Lenovo Legion 5 17-inch review (Ryzen 7 5800H, RTX 3070)

33 Comments

  1. AlexS

    November 3, 2021 at 7:51 am

    Nice, pretty happy with mine 5800H+3060

    Cinebench R23 multi 12326 is quite low compared to mine, i got 13200 out and made no change to it.

    Any bloatware? The only issue i might think could be different is that i bought mine without OS and i installed W10 Pro in it, so not the typical Home version.

    • Gab

      November 24, 2021 at 12:05 am

      Looking to buy this laptop.

      Does the empty m.2 slot support a 2280 size ssd?

      Great review.

      • Derek Sullivan

        November 24, 2021 at 12:13 am

        Yup. Both slots are 2280. Keep in mind they are PCIe only. SATA M.2 drives won't work.

  2. AlexS

    November 3, 2021 at 8:00 am

    Another point, while the sound in the laptop is not anything to talk about, i found that sending it to an hi-fi system via bluetooth could achieve very high sound quality.

  3. vincent

    November 26, 2021 at 12:07 am

    I bought this laptop but wanted to calibrate the screen. Any chance you could share your color profile?

    • Derek Sullivan

      November 27, 2021 at 3:38 am

      Try this and let me know if it works: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1WydD8sszqwTajzs5ItN3yKCbxiugzhXD/view?usp=sharing

      Just redid it today.

      • Vincent

        December 6, 2021 at 12:45 am

        Sorry I made a mistake. My model has the 17in and RTX 3060 not sure if it's exactly the same. I did try your color file -thanks so much for that- however I'm still having the same problem. As an example when I play Halo Infinite the darker colors blend together. It actually obscures my view of the enemy.

        On the title screen the mountains and the trees, those colors blend in. I tried adjusting the Gamma but can't seem to make it better. It shipped with Windows 11.

      • Derek Sullivan

        December 6, 2021 at 12:58 am

        Is it 144hz like my model? I didn't see any issues like that but it sounds like it's not usimg the colors properly. Did you make sure the in game settings wasn't trying to use high dynamic range or anything like that?

  4. Jerry Binger

    November 27, 2021 at 11:27 pm

    I ordered this but my main concern is how bad the screen is? I’ve tried looking for a response time but couldn’t find it anywhere. What is the response time you got from your testing? Is it reasonable to play on FPS???

    • Derek Sullivan

      November 28, 2021 at 12:03 am

      I don't have a way to measure it unfortunately. I did just reach out to them to ask though. I'll report back if I get an answer.

      I'm going to guess it's not a low response time though. Almost always if it's a good spec, they report it in their specs page. If it's average, they just leave it blank. The good news is it didn't feel terrible in my testing. I can usually tell if it's really bad just by playing a game for a few minutes. But that usually means it's 50+ms. This is probably something in the 10-30ms range. That's just a gut feeling though so take it with a grain of salt.

      I'll let you know if I hear more from Lenovo.

      • Jerry Binger

        November 28, 2021 at 1:12 am

        Thanks for the response!

        From looking at Reddit here one user claims it’s 9ms at 144hz so I assume that’s not great but not terrible for gaming

        “ It's too bad the screen response time is 9ms and there's no overdrive mode. Needs to be 7ms for a 144hz panel. If esports and motion blur matter for you this might not be the laptop. Otherwise great deal”

        Reference: https://www.reddit.com/r/LaptopDeals/comments/q5uedn/lenovo_store_legion_5_gen_6_amd_17_amd_ryzen_7/

        Does that sound similar? I don’t do CSGO but play more like Hell Let Loose and Battlefield

      • Derek Sullivan

        November 29, 2021 at 4:13 am

        I don't think 9ms is all that bad, but that's just me. Sounds like a trustworthy source though.

        As I thought, the Lenovo data sheet doesn't have the response time. There's no way it's ultra low if they aren't stating it in their data sheet. Especially since there's no toggle for it in Vantage. So 9 ms is probably right on.

  5. Rick Villarreal

    December 2, 2021 at 1:24 am

    Excellent review and in depth and just to let you know this gaming laptop is on sale at Walmart for just $699. Bought one for Cyber Monday and it's still that price today. December 1st at 6:00 pm.

    • Derek Sullivan

      December 2, 2021 at 1:27 am

      That's awesome, thx for sharing. GTX 1650 but still a heck of a deal.

  6. Abdul Moeed

    January 4, 2022 at 10:47 pm

    Thank you so much. I just recently bought this from my hard earned freelancing money and my friend brought it for me from the USA to Pakistan . I was watching reviews on youtube for the last 9 months and last week I finally got it…. Your work really help me understand and saved a lot of time . THanks

  7. Abdul Moeed

    January 4, 2022 at 10:49 pm

    One Question . Can I use a smaller battery and use a SSD or HDD on the side ? Is there any SATA connector. Thanks.

    • Derek Sullivan

      January 4, 2022 at 11:49 pm

      Sata drives don't work on this laptop. Even m.2 sata.

  8. Vasileios

    April 12, 2022 at 10:24 pm

    Type c ports supports thunderbolt connectivity!?
    (For connecting eGPU)

  9. Al

    June 17, 2022 at 5:00 pm

    Hi,
    I have this model.
    I have a question: can i upgrade ram to 32 Gb?
    Is it possible?

  10. Mike

    June 28, 2022 at 5:12 pm

    This is now selling for $899 at Microcenter. At this price point, it seems to be a must have.

    • Derek Sullivan

      June 28, 2022 at 5:16 pm

      Yup that's for the 3050Ti version. Good price indeed. I think the 3060 version for $1099 is a better buy though. M2c

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 28, 2022 at 5:17 pm

      that's the Intel + 3050Ti model, but still excellent value at that price, especially if battery life isn't important.

  11. Arash

    July 1, 2022 at 10:21 am

    Can we change the full HD screen to QHD or 4K in the future by using the screen panels available in the market? is it possible?

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 1, 2022 at 11:43 am

      should be. you'll find details in the service manual (should be available on a google search)

  12. Torgny

    September 2, 2022 at 5:56 pm

    Thank you for an excellent review! Very good!

    1.) I was thinking of buying this 3070 version to be able to keep it for a longer time, and still be able to play some what demanding games in the future. How would you rate the 3070 compared to 3060 version of this model in that context?
    2.) Having the graphic card connected to an external screen, will you be able to set another resolution compared to the native screen?
    3.) Is there available "docking stations" in order to more easy add external keyboards, screen, mouse etc.?

    /Torgny

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 2, 2022 at 7:34 pm

      you'll find reviews of the 3060 on the site, use the search and compare. 2 and 3, yes

  13. Aadesh

    September 14, 2022 at 3:23 am

    Would this laptop fit in a regular sized backpack? I'm looking to use it as my everyday laptop for college as a comp engineering student. The one with the GTX 1650 is available for $600 USD while the L5P with the 3070 is $1300.

    • Derek Sullivan

      September 14, 2022 at 3:44 am

      That's hard to answer. Regular sized is a rather subjective phrase. It fit in my backpack just barely.

      • Aadesh Senthilkumar

        September 14, 2022 at 7:13 am

        Mine is the underarmour hustle pro. And I think it said 15 inches for the laptop padding. Anyway, i think it might be too cumbersome even if it fit in my bag.

      • Derek Sullivan

        September 14, 2022 at 12:22 pm

        It says it holds up to a 15" MacBook pro. No chance it'll hold this one.

    • Mike

      September 14, 2022 at 2:31 pm

      I had to buy an extra large backpack for this. It wouldn’t fit in my “normal” backpack.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.