Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We do not collect your personal data.  I agree  Find out more  About cookies

MSI GS66 Stealth review (i7, RTX 2070) – white-collar performance notebook

12 Comments

  1. LHPSU

    July 6, 2020 at 5:47 pm

    What is your opinion on this vs the non-OLED version of the new Gigabyte Aero?

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 6, 2020 at 5:51 pm

      Tough choice. Thermals matter more than looks to me, so I'd lean towards the Aero. I'd need more details on that 144 hz screen, though, and the Aero is also $100 more expensive than the GS66 (for RTX 2060 model).

  2. william blake

    July 7, 2020 at 4:46 am

    as a guy whose hobby was buying hardware for other people, I always wonder why the gaming segment is almost only about 15 inches? I know two facts:
    1. a larger screen is better for the gaming experience.
    2. gaming laptops mostly lie on the table, at home, often throughout their entire lives.
    so why aren't manufacturers and media talking about this particular advantage for gaming-a bigger screen?

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 7, 2020 at 10:38 am

      but there are also 17-inch options. No GS76 for now, but there was a GS75, and most other OEMs offer 17-inchers as well.

      Imo this class of portable computers is not just about gaming, it's primarily for work and maybe school, and gaming comes second. And when you have to lug this around, I feel that 4.5-5 lbs is the higher limit I can see myself carrying in my backpack

  3. Jim Sks

    July 7, 2020 at 8:02 pm

    I love the subdued look but I think it's terribly overpriced for the flaws it has, at least in the UK. I certainly would expect better build quality for £1500+

  4. j

    July 8, 2020 at 7:17 pm

    can you please cover the ws75 and/or ws66 and creator 17?? the ws75 and creator 17 are going to have 1000 nit screens!!!

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 9, 2020 at 10:49 am

      I think the creator 17 should be in the works

      • j

        July 14, 2020 at 2:24 am

        awesome, thank you! love your reviews :)

  5. Alex

    July 11, 2020 at 11:26 pm

    I'm going to college for engineering this fall and I'm trying to decide between this laptop with the 2070 max Q ($1799 on Best buy) and the Zephyrus m15 with the same graphics ($1579 on Best Buy). Between the price difference, performance, build quality, and other notes (ex. The m15 lacks a webcam and does not have an extra usb-c port like the gs66), which would you say is the better deal?.

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 12, 2020 at 11:17 am

      Performance wise, the M15 is slightly faster in our tests and runs cooler with demanding loads, but it's also noisier on the Turbo profile. I also think it's the better built computer, even if the lid is plastic, and if you go with the Gray version it should hide smudges well.

      The GS66 gets the all-metal exterior, larger battery and what's arguably a more competent keyboard, especially if you care about RGB and per-key control.

      I'd lean towards the M15, better performance, better software profiles and cheaper

  6. Cagri

    July 27, 2020 at 4:47 pm

    Hi,
    How do you detect the power usage values which you stated in the battery life section of the review?

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 29, 2020 at 10:47 pm

      Hwinfo logs and running a specific task for 60 minutes

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *