Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We do not collect your personal data.  I agree  Find out more  About cookies

Asus Transformer Book Flip TP300 Andrei Girbea Rating: 3.5 out of 5

Asus Transformer Book Flip TP300 / TP300LA / Q302LA review

159 Comments

  1. David

    June 26, 2014 at 1:44 pm

    Hi Andrei,

    thanks for the great review!
    Do you have any news on availability (especially in Europe / Germany)
    Asus talked about the end of june, but i didn´t see any Tp300s in the big stores.

    Thanks and continue your good reviews :)

    David

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 26, 2014 at 4:25 pm

      I was told end of June, first half of July. So we should start seeing these in stores very soon

      • boaz dabush

        November 28, 2015 at 7:30 pm

        Hi there. thanks for the article. I would like to ask. if there is a difference between the TP 300 L. and the TP 300 la.

  2. John

    July 21, 2014 at 11:00 am

    This is a great review, thank you very much! One question though, how did you open up the back? I could only find some screws on the back, but the cover wouldn’t budge even after I removed them.

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 21, 2014 at 7:18 pm

      Stick some sort of plastic knife between the metallic body and the plastic belly and make the two come apart. The back has a few plastic clips that keep it firmly attached to the rest of the body, so you’ll need to use a bit of force.

      • John

        July 25, 2014 at 2:37 pm

        Thank you! That did the trick.

        • David Ziemann

          August 13, 2014 at 9:11 pm

          hey
          Were you able to change the integrated harddrive? Is it easy? I think that 128Gb is not enough…
          @Andrei: How is the noise when running Office or easy tasks? Is it noticable or annoying? Will the 820m have any effect on the noise or runtime?

          Thankksss

          • Andrei Girbea

            August 13, 2014 at 10:07 pm

            Well, yes, and it should be easy, since this is using a standard 2.5″ 7mm storage drive.

            If you read the review, I mentioned that the computer is quiet under low use, but never completely silent, as the fan never turns completely OFF. The Nvidia 820M chip won’t have an impact on low-use, since it will only become active under load, when needed. It will however have an impact on stress temperatures and potentially the noise, although that might be marginal, as the cooling system’s design is not going to be different than what’s on this unit.

          • James

            August 16, 2014 at 2:30 pm

            I’m trying to replace the hdd with an ssd and wow, I don’t think Asus wants you to do it. There is a warranty void sticker covering one of the screws for the hard drive caddy. Also, the hard drive caddy is wrapped around in protective tape. What’s the best way to remove these without actually voiding warranty?

          • Andrei Girbea

            August 17, 2014 at 8:14 am

            hmmm, this sucks and I haven’t heard about that sticker before. Would you mind sending me a picture on contact at ultrabookreview dot com ? I’d like to add that with a disclaimer to the post.

            Is there no way to peel those off carefully? You could try to ask Asus about that, they should have a certified Service that could do that for you if you don’t want to loose warranty, although that might be expensive.

          • James

            August 17, 2014 at 5:48 pm

            Hey Andrei,

            I posted the image here: http://imgur.com/5mL9b0B

            The yellow sticker near the right edge of the laptop is what I was refering to. I used a blow dryer to slowly peel it off and then stuck it to wax paper. If I need to, I can reapply it at any time.

            Also that brown shroud covering the hard disk needs to be peeled off as well. Otherwise you can’t install an SSD.

          • Andrei Girbea

            August 20, 2014 at 2:02 pm

            Thanks James, much appreciated. That seal was not placed on my unit. I’ll add your feedback tot he review.

          • Andrei Girbea

            August 20, 2014 at 2:03 pm

            BTW, how’s keeping the laptop with the lid down working for you? Any concerns on temperatures?

          • Robert

            September 29, 2014 at 10:52 pm

            Hey Andrei, just want to ask if the SSD port is M.2 or mSATA. Also, doesn’t seem like enough room to jam both HDD and SSD solutions in there, right?

          • Andrei Girbea

            September 30, 2014 at 10:40 am

            There’s a single 2.5″ storage bay on this laptop from what I can remember. So no, having both an SSD and a HDD isn’t possible. I didn’t find any mSATA port for a small half-size SSD, Asus sometimes use this configuration to offer a HDD + 16/24 GB caching SSD on some of the cheaper models. But I don’t think that’s the case with this series.

          • Richard Burns

            October 1, 2014 at 10:04 am

            Perhaps mine has a newer firmware/BIOS, but I can confirm that the fan in mine turns off completely when web browsing or similar unstressful activity. When gaming the fan spins up, but it’s never loud.

          • David Ziemann

            October 1, 2014 at 2:07 pm

            For all of those having problems with the fan turning on and off, you should try notebookfancontrol :
            http://www.computerbase.de/forum/showthread.php?t=1070494

            You can control the fans with this tool by yourself and it works quite perfectly. I mostly turn of the fan till it reaches 50°C, i usually never have to go past 25 % Fan speed because it keeps very cool even under light load.

            If anyone has problems figuring out a configuration file, try to use those from similiar ASUS Notebooks like the U32 and dont forget to reboot your computer after installing and choosing settings.

          • James

            October 4, 2014 at 9:46 pm

            Just thought I’d post a reply, temperatures on this laptop with lid closed is still very good. Most of the time between 38C to 45C.

  3. James

    August 11, 2014 at 3:05 am

    Something looks funky with the ventilation. From your video I only see the one single slot in the bottom. Where does all the heat get sucked to? No vents in the front, back or sides

    • James

      August 11, 2014 at 3:26 am

      Sorry please omit previous question. I read the article now and I see hot air is blown in front of the screen which is kind of stupid. If I work with this laptop with a closed screen, does that mean heat is completely trapped? Most of the time I dock my laptop to the side (closed screen) and I use a big display, keyboard and mouse. I’d like to know what would happen if I do that with this laptop.

