Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We do not collect your personal data.  I agree  Find out more  About cookies

Lenovo Legion 5 review (AMD Ryzen 7 4800H, GTX 1650Ti gaming laptop)

58 Comments

  1. Eivind

    June 26, 2020 at 9:56 pm

    Good review! This notebook would be awesome with a 2060 or 2070 if it ever becomes an option.

    This thermal solution should have been used in Dell G5 SE 5600m, that could have made smartshift shine!

  2. mind12

    June 27, 2020 at 12:10 pm

    Thank you for the review. This model is promising.

    That rubbery coating issue would be also a deal breaker for me that's why I'm expecting the metal 7i model so much.
    However this tearing was unexpected, I read 3-4 great reviews about the make of the Lenovo 5 on reddit, nobody mentioned any tearing and praised the build quaility so much.
    Could you please post some close pictures about it?

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 27, 2020 at 1:16 pm

      Watch the video, it's at the beginning. They're hard to show on camera, there's a bigger dent towards the right side, and a few smaller ones just under the clickpad.

      I also wasn't expecting this, so I don't know if my unit was somehow flawed, or it's a wider spread problem. I'd reckon its the latter, though, Lenovo have had similar issues in the past on their THinkPads

  3. ericz

    June 27, 2020 at 6:14 pm

    Thanks for good review. I'd like to know what's the maximum of RAM support for Lenovo Legion 5 and 5i. Did you test to put more than 16GB?

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 28, 2020 at 10:30 am

      I haven't. with two DIMMs, this should take up to 64 GB of memory with compatible sticks.

      • Jim Sks

        June 29, 2020 at 3:24 pm

        I think people are asking because Lenovo spec sheets state 16GB as max RAM. As far as I know, nobody has actually tested this with 32GB or more.

        • Daniel

          July 6, 2020 at 5:03 pm

          Exactlly, I would also be interested. Does it allow more than 16 gigs of RAM?

        • Andrei Girbea

          July 6, 2020 at 5:48 pm

          I haven't tried it, but I don't see why this would not work with at least 32 GB

    • JB

      July 10, 2020 at 8:04 am

      No problem with 32GB 25600 Ram.

  4. j.g.

    June 28, 2020 at 12:57 am

    I have the impression that the overal plastic build quality on this model is somehow inferior to the Y540's one. Those dents are a big dissapointment, and if a wide spread issue or not is something we'll soon enough find on Reddit, I guess.

    One of the many things I do still like from the Y540 is the build quality. Do you have the impression, having reviewed both series, that Lenovo went backwards on this matter on this particular tier?

    It would be interesting to see if 5, 5i, and 5Pi models do share the same plastic quality or not.

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 28, 2020 at 10:37 am

      I no longer have the Y540 at hand for a side by side comparison, but as far as I remember, they feel mostly the same. The main deck is solid, and the screen's hinges are perhaps the only part that I could nitpick, as they didn't feel just as smooth as I would have wanted.

      The 5Pi has been listed here, initially at 1500+ EUR for the 1660Ti and now at around 1300 EUR. Might consider getting one for a review, but idk yet, it's rather expensive.

  5. Geoff

    June 28, 2020 at 1:05 am

    Slightly off topic since you haven't even reviewed the Legion 7i 15.6" yet, but have you heard anything about them releasing a Legion 7i 17.3" variant? Still chasing that 17" gaming laptop with a 3ms response time and less than 10 nits of brightness.

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 28, 2020 at 10:38 am

      Last time I asked I was told there's no 17-inch 7i series this year, only 17-inch versions of the 5s

  6. Alexis

    June 28, 2020 at 4:19 pm

    Hi Andrei,

    I was wondering whatever happened to Lenovo Ideapad/Yoga S940? I thought you're planning on reviewing it or was I dreaming? :-)

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 28, 2020 at 4:30 pm

      No, I never had a sample of that. My access to Lenovo test laptops is a rather limited over here, and having to buy review units isn't something we, as a small independent publication, can sustain. This Legion was one of the few receptions, due to the higher interest.

      • Alexis

        June 28, 2020 at 5:06 pm

        Thanks for the prompt reply!

        Aah that explains it. Have you though of creating a patreon page, by any chance?

        • Andrei Girbea

          June 28, 2020 at 5:19 pm

          I've considered it, but don't have any as of yet.

  7. Abhijit

    June 29, 2020 at 10:49 am

    Any chance we could see LatencyMon numbers?

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 29, 2020 at 1:26 pm

      they're in the article

      • Abhijit

        June 29, 2020 at 2:44 pm

        Can't believe I missed it, I thought I was thorough!

        Thanks very much, your video was very helpful in my purchase decision.

  8. Adi

    June 29, 2020 at 1:15 pm

    Thanks for the review.
    It's one of the few AMD laptops with good thermals, but the dGPU is too weak. Lenovo should use 5600M or 5700M with Freesync and DP.
    Is it possible to disable the dGPU? Could you test the iGPU?

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 29, 2020 at 1:26 pm

      You can disable the dGPU, but why would you want that on this sort of a laptop?

      • Adi

        June 29, 2020 at 3:04 pm

        More battery life if you don't play games.
        I'm also curious how the iGPU performs compared to dGPU.

        • j.g.

          June 29, 2020 at 3:37 pm

          Ever heard of Optimus Tech? And no, I don't mean the Transformer ;)

  9. Jason B.

    June 30, 2020 at 10:25 pm

    Minor typo in the Verdict "300Hz screens" but I'm sure you meant 300 nit!

  10. nitti

    July 1, 2020 at 7:15 pm

    Hey Andrei, is it true that we no longer need to reboot to activate Nvidia Optimus (or Advanced Optimus I should say)? Anyways it is true that Lenovo products are still priced crazily at the moment, seems to be the case everywhere else in the world. Looks like they've really taken a huge hit by the pandemic.

    On another note, yay for 2.3kg! (2.5kg is just nuts, and the diff in 200g is very noticeable)

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 1, 2020 at 7:25 pm

      Only some of the Intel versions, and mostly of the 7i support Advanced Optimus. These AMD models still require a reboot to switch between hybrid and discrete modes.

  11. G B

    July 2, 2020 at 4:16 pm

    Great article and analysis of performance as a function of CPU power. Also liked the addition of the technical applications performance since not a gamer but in technical sciences. However it helps the readers if you add just a bit of context and reference to the technical results. For example, the addition of something like 'The SPECviewperf 13 results place this 8-core Ryzen 4800H laptop above a 10-core Xeon W-2155 @3.3GHz with a Quadro P2000 desktop workstation in CPU centric tasks but below it in graphics heavy tasks due to the Quadro drivers. In addition, this Lenovo Legion platform outperforms a 6-core Xeon E-2176M Quadro P630 mobile platform by 30-100%.' with links to to the SPECviewperf 13 results page https://www.spec.org/gwpg/gpc.data/vp13/summary.html and the results of the same TU106 chip as GTX mobile vs Quadro RTX mobile in SPECviewperf https://www.notebookcheck.net/GeForce-RTX-2060-Laptop-vs-Quadro-RTX-3000-Laptop-vs-Quadro-RTX-3000-Max-Q_9581_9854_9884.247598.0.html I can't seem to easily find a Quadrp equivalent to TU116/TU117

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 2, 2020 at 4:45 pm

      Hi, thanks for the suggestion, I'll consider it for our next reviews. I'm trying to go into as much details as possible, but we're a very small team here and can't always include all the details and context.

      As for your last questions, a Quadro T1000 is the equivalent of a GTX 1650 as far as I remember.

  12. Wertzius

    July 7, 2020 at 10:29 am

    Nice review as always! Small mistake: Below the summary at the top you are saying it has a 100% AdobeRGb Display but it is only sRGB as you state correctly below.

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 7, 2020 at 10:35 am

      Thanks, corrected.

      • Kai Will

        July 7, 2020 at 7:06 pm

        Thank alot for this review.I just want to know which one should i buy legion 5 or tuf a15.If i pick a15 i will get 4800h+1650ti but for legion i will get only 4600h+1650.
        I'm worry for thermal issue that a15 always got 85~95°C on heavy test since i want to use this divice 3to5years.Pls give me advice
        which one should i buy for 3to5years.

        • Andrei Girbea

          July 7, 2020 at 7:31 pm

          i'll have an article comparing the 4800H + 1650 version of the A15 with the 4800H + 1650Ti version of the legion 5, most likely next week.

  13. R

    July 10, 2020 at 2:40 am

    Hi. I know you said avoid the 120hz screen. But i have a decent deal with the 120hz and i was wondering if you’ve had a chance to try it. Is it really that bad to avoid it? Thanks ;)

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 10, 2020 at 5:18 pm

      I haven't. Washed out colors are the main reason I'd avoid it

  14. Ibrahim Meru

    August 4, 2020 at 7:19 pm

    This is/was a really good review. I need a new laptop for general business work, but also need something decent which will handle my photo processing, and video rendering. Your review talks about gaming, but I am wondering if this will work well for photo and video processing. Your thoughts will be greatly appreciated.

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 4, 2020 at 7:48 pm

      should work fine with those apps, just make sure to get the 100 sRGB screen

  15. Evgenii

    August 8, 2020 at 7:51 am

    Andrei Girbea, thank you for the great review.
    This is laptop I'am looking for. Hope Lenovo start selling this laptop with more powerful graphic card soon (and hopefully the article will be updated!).
    And I have one question that is pretty important for using this machine as a versatile laptop – did Lenovo narrow the keyboard a lot? Fingers with a blind typing method immediately fell on the desired keys (little fingers did not miss the "delete" keys and did they confuse the key with the number 7, for example, with the key with the number 6?).

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 8, 2020 at 10:32 am

      the keys are the standard size, but the layout is slightly shifted to the left with the inclusion of the NUmPad section, and that could take some time to get used to

      • Evgenii

        August 8, 2020 at 2:59 pm

        Got it!
        Then this is not at all a critical inconvenience.

        Thank you, Andrei.

  16. tamal

    August 8, 2020 at 12:27 pm

    I'm happy to see that unlike Asus (with G14 and G15), Lenovo has not intentionally compromised the cooling solution. Desktop-like performance and Ultrabook-like battery life…finally some real progress for notebooks.
    Thanks for the nice reviews.

  17. Heckler

    August 9, 2020 at 10:49 pm

    Thanks for your great review.

    May I have a question about where did you purchase that Legion model?
    I'm in Germany and unable to find any Legion model with AMD cpu and good screen (meaning the model with AMD goes with 120Hz screen, only model with Intel goes with 144Hz screen).

  18. Laszlo

    August 18, 2020 at 2:40 am

    Hi,
    Thanks for the nice review!:)
    I just want to ask if you measured the 0 pwm or is it from another source? I'm thinking about going for the 60hz model and you are the only one who has that unit for review:)

  19. Donoven Clark

    September 14, 2020 at 1:11 am

    Typing on the Legion 5 now, the Ryzen 5 with the 1650TI, I must say for the price it's good $836 after tax. It has the same power as my Ryzen 5 2600 desktop I sold but less TDP but of course the gpu is a downside as my desktop had the RX5700. But this is much quieter and I can carry my workstation with me where ever I go which is a big plus. The rubber coating on my seems to be fine, I plan on babying it but I will say the hing has noticeable touch up paint.

    • Evgenii

      September 24, 2020 at 7:18 pm

      Donoven, are you typing with "blind 10-fingers method"? How good it is? It is comfort to type – are you enjoying it? Do you adapt quick for it's keyboard?

  20. Ojas

    September 24, 2020 at 2:26 am

    Can you tell me where you bought the laptop?

  21. Mahmoud

    September 26, 2020 at 7:52 pm

    Great review thanks! Actually I was looking for something with these specs and price especially 100% sRGB because I want my laptop for average rendering editing and every now and then gaming so I needed a balance but that GTX 1650 is worrying me plus in my region they don't come with OS I have to pay additional 130$ for Windows 10 home. I'm not a pro gamer and I rather playing major games(like RDR2 for example) on a gaming console and bigger screen TV: so how much should I consider this graphic model downside?
    Also do you suggest any alternatives with in this price range with 100 sRGB?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *