Lenovo Legion 5 17-inch review (Ryzen 7 5800H, RTX 3070)

19 Comments

  1. AlexS

    November 3, 2021 at 7:51 am

    Nice, pretty happy with mine 5800H+3060

    Cinebench R23 multi 12326 is quite low compared to mine, i got 13200 out and made no change to it.

    Any bloatware? The only issue i might think could be different is that i bought mine without OS and i installed W10 Pro in it, so not the typical Home version.

    • Gab

      November 24, 2021 at 12:05 am

      Looking to buy this laptop.

      Does the empty m.2 slot support a 2280 size ssd?

      Great review.

      • Derek Sullivan

        November 24, 2021 at 12:13 am

        Yup. Both slots are 2280. Keep in mind they are PCIe only. SATA M.2 drives won't work.

  2. AlexS

    November 3, 2021 at 8:00 am

    Another point, while the sound in the laptop is not anything to talk about, i found that sending it to an hi-fi system via bluetooth could achieve very high sound quality.

  3. vincent

    November 26, 2021 at 12:07 am

    I bought this laptop but wanted to calibrate the screen. Any chance you could share your color profile?

    • Derek Sullivan

      November 27, 2021 at 3:38 am

      Try this and let me know if it works: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1WydD8sszqwTajzs5ItN3yKCbxiugzhXD/view?usp=sharing

      Just redid it today.

      • Vincent

        December 6, 2021 at 12:45 am

        Sorry I made a mistake. My model has the 17in and RTX 3060 not sure if it's exactly the same. I did try your color file -thanks so much for that- however I'm still having the same problem. As an example when I play Halo Infinite the darker colors blend together. It actually obscures my view of the enemy.

        On the title screen the mountains and the trees, those colors blend in. I tried adjusting the Gamma but can't seem to make it better. It shipped with Windows 11.

      • Derek Sullivan

        December 6, 2021 at 12:58 am

        Is it 144hz like my model? I didn't see any issues like that but it sounds like it's not usimg the colors properly. Did you make sure the in game settings wasn't trying to use high dynamic range or anything like that?

  4. Jerry Binger

    November 27, 2021 at 11:27 pm

    I ordered this but my main concern is how bad the screen is? I’ve tried looking for a response time but couldn’t find it anywhere. What is the response time you got from your testing? Is it reasonable to play on FPS???

    • Derek Sullivan

      November 28, 2021 at 12:03 am

      I don't have a way to measure it unfortunately. I did just reach out to them to ask though. I'll report back if I get an answer.

      I'm going to guess it's not a low response time though. Almost always if it's a good spec, they report it in their specs page. If it's average, they just leave it blank. The good news is it didn't feel terrible in my testing. I can usually tell if it's really bad just by playing a game for a few minutes. But that usually means it's 50+ms. This is probably something in the 10-30ms range. That's just a gut feeling though so take it with a grain of salt.

      I'll let you know if I hear more from Lenovo.

      • Jerry Binger

        November 28, 2021 at 1:12 am

        Thanks for the response!

        From looking at Reddit here one user claims it’s 9ms at 144hz so I assume that’s not great but not terrible for gaming

        “ It's too bad the screen response time is 9ms and there's no overdrive mode. Needs to be 7ms for a 144hz panel. If esports and motion blur matter for you this might not be the laptop. Otherwise great deal”

        Reference: https://www.reddit.com/r/LaptopDeals/comments/q5uedn/lenovo_store_legion_5_gen_6_amd_17_amd_ryzen_7/

        Does that sound similar? I don’t do CSGO but play more like Hell Let Loose and Battlefield

      • Derek Sullivan

        November 29, 2021 at 4:13 am

        I don't think 9ms is all that bad, but that's just me. Sounds like a trustworthy source though.

        As I thought, the Lenovo data sheet doesn't have the response time. There's no way it's ultra low if they aren't stating it in their data sheet. Especially since there's no toggle for it in Vantage. So 9 ms is probably right on.

  5. Rick Villarreal

    December 2, 2021 at 1:24 am

    Excellent review and in depth and just to let you know this gaming laptop is on sale at Walmart for just $699. Bought one for Cyber Monday and it's still that price today. December 1st at 6:00 pm.

    • Derek Sullivan

      December 2, 2021 at 1:27 am

      That's awesome, thx for sharing. GTX 1650 but still a heck of a deal.

  6. Abdul Moeed

    January 4, 2022 at 10:47 pm

    Thank you so much. I just recently bought this from my hard earned freelancing money and my friend brought it for me from the USA to Pakistan . I was watching reviews on youtube for the last 9 months and last week I finally got it…. Your work really help me understand and saved a lot of time . THanks

  7. Abdul Moeed

    January 4, 2022 at 10:49 pm

    One Question . Can I use a smaller battery and use a SSD or HDD on the side ? Is there any SATA connector. Thanks.

    • Derek Sullivan

      January 4, 2022 at 11:49 pm

      Sata drives don't work on this laptop. Even m.2 sata.

  8. Vasileios

    April 12, 2022 at 10:24 pm

    Type c ports supports thunderbolt connectivity!?
    (For connecting eGPU)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.