      • Andrei Girbea

        August 11, 2014 at 10:11 pm

        The hinge is designed so air is going to be pushed out towards the back when having the lid closed, so you should be mostly alright. Some of the hot air is still going to be blown inwards, so I wouldn’t run gaming with the laptop closed

  4. Martin

    August 20, 2014 at 12:27 pm

    Ive been looking out for these but can only find the core i3 version in UK stores. Do you know of any online sites selling the Core i5 with full HD screen? Ideally i would like SSD but thats not a deal breaker.

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 20, 2014 at 2:20 pm

      Sry, I’m not familiar with UK shops, you’ll have to do the digging yourself. However, keep in mind that not all configurations are available right now, maybe the I3 is not yet. There’s also a change the i3 model won’t even make it to the UK, Asus do these weird decision sometimes and only deliver certain configs to bigger markets. You might want to get in touch with Asus UK and ask if that particular config that you want is ever going to be available over there.

      • Jorge

        August 22, 2014 at 4:38 am

        Sorry Andrei,

        I live in US. I have checked this model, with specification you said, but I can not find it. I found it at Amazon.ca (From CAnada). I emailed them, but they said that they can not deliver this laptop to US.

        Where did you buy yours? i7, 8gb ram, SSD.

        Could you update your laptop where you bought it? I mean, could you update memory ram or place 256 SSD.

        Thank you very much in advance.

        • Andrei Girbea

          August 22, 2014 at 10:11 am

          Hi Jorge, check the article, the Hardware section. You can upgrade the RAM and the storage, but the latter will almost-definitely void warranty. The configuration I’ve got is available in Europe.

          • Jorge

            August 24, 2014 at 5:13 am

            Thanks for your quick reply. I read the article three times. I have watched your video 4 times. I love it!!!.

            What I meant is if you had the option to update memory and storage where you bought it. I checked your video, I showed what you said about the yellow sticker around the screw and to peal paper around hard drive in order to change it.

            I know that it is more expensive to change it at store, but I did not want to avoid warranty.

            I spoke with Asus Customer Services, they told me that it will be introduce to US in September, he did not know which day, so I hope he told me the truth.

            By the way, can you tell me how much does it cost in Europa?

            Again, thank you for your post and your answer.

            By the way, if you had to buy a laptop, touch screen, i7, at least 8gb memory, ssd drive, 13.3 better than 15.6, with a budget of $1000, around 700 to 800 euros, which one would you buy??

            I personally prefer flip screen.

          • Andrei Girbea

            August 24, 2014 at 6:36 pm

            Well, this FLip and the Lenovo Yoga 2 13 are some of the most affordable 13 inchers right now, so you should check both of them out

    • Richard Burns

      October 1, 2014 at 10:02 am

      I bought the i5 version from PC World in the UK for £500, comes with a i5 – yay, but only the 768p screen, boo.

      Comes with the 500Gb harddrive but I immediately swapped that out for an SSD.

      • Andrei Girbea

        October 1, 2014 at 1:32 pm

        That’s still a solid price, although the 768p screen isn’t great.

  5. Kay

    August 30, 2014 at 10:04 pm

    Have you seen the lenovo miix 2 11.6″ i-5 4202Y 8gb and 256 ssd yet? Selling at around $800. Just found your site and your reviews are helpful in making a decision now.

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 31, 2014 at 9:13 am

      I haven’t tested it myself and I’ve read mixed reviews for it. The DEll Venue Pro 11 seems to be the more popular pick, but it’s also more expensive. You should dig through a couple of reviews for the Miix and see if you’re OK with its issues.

      • Kay

        August 31, 2014 at 10:35 am

        Thanks for the amazingly quick reply–greatly appreciated as I struggle to find enough info to make a good decision. The only reviews I could find had Miix’s with an i-3 4012Y processor. This unit has the i-5, granted it is 4202Y. I have read this is slower than the i-5 4200U version but by how much? The 8gb ram with 256 ssd sounds good, but I don’t want a log jam, if for some reason it is extremely slow like the reviews of the Miix 2 11.6″ with the i-3 4012Y. Thanks again for your help.

        • Andrei Girbea

          August 31, 2014 at 6:16 pm

          That i5 is decently fast for everyday use. Try to find out if there are any problems BESIDES the slow hardware on the i3 version and decide if you can live with them. Like I said, I did not review this unit and can’t say much about it

          • Kay

            August 31, 2014 at 11:30 pm

            Thanks again! Reading i3 reviews again, it sounds like unresolved issues for the processor to run so far below the i3 specs that I have decided not to risk that the i5 will also run below its specs. I am going to re-read/watch all your articles and videos to see where to go from here. Really, really appreciate all your good insights and information. Thanks!!

          • Andrei Girbea

            September 1, 2014 at 8:53 am

            THanks, let me know if I can help in any other way, hopefully I’ll be able to provide more in depth info about other products

  6. George

    September 20, 2014 at 6:13 am

    Any update on the ability to replace the HDD with an SSD? Has anyone actually done it? A few local stores that I’ve asked don’t know because their techs have not opened one. I guess these units are still pretty new.

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 20, 2014 at 8:20 am

      WEll, performing the upgrade should be fairly easy: remove the back, unscrew the HDD< put the SSD in place (first clone the HDD to the SSD with an external USB cradle). My only concerns regards warranty. You can try and remove the back cover if you have this already and see if there's any sticker on top of any of the screws holding the HDD cage that says something about "Warranty voided if removed" or similar. If not, you're probably good to go (just my opinion, can't say for sure what Asus think about that).

      • George

        September 20, 2014 at 7:00 pm

        Thanks for the quick reply. I talked to Asus Support a couple of days ago. I’m probably not going to trust what the support person said 100% but he seemed to indicate that if there is a warranty repair, you just have to make sure to put the original drive back in. Although I gave him the impression that I would be having a tech from a store that sells Asus doing the swap. And it’s likely he may have not known anything about this “warranty voided” sticker that may only apply to certain models. If I buy it and it has the sticker, I’ll call them back and get clarification while I still have the opportunity to return the machine for a refund.

        • David

          September 22, 2014 at 8:43 am

          Thats interesting because a Sales representative in Germany told me that ASUS doesnt want the customer to change anything on the device after i asked him if it is possible to change the harddrive without voiding warranty…

    • Richard Burns

      October 1, 2014 at 10:16 am

      I’ve done it and it was easy, pop the bottom off (10 screws). 5 screws holding the HDD in place, remove them + the sata/data cable, screw in the SSD, pop the bottom back on.

      In short: 15 screws to remove, 15 screws to screw back in, took all of about 5 mins in total.

      Cloning did not work – the weird UEFI setup, file and partitioning structure meant the cloning software failed (both Acronis True Image and Clonezilla failed to clone the drive). I’m still not sure why, but it was completely resistant to cloning. I had to perform a clean install.

      I had the warranty sticker and have confirmed with Asus tech support UK that I have now voided my warranty by removing it.

      • Andrei Girbea

        October 1, 2014 at 1:34 pm

        Did you damage the sticker by removing it? Is it possible to apply it to some tape and then reattach on top of the screw if required? From what I know, the seal is placed on top one of the screws, can you confirm that pls? My unit lacked it.

        • Richard Burns

          October 1, 2014 at 2:21 pm

          Yes it was on one of the screws. It’s basically impossible to remove the sticker, it had loads of radial cuts in it so as soon as I touched the sticker it pretty much disintegrated.

          I suspect if you had a hairdryer to soften the glue, a very soft touch and a lot of patience you could maybe get the sticker off in one piece, but it’s very obviously designed to make that almost impossible.

          • Andrei Girbea

            October 1, 2014 at 2:51 pm

            I see. Thanks for the clarifications. Was it the same sticker as in this picture: http://i.imgur.com/5mL9b0B.jpg . The yellow one on the right side?

          • James

            October 4, 2014 at 9:50 pm

            I used a hair dryer to take off the sticker and wax paper to store it :) Honestly saying, after 1 year it won’t matter anyway because the manufacturer warranty would have expired.

          • Andrei Girbea

            October 5, 2014 at 9:02 am

            True, but over here in Europe standard warranty is 24 months. And things can happen in this time span.

          • Richard Burns

            October 6, 2014 at 7:26 pm

            Yes, that’s exactly the same “warranty void” sticker I had in mine.

          • Tom

            October 10, 2014 at 7:18 pm

            I am in the process of upgrading the 128GB SSD to a 512GB one as within an hour of getting it the SSD was about 90% full of various software development programs.
            With a lot of care, so head, and a knife blade I was able to remove the sticker in one piece. The hair dryer approach mentioned in another comment is probably the way to go (I managed to cobble together something to blow hot air at it as I don’t have a hair dryer to hand).

            I’ve gone for the 512GB MX100 from Corsair. Should arrive tomorrow. I’ve got the old drive out and have used Linux on another computer (usinq dd) to make full clone of the old drive which I will flash back on to the new one. Will let you know if the new drive boots fine with all of the EFI stuff going on.

  7. andrew ashmore

    September 29, 2014 at 4:07 pm

    i purchased the i5 4210u 6gb 500gb hd with intel hd 4400 graphics 6gb ram from pc world. Not seen other discrete graphics models, john lewis and argos sell the i3 4gb only and john lewis sell the i7 8gb 500gb hdd. Both with intel 4400 hd graphics. runs tomb raider at 1366×768 at 29 fps, runs minecraft at the same res at 60fps. not bad and all i wanted it for.

    recently upgraded it to 12gb ram from crucial.com/uk.

    • Alex

      October 1, 2014 at 8:55 am

      Hi, how much battery life do you get considering a lower resolution 768px screen. Does it have better battery life than the review :)

      • Andrei Girbea

        October 1, 2014 at 1:31 pm

        I don’t think it’s going to make much of a difference. 15-30 minutes at best in everyday use.

  8. Nico

    October 5, 2014 at 4:31 pm

    Hi.

    One question regarding the TP300, did you notice the wifi card to be on socket and changeable for another? I ask because the one furnished (Mediatek MT7630E) in it has serious problems to be fully functionnal and has to be changed, so I am wondering if it is possible to do so.

    Thanks in advance.

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 5, 2014 at 9:03 pm

      If you’ll look at the pic of the internals, you’ll notice the wi-fi chip placed on a PCIE slot next to the cooler. Thus can be removed and replaced.

  9. rovin

    October 5, 2014 at 7:12 pm

    hi, i need help i have the same item as shown above..i have this problem on connecting the internet using rj45,i cant rely on wifi foerver can someone please help me how to have direct internet connection?? i tried USB lan cable still doesnt work need help please..thankyou cheers!

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 5, 2014 at 9:06 pm

      Look for an USB to Ethernet adapter. From waht you’re saying, you already tried that and didn’t work? What exactly happened?

  10. Steven Clark

    October 13, 2014 at 1:11 am

    Hi,

    Great Review.
    When you mentioned, “a proper way of outputting higher than 1080p resolutions” are you referring to connecting to a Monitor or TV? What happens?

    also What would be the best package for general performance? The i7 version with intel hd graphics card or the i5 with Nvidia 820M?

    I do some web development so use Adobe cloud apps and editing 1080p videos from my SLR camera?

    cheers,

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 13, 2014 at 1:02 pm

      Yes, that. Connecting higher than 1080p monitors via HDMI 1.4 can be problematic, a DisplayPort 1.2 port would be preferred.

  11. John Adrian

    October 23, 2014 at 7:25 pm

    Nice laptop reviews Andrei, can you make a direct review of these laptops: Asus TP300LD and Asus Vivobook S301LP
    I’ll want to know which one of them is better to use on running intense programming applications like Microsoft Visual Studio and also which is better in terms of gaming capability, storage, and portability.
    I’ll be waiting.
    Thanks in Advance!

  12. Joefer

    November 13, 2014 at 3:47 am

    Good day sir Andrei! Once again, congratulations for an excellently-documented article. I plan to purchase a convertible and have shortlisted this TP300L and HP’s TouchSmart 11.

    I’d like to solicit your expert advise on which among these two can you consider:
    1. Better performer (graphics-wise)*;
    2. Best bang for the buck

    Available Model and Pricing(Philippines; converted to USD):
    1. TP300L-DW099H = 599.51 USD
    2. HP Pavilion 11-N010D = 541.56 USD

    *I am not into hardcore gaming but i’d love to know which among the two can handle (more recent) games better. The TP300 comes with Core i3 4010u and the HP TS 11 in Pentium n3520. I believe graphics cannot be upgraded on these two? I’m not very literate with computers and i’ve checked websites for comparisons but i get vague results.

    Please advise. thanks in advance!

    PS: If i could only use your affiliated links for my next purchase without the delivery and tax constraints, I’d gladly do it. Your reviews have been most helpful to me. Also, I’ve been watching your reviews in youtube without even realizing that the voice behind it and the author of this site is one and the same! Kudos, sir and more power! :)

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 13, 2014 at 1:31 pm

      The TP300 is the faster of the two and will perform better in games as well, but also in everyday use. It is however bigger and heavier. As an alternative to the HP 11, you should also check out the Dell Inspiron 11 3000 and see if it fits your budget, it’s imh the best 11 inch 2-in-1 with an affordable price tag right now. My affiliate links are here, in case you want to use them: https://www.ultrabookreview.com/thanks/

      • Joefer

        November 14, 2014 at 6:52 am

        Coincidentally, I have made research of the Dell Inspiron 3000 weeks back but the 2-in-1 version is still not available in my country T.T. Once again, thank you very much! I’m afraid I won’t be using your links for this upcoming purchase, though. I am quite in the rush because dad’s buying it within the month and he’s gonna be away again soon @.@. Rest assured though, if i ever get to upgrade/purchase later, i’ll make it an option to have my item ordered by a relative in the US to have it delivered on their next visit. THANKS a BUNCH!

        • Andrei Girbea

          November 23, 2014 at 4:11 pm

          Glad I could help, don’t worry about it

  13. fredjm31

    November 21, 2014 at 12:40 pm

    Hello Andreï and everybody.
    About SSD upgrade, I have a 2.5 inch SATA SSD bought in october 2011. Do you think it is usable for an upgrade on this device ? I.e., is there a risk that the connector format is not the same ?
    Thank you for advance.
    Fred.

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 23, 2014 at 4:36 pm

      Which model? The connector should be the same, but there are 7 mm and 9 mm thick 2.5 inch drives. If I remember correctly, the TP300 only fits 7 mm models.

  14. MarkusG

    November 24, 2014 at 2:50 pm

    Hi Andrei,
    I’ve change the internal ssd 128gb with a bigger 500gb ssd and had some difficulties with the touch display and the left usb port after the change. As you know the hdd connector and the touch panel are connected over the same cable to the mainboard and I thought I damaged the connector…….Great! A broken sticker and a damaged touch display.
    But it hasn’t been the connector, after restoring the bios to factory defaults all devices are working properly. Maybe this is made by design…

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 24, 2014 at 4:20 pm

      Weird, haven’t heard of this before, but thanks for sharing, in case other encounter the same issue

    • Richard Burns

      November 28, 2014 at 4:16 pm

      Thank you, thank you, thank you. My touch display was fine, but I swapped the HDD for an SSD and the left USB port stopped working properly. Set the BIOS to default values and now working again properly.

  15. Ings

    November 25, 2014 at 10:16 pm

    Hi there. Nice review.

    Do you know if the HD only versions of this laptop come with IPS display tech? Or are all the HD-only versions worldwide using TN? I find conflicting information on different online sites.

    Thanks :)

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 26, 2014 at 5:45 pm

      I’m not 100% positive, but my listing for the HD versions lack a VW mentioning, which comes from Wide Viewing and usually means IPS. SO i’d reckon that’s a TN panel, but again, I can’t vouch for that

  16. Cas

    November 29, 2014 at 6:07 am

    Do you know of any online site where I might be able to buy the top configuration of this notebook (with, at least, 1080p IPS, dedicated GPU, i7 and WiFi ac)? Where I come from, we only get a measly i5 + 720p display configuration. What a bummer.

    Thanks.

  17. Marianne

    November 29, 2014 at 6:58 am

    Nice reviews,

    What would your preference be between the Lenovo 15″ Flex 2 15D with the AMD A8 6410 versus the Asus Transformer TP300LD with the Intel i5 and the Nividia GT820M if you were going to use it for “Entry Level” AutoCad and Autocad Rivit?

    Thank You

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 29, 2014 at 11:52 am

      Not sure how that A8 performs, so can’t comment on that.

      • Marianne

        November 29, 2014 at 6:58 pm

        Tec at Tiger Direct said at 2.5 to 3.0. I am trying to get my son through his last year of school and both laptops are on sale
        the ASUS TP300LD (with Intel i5-4210 – Nividia 820M – 6ram 500hdd)at $549.00 and
        the Lenovo Flex 2 (AMD A8-6410 – 8ram -1tb) at $499.00 but video is only 1366 x 768.

        I am asking more about the durability, reliability and upgrade ability.

        Thank you for your input

        • Marianne

          November 29, 2014 at 7:49 pm

          Andrei
          Forgot to mention , the real purpose for a flip is so that he can have a Wacom tablet directly in front of the screen while working and not a keyboard away or on the side.

          Thank you for your input.

  18. Meirbek

    December 1, 2014 at 4:42 am

    Hello, Andrei,
    Is the body, where keyboard and trackpad located, made of aluminium or plastic?
    In this review it says that is not:
    mobilegeeks.com/asus-transformer-book-flip-review-tp300l-nividia-820m-graphics/

  19. Meirbek

    December 1, 2014 at 7:54 am

    Hey, Andrei,
    Would you please tell if it has aluminum body or not?

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 8, 2014 at 12:37 pm

      It’s aluminum from what I can remember

    • Richard Burns

      December 8, 2014 at 1:40 pm

      That review is wrong, I own one and it's definitely aluminium. Also see the product page on Asus' website:

      asus.com/Notebooks_Ultrabooks/ASUS_Transformer_Book_Flip_TP300LD/
      "Brushed-hairline aluminum finish for high durability and an elegant look"

  20. Kenneth

    December 5, 2014 at 12:08 am

    Hi,

    Just bought the entry level spec TP300LA (i3). First impression is that the 4GB RAM is not enough. It shows some delays and response. However, after updating the RAM to 8GB everything is smooth.

    And Yes, the HDD has a warranty Void Sticker. So can’t update the HDD.
    So so good.

    Thanks to the review, it was a good buy.

  21. Al

    December 5, 2014 at 1:28 am

    These are not a Full HD screen laptops. I just bought the tp300LD model. Mainly due to the dedicated nVidia and the 1920×1280 screen. But it is NOT! The highest it can get to is 1366×768. It used to be advertised (even on Asus website) as a 1920×1080! Now they are correcting this.. what a scam

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 8, 2014 at 12:53 pm

      Al, there are models with a 1366 x 768 px screen (like yours) and models with a 1920 x 1080 px display. You’ve got the first, if you were deceived in any way, you should address the shop that sold you the laptop.

  22. shytide

    December 8, 2014 at 6:12 am

    How’d you stop the auto-dimming feature for this laptop? I already turned it off in the Power Options but it still dims when it senses “ambient light.” It’s very annoying.

    • Richard Burns

      December 8, 2014 at 1:36 pm

      Function key + A

      • shytide

        December 9, 2014 at 5:17 pm

        D’oh. Thanks!

  23. Ratta

    December 13, 2014 at 2:14 pm

    Hi Guys,

    just wanted to let you know, that the hdd/ssd can easily be changed without damaging the garanty-void-seal. Just remove all the other screws of the hdd cage, then lift it up a bit (aktually it is automatically pushed up a little as soon as you remove the screws). You will then be able to remove all screws holding the hdd/ssd easily without damaging the seal.

  24. Bah

    January 3, 2015 at 10:57 am

    Hi Mike.

    I am very appreciative of your detailed reviews, and it really helps when choosing ultrabooks. I have a question on display of this ASUS. Is the screen as glossy as in dell inspiron 7000 series or is it more reflective/glossier? trackpad is another selling point for me, I played with dell 7000 trackpad and I was not fond of it. I hope the trackpad on ASUS feels better and more responsive.

    Thanks in advance

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 5, 2015 at 12:32 pm

      The screen is more or less the same, as it’s covered by glass as well, thus glossy and reflective. The trackpad is somewhat better on the Asus, I wasn’t fond of the one on the Inspiron either, as you can tell from my review.

      • Richard Burns

        January 5, 2015 at 3:15 pm

        Andrei, I have a general display question, if you don’t mind? It was prompted by Bah’s question above: Is glossy/reflective an inherent feature of touchscreens? Every touchscreen display I’ve ever seen is glossy and reflective.

        To ask another way, is it possible to have a non-reflective, matte touchscreen display?

        • Andrei Girbea

          January 5, 2015 at 4:38 pm

          Mostly yes, because touchscreens have a layer of glass on top of the panel.

          There are some devices that add a mattifying film on top of the glass, like the Lenovo X1 Carbon for instance, but these films usually cause a slight amount of graininess. So image quality suffers, at least imo. There are universal such films that you can apply to most devices, but I personally am not a fan. Most widespread are the films for the iPhone and iPads, maybe you can see those in action.

  25. Raphael

    January 8, 2015 at 1:30 am

    I’m trying to reinstall FlipLock after a format but impossible to make it work !!

    Someone know this problem ?

    • Richard Burns

      January 10, 2015 at 8:33 am

      Same for me. Fliplock is reinstalled correctly, but simply doesn’t work. I called Asus but they refused to help over the phone as I’d wiped and reinstalled. They insisted I return it to them… At my cost of course!

      • raphaelh1427

        January 21, 2015 at 8:14 pm

        install fliplock 2.6 for the i5 version and hdd protectiton tool

        • bpraj

          February 3, 2015 at 2:18 pm

          @raphaelh1427
          could you please send the driver (fliplock 2.6 for the i5 version and hdd protectiton tool) to me at : bpraj70 at gmail dot com

          thanks

  26. Lillian

    January 8, 2015 at 5:26 am

    Hi, I am currently deciding between this laptop and the Asus Vivobook Q301.

    I have some concerns about the keyboard. If you flip into tablet mode, or anything other than a traditional laptop position, will the keyboard inactivate? If it does not, is there a risk of the keyboard breaking easily?

    Thanks!

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 9, 2015 at 6:24 pm

      The keyboard becomes inactive when flipping the screen past 180 degrees. You can still press the keys, but they won’t register any commands. The same happens with the trackpad.

    • Emanuele

      January 17, 2015 at 10:53 am

      I had the same problem. I installed last fliplok sw from Asus web site and didn’t work. Then I tried with ASUS Instal, an utility that let you install some drivers and programs and it installed an older version of the fliplock that works. I suggest you disinstall current fliplock and re install with ASUS Install.

      • Richard Burns

        January 20, 2015 at 10:59 am

        Have you got a link for the Asus Uninstall you used please? I’m struggling to find it. I’ve tried Asus Live Update which says “no updates available”.

        • Emanuele

          January 21, 2015 at 8:02 am

          Hi Richard,
          I disintalled the FlipLock software from the standard control panel/programs & functions. Then I restarted the notebook and run Asus Install. It proposed me to install FlipLock version 1.0.3 whic is the only version I found that was working for me.

  27. Kurtis

    January 9, 2015 at 5:14 am

    Hi Andrei,

    I’m stuck picking between the Dell 13 7347 and the Asus TP300LA. I am able to find the Asus for $100 cheaper than the Dell with similar configurations with the exception of the Wireless card (AC vs. N) and a back-lit keyboard. Just wondering what your preference was between the two? And your opinion of the speakers for both from a sound quality and volume perspective. Thanks.

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 9, 2015 at 6:29 pm

      I can’t really remember if the speakers were significantly better on one or the other, but none impressed me, so I’d say they are close.

      My biggest gripe with the Dell is the poor battery life. Then comes the Trackpad. However, I did like the design and the keyboard. So if I were to choose between them, I would probably get the Dell, mainly because I’m alright with 5 hours of daily use and really need a good keyboard. If the keyboard isn’t that important to you, I think that Asus is the better deal, since it’s $100 cheaper.

  28. Compfused

    January 24, 2015 at 1:24 pm

    I am trying to decide between the Asus tp300la with the lower resolution 1366 x 768 screen, or the Dell 7000. The Dell has in its favour the 1920 x 1080 ips screen compared to the 1366 x 768 (is that lower resoulution always a TN screen as some specs suggest this is also ips). The Dell also has 2GB more RAM but is £120 more expensive. Base on the better screen, ram and keyboard, is the Dell a better package even though more expensive.

    Also Dell state the 7000 has a Hybrid drive with 8gb cache? Is this a standard cache size? Or is it pretty much the same as the Asus who do not state it is a hybrid HDD?

    I am looking at UK specs here.

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 25, 2015 at 10:08 pm

      Hi, sry for the delayed reply. Yes, the 768p screens on the Asus are all TN panels from what I know. That alone would steer me away from the TP300, my personal tolerance for poor screens is barely null these days :P You might feel otherwise though.

      The Dell that I tested used an SSH, a hybrid drive as you’re saying. Other manufacturers, including Asus, on the other hand usually bundles a regular HDD with an mSATA SSD used for caching, in order to acheive a similar approach. Not sure which configuration you’re referring though and whether this small SSD is included on that TP300 or not.

      • Compfused

        January 25, 2015 at 10:40 pm

        Many thanks. Sorry for the double post!

        I did indeed go with the Dell in the end. For £100 ($140) more I got 2gb more memory and the 1920 x 1080 screen so I think I got a good deal.

        I am glad I did my research though as the shop do incorrectly list the Asus tp300la 1366×768 screen as being IPS not TN. I nearly bought it too.

        The Asus model in the uk does not have mSATA or a hybrid it seems. Again the shops can easily miss vital details off or just get them wrong, so I was trying to entablish what it actually had. It just seems to have a standard 500gb HDD.

        As a bonus, the Dell I bought came with the latest Broadwell i5 5200u.

  29. Compfused

    January 25, 2015 at 7:42 pm

    Hello, Great Review

    I was wondering, are all the Asus 1366 x 768 screens TN panels? I read a few specs which imply some might be IPS screens but may just be mis-labeling.

    I was deciding between this and the dell. I can get the dell for with 2GB more Ram, the 1920 x 1080 ips screen and 1 year accidental damage cover for only £100 more.

    Would you agree that the better screen and 2GB more ram is worth the extra?

    Also, dell have an 500GB hybrid drive. I assume the Asus drive is just a standard 500GB.

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 25, 2015 at 10:18 pm

      I replied to your earlier comment. Again, sry for the delayed reply, I reply to comments manually and they only appear online once I approve/answer them.

  30. Mohamed

    January 30, 2015 at 11:41 am

    Hey Andrei, I am choosing between the Asus Tp300 LD and other Convertibles, is that NVidia Chip performance worth the hassle?, I use Software like Rhino and AutoCAD for my work, the VGA performance is important for me. and if the Asus isn’t good what do you recommend? thanks.

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 30, 2015 at 12:39 pm

      I’m not sure if CAD and RHINO take proper advantage of the dedicated graphics chip. IN theory they should, in practice they might really heavily on the CPU and amount of RAM. On the long term though, they should benefit more and more from the dedicated chip. So it’s probably a smart move to pick something like the LD, but not mandatory.

  31. Mark Cunningham

    February 1, 2015 at 10:56 am

    Could you swap out/replace the standard 1366 x 768 PX TN screen with the 1920 x 1080 px IPS touchscreen? or would there be incompatibility problems? I managed to get hold of a new i7-5600u model but the screen is the lower res unit.

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 1, 2015 at 1:54 pm

      Theoretically, yes. But that’s a bit outside my area of expertise…

  32. Mohsin

    February 2, 2015 at 8:06 pm

    Hi Andrei,

    Thank you for the detailed review and video which actually made my buy the machine, however i am confused in a little scenario and need a little help.

    In the US(where i am currently located) the only highest option to buy 13.3 version is i5 with 500gb hd and 8gb of Ram. I was able to fine the fully beefed up version on Amazon.de but the issue is that the keyboard is in German Layout.

    However, when i saw your review you have same beefed up machine in English format, can you tell me where you got the machine from or where i can buy it and get it shipped to the US? I hope you understand my question, thank you.

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 2, 2015 at 8:21 pm

      I has a test-unit from Asus, it’s not something necessarily available in stores.

  33. Mohsin Tariq

    February 3, 2015 at 1:10 am

    Sorry, if my question was not clear. I want a i7 version with Engligh keyboard in the USA. Can you or anyone here help me locate one from a online retailer? Thanks.

  34. Pernani

    February 13, 2015 at 6:17 am

    Can I use this computer in portrait mode?

  35. Alex

    February 27, 2015 at 3:08 am

    Hi, I’m from Indonesia and i just bought this product recently. everything’s great until i find that the wireless adapter feel a little bit annoying.
    i’m not sure wheter this is the faulty from the device or my own mistake. because sometimes the laptop keeps connect and disconnect from the Wi-Fi connection, and my network sharing center too.

    Anyone has the same problem with me?

  36. Vijay

    March 30, 2015 at 1:58 am

    I was comparing the ASUS i5-4210U (1920 x 1080 screen) with the comparable Dell model (13 i7347) also reviewed on your site. While I am looking for reasons to buy the ASUS (it’s so MAC like!) I had to hand it to Dell on a few counts. The Dell screen was so much sharper with better contrasts (also noted by you) and the sound was so much better. My question is this: is the Dell screen/visuals actually better, or is there a way to tweak the ASUS settings? Also, sadly, the power button is on the side and easy to press, putting the laptop to sleep. Or am I making a way big deal out of this.

  37. Simeon Stoyanov

    April 4, 2015 at 9:48 am

    Thank you for the helpful reviews you write, this one not being an exception.

    I have a question for you- do you think that the TP300LD models would have a shorter battery life when compared to LA because of the graphic card? I’m talking about watching movies, light photo editing etc, not playing games.

    Thank you for your time.

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 5, 2015 at 6:46 pm

      Well, the dedicated graphics should not kick-on in those tasks and if they do, you can manually tweak the settings so the Nvidia Chip only fires with certain applications. So no, the battery life should not be any different than what the LA model can deliver.

  38. catalin

    April 6, 2015 at 1:14 am

    Salut!
    Tocmai am comandat un astfel de laptop in Canada.TP300LA, I5, 8Gb, 500Gb Hdd/5400.
    Crezi ca merita instalarea unui SSD aditional si marirea memoriei la 12Gb?
    Il folosesc pentru Office, muzica, vizionare filme.
    Ocazional editare fotografii.
    Multumesc!
    catalin

  39. mix

    April 10, 2015 at 2:50 am

    Hi
    I just purchased the new . But I was wondering why the Battery info of “powercfg -energy” command show the following output

    Design Capacity 50103
    Last Full Charge 47388

    Is that 2 value should be the same for brandnew laptop.

    Thank you.

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 11, 2015 at 9:11 am

      well, it should, or at least the two values should be very close. Seems like your laptop had a pronounced battery wear out of the box. You should return it and ask for a replacement.

      • mix

        April 11, 2015 at 4:24 pm

        After contact ASUS technical person, they said that 6% of wear level on new laptop is normal. T_T

        • Andrei Girbea

          April 13, 2015 at 7:56 pm

          Meh, that sounds unacceptable to me and very arrogant of them. I’d return the laptop if possible.

  40. Edus

    April 25, 2015 at 2:50 am

    i had a problem with this laptop,
    the fliplock doesnt work, so when i fliped my laptop into tablet the keyboard and touchpad is still work.

    would you like to help me fixed these?

  41. sarah

    May 25, 2015 at 1:41 am

    Hi – I have the i3 4030U version here and I canot cnnect to the internet as it says that there is no working network adapter. Can you advise me what driver I need to download to make the wifi work – or is there something else that I am missing here?

    Thanks

    Sarah

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 25, 2015 at 12:52 pm

      Is the WiFi properly module installed? You should check in Device Manager, under Network Adapters, you should find the Wireless chip listed if everything is alright.

      You could also contact Asus support about this issue, it’s wither soem sort of drivers problem or the Wi-Fi module is broken and needs to be fixed (by Asus, under warranty, ofc).

  42. Sigatapu

    June 10, 2015 at 1:13 pm

    I bought this model few Days ago.. i3..
    my issue is when d battery was low I plug in the power cable as it is 99 or 100% I remove the cable it immediately switches off.. without cable I can’t switch it ON. After 3 to 4 hours generally it is switching ON with battery

  43. Jason

    June 16, 2015 at 1:22 am

    Hello, thanks for the great review. One question, my power button became loose for whatever reason and I opened the laptop up to see what’s the problem. I noticed that there should be a tiny small white chip attached to the motherboard (from the picture you provided above) that clicks when you press the button. The volume buttons had those white chips but the power button didn’t. I have no idea where the button went. I would be so grateful if you could assist me with my problem. Also, I would like to know what these small white chips are called.

    Thanks in advance.

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 16, 2015 at 11:34 am

      Hi Jason, sry but this is out of my league unfortunately. Maybe someone else could pitch in…

  44. mahoganyminerva

    June 19, 2015 at 1:19 am

    Hi! Thanks for this review. How does this unit fare with the new Asus UX305 that uses the Core M5Y10? I understand that the difference between i3 and the 5Y10 seems negligible. But in your opinion, is an i3/i5 Asus TP300 better than the 5Y10 Asus UX305 in terms of functionality and overall performance? Im looking for a laptop I can use for at least 5 years. :))

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 20, 2015 at 8:24 am

      Performance wise, the i3 is going to be faster. The UX305 is very aggressively priced though and includes 8 GB of RAM and a 256 GB SSD. i3 configs within the same budget won’t. Still, if you care about speed and especially if you want to keep this laptop for a very long time, I’d go with at least a Core i3 CPU (preferably an i5). Pick an i5 with HDD and less RAM if the laptop allows future upgrades, that could help with a limited budget.

      • mahoganyminerva

        June 20, 2015 at 2:26 pm

        Thanks Andrei. Hmm. Well here’s what I need a laptop for. Research, SPSS, Photoshop, surfing and typing tasks, something I can carry when traveling. Is the UX305 capable of doing such tasks? Im in love with the design but afraid when you said it’s capable of “light tasks” in your UX305 review. How light is light and what are those light activities you’re referring? :) hope you can help me make up my mind :)

        • Andrei Girbea

          June 22, 2015 at 8:27 pm

          Photoshop is a no for me on the Core M 5y10 platform. WEb browsing, multiemdia content and typing though are a go, as long as you keep multitasking as low as possible (as in run as few things at the same time as possible)

          • mahoganyminerva

            June 23, 2015 at 1:21 am

            Can you recommend a laptop with little more power than the UX305 but has almost the same specs (thin and lightweight, i3 or i5) and around the same price :< :) or is there? :<

          • Andrei Girbea

            June 23, 2015 at 10:52 am

            Id’ recommend the Dell XPS 13 2015 and the Asus Zenbook UX305LA

  45. Mahoganyminerva

    June 23, 2015 at 11:35 am

    Yaay! My thoughts exactly. Do you have any idea when the asus ux305la will be available? :)

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 23, 2015 at 1:00 pm

      Last I’ve heard it was scheduled for Early July.

  46. Maria

    July 9, 2015 at 6:59 am

    I would like to know how do I connect with LAN? I have the adapter that connect to the usb port but i dont know how do i install or set it up since it doesnt work automatically.

    TQ

  47. Anne

    July 28, 2015 at 9:54 am

    Hi Andrei, can you make a direct review of these laptops: Asus TP300LD and Asus UX305
    I want to know which is better to use on running intense programming applications and also which is better in terms of graphics, storage, and portability.
    Thanks in Advance!

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 28, 2015 at 11:11 am

      Which UX305 are you interested in? If it’s the UX305FA, then this one is thinner, lighter, fanless and lacks a touchscreen and a convertible form-factor. It’s also less powerful.

      The TP300 is a 2-in-1, packs faster hardware, will probably last a bit less on a charge, is also thicker and heavier.

  48. Amy Wolf

    August 25, 2015 at 2:17 pm

    Such a great review. I need to buy a laptop for my daughter who will be going to college. She likes the flip ability to be able to take notes in class with a stylus. She is an English major and does a lot of papers. She also likes to watch movies on her laptop and surf the web. Would you recommend this TP300 or something else? It is not easy to find the “right” one. Thanks!

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 25, 2015 at 2:53 pm

      This isn’t goign to be the best for taking notes with a stylus. The screen lacks the technology for accurate pen recognition (digitizer) and the device is rather bulky and heavy. Something like the Micrososft Surface Pro 3 would be better suited for such tasks, imo. Or maybe something like the Acer Aspire Switch 11V, if you can find it anywhere.

      • Amy

        August 25, 2015 at 4:06 pm

        I kept pushing her to the Surface but she doesn’t like the detachable keyboard and thinks it is actually too small if you can believe that. She wants a 13 inch screen and likes having the convertible nature to use for note taking. Any other options you’d suggest? We tried an HP Pavilion x360, but she hears static in the headphones when they are plugged in and nothing is playing audio which is annoying to her. Other than that she is liking it, but it’s only been a week so I am exploring other options while I can still return that one.

  49. Amy

    August 25, 2015 at 6:38 pm

    Thank you. I have tried to steer her towards the Surface, but she does not like the detachable keyboard and actually thinks it is too small. She likes a bit more substantial machine. The note taking with a stylys will be important for her as well as streaming movies and Skyping with friends. She’d like a 13 inch screen. Would you have any other suggestions for us?

  50. Marco

    September 14, 2015 at 7:16 pm

    Hi can anyone place a video of how to remove the hdd i got to it but having issues with the connector since it is a cable and not a slot like in other laptops…. im afraid of breaking it

    Thanks

  51. marlene

    December 2, 2015 at 3:15 am

    hi Andrei, i need to connect my ASUS TP300L to a LAN.same question as Maria up there. what connectors or cables should i buy? I hope you could help. Thanks a lot!

  52. Jm

    March 17, 2016 at 7:36 pm

    Hi, is the hdd/ssd 9.5mm or 7mm? I’d like to replace my hdd with an ssd but I wouldn’t want to mess with it until I got the right ssd.

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 17, 2016 at 9:12 pm

      It’s been a while since I’ve reviewed this, but there’s a KINGSTON RBU-SC100S37128GD drive inside, which I think it’s a 7 mm drive. No way to go wrong with a 7mm SSD anyway, since those usually come with an adapter for 9.5 mm enclosures.

      • Craig

        December 22, 2017 at 5:34 pm

        Definitely a 7mm. I found this out the hard way by first ordering the 9.5 by mistake. Luckily I had another use for that drive and now have a 7mm 1TB drive installed.

  53. Gina Solares

    November 2, 2016 at 10:40 am

    Hi Andrei im using asusTP300L then the screen off & black.it wouldnt open anymore.what will i do? Thanks!

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 3, 2016 at 4:41 am

      Can't say, you should contact the service.

  54. Craig

    December 22, 2017 at 5:45 pm

    Hi Andrei, I just want to comment about your article. very good and informative info. I purchased my TP300LD in October 2015 for $499 US and have been very pleased with it with just a couple exceptions. I began receiving a Memory error and was quite worried when I saw the metal cover over the ram, but found that it is not soldered but has tabs on each corner that fit slots in MB. it pops off and on easily making RAM upgrades easy. Having said that, I was lucky that my Memory issue was on the removable RAM module and not the soldered RAM chips. Not sure why ASUS chose to uses RAM soldered to the MB. I'd have been up a creek if my problem were there. Another issue I have had (and one that my wife has on her TP500) is the WiFi adapter. Both of us experience sporadic WiFi drops and the Bluetooth was causing me BSD errors. I swapped the WiFi adapter with one I scavenged from an AIO PC and the Bluetooth errors went away. Now awaiting new Intel WiFi adapters and hope to see improved WiFi performance.
    Just wanted to share this info in case others might be wondering.
    Thanks for your in depth article.
    Craig

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 23, 2017 at 6:56 am

      Thanks for your feedback. Unfortunately most laptops in this price range can get various quirks, and there's no way for me to signal them in a review, as they usually occur after a while.

  55. dennis

    March 10, 2018 at 6:06 pm

    there is a tab in the middle of the harddrive. how does one disconnect it

  56. edison tian

    August 26, 2018 at 11:15 am

    i bought the 4gb ram kingston KVR13S9S8/4 upgrade the ram from 4gb to 8gb but after plug in the system still show 4gb, if this ram not suitable can you advise what brand model ram is suitable to upgrade the ram?

    i have restart the computer after input the ram but it still not works, should you have any solution on it?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *