Asus TUF Gaming A15 FA506QM (R7 5800H, RTX 3060) vs F15 FX506HM (i7-11800H, RTX 3060) review comparison

9 Comments

  1. Tom

    August 4, 2021 at 5:38 pm

    Very interesting review. Thank you!
    I'm curious to know if 144Hz 17-inch panel in Asus TUF Gaming A17 (R7 5800, RTX 3060) has better response times.
    And also if A15 and F15 are equal in fan noise levels during idle usage and under low loads.

    I'm looking forward to your Legion 5, Nitro 5, A15 and F15 (all with RTX 3060) noise levels comparison.

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 5, 2021 at 9:28 am

      Daily use noise is about the same between the A15 and F15. Silent with daily use, quiet with multitasking.

      Not sure about the 2021 A17, but the last year was still 60% sRGB and poor response. Probably the same this year.

  2. Sajaya

    September 25, 2021 at 3:26 am

    I would choose the Intel based F15 with 240Hz panel because I need that 100% sRGB coverage for Image editing, Graphic Design and 3D rendering. though it's really really hard to find. I hope I can find one. By the way huge thanks for this great review of these models Andrei!

  3. Suvrat

    October 11, 2021 at 12:12 pm

    hi, could you please elaborate as to how were you able to calculate battery life with different wattages? How did you set these wattages ? Is this only the CPU wattage with dGPU disabled or the total system wattage ? I'm planning to buy this particular AMD model and would like to know if regular users can set the system to 8/9 watts for better battery life or not . Thanks !

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 11, 2021 at 3:45 pm

      hwinfo logs

      • Suvrat

        October 11, 2021 at 4:16 pm

        how do i set the system to 9 watts ?

  4. Ezequiel

    October 21, 2021 at 9:54 pm

    Hola soy de argentina y me compre la A15 la misma r7 5800h y rtx3060 busque por todos lados y fue la mejor opcion precio calidad ya que la f15 aca recien esta llegando y la diferencia de precio esta ente un 30 y 40% y son muy similares y creo que no se justifica pero podria me podria explicar lo de la memoria de rango único pense que solo hay que ver la frecuencia de 3200mhz que cambia con ese tipo de ram

  5. Gaurav

    December 1, 2021 at 8:05 pm

    Note that the AMD TUF A15 model has G-Sync as well as AMD FreeSync. Intel model lacks G-Sync despite having NVIDIA GPU (since USB-C Thunderbolt 4 port is connected to Intel GPU) and HDMI doesn't support G-Sync at all.

    In the AMD model, USB-C is connected to NVIDIA GPU and HDMI 2.0 to Radeon integrated GPU ([email protected], w/ FreeSync enabled on top of that).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *