Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We do not collect your personal data.  I agree  Find out more  About cookies

Lenovo Legion 5 review (AMD Ryzen 7 4800H, GTX 1650Ti gaming laptop)

36 Comments

  1. Eivind

    June 26, 2020 at 9:56 pm

    Good review! This notebook would be awesome with a 2060 or 2070 if it ever becomes an option.

    This thermal solution should have been used in Dell G5 SE 5600m, that could have made smartshift shine!

  2. mind12

    June 27, 2020 at 12:10 pm

    Thank you for the review. This model is promising.

    That rubbery coating issue would be also a deal breaker for me that's why I'm expecting the metal 7i model so much.
    However this tearing was unexpected, I read 3-4 great reviews about the make of the Lenovo 5 on reddit, nobody mentioned any tearing and praised the build quaility so much.
    Could you please post some close pictures about it?

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 27, 2020 at 1:16 pm

      Watch the video, it's at the beginning. They're hard to show on camera, there's a bigger dent towards the right side, and a few smaller ones just under the clickpad.

      I also wasn't expecting this, so I don't know if my unit was somehow flawed, or it's a wider spread problem. I'd reckon its the latter, though, Lenovo have had similar issues in the past on their THinkPads

  3. ericz

    June 27, 2020 at 6:14 pm

    Thanks for good review. I'd like to know what's the maximum of RAM support for Lenovo Legion 5 and 5i. Did you test to put more than 16GB?

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 28, 2020 at 10:30 am

      I haven't. with two DIMMs, this should take up to 64 GB of memory with compatible sticks.

      • Jim Sks

        June 29, 2020 at 3:24 pm

        I think people are asking because Lenovo spec sheets state 16GB as max RAM. As far as I know, nobody has actually tested this with 32GB or more.

        • Daniel

          July 6, 2020 at 5:03 pm

          Exactlly, I would also be interested. Does it allow more than 16 gigs of RAM?

        • Andrei Girbea

          July 6, 2020 at 5:48 pm

          I haven't tried it, but I don't see why this would not work with at least 32 GB

    • JB

      July 10, 2020 at 8:04 am

      No problem with 32GB 25600 Ram.

  4. j.g.

    June 28, 2020 at 12:57 am

    I have the impression that the overal plastic build quality on this model is somehow inferior to the Y540's one. Those dents are a big dissapointment, and if a wide spread issue or not is something we'll soon enough find on Reddit, I guess.

    One of the many things I do still like from the Y540 is the build quality. Do you have the impression, having reviewed both series, that Lenovo went backwards on this matter on this particular tier?

    It would be interesting to see if 5, 5i, and 5Pi models do share the same plastic quality or not.

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 28, 2020 at 10:37 am

      I no longer have the Y540 at hand for a side by side comparison, but as far as I remember, they feel mostly the same. The main deck is solid, and the screen's hinges are perhaps the only part that I could nitpick, as they didn't feel just as smooth as I would have wanted.

      The 5Pi has been listed here, initially at 1500+ EUR for the 1660Ti and now at around 1300 EUR. Might consider getting one for a review, but idk yet, it's rather expensive.

  5. Geoff

    June 28, 2020 at 1:05 am

    Slightly off topic since you haven't even reviewed the Legion 7i 15.6" yet, but have you heard anything about them releasing a Legion 7i 17.3" variant? Still chasing that 17" gaming laptop with a 3ms response time and less than 10 nits of brightness.

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 28, 2020 at 10:38 am

      Last time I asked I was told there's no 17-inch 7i series this year, only 17-inch versions of the 5s

  6. Alexis

    June 28, 2020 at 4:19 pm

    Hi Andrei,

    I was wondering whatever happened to Lenovo Ideapad/Yoga S940? I thought you're planning on reviewing it or was I dreaming? :-)

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 28, 2020 at 4:30 pm

      No, I never had a sample of that. My access to Lenovo test laptops is a rather limited over here, and having to buy review units isn't something we, as a small independent publication, can sustain. This Legion was one of the few receptions, due to the higher interest.

      • Alexis

        June 28, 2020 at 5:06 pm

        Thanks for the prompt reply!

        Aah that explains it. Have you though of creating a patreon page, by any chance?

        • Andrei Girbea

          June 28, 2020 at 5:19 pm

          I've considered it, but don't have any as of yet.

  7. Abhijit

    June 29, 2020 at 10:49 am

    Any chance we could see LatencyMon numbers?

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 29, 2020 at 1:26 pm

      they're in the article

      • Abhijit

        June 29, 2020 at 2:44 pm

        Can't believe I missed it, I thought I was thorough!

        Thanks very much, your video was very helpful in my purchase decision.

  8. Adi

    June 29, 2020 at 1:15 pm

    Thanks for the review.
    It's one of the few AMD laptops with good thermals, but the dGPU is too weak. Lenovo should use 5600M or 5700M with Freesync and DP.
    Is it possible to disable the dGPU? Could you test the iGPU?

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 29, 2020 at 1:26 pm

      You can disable the dGPU, but why would you want that on this sort of a laptop?

      • Adi

        June 29, 2020 at 3:04 pm

        More battery life if you don't play games.
        I'm also curious how the iGPU performs compared to dGPU.

        • j.g.

          June 29, 2020 at 3:37 pm

          Ever heard of Optimus Tech? And no, I don't mean the Transformer ;)

  9. Jason B.

    June 30, 2020 at 10:25 pm

    Minor typo in the Verdict "300Hz screens" but I'm sure you meant 300 nit!

  10. nitti

    July 1, 2020 at 7:15 pm

    Hey Andrei, is it true that we no longer need to reboot to activate Nvidia Optimus (or Advanced Optimus I should say)? Anyways it is true that Lenovo products are still priced crazily at the moment, seems to be the case everywhere else in the world. Looks like they've really taken a huge hit by the pandemic.

    On another note, yay for 2.3kg! (2.5kg is just nuts, and the diff in 200g is very noticeable)

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 1, 2020 at 7:25 pm

      Only some of the Intel versions, and mostly of the 7i support Advanced Optimus. These AMD models still require a reboot to switch between hybrid and discrete modes.

  11. G B

    July 2, 2020 at 4:16 pm

    Great article and analysis of performance as a function of CPU power. Also liked the addition of the technical applications performance since not a gamer but in technical sciences. However it helps the readers if you add just a bit of context and reference to the technical results. For example, the addition of something like 'The SPECviewperf 13 results place this 8-core Ryzen 4800H laptop above a 10-core Xeon W-2155 @3.3GHz with a Quadro P2000 desktop workstation in CPU centric tasks but below it in graphics heavy tasks due to the Quadro drivers. In addition, this Lenovo Legion platform outperforms a 6-core Xeon E-2176M Quadro P630 mobile platform by 30-100%.' with links to to the SPECviewperf 13 results page https://www.spec.org/gwpg/gpc.data/vp13/summary.html and the results of the same TU106 chip as GTX mobile vs Quadro RTX mobile in SPECviewperf https://www.notebookcheck.net/GeForce-RTX-2060-Laptop-vs-Quadro-RTX-3000-Laptop-vs-Quadro-RTX-3000-Max-Q_9581_9854_9884.247598.0.html I can't seem to easily find a Quadrp equivalent to TU116/TU117

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 2, 2020 at 4:45 pm

      Hi, thanks for the suggestion, I'll consider it for our next reviews. I'm trying to go into as much details as possible, but we're a very small team here and can't always include all the details and context.

      As for your last questions, a Quadro T1000 is the equivalent of a GTX 1650 as far as I remember.

  12. Wertzius

    July 7, 2020 at 10:29 am

    Nice review as always! Small mistake: Below the summary at the top you are saying it has a 100% AdobeRGb Display but it is only sRGB as you state correctly below.

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 7, 2020 at 10:35 am

      Thanks, corrected.

      • Kai Will

        July 7, 2020 at 7:06 pm

        Thank alot for this review.I just want to know which one should i buy legion 5 or tuf a15.If i pick a15 i will get 4800h+1650ti but for legion i will get only 4600h+1650.
        I'm worry for thermal issue that a15 always got 85~95°C on heavy test since i want to use this divice 3to5years.Pls give me advice
        which one should i buy for 3to5years.

        • Andrei Girbea

          July 7, 2020 at 7:31 pm

          i'll have an article comparing the 4800H + 1650 version of the A15 with the 4800H + 1650Ti version of the legion 5, most likely next week.

  13. R

    July 10, 2020 at 2:40 am

    Hi. I know you said avoid the 120hz screen. But i have a decent deal with the 120hz and i was wondering if you’ve had a chance to try it. Is it really that bad to avoid it? Thanks ;)

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 10, 2020 at 5:18 pm

      I haven't. Washed out colors are the main reason I'd avoid it

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *