Asus Transformer Book Flip TP300 / TP300LA / Q302LA review

159 Comments

  1. Mark Cunningham

    February 1, 2015 at 10:56 am

    Could you swap out/replace the standard 1366 x 768 PX TN screen with the 1920 x 1080 px IPS touchscreen? or would there be incompatibility problems? I managed to get hold of a new i7-5600u model but the screen is the lower res unit.

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 1, 2015 at 1:54 pm

      Theoretically, yes. But that’s a bit outside my area of expertise…

  2. Mohsin

    February 2, 2015 at 8:06 pm

    Hi Andrei,

    Thank you for the detailed review and video which actually made my buy the machine, however i am confused in a little scenario and need a little help.

    In the US(where i am currently located) the only highest option to buy 13.3 version is i5 with 500gb hd and 8gb of Ram. I was able to fine the fully beefed up version on Amazon.de but the issue is that the keyboard is in German Layout.

    However, when i saw your review you have same beefed up machine in English format, can you tell me where you got the machine from or where i can buy it and get it shipped to the US? I hope you understand my question, thank you.

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 2, 2015 at 8:21 pm

      I has a test-unit from Asus, it’s not something necessarily available in stores.

  3. Mohsin Tariq

    February 3, 2015 at 1:10 am

    Sorry, if my question was not clear. I want a i7 version with Engligh keyboard in the USA. Can you or anyone here help me locate one from a online retailer? Thanks.

  4. Pernani

    February 13, 2015 at 6:17 am

    Can I use this computer in portrait mode?

  5. Alex

    February 27, 2015 at 3:08 am

    Hi, I’m from Indonesia and i just bought this product recently. everything’s great until i find that the wireless adapter feel a little bit annoying.
    i’m not sure wheter this is the faulty from the device or my own mistake. because sometimes the laptop keeps connect and disconnect from the Wi-Fi connection, and my network sharing center too.

    Anyone has the same problem with me?

  6. Vijay

    March 30, 2015 at 1:58 am

    I was comparing the ASUS i5-4210U (1920 x 1080 screen) with the comparable Dell model (13 i7347) also reviewed on your site. While I am looking for reasons to buy the ASUS (it’s so MAC like!) I had to hand it to Dell on a few counts. The Dell screen was so much sharper with better contrasts (also noted by you) and the sound was so much better. My question is this: is the Dell screen/visuals actually better, or is there a way to tweak the ASUS settings? Also, sadly, the power button is on the side and easy to press, putting the laptop to sleep. Or am I making a way big deal out of this.

  7. Simeon Stoyanov

    April 4, 2015 at 9:48 am

    Thank you for the helpful reviews you write, this one not being an exception.

    I have a question for you- do you think that the TP300LD models would have a shorter battery life when compared to LA because of the graphic card? I’m talking about watching movies, light photo editing etc, not playing games.

    Thank you for your time.

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 5, 2015 at 6:46 pm

      Well, the dedicated graphics should not kick-on in those tasks and if they do, you can manually tweak the settings so the Nvidia Chip only fires with certain applications. So no, the battery life should not be any different than what the LA model can deliver.

  8. catalin

    April 6, 2015 at 1:14 am

    Salut!
    Tocmai am comandat un astfel de laptop in Canada.TP300LA, I5, 8Gb, 500Gb Hdd/5400.
    Crezi ca merita instalarea unui SSD aditional si marirea memoriei la 12Gb?
    Il folosesc pentru Office, muzica, vizionare filme.
    Ocazional editare fotografii.
    Multumesc!
    catalin

  9. mix

    April 10, 2015 at 2:50 am

    Hi
    I just purchased the new . But I was wondering why the Battery info of “powercfg -energy” command show the following output

    Design Capacity 50103
    Last Full Charge 47388

    Is that 2 value should be the same for brandnew laptop.

    Thank you.

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 11, 2015 at 9:11 am

      well, it should, or at least the two values should be very close. Seems like your laptop had a pronounced battery wear out of the box. You should return it and ask for a replacement.

      • mix

        April 11, 2015 at 4:24 pm

        After contact ASUS technical person, they said that 6% of wear level on new laptop is normal. T_T

      • Andrei Girbea

        April 13, 2015 at 7:56 pm

        Meh, that sounds unacceptable to me and very arrogant of them. I’d return the laptop if possible.

  10. Edus

    April 25, 2015 at 2:50 am

    i had a problem with this laptop,
    the fliplock doesnt work, so when i fliped my laptop into tablet the keyboard and touchpad is still work.

    would you like to help me fixed these?

  11. sarah

    May 25, 2015 at 1:41 am

    Hi – I have the i3 4030U version here and I canot cnnect to the internet as it says that there is no working network adapter. Can you advise me what driver I need to download to make the wifi work – or is there something else that I am missing here?

    Thanks

    Sarah

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 25, 2015 at 12:52 pm

      Is the WiFi properly module installed? You should check in Device Manager, under Network Adapters, you should find the Wireless chip listed if everything is alright.

      You could also contact Asus support about this issue, it’s wither soem sort of drivers problem or the Wi-Fi module is broken and needs to be fixed (by Asus, under warranty, ofc).

  12. Sigatapu

    June 10, 2015 at 1:13 pm

    I bought this model few Days ago.. i3..
    my issue is when d battery was low I plug in the power cable as it is 99 or 100% I remove the cable it immediately switches off.. without cable I can’t switch it ON. After 3 to 4 hours generally it is switching ON with battery

  13. Jason

    June 16, 2015 at 1:22 am

    Hello, thanks for the great review. One question, my power button became loose for whatever reason and I opened the laptop up to see what’s the problem. I noticed that there should be a tiny small white chip attached to the motherboard (from the picture you provided above) that clicks when you press the button. The volume buttons had those white chips but the power button didn’t. I have no idea where the button went. I would be so grateful if you could assist me with my problem. Also, I would like to know what these small white chips are called.

    Thanks in advance.

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 16, 2015 at 11:34 am

      Hi Jason, sry but this is out of my league unfortunately. Maybe someone else could pitch in…

  14. mahoganyminerva

    June 19, 2015 at 1:19 am

    Hi! Thanks for this review. How does this unit fare with the new Asus UX305 that uses the Core M5Y10? I understand that the difference between i3 and the 5Y10 seems negligible. But in your opinion, is an i3/i5 Asus TP300 better than the 5Y10 Asus UX305 in terms of functionality and overall performance? Im looking for a laptop I can use for at least 5 years. :))

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 20, 2015 at 8:24 am

      Performance wise, the i3 is going to be faster. The UX305 is very aggressively priced though and includes 8 GB of RAM and a 256 GB SSD. i3 configs within the same budget won’t. Still, if you care about speed and especially if you want to keep this laptop for a very long time, I’d go with at least a Core i3 CPU (preferably an i5). Pick an i5 with HDD and less RAM if the laptop allows future upgrades, that could help with a limited budget.

      • mahoganyminerva

        June 20, 2015 at 2:26 pm

        Thanks Andrei. Hmm. Well here’s what I need a laptop for. Research, SPSS, Photoshop, surfing and typing tasks, something I can carry when traveling. Is the UX305 capable of doing such tasks? Im in love with the design but afraid when you said it’s capable of “light tasks” in your UX305 review. How light is light and what are those light activities you’re referring? :) hope you can help me make up my mind :)

      • Andrei Girbea

        June 22, 2015 at 8:27 pm

        Photoshop is a no for me on the Core M 5y10 platform. WEb browsing, multiemdia content and typing though are a go, as long as you keep multitasking as low as possible (as in run as few things at the same time as possible)

      • mahoganyminerva

        June 23, 2015 at 1:21 am

        Can you recommend a laptop with little more power than the UX305 but has almost the same specs (thin and lightweight, i3 or i5) and around the same price :< :) or is there? :<

      • Andrei Girbea

        June 23, 2015 at 10:52 am

        Id’ recommend the Dell XPS 13 2015 and the Asus Zenbook UX305LA

  15. Mahoganyminerva

    June 23, 2015 at 11:35 am

    Yaay! My thoughts exactly. Do you have any idea when the asus ux305la will be available? :)

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 23, 2015 at 1:00 pm

      Last I’ve heard it was scheduled for Early July.

  16. Maria

    July 9, 2015 at 6:59 am

    I would like to know how do I connect with LAN? I have the adapter that connect to the usb port but i dont know how do i install or set it up since it doesnt work automatically.

    TQ

  17. Anne

    July 28, 2015 at 9:54 am

    Hi Andrei, can you make a direct review of these laptops: Asus TP300LD and Asus UX305
    I want to know which is better to use on running intense programming applications and also which is better in terms of graphics, storage, and portability.
    Thanks in Advance!

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 28, 2015 at 11:11 am

      Which UX305 are you interested in? If it’s the UX305FA, then this one is thinner, lighter, fanless and lacks a touchscreen and a convertible form-factor. It’s also less powerful.

      The TP300 is a 2-in-1, packs faster hardware, will probably last a bit less on a charge, is also thicker and heavier.

  18. Amy Wolf

    August 25, 2015 at 2:17 pm

    Such a great review. I need to buy a laptop for my daughter who will be going to college. She likes the flip ability to be able to take notes in class with a stylus. She is an English major and does a lot of papers. She also likes to watch movies on her laptop and surf the web. Would you recommend this TP300 or something else? It is not easy to find the “right” one. Thanks!

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 25, 2015 at 2:53 pm

      This isn’t goign to be the best for taking notes with a stylus. The screen lacks the technology for accurate pen recognition (digitizer) and the device is rather bulky and heavy. Something like the Micrososft Surface Pro 3 would be better suited for such tasks, imo. Or maybe something like the Acer Aspire Switch 11V, if you can find it anywhere.

      • Amy

        August 25, 2015 at 4:06 pm

        I kept pushing her to the Surface but she doesn’t like the detachable keyboard and thinks it is actually too small if you can believe that. She wants a 13 inch screen and likes having the convertible nature to use for note taking. Any other options you’d suggest? We tried an HP Pavilion x360, but she hears static in the headphones when they are plugged in and nothing is playing audio which is annoying to her. Other than that she is liking it, but it’s only been a week so I am exploring other options while I can still return that one.

      • Andrei Girbea

        August 25, 2015 at 5:29 pm

        Hmmm, the Pavilion x360 is a lower-end 11-inch laptop, if I’m not mistaken. Are you talking about the Spectre x360, the 13-incher with a metallic body reviewed here: https://www.ultrabookreview.com/8042-hp-spectre-x360-review/ ?

  19. Amy

    August 25, 2015 at 6:38 pm

    Thank you. I have tried to steer her towards the Surface, but she does not like the detachable keyboard and actually thinks it is too small. She likes a bit more substantial machine. The note taking with a stylys will be important for her as well as streaming movies and Skyping with friends. She’d like a 13 inch screen. Would you have any other suggestions for us?

  20. Marco

    September 14, 2015 at 7:16 pm

    Hi can anyone place a video of how to remove the hdd i got to it but having issues with the connector since it is a cable and not a slot like in other laptops…. im afraid of breaking it

    Thanks

  21. marlene

    December 2, 2015 at 3:15 am

    hi Andrei, i need to connect my ASUS TP300L to a LAN.same question as Maria up there. what connectors or cables should i buy? I hope you could help. Thanks a lot!

  22. Jm

    March 17, 2016 at 7:36 pm

    Hi, is the hdd/ssd 9.5mm or 7mm? I’d like to replace my hdd with an ssd but I wouldn’t want to mess with it until I got the right ssd.

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 17, 2016 at 9:12 pm

      It’s been a while since I’ve reviewed this, but there’s a KINGSTON RBU-SC100S37128GD drive inside, which I think it’s a 7 mm drive. No way to go wrong with a 7mm SSD anyway, since those usually come with an adapter for 9.5 mm enclosures.

      • Craig

        December 22, 2017 at 5:34 pm

        Definitely a 7mm. I found this out the hard way by first ordering the 9.5 by mistake. Luckily I had another use for that drive and now have a 7mm 1TB drive installed.

  23. Gina Solares

    November 2, 2016 at 10:40 am

    Hi Andrei im using asusTP300L then the screen off & black.it wouldnt open anymore.what will i do? Thanks!

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 3, 2016 at 4:41 am

      Can't say, you should contact the service.

  24. Craig

    December 22, 2017 at 5:45 pm

    Hi Andrei, I just want to comment about your article. very good and informative info. I purchased my TP300LD in October 2015 for $499 US and have been very pleased with it with just a couple exceptions. I began receiving a Memory error and was quite worried when I saw the metal cover over the ram, but found that it is not soldered but has tabs on each corner that fit slots in MB. it pops off and on easily making RAM upgrades easy. Having said that, I was lucky that my Memory issue was on the removable RAM module and not the soldered RAM chips. Not sure why ASUS chose to uses RAM soldered to the MB. I'd have been up a creek if my problem were there. Another issue I have had (and one that my wife has on her TP500) is the WiFi adapter. Both of us experience sporadic WiFi drops and the Bluetooth was causing me BSD errors. I swapped the WiFi adapter with one I scavenged from an AIO PC and the Bluetooth errors went away. Now awaiting new Intel WiFi adapters and hope to see improved WiFi performance.
    Just wanted to share this info in case others might be wondering.
    Thanks for your in depth article.
    Craig

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 23, 2017 at 6:56 am

      Thanks for your feedback. Unfortunately most laptops in this price range can get various quirks, and there's no way for me to signal them in a review, as they usually occur after a while.

  25. dennis

    March 10, 2018 at 6:06 pm

    there is a tab in the middle of the harddrive. how does one disconnect it

  26. edison tian

    August 26, 2018 at 11:15 am

    i bought the 4gb ram kingston KVR13S9S8/4 upgrade the ram from 4gb to 8gb but after plug in the system still show 4gb, if this ram not suitable can you advise what brand model ram is suitable to upgrade the ram?

    i have restart the computer after input the ram but it still not works, should you have any solution on it?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *