2024 Lenovo Legion 9i, Legion Pro 7i, Legion Pro 5i gen 9 updates

2024 Lenovo Legion 9i, Legion Pro 7i, Legion Pro 5i gen 9 updates
By Andrei Girbea, last updated on January 11, 2024

Lenovo are updating their entire range of Legion and LOQ performance and gaming laptops for 2024, and while there are some brand new models launching this year, most of their offer still consists of hardware refreshes of the 2023 generations.

Among those, the 2024 Lenovo Legion 9i gen 9, the Lenovo Legion Pro 7i gen 9, and the Lenovo Legion Pro 5i gen 9 are all based on the 2023 designs, and are transitioning to the updated Intel 14th-gen Raptor Lake-R hardware platform available for 2024, with the i9-14900HX on most configurations, as well as an i7-14700HX on some of the more affordable variants.

At this point, I expect you’re already familiar with these lineups of Legion laptops, but I’ll still link our reviews of the 2023 models down below, and then go through the specs and important characteristics for each class.

Lenovo Legion 9i gen 9 (2024), vs. Legion 9i gen 8 (2023)

Here’s a full specs sheet of the 2024 and 2023 Lenovo Legion 9i generations.

2024 Lenovo Legion 9i gen 9 2023 Lenovo Legion 9i gen 8 – review
Screen 16-inch, 3.2K 3200 x 2000 px mini LED, 16:10, non-touch, matte
165 Hz 3ms response, VRR support
500-nits SDR, 1200-nits peak HDR, 100% Adobe and 100% DCI-P3
16-inch, 3.2K 3200 x 2000 px mini LED, 16:10, non-touch, matte
165 Hz 3ms response, VRR support
500-nits SDR, 1200-nits peak HDR, 100% Adobe and 100% DCI-P3
Processor Intel 14th-gen Raptor Lake Refresh Core HX,
Core i9-14900HX, 8PC+16Ec/32T (up to 230W max TDP)
LA3-P Ai chip
Intel 13th-gen Raptor Lake Core HX,
Core i9-13980HX, 8PC+16Ec/32T (up to 230W max TDP)
LA2 Ai chip
Video Intel UHD + RTX 4000 graphics, up to RTX 4090 16GB 175W
with MUX, Advanced Optimus, GSync support
Memory 32 GB DDR5-6400,
up to 64 GB DDR5-5600 OC (2x DIMMs)
Storage PCIe gen4 (2x M.2 2280 slots)
Connectivity Wireless 7 (Mediatek Filogic 380) with Bluetooth 5.3, 2.5G LAN
Ports Left: SD card reader 3.0, 1x audio jack
Right: 1x USB-A 3.2 gen1, 1x USB-C 3.2 gen1 , 1x eShutter button
Back: 1x USB-A gen1 (always on 5V2A), 2x Thunderbolt 4 (data, DP, 140W power), HDMI 2.1, LAN
Battery 99.9 Wh, 330W GaN power adapter, USB-C charging up to 140W
charges to 70% in 30 min, to 100% in 80 min
Size 357.7 mm or 14.08” (w) x 277.7 mm or 10.93 (d) x 18.99 – 22.7 mm or .74″ – .89” (h)
Weight from 2.56 kg (5.65 lbs) + power brick
Extras per-key RGB backlit keyboard with NumPad, 1.5  mm travel, glass clickpad, finger-sensor in the power button,
2x 2W stereo speakers, FHD webcam with eShutter and Tobii Horizon,
tri-fan quad-radiator with self-contained liquid-cooling system on the VRM,
available in a Carbon Black

There are no changes for the 2024 Legion 9i update except for the bump to the 14th-gen Intel platform, and we’ll have to give the laptop a proper review before we can draw conclusions on the overall worth of this new hardware in comparison to the already very capable i9-13980HX implemented in the 2023 Legion 9i.

However, the specs mention an LA3-P onboard Ai chip for the 2024 update, an update of the LA2 Ai chip in the 2023 model. Personally, I don’t care much for the whole Ai capabilities on current laptops, but perhaps this might improve over time with better software.

Now, Lenovo unveiled the 9i late last year, so it’s no surprise they’re not changing anything for the 2024 model, after only a few months since the release. The design hasn’t changed, with the carbon-fiber pattern lid and black color theme, nor have the important features, such as the 3.2K miniLED display, the odd inputs and the somewhat lacking audio for this premium segment.

Still, as discussed on our review, the Legion 9i is a competent performance and gaming laptop in a rather thin and lightweight chassis, kind of like what you’d expect perhaps from a Legion Slim 9i series. That means it’s not quite as fast as some of the bigger laptops out there when it comes to sustained CPU loads. But for mixed used and GPU-loads, it’s as good as it gets. And its thermal performance is the best on any current Legion, despite the thinner chassis.

exterior2 2

At the same time, Lenovo had to somewhat compromise on the ergonomics of this series in order to make it more compact and not sacrifice the performance and thermals, specifically on the keyboard and touchpad placement, aspects that you should be aware of in your decision.

They’re also asking a hefty premium for this 9i series over a similarly-configured Legion Pro 7i, for instance, making the 9i one of the more expensive devices in the premium-tier of performance notebooks. The 2024 generation is expected at $4399 MSRP for the 4090 model, starting this January, but aggressive price cuts should push it under $4000 quickly. That’s still a lot of money for a notebook, though.

Lenovo Legion Pro 7i gen 9 (2024), Legion Pro 5i gen 9 (2024)

Here’s a full specs sheet of the 2024 Lenovo Legion Pro 7i  and Pro 5i generations.

Since there two are the same kind of hardware bump to Intel 14th-gen processors without any other significant generational update, there’s no point in comparing the 2024 vs 2023 models. But I will go over the important aspects that set apart the Pro 7i and Pro 5i lineups.

2024 Lenovo Legion Pro 7i 2024 Lenovo Legion Pro 5i
Screen 16-inch, QHD 2560 x 1600 px IPS, 16:10, non-touch, matte
240 Hz 3ms response, VRR support
500-nits, 100% sRGB, Pantone certified
16-inch, QHD 2560 x 1600 px IPS, 16:10, non-touch, matte
240 Hz 3ms response, VRR support
500-nits, 100% sRGB, Pantone certified
Processor Intel 14th-gen Raptor Lake Refresh Core HX,
up to Core i9-14900HX, 8PC+16Ec/32T
LA2Q AI Chip
Intel 14th-gen Raptor Lake Refresh Core HX,
up to Core i9-14900HX, 8PC+16Ec/32T
LA1 Ai Chip
Video Intel UHD + RTX 4000 graphics, up to RTX 4090 16GB 175W
with MUX, Advanced Optimus, GSync support
Intel UHD + RTX 4000 graphics, up to RTX 4070 8GB 140W
with MUX, Advanced Optimus, GSync support
Memory 32 GB DDR5-6000,
up to 64 GB DDR5-5600 OC (2x DIMMs)
32 GB DDR5-6000,
up to 64 GB DDR5-5600 OC (2x DIMMs)
Storage PCIe gen4 (2x M.2 2280 slots) PCIe gen4 (2x M.2 2280 slots)
Connectivity Wi-Fi 6E and Bluetooth 5.2, 1G LAN Wi-Fi 6E and Bluetooth 5.2, 1G LAN
Ports Left: 1x USB-C 3.2 with Thunderbolt 4, 1x USB-A 3.2 gen1
Right: 1x USB-A 3.2 gen1, 1x audio jack, 1x eShutter button
Back: 2x USB-A gen1, 1x USB-C gen2 (DP, power), HDMI 2.1, LAN, DC-In
left: 1x USB-C 3.2 (DP 1.4), 1x USB-A 3.2
right: 1x USB-A 3.2, e Shutter
back: DC-in, 1x USB-C 3.2(DPP 1.4+PD 140W), 2x USB-A 3.2, HDMI 2.1, Ethernet
Battery 99.9 Wh, up to 330 W GaN power adapter, USB-C charging up to 140W 80 Whr, 300 W power adapter, USB-C charging up to 140W
Size 363.4 mm or 14.33” (w) x 262.2 mm or 10.31 (d) x 21.95 – 25.9 mm or .86″ – 1.02” (h) 363.4 mm or 14.3” (w) x 260.35 mm or 10.25” (d) x 21.9-26.75 mm or .86-1.05” (h)
Weight from 2.7 kg (6 lbs) + power brick from 2.5 kg (5.5 lbs) + power brick
Extras per-key RGB backlit keyboard with NumPad, 1.5  mm travel, plastic clickpad, no finger-sensor in the power button,
2x 2W stereo speakers, FHD webcam with eShutter and Tobii Horizon,
dual-fan quad-radiator vapor chamber cooling,
available in Eclipse Black
4-zone RGB backlit keyboard with NumPad, 1.5 mm travel,
2x 2W stereo speakers, FHD webcam with eShutter and Tobii Horizon,
dual-fan quad-radiator traditional cooling,
available in Onyx Grey

Looks like the Legion Pro 7i is available in a new color scheme for the 2024 model, Eclipse Black, while the previous generation was available in Space Gray. The Pro 5i remains a more traditional Onyx Grey, and is no longer available in Blue as well.

These aside, though, and the updated Intel specs, these 2024 Legion Pros are identical to the 2023 models.

Design wise, the Pro 7i and Pro 5i follow a handful of unique lines and patterns, but Lenovo puts higher quality metals on the Pro 7i, as well as a handful of RGB elements that are missing from the mainstream Pro 5i units. These, corroborated with the beefier battery and cooling bundled with the Pro 7is, makes them heavier than the Pro 5is. But they’re still both full-size 16-inch laptops and not portable designs by any means.

Speaking of, both are available with the same 16-inch matte QHD+ IPS display that offers good brightness, contrast and gaming specs, but only 100% sRGB colors. I was hopping for a 100% DCI-P3 panel on the Pro 7i at least, but that’s still not the case, even if Lenovo are offering such panel now on the updated mid-tier Legion 7i series. But not on this Pro 7i.

There are also some differences in inputs and IO between these Pro models, with the Pro 7i getting a nicer keyboard with per-key RGB control and a few extras such as Thunderbolt 4 support, while the keyboard on the Pro 5i is 4-zone RGB and a little cheaper feeling, the touchpad is a plastic surface, and there’s no Thunderbolt 4.

Here are some images of the 2024 Legion Pro 7i series in Eclipse Black.

And here’s the 2024 Legion Pro 5i in Onyx Grey.

Internally, the Legion Pro 7i models are higher-power designs with superior cooling. So while both can be configured with an Intel Core i9-14900HX processor for these 2024 variants, the CPU is going to run at higher sustained power in the Pro 7i. Plus, the Pro 7is can be specced with up to RTX 4090 graphics chips, while the Pro 5is are only available with RTX 4050/4060/4070 dGPUs running at lower power.

So that means the Legion Pro 7is remain Lenovo’s most powerful notebooks for 2024, even more powerful on the CPU side than the Legion 9is. But the thermal performance is still going to be a little better on the 9is, despite the vapor chamber in the Pro 7is, as you’ll find out from our reviews.

The Pro 5is, on the other hand, are mainstream performance and gaming laptops, the bang-for-the-buck within the Legion performance lineup. In fact, the Legion Pro 5i gen9 is expected in stores this month, starting at $1499 in the US, while the new gen 9 Legion pro 7is are coming around March 2024, starting at $2699 for the 4080 configuration – those MSRP prices will come down aggressively later in the year, though.

Anyway, that’s about all I got to share about these 2024 Lenovo Legions, but look for our detailed reviews in the months to come. And in the meantime, let me know what you think of these minor generational updates for the 2024 Legion 9i and 2024 Legion Pro 7i/5i lineups. Are these enough to keep these Legions still competitive in their niches?

Disclaimer: Our content is reader-supported. If you buy through some of the links on our site, we may earn a commission. Terms.
Author at Ultrabookreview.com
Article by: Andrei Girbea
Andrei Girbea is a Writer and Editor-in-Chief here at Ultrabookreview.com. I write about mobile technology, laptops and computers in general. I've been doing it for more than 15 years now. I'm a techie with a Bachelor's in Computer Engineering. I mostly write reviews and thorough guides here on the site, with some occasional columns and first-impression articles.

3 Comments

  1. hexaae

    January 15, 2024 at 5:08 pm

    Under 17-18" screen is a no-buy for me.

  2. Tomasz

    January 26, 2024 at 8:53 am

    Hello, I'm from Poland so my English is poor.
    You wrote that Lenovo does not have a 100% DCI-P3 panel. A few days ago I bought Legion pro 5i 9Gen 2024 with a 100% DCI-P3 panel. So either Lenovo deceived me or you were wrong. I am sending you a link to the specifications. Regards.

    lenovo.com/ie/en/configurator/cto/index.html?bundleId=83DFCTO1WWIE1

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 30, 2024 at 5:30 pm

      Thanks for the heads-up, I'll look into it

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *