Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We do not collect your personal data.  I agree  Find out more  About cookies

ASUS ROG Strix SCAR 17 review (2020 G732LXS model – Core i7/i9, RTX 2080 150W)

45 Comments

  1. Geoff

    June 5, 2020 at 8:47 pm

    Thank you for adding the min. brightness measurement!! It is much appreciated.

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 5, 2020 at 9:10 pm

      Np. I'll try to add it from now on, as long as I don't forget.

  2. ZOD

    June 6, 2020 at 1:01 am

    On your spec sheet you list this being 14+ inches plus wide , is that real?

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 6, 2020 at 9:05 pm

      Mo, that was a mistake. it's 400 mm, and 15.7 inches

  3. Abraham Perez

    June 8, 2020 at 6:53 pm

    hello, love the review, alot of details too, i would love a review of the G732LWS <3

  4. Jay

    June 11, 2020 at 6:46 pm

    How is this model compared to MSI gt76 or the auros 17X with RTX 2080 super, in terms of performance and cooling?

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 11, 2020 at 7:44 pm

      I haven't reviewed either of those, so I don't know. I'd reckon the GT76 should be more powerful, especially in CPU loads, but it's also a bigger/heavier laptop

  5. Jay

    June 11, 2020 at 8:47 pm

    How about compared to the Ge75 with comparable hardware? Will the New Scar 17 out perform that, in terms of cooling and performance?

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 11, 2020 at 8:52 pm

      For the most part, yes, but they're fairly close. This is better built imo, while the GE75 wins at audio.

    • Art

      June 15, 2020 at 4:30 am

      Do you plan on reviewing a S17 in the future? I'm debating on purchasing the Strix Scar 17 or the S17.

      • Andrei Girbea

        June 15, 2020 at 11:07 am

        Not in the near future. However, the S17 is pretty much the 2019 Strix GX701 with updated hardware, so that review should answer most of your questions.

  6. Kristijan

    June 14, 2020 at 10:05 pm

    Hi, great review (as all of them)!

    I can't decide between few options:

    1. Zephyrus S GX502GV (240hz, 16gb, RTX2060, 512gb SSD) ~2000€
    2. Zephyrus M GU502GU (same specs as S but glacier blue color) ~ 1900€ (would need to order outside of my country)
    3. Scar 17 (144hz, i7-10875h, 16gb, RTX2060, 512gb SSD) ~1700€
    4. Scar 17 (300hz, i7-10875h, 32gb, RTX2070, 1TB SSD) ~2600€
    5 Zephyrus g14 (4800h+16gb+1660ti) ~1800€
    5. Wait for zephyrus S15 with 8 i7-10875h ~will be probably 3k+ €

    Last 2 years I was mostly using desktop with ryzen 2700x but decided I will keep on with laptop as it's much easier for me since every few months I am changing my residence (working online). I had Asus N550JV for 7 years (i7-4700HQ) and never had any problems so I am mostly interested in Asus. Not sure about razer's reliability, Gigabyte seems to have coil whine, Alienware is very expensive and bad thermals (?) and for others, I don't like the looks. So atm I am looking and mentioned models. I don't need to buy now but for sure before october.
    I am using laptop for work so reliability is important to me, I can't have laptop dying and me waiting for new one. I use mostly many apps at the same time, don't play games and use one app that uses up to 16 threads but not more then ~20min a day so I guess I could go with 12 thread CPU. Asus N550JV throttles with my everyday work on these apps while Ryzen 2700x had no problems.

    What would you suggest me? I think Scar 17 is best buy athough this cheap version is not the one you reviewed so I am not sure how is the screen or cooling in that cheaper one.. I kinda want premium so I lean towards zephyrus.. GX502 for performance and GU502 for color.
    I am really not sure what to do, hopefully your thoughts might help me.
    Thank you!

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 15, 2020 at 11:04 am

      I'd look into some reviews of the 8Core Scar 17 with RTX 2060f first, it doesn't get the same thermal module as this one here.

      The G14 is also a solid option for multithreaded CPU loads. Despite the small form factor, the AMD platform is miles ahead of Intel's 10th gen Core H.

      If not in a hurry, I'd wait for a few more Ryzen 4000 H options and decide among those around fall. that looks like the ideal platform for your workloads.

      • Kristijan Husko

        June 16, 2020 at 1:05 am

        Thnx for the answer!
        Will there be a video review on your youtube channel as well?

        btw. is this chassis in the same rang quality as 2019 Scar III or more like asus's G series? (If I understood correctly, Scar III was premium for these "gaming" series of Asus while Zehpyrhus is kind of mix gaming/other stuff)

        • Andrei Girbea

          June 16, 2020 at 10:43 am

          We should have a video as well.

          The Zephyrus is the higher tier gaming notebook in a more portable form-factor, and use aluminum/magnesium and some plastic elements. the Strix Scar is the higher-tier performance full-size laptop, but use more plastic than the Zephyrus model. The ROG G is the mid-level series with a mostly plastic build.

  7. CK

    June 15, 2020 at 1:11 am

    Hi Andrei,

    Does this scar17 have the same chassis as the asus g17(2020) version?

    Do you know if the G17 will experience the same thermal throttle problem like this scar17?

    I was going to buy this laptop but thank you for telling me the thermal problem.

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 15, 2020 at 11:05 am

      I haven't tested the Scar G17 yet, but I will in the next few weeks. If you can wait, the review should answer your questions

  8. Jay

    June 15, 2020 at 9:32 pm

    Is there any clue when the Scar 17 will be released in the states?

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 15, 2020 at 10:20 pm

      I've seen some sites such as xoticpc and excaliberpc mentioning July

  9. Jay

    June 19, 2020 at 5:46 pm

    Would you happen to know if the G703GX will get a new refresh with a rtx 2080 super?

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 19, 2020 at 5:50 pm

      No, that's done, this Scar 17 replaces the G703 series for 2020.

  10. hexaae

    June 21, 2020 at 3:52 pm

    For me G-Sync is crucial and my next laptop (currently using ASUS GL703GS) MUST HAVE IT… also because I'm addicted to old emulators running at 50Hz or 54.7Hz (MAME arcade games for example) and g-sync/free-sync are the only tech offering ALWAYS smooth screen refresh also with those old refresh rates.

  11. Jay

    June 21, 2020 at 8:24 pm

    Im trying to choose between this laptop and Aorus 17x with 2080 super and with a i7-10875H.

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 22, 2020 at 11:06 am

      We've reviewed both, although the Aorus in a lower-tier configuration.

  12. Leo

    June 22, 2020 at 8:54 am

    Do you think asus is aware of the design flaw and gonna fix it for retail? Is it enough to raise the back of the laptop or did you raise it at all 4 rubbers?

    Also did you play some games at low setting, eg Fortnite and check fps? Because the screen hits 300hz but kinda pointless if the specs don’t

    Thanks for the review!

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 22, 2020 at 11:07 am

      They can't do anything about it now, we can only hope they'll address it on the next gen. Raising the back is enough.

      I haven't played that can of games, but they'll sure run at high fps, given how Shadow of Mordor and Strange Brigade already run at 200 fps on Ultra.

      • Andy

        June 24, 2020 at 8:01 am

        I saw a review that the model i9-10980hk and rtx 2080 was 1.4mm higher, I'm not sure if thats the same model you reviewed, and whether the 1.4mm height would solve those issues.

        • Andrei Girbea

          June 24, 2020 at 10:29 am

          it's the same

        • Jay

          June 24, 2020 at 12:56 pm

          Where was this?

  13. Eric Perez

    June 22, 2020 at 8:45 pm

    It seems that this laptop wont be available till at least August according to Hidevolution website.

    • Jay

      June 24, 2020 at 4:42 pm

      so the Scar 17 version with i9-10980hk is 1.4 mm thicker then this one?

      • Andrei Girbea

        June 24, 2020 at 5:13 pm

        no, the 2080 Scar 17 (regardless of CPU choice) is thicker than the standard Scar 17, with the 2070 dGPU and lower.

  14. Jose Antonio

    June 30, 2020 at 5:20 pm

    Hello! Great review! I'm looking for a high perfomance-portability ratio laptop so I can play sometimes in my TV at 4K resolution games and take it back for my lessons. Do you think the battery can hold a 3 hour work with documents and PDF on my classes? It's not very bulky from what I see on the review, right!?

    I'm so torn between this and the Zephyrus S17, but I'm coming from having an Area 51m (they give me the money back) and don't want to lose so much perfomance to play games at 4K on the TV.

    Thoughts?

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 30, 2020 at 6:37 pm

      Barely. With the small battery, this is primarily designed to be plugged-in

      • Jose Antonio

        June 30, 2020 at 7:14 pm

        But you got on the review 15 W (~4+ of use) – text editing in Google Drive, Silent Mode, screen at 60%, Wi-Fi ON;

        So, should I hope to get at least that amount, right?

        Thanks!

        • Andrei Girbea

          June 30, 2020 at 7:56 pm

          I'd say yes, 3-4 hours of light use is possible here on the more efficient power profiles.

  15. Dave Johnson

    July 2, 2020 at 12:30 am

    Thanks for the review on both new SCAR laptops! You did a great job as always :) I was looking at either this laptop, or the Scar 15 you reviewed with the i9 and RTX 2070super. I noticed on some of the benchmarks the Scar 15 does better than the 17" with the 2080super which is very interesting. Did the 17" also have the i9 because in the benchmark video comparing both laptop it shows the 17 as having the i7…

    Also, the 17" 2080 super is selling for 800$ more than the 15" you tested which to me, the difference in FPS for $800 might be overkill and not worth it. Would you agree? The only thing I really wonder is the silent testing. The silent mode on the 2080 is unreal!

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 2, 2020 at 10:23 am

      my samples were the 15 with i9 + RTX 2070 Super 115, and 17 with the i7 + RTX 2080 Super 150W. That might explain some of the differences, plus keep in mind these are early units with immature software, and that could also impact some of the tests.

      As for the 2nd question, yes, the Scar 17 with the 2080 is more expensive and the main reason I'd go for it is the performance on the Silent profile. At the same time, the 15 with the 2070 is better value for money, but it's also a different thermal design and won't run as smoothly on Silent. Also, if you were considering the 17 with the 2070 GPU, keep in mind that's also a more limited thermal design than the 17 with 2080.

      • Dave Johnson

        July 2, 2020 at 11:55 am

        Thanks so much for the reply!

        The only 17" model offered in Canada with the 150W 2080super comes with the i9 CPU with 32GB ram. Hopefully with the better/new thermal design and the 150W GPU the i9 won't be too hot for it. It's too bad they didn't give you the i9 model in the 2080super so we could see those thermals as well. Then again, the 15 with the i9 worked I'm sure it would be alright in the 17 and give great performance…

  16. DaaX

    July 2, 2020 at 6:17 pm

    Hi Andrei, with the 15" with 2070 Super, I saw other reviewers having problems with the refresh rate not being well detected by some online games, like For Honor. Disconections occured because the game wasn't able to detect the 300Hz refresh rate, implying the machine was at a low refresh rate. Did you noticed that on the online games you tested?

    And in Doom (2016), Forza Horizon 4, Jurassic World Evolution, it seems that the game was not that fluid at ultra graphic settings. The display was jerky in all those games. Especially the glory kills and menus that were very jerky in Doom. Did you noticed that in the games you tested? Maybe those games are not well optimized for the graphics card, don't know.

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 2, 2020 at 6:20 pm

      I haven't noticed any jerkiness, but I also haven't tested any of those games. Did you find that in multiple reviews? Perhaps there was an issue with one particular unit?

      • DaaX

        July 3, 2020 at 5:11 pm

        I saw that on only one review and I was really suprised bacause I haven't heard problems like that yet. Perhaps there was indeed an issue with the unit they tested.

  17. Matthew Tantillo

    July 5, 2020 at 12:00 am

    I love this laptop and cant wait to buy. I had a question though, on my old laptop which was an acer nitro 5 my hyper X headset mic wasnt working so I was stuck with having to use the built in laptop mic for talking with my friends on discord. Does this laptop have the same problem? Because mine had also one audio jack port for mic and headset and I really dont want that problem again on such an expensive laptop, thanks.

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 5, 2020 at 9:45 am

      is your headset mic working with other laptops? If it does, it should work here, but it should also work on that Nitro. perhaps there's a settings problem?

      • Matthew Tantillo

        July 11, 2020 at 1:10 am

        Yes the Mic works on another laptop. I just wanted to make sure because I have had this laptop for over 3 years and still couldnt find a way to make my mic work for discord on the acer nitro. Ive seen many people have the same problem while using the same laptop so it might be a problem with the laptop in general. I had ordered the Strix scar 17 in the i9 2080 Super edition so im praying that I wont have problems with it as well.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *