Acer Nitro 5 AN515-57 review (Intel Core i7 + RTX)

23 Comments

  1. Han

    August 14, 2021 at 7:57 pm

    Hi Andrei,

    I'm currently on the fence between this Intel version and the AMD version of the Nitro 5. Both being the RTX 3060 model. I'm planning to use it plugged in most of the time, as I will be casually gaming and sometimes on graphic-hungry games. I'm also planning to use it lifted with a cooling fan underneath for better ventilation.

    The Intel is definitely slightly more expensive than the AMD version. Can I have your opinion on whether I should get the AMD version which is more efficient,lesser noise, lesser heat with almost similar performance or the Intel version which performs very well in gaming, PCIe gen 4 for faster SSD, despite being more power hungry?

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 16, 2021 at 9:56 am

      it can't be up to me, you'd have to decide based on what you need and prefer. Looks like the AMD model might be better suited to you

  2. Mul

    August 29, 2021 at 2:54 pm

    Are there any new reviews in the pipeline?

  3. Victor

    September 14, 2021 at 3:24 am

    Hi there,

    Great reviews by the way.

    I am looking to purchase the Nitro 5 AN515-57 model. Price and Spec wise, it seems competitive (if not better!) with others in the market but when searching top gaming laptops it seems to rarely appear on these lists. Are you aware of any reasons for this?

    Thanks

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 14, 2021 at 7:23 am

      it's a newer product and not yet available in most regions. That should change in the months to come

  4. Zidan Faris

    September 16, 2021 at 4:50 am

    Hey man, great reviews as usual, kudos for that!

    Umm, can you please upload the calibrated color profile for this model? From my personal observation I think this laptop has a slightly warmer color temperature on its display if compared to some of its competitors, like Ideapad Gaming 3i.

    Thanks

  5. Alfred Winters

    December 9, 2021 at 7:07 am

    Hi, unfortunately I purchased the AN515-57 laptop prior to reading this review. I can confirm that the AU Optronics panel is not great. I am not that tech savvy, if I connect an external monitor with a better display, will I still suffer some negative impact of having bought the AU Optronics panel, or will that mistake be entirely negated by connecting an external monitor?
    Thanks

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 9, 2021 at 9:48 am

      You should be fine as long as you're using a better-quality external monitor.

  6. Yherár Angulo

    December 17, 2021 at 9:46 pm

    Hello! Very good review, I am in doubt, I do not know if you could help me, I am thinking of buying this acer nitro 5 equipment or going for the acer swift X.

    Any recommendation.? Thank you!

  7. Arunlal J

    December 25, 2021 at 9:06 am

    Does acer nitro 5 AN515-54 has external battery or internal battery?

    • sheida

      April 25, 2022 at 12:15 am

      internal

  8. Alireza

    March 5, 2022 at 9:23 am

    Hi Andrei,

    Thanks for the review. It was detailed and helpful.

    I have the same laptop, but with RTX 3060, and the same 11800H CPU.

    One issue I have with my laptop is in Cyberpunk 2077 with RTX on, sometimes especially in really crowded areas, my fps really dips down to around 20, and I get really noticeable stutters all the time even though the RivaTuner shows 40+ fps. which is really annoying. Normally my CPU hits around 95C and GPU around 78C, But when I disable my CPU turbo boost (through the cpu power management max set to 99%), the CPU never goes above 2.3 GHz and temp around 75C, and it seems the stutters issue goes away, (but the fps drop still remains).

    Since you have also reviewed the Helios 300 with the same specs, do you suggest I should exchange my Nitro 5 with Helios 300 (similar specs) because Helios 300 has better thermals? But it costs $ 600.00 Canadian more for me if I want to exchange the Nitro 5 with Helios 300.

    I appreciate your time. Thanks.

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 5, 2022 at 12:13 pm

      Unfortunately, I don't think Throttlestop or XTU work on this laptop, so there's no way that I know of to manually tweak the CPU. Disabling Turbo Boost is not ideal, even if it works.

      If you're considering upgrading, I'd rather look at something like a Lenovo Legion 5 or Legion 5 Pro, they might be cheaper in your area. The Helios 300 is a solid laptop, but it lacks a MUX and that affects its performance in games. Also, $600 over a similarly specced Nitro 5 sounds unjustified. If you decide on the Helios, wait for some discounts.

  9. GUIDO BOTTAZZO

    March 13, 2022 at 6:32 pm

    Not being an expert Im curious, is it possible to upgrade it to 32 of Ram?

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 14, 2022 at 10:31 am

      of course, there are 2x memory slots in this laptop

  10. Julian

    April 1, 2022 at 8:44 pm

    Hello, Is it possible to upgrade it to 64 of RAM ?

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 4, 2022 at 8:04 am

      yes

    • Rob

      April 18, 2022 at 4:02 pm

      Ahh that's a pitty. It would be the perfect NB for my home setup if they did not screw the Thunderbolt integration. Without TB you loose modern one cable connectivity for your home desktop setup.

      I'll go for Dell Inspiron Plus 15 7510-82661 instead.
      It has proper Thunderbolt 4 with charging and the NB build quality and desing is top. Screen is also much better + has 3yr Dell waranty.
      They are sold for the same price as this Acer. The only tradeof is a weaker gpu GTX 3050 instead GTX 3060 :(. Well, I'll have to get used to live with it. TB connectivity is for me more usefull then more FPS in games. Imho, the Dell machine with I7 gen11 and RTX 3050 has still enough power to run modern games decently for a recreational player as I am :)

      Thanks for helping out to find answer on the Acer thunderbolt issue.

      • Andrei Girbea

        April 18, 2022 at 5:38 pm

        Up to you. The performance difference between the 3050 and 3060 is significant.

  11. Rob

    April 18, 2022 at 9:04 am

    Hi there, thanks for a good review.

    You mentioned in the article that it comes with Thunderbolt 4 support, but at the same time you write that it has no USB-C charging?! Can I use the onboard usb-c with my thunderbolt docking hub?

    Thanks,

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 18, 2022 at 11:15 am

      Use it for what? Can you be more specific? If you're planning on charging the laptop through the TB dock, it won't work

  12. Artim Sequoia

    April 25, 2022 at 8:56 pm

    I actually bought the Nitro 5 AN515-57-74TT in January and was a little surprised to find that it doesn't support Thunderbolt at all. Acer's own website specs for this model show it as having that support but the computer itself has no Thunderbolt logo next to the USB-C port and they state in the owners manual and on the specs page linked from the support page that it is only USB-C. Acer seems to be a little on the shady side here.

  13. Denis Baldwin

    August 14, 2022 at 3:27 pm

    I have the AN515-57-t4TT. Got it refurbished from Acer, and the price made it a good value but I have one chief complaint. No Thunderbolt. The USB-C offered here is charge and data only.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.