Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We do not collect your personal data.  I agree  Find out more  About cookies

Gigabyte Aero 15 XB review (2020 model – OLED, i7-10875H, RTX 2070 Super)

11 Comments

  1. Geoff

    June 19, 2020 at 7:02 pm

    How does flicker from OLED differ from flicker from LCD? Just in frequency?

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 19, 2020 at 7:13 pm

      I'm definitely no expert on this matter, but as per my experience, the difference is primarily the way this is perceived. This thread might help, including some of the links over there: https://arstechnica.com/civis/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=1463525

      Technically, OLED flickers across the entire brightness range and at low frequency, the kind that would be very annoying and immediately noticeable on an LCD screen with the same sort of flickr. However, I'm just fine using OLEDs on my phone and my TV, and haven't perceived any flickering on the OLED laptops that I've tried. I'd be curious on other opinions, especially from someone more sensitive to this stuff.

      • Geoff

        June 28, 2020 at 1:10 am

        That's interesting. I'm very sensitive to flicker of any kind. I've tried the OLED viewfinder on my mirrorless camera and it seemed to bother me a great deal. It also flickers at 60 Hz. I noticed a similar effect trying out my mom's AMOLED smartphone.

        • Andrei Girbea

          June 28, 2020 at 10:39 am

          Interesting. I have no issues using my OLED phone and TV, and haven't really noticed flickering during my time with the OLED laptops Iv'e tried over the last years. But as I mentioned, I'm not sensitive to flickering.

        • ABHISHEK KYLASA

          August 1, 2020 at 11:32 pm

          Sensitivity to flickering is definitely a real issue with OLED, but very few people are actually affected.

          Which smartphone in particular? Some smartphones support a DC Dimming option that can largely mitigate flickering. It's an option more companies should implement.

      • Abhishek Kylasa

        August 13, 2020 at 9:55 pm

        Forgot to also note that PWM (Pulse Width Modulation, which is responsible for flickering) generally will not be used at lower brightness levels (Below ~50%). The DC Dimming feature I mentioned only makes a difference when brightness is below 50%. Doesn't affect higher brightness. You shouldn't ever see flickering when a panel is at or near maximum brightness. The concern for sensitive people is that they can't turn down the brightness without being uncomfortable.

        • Andrei Girbea

          August 14, 2020 at 6:47 pm

          Are you sure about that? NBC says that PWM is used for < 80% brightness.

        • Abhishek Kylasa

          August 14, 2020 at 11:26 pm

          The comment was meant to be follow-up for the previous chain, and not specifically for the Aero 15. I don't believe there have been DC Dimming options for Windows laptops though it would be nice.

          The OEM determines when PWM is utilized, and different companies may have very different flickering frequencies and activation thresholds. I said roughly <50% as DC Dimming does not appear to be active above that threshold on my OnePlus 7 Pro. Yeah, it would seem that NoteBookCheck detected 60Hz PWM at <80% for this laptop. Oddly enough, I actually personally use mine at 80-100% brightness the vast majority of the time.

  2. jon

    July 2, 2020 at 4:19 pm

    any chance you'll review the MSI WS66? similar stats as this one, but looks much nicer and NO ONE else has a review of it up.

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 2, 2020 at 4:42 pm

      No, but I'm finishing up the GS66 review soon. As far as I can tell, the WS66 is mostly a GS66 with a silver exterior, different keyboard and a few other slight differences.

  3. ABHISHEK KYLASA

    August 1, 2020 at 11:48 pm

    Other than the task bar (which can be prevented with auto-hide), there probably aren't major burn-in risks for OLED on laptops. Uneven wear is a concern with static content and not so much when use is varied. Also depends on preferred brightness. I generally use 80-100%.

    Just to share my personal experience. Been using my Aero 15 OLED (Late 2019, same chassis as 2020) for around 7 months. Tested with solid color backgrounds for any signs of burn-in. I don't see any issues at all on Red, Green, Blue, Magenta, Cyan, Yellow, and White. On Dark Gray and Light Gray, if I look very closely at the corner of the display I can just barely make out the start button. It's nearly invisible. Since I took no effort to hide it and the button is a solid white surrounded by black, it makes sense that the uneven wear would eventually become more noticeable. Even for this extreme case, it's nearly invisible even after seven months. Just hiding the task bar probably would resolve any possible issues, at least with my panel. I don't expect burn-in risks to be any different than with AMOLED panels on smartphones. Namely, very minimal.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *