Asus ROG Zephyrus M16 GU603 review (GU603HR – Core i9-11900H, RTX 3070, QHD+ 16:10 screen)

23 Comments

  1. Bobby

    June 9, 2021 at 5:00 pm

    Can the battery be disabled to prevent wear down when plugged in? I noticed the Lenovo legion 5 pro has this toggle in their vantage software and I thought it was pretty cool.

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 9, 2021 at 5:11 pm

      I don't think that's an option here

    • Kurt

      June 9, 2021 at 7:19 pm

      I believe so. My Asus ROG Flow X13 had a 80% battery charge limit function in the built in "MyASUS" app on Windows Store. While I had the laptop, I would set it to toggle when the battery charged to 95%, so it wouldn't over charge. I'm sure the same feature is available on all ROG series laptops.

      • Andrei Girbea

        June 9, 2021 at 7:32 pm

        That is indeed available in the MyAsus app, but it's not really what Bobby asked.

  2. Satyajith J

    June 10, 2021 at 5:29 am

    Does M16 have an option to switch between colour spaces for the display ad it says it's a 100% DCI-p3 and 100% sRGB panel?
    The display profiles in the armoury crate in M15(100% AdobeRGB and sRGB) were something like default, cinema, sport etc. There was only one colour profile(not named accordingly) installed which I guess was AdobeRGB and its parameters were tweaked by armoury crate's various display profile settings. As a result, the colours on the display looked more saturated and popped out even when they were not supposed to be. Will you check if they have repeated the same with M16 display and inform Asus of it? I spoke to Asus about it and was not offered any solution, I will be glad if you will let me know of any workaround there is to solve this issue.

  3. Christian

    June 10, 2021 at 5:42 am

    Thanks for the review Andrei!

    Wondering if they had to get rid of stock and that's why they used this weird chassis.
    To me, there is no logical explanation to let hot air blow directly at a beautiful QHD screen….

    Did you also receive the S17?

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 10, 2021 at 6:35 am

      The G15.M16 are brand new 2021 designs, so for some reason they just decided this case design is best suited for these products.

      S17 review is coming around the end of June.

      • Mul

        June 10, 2021 at 7:22 am

        Any news regarding S17 pricing?

      • Andrei Girbea

        June 10, 2021 at 7:25 am

        not yet. will ask for more info for the review

  4. Tim

    June 10, 2021 at 4:55 pm

    Do temperatures on the panel differ if you push the hinge all the way down so that the laptop is flat (so 180 degrees) and put it in a laptop stand or something?

    So it'd be flat like this, but in a laptop stand for cooling purposes

    • Tim

      June 10, 2021 at 4:57 pm

      Also, did you end up talking about covering up/disconnecting the status LEDs? I didn't see that further down in the review.

      • Andrei Girbea

        June 10, 2021 at 5:02 pm

        I forgot, thanks, will update. I haven't found a way to disconnect them, as they're covered by the motherboard. So what I'd suggest is perhaps a black permanent marker to cover them up?

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 10, 2021 at 5:00 pm

      That should prevent the hot air from going into the screen, but I find it inconvenient for sure.

      • Tim

        June 10, 2021 at 5:05 pm

        If you end up testing screen temperatures for the laptop lying flat on a table and the laptop lying flat in an elevated laptop stand, please update!

      • Andrei Girbea

        June 10, 2021 at 5:07 pm

        Sry, no time for it, I need to move onto other laptops. chassis temps should be the same, and screen temps should be fine, probably around 30s on the panel?

      • Tim

        June 10, 2021 at 5:09 pm

        Oh and do you think battery life would be better on the lower spec 3060 version?

        https://www.bestbuy.com/site/asus-rog-16-wqxga-165hz-gaming-laptop-intel-core-i9-16gb-memory-nvidia-rtx3060-1tb-ssd-off-black/6464203.p?skuId=6464203&intl=nosplash

        Also has the same i9 processor, but a 3060 instead.

      • Andrei Girbea

        June 10, 2021 at 5:20 pm

        The GPU should not impact the battery life, they're the same power. Also, I'd say my battery life findings are rather shorter than expected, I think ASUS will most likely improve on that with future software updates.

  5. dada

    June 10, 2021 at 6:31 pm

    Comparing the G15 to M16 is not really a apples to apples comparison, since the G15 has a AMD 5xxxH which is more efficient than Intel 11xxxH TDPs aside. I would like to see a comparison to the Gigabyte Aero 15 OLED which I am considering at a similar price point except the webcam is on the bottom (ala Dell XPS old school).

    my 2 cents

  6. Tim

    June 11, 2021 at 4:33 am

    Could you ask Asus how many nits the 16-inch WUXGA (1920 x 1200) 16:10 display can reach? I know they claimed 500 nits for the 2560 x 1600 display but there's not much info about the 1920 x 1200 screen found in lower skus (e.x GU603HM-DS72-CA.)

  7. Mark

    June 11, 2021 at 5:22 am

    Did you notice any coil whine on this unit? Whether during idling, light load, heavy load, etc

  8. Lakshay Kakkar

    June 11, 2021 at 5:54 am

    Please enable XTU Support in the BIOS for the upcoming Zephyrus S17 review. We really want to see the full extent of Tiger Lake's potential once undervolted. I also came to know that these 11th Gen processors are partially overclockable once XTU interface is enabled, people posted many GP66 benchmarks wherein CPU was just reaching 90W with the undervolt and overclock dialed in and scoring really high, and S17 should be easily handle that as well. So it would be great if you can include it as well in your testing as a bonus. Really appreciate the in-depth coverage as always from your side, keep up the good work :)

  9. Andrei

    June 11, 2021 at 10:01 am

    Your review proves the inherent inefficiency of Intel chips. My Legion 5 Pro Ryzen 5800H with a 140 W Max P 3070, 32 GB RAM, 2 TB SSD and similar QHD screen can easily reach 7 h of battery life doing light productivity tasks. I have personally tested battery endurance and got the above result. Don't forget the Legion 5 Pro has just a 80Wh battery! What a beast the M16 would have been with Ryzen 5800H or similar Ryzen chips.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *