Acer Nitro 5 AN515-45 2021 review (AMD Ryzen 7 5800H + RTX 3080 Laptop)

10 Comments

  1. Mul

    March 9, 2021 at 6:54 pm

    I am waiting for a new line of office laptops with Ryzen 5000 U processors and QHD 15-17 inch screens.

  2. Levent

    March 10, 2021 at 6:20 pm

    Thank you for this great review. I hope they increase the TDP of the GPU by 10-15W. Is there a way to get rid of the pink stuff at the back?

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 10, 2021 at 6:24 pm

      it's red, not pink. And no, all Nitro 5s are like that this generation

  3. Scanian

    March 12, 2021 at 7:07 am

    Thanks for the review, but you must have made something very wrong with the 3dmark scores. My Time Spy is 300 points above your value, and and 800 above on the graphics sub score. But this computer has one of the baddest CPUs available and a RTX 3080 (Max-Q), while I have an i7-8750H and a RTX 2080 Max-Q (no SUPER). No trix or overclocking. I get beat in Fire Strike but not nearly by as much as I should.

    Either this generation of (what we should not mention, Max-Q) is really shitty, or you're doing something wrong, like not using the correct drivers. I mean, the 3080 Max-Qshould definitely not be worse than the 2080 Max-Q. The TDP is the same.

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 13, 2021 at 11:13 am

      yeah, the GPU scores in 3Dmark are on the lower side. Can't tell why for now, we don't have a mature BIOS. Take it for what they are for now, with potential updates later on once these are available in stores and get a finalized BIOS.

      Also, i wouldn't expect this 3080 80W to perform a lot faster than the 2080 SUper 80W. It's all about that power limit, so you need to compare similar powers for an apple to apple picture

  4. Aren

    March 15, 2021 at 2:01 pm

    It would be a small breakthrough in laptop reviewing if some reviewer would be able to record laptop fan noise profiles in a comparable way. Many reviewers give dB measurements but it means nothing to an average reader. I have no idea what 40 or 50 dB means in a practical application. Similarly words like quiet or loud means nothing. To one person quiet is loud to another person.

  5. ighe43

    March 17, 2021 at 3:51 pm

    Salut!
    Stii cand intra la vanzare si pe piata din Romania?

  6. kamesh

    April 11, 2021 at 10:14 am

    how did you connect this laptop with fast refresh rate external monitor as far i know the nitro 5 lineup doesn't support display out over the usb c .

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 11, 2021 at 10:20 am

      via HDMI, but my external monitor is only 60 Hz, so not fast refresh

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *