The complete list of Broadwell (Core M and Core i3/i5/i7) portable laptops and ultrabooks

By Andrei Girbea , last updated on May 11, 2016

This post is is complete list of all the available Broadwell ultrabooks and ultraportables, a list that I’m continuously updating with the latest launches. If you’re visiting this post past the Fall of 2015, you should also check out the detailed list of Skylake ultraportables.

Haswell has been a major step in the history of modern laptops, spurring a multitude of thin and lights computers with powerful internals, able to last for hours of daily use. Broadwell, its successor, builds on those same lines and leads to even thinner and lighter laptops, faster, longer-lasting and packed with new features. The 5th generation Core platform delivers increased CPU/graphics performance over the 4th generation Haswell solutions with Intel HD 4400 chips, while being more efficient at the same time. We’re not getting in depth here, but you can check out some of the other posts in this section for more details.

Still, it’s important to know that there are two faces of Broadwell powered portable laptops.

On one side there’s the high efficiency side of the Broadwell mobile line, also known as Intel Core-M or Broadwell Y (successor of the Haswell Core Y), which does not impress with performance, but is bundled in a fair-number of extra-thin, long lasting and mostly fanless designs (here’s a list of all the available fanless ultrabooks). On the other there’s the Broadwell U series of Core i3/i5 and i7 processors, which will power most of the ultrabooks available in 2015. This post is not about what you should expect from Intel’s new architecture and is not a comparison between of the Core M and Core U subfamilies, it’s just a complete list of all the available Broadwell ultrabooks and ultraportables.

A few of the improvements Core-M brings

A few of the improvements Core-M brings

You can click on the product names for more details and for my reviews, but you can also check out the up-to-date prices and potential discounts by clicking on the links in the Price column. Keep in mind that those are suggested MSRP prices and most of the time you’ll find each computer slightly cheaper by following the links.

First we’ll list the Core M ultraportables

Anyway, we’ll start with the most compact and portable devices, mainly 2-in-1s with 10 to 12.5 inch displays, but mostly everything that’s light and easy to carry around, built on Core M hardware and has a smaller than 13 inch screen. All the Core iX devices are also listed down below.

Sub 13-inch Core M ultra-portables

Model Type Screen Hardware Weight Price(*)
Acer Aspire Switch 11 V detachable 11.6″ IPS touch FHD Core M 1.49 kg / 3.5 lbs (w/dock) $599
Acer Aspire Switch 12 2014 detachable 12.5″ IPS touch FHD Core M-5Y10 w/ Intel HD 5300 1.40 kg / 3.1 lbs (w/dock) $649
Acer Aspire Switch 12 2015 detachable 12.5″ IPS touch FHD Core M
Apple MacBook 12 clamshell 12.0″ IPS retina Core M-5Y51 or M-5Y71 w/ Intel HD 5300 0.90 kg / 2.0 lbs $1199
Asus Transformer Book T300FA
detachable 12.5″ IPS touch HD Core M-5Y10 w/ Intel HD 5300 1.62 kg / 3.6 lbs (w/dock) $599
Asus Transformer Book Chi T300
detachable 12.5″ IPS touch QHD Core M-5Y10 / M-5Y71 1.44 kg / 3.19 lbs (w/dock) $699
HP Elite x2 1011 G1 detachable 11.6″ IPS touch HD/FHD Core M-5Y10 to 5Y71 w/ Intel HD 5300 1.62 kg / 3.57 lbs (w/ dock) $899
HP EliteBook Folio 1020 clamshell 12.5″ IPS FHD or touch QHD Core M-5Y71 w/ Intel HD 5300 1.21 kg / 2.69 lbs $1199
HP Pavilion 360 11-n108tu
convertible 11.6″ touch HD Core M-5Y10 w/ Intel HD 5300 1.4 kg / 3.1 lbs
Dell Venue 11 Pro 7140
detachable 10.8″ IPS touch FHD Core M-5Y10 w/ Intel HD 5300 0.75 kg / 1.69 lbs (without dock) $699
Lenovo Yoga 3 11 convertible 11.6″ IPS touch FHD Core M-5Y70 w/ Intel HD 5300 1.18 kg / 2.6 lbs $749
Lenovo ThinkPad Helix 2
detachable 11.6″ IPS touch FHD Core M-5Y10 w/ Intel HD 5300 1.36 kg / 3 lbs (w/ dock) $999
Nec LaVie U detachable 11.6″ IPS touch FHD 1.36 kg / 3.01 lbs (w/ dock)
Panasonic Let’s Note RZ4
convertible 10.1″ IPS touch FHD Core M-5Y10 w/ Intel HD 5300 1.83 kg / 4.05 lbs (w/ dock) $1499
Samsung ATIV Book 9
clamshell 12.2″ IPS touch WQXGA Core M-5Y31 w/ Intel HD 5300 0.94 kg / 2.1 lbs $1199
Toshiba Portégé Z20t convertible 12.5″ IPS touch FHD Core M w/ Intel HD 5300 1.59 kg / 3.5 lbs (w/ dock) $1299

And this section is reserved for anything with a screen larger than 13 inch, whether it’s a 13.3 inch, a 14 incher , a 15.6 incher or something else. There are very few Core M machines in this category, as the platform is mainly designed for small and portable machines, like the ones in the previous table.

13+ inch Core M ultrabooks

Model Type Screen Hardware Weight Price(*)
Asus Zenbook UX305 clamshell 13.3″ IPS FHD and QHD+ Core M-5Y10a or M-5Y71 w/ Intel HD 5300 1.27 kg / 2.8 lbs $699
Dell Latitude 13 7000 detachable 13.3″ IPS touch FHD Core M 5Y10 to 5Y71 w/ Intel HD 5300 1.66 kg / 3.7 lbs (w/ dock) $1199
HP Envy X2 13 detachable 13.3″ IPS touch HD/FHD Core M 5Y10 to 5Y71 w/ Intel HD 5300 1.66 kg / 4.05 lbs (w/ dock) $799
Lenovo Yoga 3 Pro convertible 13.3″ touch IPS QHD+ Core M-5Y70 and 5Y71 w/ Intel HD 5300 1.18 kg / 2.6 lbs $1349
HP Envy X2 15 detachable 15.6″ touch IPS FHD Core M-5Y10 to 5Y71 w/ Intel HD 5300 2.45 kg / 5.42 lbs (w/ dock) $749

All the Broadwell U ultraportables

This chapter is dedicated to the more powerful ultrabooks motorized by the Intel 5th generation Core i3/i5 and i7processors. Once again we’ll start with the smaller units with screens under 13 inch.

Sub 13-inch Broadwell ultra-portables

Model Type Screen Hardware Weight Price(*)
Apple Macbook Air 11 clamshell 11.6″ TN HD Core i5 or i7 w/ Intel HD 5500 2.38 lbs / 1.08 kg $899
Fujitsu Lifebook T725 convertible 12.5″ IPS touch HD Core i3, i5 or i7 w/ Intel HD 5500 1.81 kg / 3.66 lbs
HP EliteBook 720 G2 clamshell 12.5″ HD or touch FHD Core i5 w/ Intel HD 5500 1.34 kg / 2.94 lbs $1099
HP EliteBook Revolve 810 G3 convertible 11.6″ IPS HD Core i3, i5 or i7 w/ Intel HD 5500 1.4 kg / 3.08 lbs $1149
Lenovo ThinkPad X250 clamshell 12.5″ IPS FHD Core i7 w/ Intel HD 5500 1.31 kg / 2.9 lbs $1149
Lenovo ThinkPad Yoga 12 convertible 12.5″ IPS touch FHD Core i5 and i7 w/ Intel HD 5500 1.58 kg / 3.5 lbs $999

In the following list you’ll find the 13 inch Broadwell ultraportables, the perfect balance between speed and portability.

13 to 13.9 inch ultrabooks

Model Type Screen Hardware Weight Price(*)
Acer Aspire R13 (R7-371T) convertible 13.3″ IPS touch QHD Core i5 or i7 w/ Intel HD 5500 1.5 kg / 3.3 lbs $999
Acer Aspire S7-393 clamshell 13.3″ IPS touch QHD Core i7 w/ Intel HD 5500 1.31 kg / 2.9 lbs $1299
Acer Aspire V13 (V3-371)
clamshell 13.3″ HD Core i5 w/ Intel HD 5500 1.5 kg / 3.3 lbs $599
Alienware 13 Gaming Laptop clamshell 13.3″ IPS FHD or QHD Core i7-5500U w/ Nvidia GTX 860M 2.05 kg / 4.53 lbs $1399
Apple Macbook Air 13 clamshell 13.3″ TN WXGA+ Core i5 or i7 w/ Intel HD 5500 2.96 lbs / 1.35 kg $999
Apple Macbook Pro 13 clamshell 13.3″ IPS WQXGA Core i5 or i7 w/ Intel HD 5500 3.48 lbs / 1.57 kg $999
Asus Transformer Book Flip TP300LA/LD convertible 13.3″ IPS touch FHD Core i3/i5/i7 w/ Intel HD 5500 or Nvidia GT 820M 3.8 lbs / 1.72 kilos $499
Asus Zenbook UX301LA clamshell 13.3″ IPS touch QHD Core i7-5500U w/ Intel HD 5500 or Core i7-5557U w/ Intel HD 6100 3.1 lbs / 1.43 kg $1399
Asus Zenbook UX303LA clamshell 13.3″ IPS touch FHD Core i5 w/ Intel HD 5500 1.5 kg / 3.3 lbs $899
Asus Zenbook UX303LB clamshell 13.3″ IPS FHD or QHD+ Core i7 w/ Nvidia 840M 1.5 kg / 3.3 lbs $1299
Asus Zenbook UX305LA clamshell 13.3″ IPS FHD matte Core i5/i7 w/ Intel HD 5500 1.3 kg / 2.86 lbs $799
Dell Inspiron 13 7000 convertible 13.3″ IPS touch FHD Core i3/i5/i7 w/ Intel HD 5500 3.7 lbs / 1.66 kg $599
Dell XPS 13 9343 clamshell 13.3″ IPS FHD or touch QHD+ Core i3, i5 and i7 w/ Intel HD 5500 1.18 kg / 2.6 lbs $799
HP Spectre x360 convertible 13.3″ IPS touch FHD or QHD Core i5 or i7 w/ Intel HD 5500 1.48 kg / 3.26 lbs $899
Fujitsu Lifebook T935 convertible 13.3″ IPS touch FHD or QHD Core i5 or i7 w/ Intel HD 5500 1.6 kg / 3.52 lbs
Fujitsu Stylistic Q775 detachable 13.3″ IPS touch FHD Core i5 or i7 w/ Intel HD 5500 0.99 kg / 2.18 lbs (without dock)
Lenovo Lavie Z HZ550 clamshell 13.3″ IPS QHD Core i5 w/ Intel HD 5500 0.78 kg / 1.72 lbs
Lenovo Lavie Z HZ750 convertible 13.3″ IPS touch FHD/QHD Core i5 and i7 w/ Intel HD 5500 0.92 kg / 2.04 lbs
LG Gram 13 clamshell 13.3″ IPS FHD Core i5 or i7 w/ Intel HD 5500 0.98 kg / 2.16 lbs $1499
Samsung ATIV Book 9 Plus NP940X3 clamshell 13.3″ IPS touch QHD+ Core i5 and i7 w/ Intel HD 5500 1.38 kg / 3.05 lbs $1299
Toshiba Z30-B clamshell 13.3″ HD or FHD Core i5 or i7 w/ Intel HD 5500 1.2 kg / 2.64 lbs $1099
Toshiba Kirabook 2015 clamshell 13.3″ FHD or QHD Core i5 or i7 w/ Intel HD 5500 1.34 kg / 2.96 lbs $1299

If you want beefier features, but not in a full-size computer, then you should check the 14 inchers in this section.

14 to 14.9 inch options

Model Type Screen Hardware Weight Price(*)
Acer Aspire R 14 (R3-471T) convertible 14.0″ TN HD Core i5 w/ Intel HD 5500 2.01 kg / 4.5 lbs $569
HP EliteBook Folio 1040 clamshell 14.0″ HD+ or FHD Core i5 and i7 w/ Intel HD 5500 1.51 kg / 3.32 lbs $1299
HP EliteBook 740 G2 clamshell 14.0″ various models Core i3 and i5 w/ Intel HD 5500 1.58 kg / 3.45 lbs $969
HP EliteBook 840 G2 clamshell 14.0″ various models Core i5 and i7 w/ Intel HD 5500 1.55 kg / 3.4 lbs $1049
HP ZBook 14 G2 clamshell 14.0″ various models Core i5 and i7 w/ AMD FirePro M4150 1.71 kg / 3.77 lbs $1249
Lenovo Flex 3 14 convertible 14.0″ IPS touch FHD Core i3, i5 or i7 w/ Intel HD 5500 $549
Lenovo S41 clamshell 14.0″ IPS FHD Core i5 or i7 w/ Nvidia 1.76 kg / 3.9 lbs
Lenovo ThinkPad X1 Carbon 2015 convertible 14.0″ IPS FHD or QHD (w/ option for touch) Core i7 w/ Intel HD 5500 1.30 kg / 2.87 lbs $1199
Lenovo ThinkPad Yoga 14 convertible 14.0″ IPS touch FHD Core i5 and i7 w/ Nvidia 840M 1.90 kg / 4.2 lbs $1199
Lenovo Yoga 3 14 convertible 14.0″ IPS touch FHD Core i5 or i7 w/ Intel HD 5500 1.58 kg / 3.5 lbs $799
Lenovo Y40-80 clamshell 14.0″ IPS FHD Core i5 or i7 w/ AMD Radeon R9 M275 2GB 2.22 kg / 4.9 lbs $699
LG Gram 14 clamshell 14.0″ IPS FHD Core i5 or i7 w/ Intel HD 5500 0.98 kg / 2.16 lbs $1499
Toshiba Tecra Z40 clamshell 14.0″ HD or touch FHD up to i7 w/ Intel HD 5500 1.47 kg / 3.24 lbs $699

Last but not least, this is where you’ll find the full-size ultrabooks and ultra-portable laptops, devices with 15+ inch displays and a multitude of features and hardware options.

15 inch (and bigger) Broadwell laptops

Model Type Screen Hardware Weight Price(*)
Acer Aspire V 15 Nitro VN7-571G clamshell 15.6″ IPS FHD Core i7 w/ Nvidia 950M 2.20 kg/4.85 lbs ~$799
Acer Aspire V 15 V3-572 clamshell 15.6″ FHD Core i5 w/ Intel HD 5500 2.65 kg/5.62 lbs $599
Asus Transformer Book Flip TP500 convertible 15.6″ TN touch HD or FHD Core i3/i5/i7 w/ Intel HD 5500 or Nvidia 820M 5.7 lbs / 2.6 kilos $599
Dell Inspiron 15 3000 clamshell 15.6″ HD (optional touchscreen) Core i3 and i5 w/ Intel HD 5500 2.16 kg / 4.8 lbs $379
Dell Inspiron 15 5000 clamshell 15.6″ HD or touch IPS FHD Core i5 w/ AMD R7 M270 (optional) 2.38 kg / 5.24 lbs $749
Dell Inspiron 15 7000 clamshell 15.6″ IPS FHD or UHD (optional touchscreen) Core i5 and i7 w/ AMD R7 M270 (optional) 2.06 kg / 4.53 lbs $649
Dell Inspiron 17 7000 clamshell 17.3″ IPS FHD or UHD (optional touchscreen) Core i5 and i7 w/ Nvidia 845M (optional) 3.29 kg / 7.3 lbs $999
HP EliteBook 750 G2 clamshell 15.6″ various models Core i3 and i5 w/ Intel HD 5500 1.83 kg / 4.02 lbs $1059
HP EliteBook 850 G2 clamshell 15.6″ various models Core i5 and i7 w/ Intel HD 5500 1.83 kg / 4.02 lbs $1049
HP ZBook 15u G2 clamshell 15.6″ FHD Core i5 and i7 w/ AMD FirePro M4170 1.91 kg / 4.23 lbs $1149
Lenovo Edge 550
clamshell 15.6″ IPS touch FHD Core i3, i5 and i7 w/ Intel HD 5500 (optional Nvidia 840M) 2.27 kg/5 lbs $569
Lenovo Flex 3 15 convertible 15.6″ IPS touch FHD Core i3, i5 or i7 w/ Intel HD 5500 $579
Lenovo G50-80 clamshell 15.6″ HD or FHD Core i3, i5 and i7 w/ Intel HD 5500 2.49 kg/5.51 lbs $499
Lenovo ThinkPad Yoga 15 convertible 15.6″ IPS touch FHD Core i5 and i7 w/ Nvidia 840M 2.31 kg/5.1 lbs $1199
Toshiba Satellite C55-B5142 clamshell 15.6″ TN HD Core i5 w/ Intel HD 5500 2.20 kg/4.85 lbs $499

* Clicking on each price will show you up-to-date prices for those particular products, most of the time with applied discounts. The mentioned MSRP is usually what the manufacturers ask for the basic configurations, higher end models are more expensive.

A short glossary of the terms mentioned above:

  • Types:
    • clamshell: classic shaped computer whose screen closes on top of the keyboard and does not flip into any sort of tablet mode;
    • convertible: 2-in-1 laptop whose screen rotates and converts to a tablet mode (or similar), but cannot be detached from the base;
    • detachable: 2-in-1 laptop whose screen detaches from the base. These are mostly stand-alone tablets bundled with matching docking stations that most often include docking keyboards, ports, batteries and other features;
    • slider: 2-in-1 laptop whose screen slides up and down on top of the body and usually reveals a keyboard hidden underneath.
  • Resolutions: HD ( 1366 x 768 px), WXGA+ (1440 x 900 px), HD+ ( 1600 x 900 px), FHD (1920 x 1080 px), retina (2304 x 1440 px), QHD (2560 x 1440 px), WQXGA (2560 x 1600 px), QHD+  (3200 x 1800 px), UHD (3840 x 2160 px) – also see this post;

Alright, that’s about it for now. If you’re interested in my opinions on the laptops above, I’d suggest you also check out my curated lists available here on the site, listed below:

And you should also check out my reviews, comparisons and the other posts on the site. If you’re after one of these Broadwell ultraportables, I believe you’ll find most of them helpful.

The comments section below is of course open and awaits your feedback, questions and suggestions. And if you spot any device that should be in here but I haven’t yet included, or any mistakes in the listings, please leave a reply, I’m doing my best to cover all the launches, but sometimes a few of them do slip out.

Disclaimer: Our content is reader-supported. If you buy through some of the links on our site, we may earn a commission. Learn more.
Andrei Girbea, Editor-in-Chief of Ultrabookreview.com. I've been covering mobile computers since the 2000s and you'll mostly find reviews and thorough guides written by me here on the site.

90 Comments

  1. Denis

    March 4, 2015 at 11:03 pm

    one more model:
    HP Pavilion 15-p220nr 15.6″ Touchscreen
    USD669

  2. Francesco

    March 5, 2015 at 8:08 am

    Great job, Andrei!
    I am photographer with very intensive use of Ps Lightroom and I dreamed to get the Asus GX500, that from January news should change name in G501.

    Considering the UHD display a plus, is very important for my purpose the color calibration, the 100% of sRGB, the optional external monitor with UHD resolution, at reasonable refresh rate for movies.
    I dont need for gaming, but performance for Lightroom and Photoshop are very important for me, together portability.
    Maybe i should consider the new Asus Zenbook UX303LN 13″ i7 QHD+ with HDMI for UHD?
    A similar hardware but even convertible will maybe soon available in Lenovo Yoga Pro or other convertible?
    Thanks, FHB

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 5, 2015 at 9:59 am

      Hi Francesco. The UX303LN has a problematic screen with skewed colors, so I’d stay away from it if you’re into photo work. The 2015 version of the UX303LN is identical to the 2014 version, but with BRoadwell hardware. Nothing else has changed.

      That G501 looks like a great machine, IF they will actually bring it in stores in time.

      I’d consider the Macbook Pro line (the BRoadwell update, if/when released) for your needs and the Asus Zenbook UX301LA with the Core i7-5557U processor, whenever it becomes available.

      • Francesco

        March 5, 2015 at 5:23 pm

        Thanks Andrei

        As I wrote highest resolution is a priority for my purpose, together the highest colors reproduction (100% sRGB, at least) and opportunity to connect 2 external UHD monitors.
        I prefer Windows, not MacOS.

        It’s a pity that big colors issue of Asus UX303LN. Is the only 13″ QHD+ Broadwell engined with dedicated graphic card…
        Then I am seriously considering to go back to photographer dream notebook 15,6″ Toshiba P50t i7-4710HQ RAM16GB SSD960GB WITH CALIBRATED UHD TOUCH DISPLAY. Is lacking of portability for the battery life around 3h and weight around 2,4Kg. But is already available in most of shops…
        How to get more info on the Asus G501 that many dreamers wait from 14 months?

      • Andrei Girbea

        March 5, 2015 at 6:14 pm

        There aren’t many details on the G501, but stay close, if I get my hands on it I’ll write a post on the site.

  3. Chris

    March 7, 2015 at 8:17 pm

    Hi Andrei

    Are you going to do a review for the new HP spectre 360? It seems really nice (full aluminium body, convertible, very good price, like a macbook pro with windows) and i am starting to consider it instead of the XPS 13.

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 11, 2015 at 6:32 pm

      Can’t promise, HP laptops are hard to come by in this corner of the world. But I will do my best.

  4. David

    March 8, 2015 at 9:37 pm

    Good article and all but you guys are missing A LOT. Do you have a thing against LG or something? Where is all the LG Gram 13/14/15s?

  5. me

    March 9, 2015 at 9:25 pm

    It’s ironic how the many spelling errors make your articles hard to digest… You don’t have to approve this but please improve.

  6. Mr Pengo

    March 14, 2015 at 7:17 pm

    All laptops that use the new 5th gen Intel Broadwell CPUs having memory slots for modules can now be upgraded to twice rhe amount of memory with brandnew 16GB SODIMMs from Intelligent memory (see Amazon)
    Max 32GB is possible with two modules.

    Read here: pcworld.com/article/2894509/want-32gb-of-ram-in-your-laptop-or-nuc-you-can-finally-do-it.html

    But watch out: It only works with the new 5th gen CPUs, not with older ones!

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 16, 2015 at 5:14 pm

      Interesting. let’s hope this actually makes it into an actual retail product

      • Mr Pengo

        March 16, 2015 at 5:51 pm

        It is a retail product already.
        The Intelligent Memory website (www.intelligentmemory.com) shows that the 16GB modules are available to purchase here : squareup.com/market/MemphisElectronicRetail
        And I even see them on Amazon when searching for the part# IMM2G64D3LSOD8AG

      • Andrei Girbea

        March 16, 2015 at 7:05 pm

        Indeed, thanks. But $330… no way I’d pay that much for 16 GB of RAM. Still, it would be nice if someone could try this. Will dig more into this matter and maybe have a post in the next few days.

  7. Mr Pengo

    March 17, 2015 at 4:28 pm

    They have been tested by a number of people already. In Intel NUC, Lenovo X250, T450s, W550 and also in new Dells. They should fit also into the new HP and Fujitsu laptops that use the same 5th generation CPU.

    Some links I found:
    thinkscopes.com/blog/2015/03/09/16gb-ram-modules-for-broadwell-thinkpads/
    notebookcheck.net/Intelligent-Memory-16-GB-RAM-modules-for-Broadwell-notebooks.137492.0.html
    Picture of module in T450s
    thinkpad-forum.de/attachment.php?attachmentid=103527&d=1425656699
    and the BIOS display: thinkpad-forum.de/attachment.php?attachmentid=103528&d=1425656723

  8. Robert Whitfield

    April 2, 2015 at 2:19 am

    Great work! This a an excellent and super useful reference. It would be awesome if you could do a similar page for the upcoming x3, x5 and x7 Atom processors.

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 2, 2015 at 7:56 am

      I’ll look into that. Thanks for the suggestion

  9. peter

    April 4, 2015 at 5:35 am

    Great article , it would be very useful if you could you could specify which products are fanless.

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 5, 2015 at 6:44 pm

      I’m currently working on a list of fanless laptops, thanks

  10. Carolyn Diz

    April 16, 2015 at 11:09 pm

    Was this published before the HP Split x2 came out? Even though the surface keyboard detaches, that doesn’t mean it still functions. The great thing about the Split is that you can place the monitor at eye level while the keyboard is detached and at an ergonomically elbow level.

    But I’ve read some questionable reviews of the Split. Do any other detachables function like this?

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 17, 2015 at 8:24 am

      The Transformer Pad CHIs work like you’re saying as well.

  11. Uche

    April 18, 2015 at 5:46 pm

    Good day Andrei, I have taken a lot of time reading through your reviews on different ultra portable notebooks and I must say the I have enjoyed myself. I need an ultrabook within a budget range of $300 – $400. ( I am very particular about the thickness, I need a slim/Thin thickness without sacrificing the major ports available in a laptop). I just need a Clamshell without a touchscreen which should have the following features:

    Screen Size: 14.0″or 15.6″ HD+ or FHD
    Operating System: Windows 7 or 8 or 8.1
    CPU: Intel Core i3 or i5 or i7
    Memory: 6 – 8GB
    Storage: 750 – 1TB HDD or 256 SSD
    Speaker: Stereo Speakers
    Ports: 3x USB 3.0, HDMI, Card Reader, Volume Rocker, Ethernet Port, I USB 2.0, W LAN, Gigabit bEthernet
    Connectivity: Wi-Fi N, Bluetooth 4.0
    Webcam: HD, dual Microphone
    Optical Drive: DVD+/-RW or Blue Ray
    KeyBoard: Backlit or not
    Big track pad

    I am from Nigeria and interested in buying this laptop from the United States because of product quality guarantee (most of what we buy over here are copy or inferirin quality). I wouldn’t mind if you can get me a fairly used ultraportable notebook (slim in thickness, weight is not much of a problem, cool laptop over performance because I want it to last long. Not a gaming freak, just for office work, design jobs on corel draw and Photoshop and database mangement) with the features that I listed above and within the price range. Thanks and have a nice day and hoping to receiving your reply.

  12. Jerel

    April 27, 2015 at 9:17 pm

    Andrei,
    I am waiting for any news concerning the Lenovo LaVie Z ultrabook(s). I see they are setting up the webpage. I look forward to hearing how this ultrabook stacks up against the rest.
    Thanks Andrei.

    -Jerel

  13. Vlad

    May 8, 2015 at 4:35 pm

    It would have been really helpful to see hard drive speeds of each device.

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 8, 2015 at 5:07 pm

      Most models have SSDs and such details would be impossible to find, so no, that won’t be included in the list, at least for the time being

  14. Muradori

    May 14, 2015 at 5:01 pm

    Hey Andrei. Any news on the Lenovo Lavie HZ750 or the HP Spectre X360? Both are best-in-class ultrabooks and there are no updates on them. Instead, a Dell Latitude 7250 is examined… Cheers

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 14, 2015 at 8:11 pm

      I’m trying my best to get them but neither are available in my country, so my hands are tied here, especially since I don’t have the resources other bigger magazines have at their disposal…

  15. Muradori

    May 15, 2015 at 11:23 am

    Allright, that’s understandable. Probably I’ll buy the HP so my 3 years of waiting for such a device will be over. All the best for you and thanks for your efforts.

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 15, 2015 at 3:59 pm

      If you want to share you impressions on it once you get it. Please get in touch :)

  16. Ed

    May 17, 2015 at 11:52 pm

    You would think that the clamshell laptops would be lighter, but seems to be on the heavy side still. I am just waiting for 15 inch and larger displays to start appearing with 32GB RAM, seems to be a slow start. Why laptops these days are geared more towards the general consumer.

  17. Al

    August 26, 2015 at 8:15 am

    >Hi, I keep looking for reviews of Asus UX303LA-R4342H (i7-5500U, 8GB/256GB SSD) vs. Asus UX305LA-FC012H (same configuration as above: i7-5500U, 8GB/256GB SSD), but I can’t find any, I guess because they are both very new editions. Usually the UX305 is reviewed with the Core M or Core i5, but not the Core i7. Given that both can be bought at the same price (around 1099Eur, depending on the retailer; it’s also true that they can’t be easily found everywhere, but in Germany it’s possible to find both), which one would be the better option? Or there is no difference in their performance??

    They have the same configuration, but somehow the more “sturdy” UX303 seems a class higher than the UX305 (which looks as to have been initially intended for lower-class processors). Is it just an impression that I have and they actually perform equally well at these characteristics (so then it would be just a question of preference in the design)? Any idea on this? Thanks a lot

    (PS. I use the laptop for photo editing, thus the need for i7)

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 26, 2015 at 10:14 am

      My impressions of the UX305LA are gathered in this post: https://www.ultrabookreview.com/7395-asus-zenbook-ux305la/

      Overall the UX305 is a more recent design, has a larger battery and is lighter and a bit slimmer. On the other hand, it lacks a backlit keyboard and it’s more difficult to upgrade, since the RAM is soldered and only uses M.2 storage.

      Since you’re aiming for the higher end config, your potential concerns should only be the lack of that backlit keyboard and the potential overheating/throttling. Since I’ve yet to review a final model, I can’t comment on this latter aspect.

      • Al

        August 28, 2015 at 8:53 am

        Great! Thanks a lot, very useful comments as well as the UX305LA review. If ti’s just that, but the performance is equally good, then I’m ok with it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *