPad/Arrows section.

Lenovo Legion 5i vs Legion 540 series

I’ve also added a few more pictures of the AMD-based of the Legion 5i Y550, which might differ from the Intel model in some ways.

Lenovo were eager to communicate that the Intel-based Legion 5i and 7i are the first performance notebooks to get Nvidia’s Advanced Optimus technology. In few words, this allows both Optimus and GSync simultaneously on a laptop. GSync was offered on the previous Legion Y740 as well, but only at the expense of battery life, when you opted to disable the iGPU in software.

This time around, the iGPU and the dGPU are both connected to a physical switch called Dynamic Display Switch, which smartly selects the GPU of use based on the active load. This means the Intel UHD iGPU takes over with light use and video, and then the GPU and GSync get activated with games. This was not available in this form in the past, and I’m looking forward to seeing it in action.

Keep in mind there’s no way to implement this technology on existing products, as it requires both a software and a hardware component.

Nvidia Advanced Optimus implemented on the Legion 5i and 7i

In all fairness, though, GSync and Optimus have been previously available on laptops from Acer, Asus and Lenovo, but not at the same time. You had to choose between one mode or the other and then restart the laptop, while now it happens on of the fly, as far as I understand.

No word on whether Dynamic Boost is also implemented on these laptops, but hopefully it is.

Nvidia Dynamic Boost

There’s not much we can tell about these two right now, so I’ll leave you with some pricing information. The RTX 2060 configuration of the Legion i5 is set to start at $829, while the RTX 2070 version of the Legion 7i is scheduled from $1599, with availability varying between regions and starting around May 2020. Those are some aggressive prices on what were previously some of the more aggressively priced options in their niches, so I’d expect a lot of interest around these.

The IdeaPad Gaming 3 is set to start at around $730, and also scheduled for availability around May.

AMD Ryzen 4000 variants of the Legion 5 have also been recently listed in some stores, starting at around 1400 $CDN with a Ryzen 7 4800H processor, 32 GB of RAM and 512 GB of SSD storage. Base level variants are expected to start for as low as $759 in the US.

Looking forward to spending more time with them for some proper reviews.

Disclaimer: Our content is reader-supported. If you buy through some of the links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more.
Andrei Girbea, Editor-in-Chief of Ultrabookreview.com. I've been covering mobile computers since the 2000s and you'll mostly find reviews and thorough guides written by me here on the site.

79 Comments

  1. J. G.

    April 3, 2020 at 6:40 pm

    Thanks for the update!

    Here what I hope for:

    – Thunderbolt 3. I see this alredy on your specs sheet. Is this oficially confirmed?

    – Wireless 6 AX, Bluetooth 5.0. Again, Is this oficially confirmed?

    – HDMI 2.0b

    – Improved battery size up to 90W. They should get rid of the SSD-HDD bay if necessary, or make it optional, as Asus just did on the A15.

    – Up to 64 GB DDR4 3200 MHz. And nothing soldered (what was that again? non >16GB dual channel on Asus G14???)

    – 2x M.2 Slots and at least 512GB SSD M.2 for lower tiers. I would ask for 1TB, but with those prices I would certainly be surprised. Gladly btw.

    – (Nose-) Webcam removed (it's useless right there) or brought up back where it belongs (and works).

    – Improved chasis and keyboard (from what you mentioned and that photo almost shows, probably they did)

    – Improved weight and size of DC charger, more like MSI GS65 Stealth's 230 W brick, which is 33% less bulky for the same power!

    – 100-200 gr less weight.

    – Better heat management.

    – Bios option or Lenovo Vantage switch for Nvidia’s Advanced Optimus Technology. Just in case :)

    – Better screens. Not that they're not good now, but still open for improvement.

    – Improved bloatware :)

    – Release date: this Spring. Any info yet?

    I know it's a lot to ask for, and that this not Christmas. But since we're all stuck at home with the whole family, whether we like it or not, it kind of feels like it :)

    And here what I fear the most:

    – Heat emissions and battery life with those Comet 10th gen power hungry processors. Undervolt/underclock, here we go again.

    – Intel 10th gen not getting even close to Ryzen 4800 performance, or burning up the house trying to do so, rendering Nvidia AOT efforts to improve battery life useless.

    – Nvidia’s Advanced Optimus Technology not working properly as intended from scratch. First years of Optimus Tech were a pain, and still not flawless after 10 years of development, imho. This also thanks to Windows.

    – Drivers, in general, and linux drivers, in particular. Nvidia hasn't delivered a proper Optimus linux driver yet, so I don't think they will this time either. So, Linux users would probably end up having to use the single GPU proprietary driver (again), and discard all that AO Tech, at least for quite a while.

    Anyhow, since I'm seriously thinking about buying one of these, I hope we have news soon!

    Thanks again for keeping us updated.

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 3, 2020 at 6:52 pm

      Thanks for commenting.

      1. No info on the release date so far.
      2. AX Wireless, TB3, HDMI 2.0b, 64 GB should be there. A larger battery option would be nice as well, but no details yet.
      2. 3200 MHz might not happen either, so far Asus ar the only ones offering it, 10th gen COre H is 2933 MHz by default.
      3. I'm very curious about this Advanced Optimus as well, and how Nvidia managed to handle adaptive framerate with this generation.

      • J. G.

        April 4, 2020 at 3:09 pm

        "2. 3200 MHz might not happen either, so far Asus ar the only ones offering it, 10th gen COre H is 2933 MHz by default." Are you completely sure of that? ;)

        laptopmedia.com/comparisons/exclusive-intel-core-i5-10300h-vs-core-i5-9300h-10th-gen-intel-core-laptopmedia-first-hands-on/

        The first test between the 9th and 10th generation by Laptopmedia states the memory speed improvement up to 3.200 MHz. And the i5 10300H will probably go to the lowest configuration. And from there on…

        So, I don't see therefore how Lenovo could compete against Asus Ryzen 4800 models, if not by upgrading the ram to 3.200 MHz from scratch. Mainly if motherboards with 10th gen chips will allow it. Don't you think?

        Fingers crossed… :)

    • J. G.

      April 4, 2020 at 4:43 pm

      And just one last wish to the list: one USB-C port with PD Fast charge capabilities, so users don't need to go with the brick everywhere everytime!

      I know it's not common on many gaming laptops, but it really needs to become a standard for regular dayly use, when not hardcore gaming.

      I noticed also on your review of the Asus A15 your complaint about the AC adapter size (Is it changed from the FX505?). But I think the one from Y540 is even bigger and heavier. Is there any ac adapter comparison sheet anywhere, like to those 230 W adapters from MSI GS65 or Razer Blade series?

      Also, I don't quite understand how the last MSI GS95 9SD managed to deal with a i5-i7 H processor + a 1660 ti GPU with just an 180 W Slim adapter, while others need one of 230W:

      https://www.msi.com/Laptop/GS65-Stealth-9SX-GTX/Specification

      Any thoughts?

      • Andrei Girbea

        April 4, 2020 at 7:22 pm

        180W chargers can normally deal with that sort of hardware, with CPU + GPU at around 115W in complex loads. 230W are usually used for higher than 80W graphics. I don't have a comparison between the power bricks OEMs put in their laptops, but the size and weight is mentioned in our reviews

  2. J. G.

    April 3, 2020 at 7:07 pm

    And… first Santa surprise unveiled on the internet: Nose-cam is gone! Webcam above the screen is back :)

  3. J. G.

    April 3, 2020 at 8:34 pm

    Sorry, I forgot to past a source link:

    https://techbox.dennikn.sk/herna-seria-lenovo-legion-sa-rozsiruje-o-modely-7i-a-5i-s-najnovsim-hardverom/

    https://www.technopat.net/2020/04/02/lenovo-10-nesil-intel-islemcili-7i-ve-5i-laptoplari-duyurdu/

    From what it seems, both models get subtle RGB keys, proper upper webcam and lift grip, but different chasis colours (?). They look quite refined coming from the previous versions, imho.

    I thought also about the upper cam option from the very moment I found the lift grip on the first back photo you posted, since something like that protruding from the soft lines would probably mean they used it to finally fit the webcam after all the (fair) criticism.

    Also the 7i recovers the numeric pad, which wasn't on the y740. Only the arrow keys displacement looks a bit strange to me, doens't seem necessary at all and I don't know if it has some practical reason (?).

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 3, 2020 at 8:44 pm

      Thanks! I'll update the post as well. I wasn't given access to these pictures. I like this keyboard layout

      • D. Moody

        April 11, 2020 at 10:23 pm

        I personally really like the new keyboard layout. Thumbs Up Lenovo.

  4. J. G.

    April 7, 2020 at 12:44 am

    Well, here some more leaks :)

    Different processor, same body… Here the extended photocall from the 5i on Ryzen 7 4800H (!)

    https://www.amazon.ca/Lenovo-82B5001YUS-Legion-5-Y550-15ARH/dp/B0862Y2C9K/

    (Interesting to see the colour/keyboard/chasis difference from the 7i model above, being the 5i much more sober)

    Also leaked some specs and improvements, probably applied both to Intel and AMD models:

    – Improved cooling, slight change to rubber feet

    – x2 PCIe/NVMe slots instead of x1

    – Smaller 230W charger

    – Optional large battery (80+Wh?)

    – Surface material no longer easily attract fingerprints (Still plastic, for what it seems)

    (Jeez, Santa was listening…)

    Sources:

    https://mylaptopguide.com/lenovo-legion-5-y550-15arh-ryzen-7-4800h-leaked/

    https://www.notebookcheck.net/Lenovo-to-soon-introduce-AMD-Ryzen-4000-Legion-gaming-laptops.459797.0.html

    Engineering sample leak: https://linustechtips.com/main/profile/456522-genexis_x/?status=259992&type=status

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 7, 2020 at 10:38 am

      Thanks much, you're doing an awesome job digging info about these notebooks.

      I've seen those Y7000 mockups but was under the impression that's just the AMD update, but perhaps the same chassis is used on both Intel and AMD Y550 models.

      Based on those Amazon CA listing, the Y550 looks like made out of plastic. I'm really curious about the thermal module and specs, but I wouldn't expect the AMD version to get more than RTX 2060 graphics.

      • J. G.

        April 15, 2020 at 12:49 am

        You're welcome, happy to help :)

        Hereby a teaser just released on the Legion channel: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6D3Uffah2Kg

        It seems all these new siblings will be available this Spring, in theory. If so, I hope there will be more specs by the end of this month, if not an official presentation.

  5. Andrei Girbea

    April 16, 2020 at 4:48 pm

    For everyone following, I've updated the article with a bunch of new information based on Lenovo's press release today.

  6. Aastra

    April 16, 2020 at 7:31 pm

    AMD version of legion 5 also gets upto RTX 2060 gpu. check the lenovo newsroom.

  7. Leo Swift

    April 17, 2020 at 11:02 pm

    Hey guys! Didn't Lenovo during their first press release ( April 2nd ) mention their 7i with a rtx 2070 to start at 1199 USD? But in their recent release their stating it starts at 1599?? Why is there a sudden price bump of 400 USD? Also will the 5i still come with a rtx 2060 for 999usd or is that changing too?
    Also is 5pi version available in USA? I don't want to go for the plastic build of the 5i.. and what's the price of the 5pi?

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 18, 2020 at 11:08 am

      Indeed. I'll try to get more details about their pricing, but I don't think that 2070 was ever supposed to go for $1199. More likely they were planning to include a 2060 model at $1199, and decided to just go with 2070 and up, hence the price jump.

      No idea on the RTX 2060 5i, but again, that sounds rather low. I know Nvidia aim at $999 for 2060 laptops this generation, but once you add up more ram, storage and a decent screen, the price would probably ramp to 1100-1200 on these new units.

      I've asked Lenovo a couple of clarifications on a couple of different aspects, including what's up with the 5Pi, I still can't tell for sure if it's metal or plastic just like the standard 5i. Haven't yet heard back from them yet.

      • M.C.

        April 20, 2020 at 9:41 am

        Are you able to also get clarification as to whether Lenovo has any plans to release a 17 inch version of the Legion 7 at some point? It seems odd that they would only offer 17 inches in the lower spec Legion 5, especially since the Y740 had a 17 inch variant.

        • Andrei Girbea

          April 20, 2020 at 10:43 am

          Not yet, but as far as I can tell, looks like there's no 17-inch legion 7 for now. Will update when I know more

  8. Leo Swift

    April 18, 2020 at 12:39 pm

    Maybe the 7i with rtx will not be available for 1199.. but can we expect a 7i with a rtx 2060 at that price point?

    Also there is a rumour that there is also a 5p (amd version) is it in the works? And maybe launched later this year? Thanks for the reply! I would really grab the 5p if it comes with a amd CPU and maybe a rtx 2060 GPU.

    Also r these graphics in these new ones? The one with greater wattage ? Like didn't Nvidia say that their rtx 2060 and rtx 2070 graphics will have more wattage limit.. around 115w ? So does the 5i come with a rtx 2060 with 115w or the previous one?

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 18, 2020 at 1:42 pm

      Idk, Lenovo didn't share many of these details and don't seem eager to, so we'll probably have to wait for the configurations to be available in stores in May.

      I have high expectations from the AMD version of the Legion 5, but I'm afraid they're going to gimp it at with a crappy screen, just like all the others right now.

      Also, there's no 115W 2060. 2060 goes up to 90W, 2070 goes up to 115W as far as I know. I'm not aware of a wattage increase, and actually cooling a 115W GPU would be very difficult. The ROG Scar III, the MSI GE65 Raider and some Clevo/Tongfang barebones were amongst the very few that could do it properly so far, and there's no way a Legion 5 level product would be able to.

  9. Leo Swift

    April 18, 2020 at 4:23 pm

    Btw do you have any ideas if there will be a new Helios predator 300? Like with the latest intel chips or maybe even amd? Any idea on it? Because there is no news on it.. and it is one of their best selling laptops..

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 18, 2020 at 8:00 pm

      No news for now, but I'd reckon there will be an update. Shouldn't matter though, 10750 and 9750 are pretty much the same, so the best you could expect is perhaps a 240 Hz screen.

  10. Leo Swift

    April 18, 2020 at 8:14 pm

    Ok cool.. well a 240 Hz screen is pretty much useless.. I won't be getting such fps in games I play with a 2060.. so yeap

  11. Faye

    April 19, 2020 at 5:00 pm

    Did they really go from side firing speakers to down firing on the 7i? What a shame

    • Moonfrog

      April 25, 2020 at 3:28 am

      Actually the 17 inch laptop speakers are placed between the keyboard and screen facing upwards . We can only hope the sound is good . Fingers crossed !

      • Moonfrog

        May 4, 2020 at 6:43 pm

        Correction : Legion 7 speakers are between keyboard and screen but sadly the Legion 5 and 5i are placed under as in previous models ! 17" model is the 5i so speakers are under .

        • Andrei Girbea

          May 5, 2020 at 10:38 am

          partially. As far I can tell, the mains speakers are still on the bottom, with an extra set of tweeters above the keyboard.

  12. Nitti

    April 22, 2020 at 9:27 am

    Is the 80Wh battery going to be available on the 15inch 5 and 5i models? It shows on their official site "up to 80Wh", but some sources seem to show that it'll only be available on the 17inch model. Battery life is kinda the deal breaker for me when it comes to Legion devices.

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 22, 2020 at 12:28 pm

      I don't know, as far as I understand, there might be an 80 Wh version for the 15-inch 5i, but only 60Wh for the AMD Based Legion 5. I've asked Lenovo for clarification but never heard back from them.

      • Andrei Girbea

        April 22, 2020 at 3:12 pm

        For everyone following, I got some replies back from Lenovo:

        1. There's won't be a 17-inch Legion 7i, just a 15-inch model
        2. AMD based Legion 5 tops at 1650Ti GPU in North America. Other regions might get higher tier graphics
        3. There's only a 60 Wh battery + 2.5" HDD bay model available for the Legion 5i in the US
        4. Legion 5P won't be available in North America

        • Nitti

          April 22, 2020 at 4:10 pm

          I see, bit of a shame. What about the Asian region for no.3? The datasheet provided by them seemed to state the exact opposite for the 5, but I guess it's not that reliable now.

          • Andrei Girbea

            April 22, 2020 at 4:25 pm

            As far as I understand, the AMD Legion 5 only gets the 60Wh battery, but the Intel Legion 5Pi might be available with an 80Wh configuration and no HDD. Availability is going to vary between regions, so idk about Asia.

        • M.C.

          April 22, 2020 at 8:04 pm

          Thanks for the update. It seems absurd that they would only offer 17 inches in the non-flgship, lower-spec model. Maybe the 17 inch y740 did not sell well compared to the 15 inch.

    • J. G.

      April 23, 2020 at 3:55 am

      Here my 2 cents about battery life on the Legion series.

      Once you switch to the hybrid graphic configuration, update all drivers, choose the right battery profile on both Lenovo Vantage and Windows 10 (with passive cooling), properly undervolt the CPU, lower both TPL Turbo Max Powers, and underclock the CPU (yes, last CPU generations have too much turbo frecuency for battery use)… you will see how the unplugged runtime does double compared to stock performance.

      I've reached up to 6 hours with light work (websurfing/docs) and good brightness on one battery charge. Through iddle periods you can reach even more.

      People tend to forget that these 'multimedia' animals are much more capable than regular multimedia laptops, but you don't need all the power just to run simple tasks, and for sure not while on battery.

      At the end heavy workload/gaming is meant to happen while being plugged, because the battery is not made for that. Of course that 80 Wh battery would make it even a better deal, but I'm personally surprised about what can you achieve (if properly configured) with the 57 Wh former battery (new versions get 60 Wh) on the Y-series.

      So I think battery life is a bit more about the way people really know and use their modern laptops. And stock settings are the ones many times ruining the experience for unexperienced users, not the real laptop capabilities.

      Anyhow, I also hope to see a 5Pi model with the 80 Wh option and no HDD bay. I think many people would go for it. But if battery life is what people want, we will see how those high refresh panels really handle unplugged runtime with the Advanced Optimus Technology. Also if there's the option to properly lower to 60 MHz rate on battery without ghosting, because high frecuency screens eat battery really quick.

      I would wait for proper reviews before choosing any new model. Early technology adoption hasn't left a positive trail behind in the past. Let's all pray for good and quick drivers.

      • Andrei Girbea

        April 23, 2020 at 11:00 am

        Yep, I totally agree with what you're saying, but I also consider the OEMs should provide a proper Power Profile that does most of these things automatically. Most people won't bother with these tweaks, especially underclock and lower Power limits, and will complain about the limited battery life.

        • J. G.

          April 24, 2020 at 12:32 pm

          You're right about OEM's stock configurations. But it seems this time Lenovo was also listening:

          https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hPsBaFyMN6o

          On the 7i official presentation, you can see at 1:42 an updated Lenovo Vantage advance offset clocking (+/-?) option for both cpu and memory, to aid with performance battery/modes.

          I would expect that update to be available on all models (old and new), not only on the 5i/7i. But it hasn't reached 2019 models yet. I guess they will wait for 5i/7i to be available at shops to present it as a new model feature first. But it's an step in the right direction nonetheless.

          I agree for most people it's a hassle to go through all the options and get it right, even as an experienced/tech user you can go totally nuts sometimes, with companies often pulling their own parallel software and multiplying configurations, which again drains resources, performance, stability and battery life.

          (In that sense, Windows 10 is a mess, while I found my dualboot linux system to run cooler, longer, and much more silent on battery for the same light work usage, AND impressevely (+/-) on par while cooler on same utra gaming settings through ProtondB Steam Play for the exact same Windows games.

          This has to do with Nvidia-Intel just releasing their own propietary hybrid-prime drivers for RTX cards on linux, with a brand new Energy Management System. The simplicity and efficienty of it (from stock) surpasses the actual W10 (tweaked) configurations. But that would be something for another article)

          Truth is Intel/AMD/Nvidia/OEM's/System configurations need to be combined, simplified, balanced and made user friendly in one, and only one, simple panel. That should be their main goal, having all their own logo on it and be happy with it. I mean, what's the point of delivering all those hardware/software parts together in one portable device, if at the end they don't properly work together as one?

        • J. G.

          April 24, 2020 at 12:33 pm

          But anyhow, until that beautiful day arrives, here something fun to watch: a first (basic) unboxing comparative video between 5i AMD (15), 5i Intel (17), 7i, and 740Si models, released just 2 days ago.

          https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TyglncxkdAQ

          Some design details are revealed, as the variable profile on the sides compared to previous iterations, apart from colours, lights and plastic/aluminium materials.

          Please do also notice that when these two nice COVID-concious gentlemen show off the redesigned Slim AC Adapter (at 16:45), they are comparing the new 170 W adapter to an 'old' 230 W (!), which doesn't make any sense as a comparision.

          But which also means two important things:

          – First, that those two are having so much fun together that they even forgot to read the big letters on top of the adapters! :)

          – And second and more important, that even the most powerful 7i i9-RTX 2080 model will be shipped with an 170W slim adapter (!!). And I guess also all the models below (could be something to question Lenovo about?)

          If true, I hope those new AC adapters are backwards compatible with former Y-serie models (connector wise), since just by tweaking any model you end up dropping the maximun wattage consumption under 150 W, again without loosing any performance, rendering the 230W brick as an oversized unnecessary companion.

          And for those still unawere and willing to improve their laptop experience, here two helpful guides on the house in case you missed them :)

          https://www.ultrabookreview.com/10156-how-to-tweak-your-laptop-p1/

          https://www.ultrabookreview.com/10167-laptop-undervolting-overcloking/

  13. Aastra

    April 24, 2020 at 6:42 am

    sir, got the specs of legion 5 from lenovo website Singapore says upto RTX 2060, 144hz or 240hz upto 100% color gamut with upto 80w battery. here is the link https://www.lenovo.com/sg/en/laptops/legion/legion-5-series/Lenovo-Legion-5-15ARH05/p/88GMY501444

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 24, 2020 at 10:26 am

      Interesting. Thanks, I'll update the article, looks like they'll have different versions around the world.

  14. Aastra

    April 24, 2020 at 6:49 am

  15. Leo Swift

    April 24, 2020 at 7:19 am

    No.4, you there won't be any 5p in USA.. is the amd version of the 5pi or did u misspell? Also what's the difference between 5i and 5pi.
    Does the 5pi have a metallic build?

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 24, 2020 at 10:27 am

      I meant the 5Pi, that won't be available in the US. I still can't tell for sure what are the differences, haven't been given a clear answer. that might have a metallic lid, but I'm more and more inclined to think it's just a higher-tier configuration with better graphics and the 80Wh battery.

  16. Leo Swift

    April 24, 2020 at 7:25 am

    Also guys, is it true you cannot undervolt the amd r7 4800H CPU and the new intel 10th gen CPUs? Vendors like MSI and aorus are not allowing the CPUs to be undervolted.. is it true for all or just certain vendors?

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 24, 2020 at 10:29 am

      there's no way to undervolt AMD for now. However, some of the Intel 10th gen can be undervolted, I'm working on a review unit right now and allows undervolting, but most OEMs will probably block it due to Plundervolt.

      • J. G.

        April 24, 2020 at 1:15 pm

        AS of today, just to confirm Lenovo hasn't block undervolting (yet) on their last 36WW bios (for Coffee Lake processors at least), unlike Dell and MSI are doing:

        https://www.ultrabookreview.com/37095-dells-disabling-undervolting-on-their-laptops-heres-how-to-re-enable-it/

        Undervolting is an essential feauture also for Y-series models to run properly on all energy/performance profiles.

        I would keep an eye on any new Lenovo bios-update release notes, and pre-disable just-in-case any bios auto-update/uefi features till this Plundervolt issue gets clarified and properly solved.

  17. J. G.

    April 24, 2020 at 3:18 pm

    Just a last side note on UEFI Bios feature: Battery Conservation Mode, which is an option on Lenovo Vantage panel (preventing battery to charge more than 60% while plugged and extending its lifespan) has been a in-Windows feature for a long time. Many OEM's allow this feature to be turned on/off from the Bios, but not Lenovo.

    Dualboot Y-series users have looked on former versions for a way to make this feature, since it cannot be enabled through TDP Unix software, to stick on Bios settings through multiple reboots/suspend/power-off iterations without any luck (only simple one-reboot sequence would stick).

    Well, I'm happy to report for all Y-Series fans that with the last 36WW Bios version, this feature from the Lenovo Vantage panel DOES actually stick through all dual-boot sesions. Which means now it's properly saved as a BIOS configuration even if it's not possible to change it from the BIOS itself.

    This opens the door to other Lenovo Vantage features to be saved on Bios, and eventually any upcoming CPU/Memory Overclock (UC also?) feature on the next Bios versions, which is quite atractive to see. Practically adding all this lifespan-performance features for any boot sequence, even if you always need to change configurations first from a Windows boot.

    Of course it would be better if those values were also to be changed directly from the BIOS, mainly for system-free models (which you can always order from the Lenovo website), but at least this is a good step forward.

    Some exceptions though:

    1- As everyone knows, XTU/ThrottleStop undervolt values don't stick through dual-boot. Still Unix tools, even with some Electron multiplatform versions, are really easy to use and configure on boot.

    I doubt Lenovo Vantage, even more with the actual Plundervolt issue, will include a proper undervolt feature in the future, but it would be the right thing to do. With its own stress/stability auto-testing option on first run, so the system itself could recommend users which values to use for each battery/performance profile. And then to save it on the Bios config file so it also sticks through dual-boot. We'll keep dreaming

    2- This just for dualboot Unix/Linux users on Y-series. By running some configuration commands to access energy features and readings, the BIOS config file from Lenovo Vantage could be reseted and reverted to the factory state. If that happens you will see your system charging the battery to 100% again. Just need to go back to Windows, choose the Conservation Mode again and reboot. It will stick again.

  18. J. G.

    May 4, 2020 at 10:16 pm

    More 7i videos:

    Close Hands-on and gaming test unit i9-RTX 2080: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xHv2JIU3VVw (Cyrillic mode on :)

    Switch-mode fancy: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ingVNU_Gz6o (I'd hope Lenovo to bring back Fn+Q full fan control though)

  19. Sieg

    May 9, 2020 at 7:09 pm

    Do we have an approximate release time-frame for Europe?

  20. nitti

    May 11, 2020 at 6:41 pm

    Does Nvidia Optimus completely shut off the dGPU or does it just put it in some sort of idle state when not in use? i.e. Would an RTX2060 still pull more power than a GTX1650 if unused at all with Optimus on (=worse battery life on productive work)?

    • J.G.

      May 12, 2020 at 3:05 pm

      Whenever Optimus uses the iGPU, any dGPU will remain off. There's no power downside from choosing a RTX 2060 from a GTX1650 in those situations.

      Whenever Optimus turns to the dGPU, that's another story, power and performance go hand-in-hand. But still, through dGPU undervolt-underclock profiling you can be much more battery efficient with great performance on the go, even if RTX 2060 dGPU is mainly meant for plugged sessions.

      The question remains, what do you really need the computer for.

      • nitti

        May 12, 2020 at 3:12 pm

        Oh cool, not really a gamer but I do need a good dGPU for the occasional content creation work. Was thinking of going for the 1650Ti on the legion if it actually does consume less power than a 1660Ti/2060 when unused with Optimus on. But if the dGPUs actually get shut off then I guess I’ll just go for the better one since I’ll only be using them when plugged in. Battery life is still a huge deciding factor for me.

  21. J.G.

    May 12, 2020 at 4:04 pm

    Well, if battery life is your main concern, and occasional content creation work, then the i5 / 1650 (Ti) configuration would be the most efficient-for-the-buck for you. Also, even with Optimus on, 9th/10th generation i5/i7 processors are too powerful/power hungry from stock settings for daily normal use, so in order to get the best out of them and their battery life you'll need some tweaks:

    https://www.ultrabookreview.com/10156-how-to-tweak-your-laptop-p1/

    https://www.ultrabookreview.com/10167-laptop-undervolting-overcloking/

    Voltage+Clock+Heat+System+FanSpeed+Sound configurations will make the real difference between a great or a bad experience with these multimedia laptops. It won't surely happen from stock settings.

    • nitti

      May 12, 2020 at 8:38 pm

      I’ve noticed so on my previous laptop that has an i7-9750h. Even with Optimus on it was barely getting through 3-4 hours on low load. But I’ll be going with AMD this time. Most probably the Ryzen 7 for its multi-core performance which is useful for my workload. Don’t think there’ll be an undervolting option for it though, just gonna hope it’s not as power hungry as their intel counterparts.

      • J.G.

        May 13, 2020 at 12:22 am

        About the heat/power consumption on the AMD Ryzen 7 series, I would check first on the existing reviews on some ASUS models, like: https://www.ultrabookreview.com/36108-asus-tuf-gaming-fa506iv-review/

        … or wait for a proper review on a AMD Legion 5 before purchasing. You cannot undervolt AMD processors (yet). I don't know either about on-battery underclocking profiles on those models, but no doubt the Ryzen 7 (plugged) performance is great.

        • nitti

          May 13, 2020 at 10:04 am

          Cool, thanks! They seem to do alright on TUF from what I've just read, at least based on my expectations. Can Lenovo just release the Legion lineup already?? lol

          • J.G.

            May 13, 2020 at 12:07 pm

            Lenovo has just added the AMD 5 models on https://psref.lenovo.com/ with 'AR' code (Intel models are referred as IM)

            Here the whole serie line: https://psref.lenovo.com/Product/Legion/Lenovo_Legion_5_15ARH05

            Please be aware that not all models will be available for all regions. For what you mentioned this would be the model which would suit you best:

            https://psref.lenovo.com/Detail/Legion/Lenovo_Legion_5_15ARH05?M=82B50043UK (R7/1650ti/16Gb/80W). But this precise model will be at first only in Europe and Russia available.

            For what it looks like, Intel models are already listed in shops in Europe (no price/release date yet, but expect June), so could be the AMD ones will come a bit later. Also, make sure you check the model codes for exact specifications since shops many times display wrong information on websites. Warranty on specs can only be claimed based on model ref codes, not typo mistakes.

            Also, avoid 250 nits/120 Hz/45% Gamut screens. They sound like those cheap dimmed ASUS TUF ones, which are terrible both for work and/or gaming. For productivity+battery life go for the 300 nits/60 Hz/100% Gamut screens, since low refresh rate panels consume less battery. For high FPS gaming go for the 144HZ screen then.

            The new Advance Optimus Tech should in theory deal with the battery drain on 144 Hz pannels, but still it has not yet been reviewed. Also, it would need to allow reducing the refresh rate to 60 Hz without ghosting while on battery. We'll see if that's true.

  22. nitti

    May 14, 2020 at 7:49 am

    Yep, I'm aware of the trashy 120Hz screen. I think I'll wait out for the 1660Ti model, it is still a much much better performer than the 1650/1650Ti. Unless they decide to keep the old beefy 230W brick with it lol

    • J.G.

      May 14, 2020 at 12:43 pm

      For what it seems, Legion 5 AMD models will only go up to 1650Ti: https://www.lenovo.com/us/en/laptops/legion-laptops/legion-5-series/Lenovo-Legion-5-15ARH05/p/82B5CTO1WWENUS0/customize?

      1660Ti/RTX 2060 will only be for 5i(Intel) models, and yes, with the 230W brick: https://www.lenovo.com/us/en/laptops/legion-laptops/legion-5-series/Legion-5i-15/p/81Y6CTO1WWENUS0/customize?

      Odd move from Lenovo, but you'll probably have to choose between a R5-R7/1650-1650Ti or a i5-i7/1650-1650Ti-1660Ti-RTX2060 configuration.

      If you mainly want to do (content creation) work, the 1650Ti card would still be a better option. It's an updated Turing generation with less power requirement (50-80W), enough power even for decent gaming, and what's more important in your case, more power efficient than the 1660 Ti.

      So even on-battery sesions with Optimus on, you could eventually do certain graphical tasks with dGPU with a better power/performance balance, getting a longer run on-the-go. Otherwise with a 1660Ti, you better stick to the iGPU on battery sessions.

      Put it this way, you don't need a race horse to do a run through the park. He'll probably power/thermal throttle before the first 'lap', and bottleneck against your CPU performance profile. This unless you do undervolt/underclock your dGPU for those sessions too.

      On the other hand, you never know with Lenovo. They stated at first certain specs for each model, now it looks they are mixing all configurations. Who knows, could be they'll even bring AMD models up to RTX 2060 at one point. We'll see.

      • Andrei Girbea

        May 14, 2020 at 12:47 pm

        1650Ti is 50W only, the single important update is the GDDR6 support. It's also a significant step-down from the 1660Ti, I've tested it in the TUF A17 chassis, you can find the review here on the site. It's also totally unbalanced compared to the AMD processors.

        I'm disappointed with this move tbh, and I'm seeing the same 1650ti cap from other OEMs. Looks like that TUF A15 is going to remain the most powerful AMD model by a far margin.

        • J.G.

          May 14, 2020 at 1:42 pm

          Thanks for the clarification. I thought the 1650ti mobile could go up to 80W (source: https://www.notebookcheck.net/NVIDIA-GeForce-GTX-1650-Ti-Mobile-GPU-Benchmarks-and-Specs.452628.0.html)

          I haven't read your TUF A17 review completely (you mean this one?: https://www.ultrabookreview.com/36114-asus-tuf-gaming-fa706ii-review/). Still, you also state both ideas, not the best combo but still a decent gaming base and even posibly a good matching combo for some user requirements.

          Don't you think a R5 4600H/1650Ti combo will have a better balance on the AMD option, since it will bottleneck far less than with a R7 4800H?

          Also, even if you cannot undervolt AMD CPU's yet, could you still underclock them and lower temps, power drain and reduce bottleneck all at once? I'm curious if Lenovo will allow this or not (from the Lenovo Vantage App or from the bios itself) as Asus seems to do (source: https://community.amd.com/thread/235978)

          And about this move from Lenovo, do you think it has to do with Intel itself? Since it looks like AMD got some sort of agreement with Asus, could be Intel is looking for deals with other brands to keep their market position on high-tier/gaming models till they find a way to match the new Ryzen series?

          Also I don't undertand the Asus TUF combo AMD R7+RTX2060+BadScreen(??!). Why on earth not a good quality 300nits-60Hz low tier model and a 300 nits-144 Hz high tier model? Even getting the prize for "Most Powerful AMD" model, I think many people are going to choose the Helios 300 only because of the screen and the temperatures, as also stated in your comparision.

          • Andrei Girbea

            May 14, 2020 at 5:15 pm

            Sure, R5 + 1650Ti is closer than r7 + 1650Ti, but imo the R5 pairs better with a 1660Ti imo.

            Yeah, I don't get why Asus went with that panel on the TUF A15 either. Probably they don't' want to cannibalize the ROG G Intel Series.

      • J.G.

        May 16, 2020 at 12:04 am

        Well,well… Wouldn't you know it… not so crazy as it looked :)

        https://www.lenovo.com/nl/nl/laptops/legion-laptops/legion-5-series/Lenovo-Legion-5-15ARH05/p/88GMY501444

        I really hope this is true and not just a typo mistake, but the Dutch Lenovo site just published the AMD 5 series on their website, with the specs at the end of the page stating the following:

        "Grafische kaart:

        GTX1650, GTX1650Ti.
        GTX1660Ti en RTX2060 beschikbaar in de tweede helft van 2020."

        Which means, if true, that AMD models will be also shipped with GTX1660/RTX2060 dGPUs in the second half of this year. Hopefully for several regions, but from what it seems at least in Europe.

        Kudo's to Lenovo, for hiding eastern eggs everywhere :)

  23. J.G.

    May 21, 2020 at 12:54 pm

    Since yesterday first models are available from two official resellers in Europe, up to the Legion 7-RTX 2080 Super:

    https://tweakers.net/pricewatch/compare/1559234;1559688;1559686;1559692;1559696/ (The Netherlands)

    Prices are steep, though. Basic model 5 (1660ti/i7/120 Hz/60W) 'starts' at 1250 euros (reseller's pictures/specs are not yet updated, but the psref model number checks and it says it can be shipped within 48 hours)

    Also, a basic AMD 5 model appeared (for 900 euros) on Amazon.de: https://www.amazon.de/Lenovo-Notebook-GeForce-Windows-schwarz/dp/B088MB2DMZ/ref=sr_1_3?__mk_de_DE=%C3%85M%C3%85%C5%BD%C3%95%C3%91&dchild=1&keywords=lenovo+legion+5&qid=1590052970&sr=8-3

    I guess many retailers will be updating their websites right now, so hopefully more models will be available before the end of the month.

    But comming from Nvidia's RTX-laptop-under-the-$1000-mark announcement, I wonder which brands/models/countries (if any) will be able to meet those high expectations:

    https://www.nvidia.com/en-us/geforce/news/geforce-rtx-super-laptops/

    Unless they meant "Only in China": https://www.notebookcheck.net/AMD-Ryzen-7-4800H-laptops-with-RTX-2060-being-sold-in-China-right-now-at-under-US-1000-priced-to-compete-with-Intel-9th-gen-i5s.459265.0.html

    Trolling apart, I guess the Covid-19 pandemic has also had a serious influence on prices around the globe, so we'll have to postpone that gold-medal price mark also to 2021, together with the Olympics :)

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 21, 2020 at 1:42 pm

      It's out of stock on Amazon, I was thinking about ordering it.

      I'm pretty sure we'll see RTX 2060 under $1000, we even had some last year with occasional discounts. But expect that in lower-tier laptops such as the Nitro 5, GF65 from Amazon and perhaps this Legion 5.

  24. J.G.

    May 21, 2020 at 2:58 pm

    I've also seen bargains on sale, 'old' 2019 last standing/showroom models, or just returned-but-still-perfectly-fine/refurbished products thorugh a sub-retailer.

    But I expected, when they stated "starting from $999", a brand-new retail model/price from scratch. I think that's what many people had in mind when they read:

    …"This is our biggest launch of GeForce laptops ever — over 100 designs from every major OEM — and they’ll be starting at an attractive price of just $699 for GeForce GTX models and $999 for GeForce RTX models"…

    That would mean, from some brands a basic new 2020 model on rtx specs, like an Asus A15 or a Lenovo 5.

    But from Lenovo US website, which has just enabled its configuration models on 5-7 series, doesn't seem like that:

    7i: https://www.lenovo.com/us/en/laptops/legion-laptops/legion-7-series/Lenovo-Legion-7/p/81YTCTO1WWENUS0/customize? (basic RTX 2060 option + 144 Hz screen from $1380, which is not that bad at all)

    5Pi: https://www.lenovo.com/us/en/laptops/legion-laptops/legion-5-series/Legion-5i-15/p/81Y6CTO1WWENUS0/customize? (basic RTX 2060 option + 120Hz/45%G screen from $1320… what what what!??)

    5i: https://www.lenovo.com/us/en/laptops/legion-laptops/legion-5-series/Legion-5i-15/p/82AUCTO1WWENUS0/customize? (gtx1650 option from $1070, no RTX option, somehow dissapointing)

    From what I see, the 7i model comes as a much much much better deal than the 5Pi for the same price, with aluminium finishing, thunderbolt, weight, screen, etc. And also cheaper for the very same specs, which baffles me!

    (I think this corona virus is giving Lenovo a serious headache at best XD)

    At least now you can get an RXT2060 Y540 with basic specs (but including windows 10 Pro for free) for almost those $999 ($1050 instead), which is not bad at all :)

    https://www.lenovo.com/us/en/laptops/legion-laptops/legion-y-series/Lenovo-Legion-Y540-15/p/81SXCTO1WWENUS0/customize?

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 21, 2020 at 3:09 pm

      Sure, brand new retail model was what I'd expect as well, but not a higher tier model, an i7 configuration or a fast screen. That base Legion 5 is really expensive. Nvidia also claimed that 1650 models were supposed to start at $799.

      COVID surely impacted production and prices, and still does. There might be a while before we'll see those prices on retail products.

      • J.G.

        May 21, 2020 at 3:53 pm

        Base just on that, don't you think right now the retail price for the most basic RTX2060 Legion 7i model (as advertised in the US) is the best deal 'for-the-buck' from the new Legion series?

        I mean, if retailers offer that 7i model soon enough around that price ($1400), and it proves to be as good as it sounds whenever reviewed, I wouldn't see the point then to buy a RTX 5Pi or 5 model (if it ever comes) for a few bucks less but more weight, plastic, no RGB, no thunderbolt 3, etc.

        I know not all models/configurations will be everywhere available, but for those regions getting that very 7i option I think it should be something to consider vs the 5 model. It seems in Europe (for now) only UK will offer it:

        https://psref.lenovo.com/Detail/Legion/Lenovo_Legion_7_15IMH05?M=81YT0001UK

        • Andrei Girbea

          May 21, 2020 at 4:12 pm

          Probably yes, among those Legion versions. But I'm not sure is the best value 2060 option among all the existing ones out there. The screen seems fine, and 16 Gb of RAM and 512 GB for storage, but that i5 for $1400… idk. If it's just a all-rounder and gaming laptop, it should be fine, but an i7 would help in demanding workloads and I still think $1400 is rather expensive for that sort of specs.

  25. mind12

    May 25, 2020 at 10:02 am

    Hi,

    I found on the "psref" site that only the "g" product code includes a G-Sync display. I thought that's standard for this price (ie. Lenovo Legion 7 15IMHg05) :(
    Do you think G-Sync display is a must considering the 144Hz display?

    https://psref.lenovo.com/Product/Legion/Lenovo_Legion_7_15IMHg05

    There is absolutely nothing about Optimus Advanced in the specs, how do we know which models includes it?

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 25, 2020 at 10:45 am

      1. GSync is nice to have, but not a must imo.
      2. that's a good question. I was under the impression that all the legion 7 get Advanced Optimus, but I'm not entirely sure that's the case

    • J. G.

      May 25, 2020 at 11:56 am

      "I found on the "psref" site that only the "g" product code includes a G-Sync display."

      That cannot be right. Source of that?

      All Legion 7 models are meant to have G-Sync panels. If you check on the display specifications underneath from the link you provided: https://psref.lenovo.com/Product/Legion/Lenovo_Legion_7_15IMHg05

      "Display

      Multi-touchOne of the following, configurable by model:

      15.6" (396mm) FHD (1920×1080), anti-glare, LED backlight, IPS, 300 nits, 16:9 aspect ratio, 100% sRGB gamut, refresh rate 144Hz, G-Sync

      15.6" (396mm) FHD (1920×1080), anti-glare, LED backlight, IPS, 500 nits, 16:9 aspect ratio, 100% Adobe RGB gamut, refresh rate 144Hz, DisplayHDR400, Dolby Vision, G-Sync"

      You see both 300 and 500 nits pannels with G-Sync. But on that very 15IMHg05 page, there are only 500 nits models, all with the 'low' tier RTX2060/144Hz option.

      Now, if you check on the display specs on the 15IMH05 models: https://psref.lenovo.com/Product/Legion/Lenovo_Legion_7_15IMH05

      "Display

      One of the following, configurable by model:

      15.6" (396mm) FHD (1920×1080), anti-glare, LED backlight, IPS, 300 nits, 16:9 aspect ratio, 100% sRGB gamut, refresh rate 144Hz

      15.6" (396mm) FHD (1920×1080), anti-glare, LED backlight, IPS, 500 nits, 16:9 aspect ratio, 100% Adobe RGB gamut, refresh rate 144Hz, DisplayHDR400, Dolby Vision

      15.6" (396mm) FHD (1920×1080), anti-glare, LED backlight, IPS, 500 nits, 16:9 aspect ratio, 100% sRGB gamut, refresh rate 240Hz, DisplayHDR400, Dolby Vision"

      There you find all available pannels for all models, which you can configure up to the RTX 2080 Super card. The G-Sync specs is indeed missing, but it must surely be a typo mistake.

      Also, a bit further you find: "Battery / Max battery life: 6 hr (G-sync mode) or 8 hr (hybrid mode)"

      Apart from that, It would be just crazy for the low end RTX2060 models with 300nits/144Hz to get a G-Sync pannel, while the high end RTX2080 Super models with 500nits/240Hz get a non-G-Sync pannel, not even an option model whatsoever. No way.

      So you will probably get G-Sync in any Legion 7 model. This unless Lenovo starts shipping at one point even lower-end 7i models to make them more market-competitive, which I doubt seeing between all those priced 5(Pi) ones in no man's land.

      But anyhow, the G-Sync option, as an option, is always a good thing, whether you switch it on/off on the Bios/Lenovo Vantage app (if that options remains available), or whether is properly managed with the yet to be tested Optimus Advanced Tech. Both ways, you'll get it.

      The main difference on those pannels though, besides refresh rates and brightness, is that only the 500 nits pannels will get DisplayHDR400 certification. Whether that extra level of brightness / display quality is important or even necessary in your case, would depend on what do you want the laptop for.

      But again, I would wait for those models to be properly tested before choosing one or the other.

      • mind12

        May 25, 2020 at 3:05 pm

        If it's just a typo I dont get what that "g" in the product ID stands for. We will see.
        Based on this official facebook post's article both Legion 5 and 7 will get Nvidia Optimus Advanced.
        https://www.facebook.com/LenovoLegion/posts/2637698956446468

        "The feature draws on physical components of your dedicated Nvidia graphics card to intuitively detect which of your system’s graphics sources is best-suited to power the application open on your screen. This feature is available on the Legion 5 as well."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *