Asus ROG Strix G15 Advantage G513QY review (AMD Radeon RX 6800M GPU review)

12 Comments

  1. Mul

    June 11, 2021 at 1:51 pm

    "DRAM chipmakers have shifted production"

    Maybe it would make a great article if you could investigate this topic more. Why would chipmakers decide to produce inferior products in an industry that strives to constantly progress and break the performance barier. This seems like such a stupid move that will break the trust between producers and consumers.

  2. Abhigyan

    June 12, 2021 at 11:50 pm

    The weight of the laptop is 2.5 kg (5.5 pounds), as mentioned on the Asus website. Heavier than the Nvidia Strix. Please update this.

    Very solid laptop, but for me the best laptop at the sub $2k mark remains the Asus Strix Scar 15 with 130W 8 GB RTX 3080 for $1999 in the US.

    I would also like to know if the CPU and GPU wattage can be capped manually for better thermals. Bob of all trades showed this was possible on the Zephyrus G14/15 for gaming at mid 60s temperatures with fans on silent. That’s a lovely feature.

  3. Pascal

    June 13, 2021 at 8:35 am

    Hello, en 2021 même pas de l'HDMI 2.1 pour le brancher sur un écran TV, -1.
    Merci pour les tests qui renseignent bien.

  4. Muhammad Abdullah

    June 14, 2021 at 7:48 am

    Really nice and detailed review.
    Can you specify the model of the dual-rank ram you are using? And is it also available in 8×2 GB form?

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 28, 2021 at 11:06 am

      it's in the picture. Not sure if available as 2×8 GB

  5. ERIC

    July 31, 2021 at 10:33 am

    I JUST PURCHASED THIS LAPTOP, AND IM SUPER IMPRESSED, I CHANGED OUT THE RAM AND ADDED A EXTRA SSD DRIVE, AND WOW WHAT A BEAST OF A LAPTOP. I GOT MINE ON SALE FOR $1499 US DOLLARS.

  6. Simon

    August 9, 2021 at 5:15 pm

    First of all, great review, just the information I needed.

    I have a question regarding the usb-c port though.
    Now if I am not mistaken it allows for directly transfering video signals from GPU to monitor and regarding the USB 3.1 gen 2 specification it should be capped at 10 Gbit/s.

    However, that would not be enough for driving my WQHD 144hz monitor.
    So do I have to use the HDMI port and does that come with a perfomance penalty bc it isn't directly hooked to the GPU?

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 9, 2021 at 8:25 pm

      Hi. As far as I remember, DP 1.4 can do 1440p at 144Hz, so you should be able to drive that monitor via the USB-C port here. The USB gen bandwidth is not important in this case.

  7. Thyagarajan

    August 24, 2021 at 11:42 am

    Hi Andrei,

    I'm stuck deciding between this and the Lenovo Legion 5 Pro. I mostly play AAA titles, not much of esports and generally use my laptops for atleast 5 years. What would be your pick? (In India, the L5Pro 3060 is about $200 cheaper than this Asus and the 3070 model is about $100 more.)

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 24, 2021 at 11:56 am

      I'd consider either the 3070 L5Pro or this, with the 6800M. However, you'll want to upgrade the RAM to dual-rank dual-channel on both to take full advantage of the hardware, so consider that as well (if not at the beginning, then at least later on).

      I rather lean towards the L5Pro for gaming because I'm not happy with the high CPU/GPU temperatures on this G15. Are they also the same screens? That would also play a role in the decision.

      • Thyagarajan

        August 25, 2021 at 7:57 am

        Thanks Andrei.

        Yes the screens are the same (both are selling the QHD model here). I see from your reviews that the L5Pro ones are better, so will go with that one itself.

  8. Likith

    August 28, 2021 at 4:21 pm

    I'm in the same dilemma as Thyagarajan. Legion 5 pro vs this one. Even I will be using it for 4 years. I have one more question. Since I will be using it for another 4 years, wont the ryzen 9 be more "future proof" since its the next generation ??

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *