Real notebook reviews and analysis by real people

ASUS ZenBook S UX393EA review (Core i7-1165G7 Tiger Lake, 3:2 3K touchscreen)

16 Comments

  1. william blake

    October 1, 2020 at 1:36 am

    maybe its time for me to start recommend small ultrabooks to the people. i never was a big fan of a small machines with 16:9. its not a phone, you need height for all these menus and elements in windows.
    this screen is too good.
    cooling is the achilles heel still. 2k money/25w, what is so difficult to make it quiet, the solution is pretty obvious.

  2. David

    October 1, 2020 at 3:42 pm

    I understand this is a fine machine, but, honestly, I don't see myself buying something like this for around 2K when you can find excellent 16GB Ryzen machines at a little over 1K.

    You mean 2K for the 8GB version right? In your review? That's insane in my opinion, honestly.

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 1, 2020 at 3:56 pm

      It's 2K for the top-tier 16 GB model with 1 TB SSD, based on the little we know so far. That might change once this is listed in more shops.

  3. Jim

    November 17, 2020 at 6:54 pm

    Seems like Asus is really getting these new Tiger Lake models out fast!
    I wish Lenovo would do the same, a 28w Tiger Lake Thinkpad would be great.

  4. Efraim

    November 23, 2020 at 4:36 pm

    2000 EUR? what for? I couldn't even find it on Amazon.

  5. Kurt

    November 25, 2020 at 5:45 am

    Could you recommend me a 2-in-1 laptop with Ryzen 7, good keyboard, 12-14" 500 nit display (non-4K), and battery that will score 8hrs+ in your "browsing in Edge" test? My budget is $2.5k USD.

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 25, 2020 at 12:25 pm

      See this list. https://www.ultrabookreview.com/36030-amd-ryzen-7-4800u-laptops/ HP and Lenovo might offer what you want, although 500-nits might not be an option at this point.

      Also, aim for the largest battery possible, but 8+ hours in my browsing test is hard right now. I'm seeing an average of 8-10W per hour of used power for this test, so you'd need something with a 64-80 Wh battery for that kind of battery life. My test is a bit aggressive so you might end up with 8+ h with regular use, but that depends on what and how you're using your laptop.

  6. Kurt

    November 26, 2020 at 10:34 am

    Thank you so much for your help Andrei. I just tried out the Envy 13 x360 (R5 4500U) in an HP store and the keyboard felt too shallow and mushy compared to other laptops, although that may have been a bad unit. Yoga Slim 7 looked good until I realized it wasn't actually a convertible "Yoga"… So despite its short battery life, HP ProBook x360 435 (R7 4700U, FHD 400 nit) is my best bet – aaand they're out of stock in my country and in the USA.

    Still out of curiosity I did manage to find 5, relatively expensive 2-in-1 ultrabooks under 1.6kg with big batteries and good keyboard:
    1. HP EliteBook x360 1040 G7 – 78Wh, FHD 400, 1000 nits, UHD 550 nits (would be my pick), 1.4kg
    2. Dell Latitude 9410 – 78Wh, FHD 300 nits, 1.5kg
    3. Samsung Galaxy Book Flex 13 – 70Wh, FHD 600 nits, 1.2kg (not so good keyboard, but 16gb available in my country)
    4. Samsung Galaxy Book Flex 15 – 70Wh, FHD 600 nits, 1.55kg
    5. LG Gram 14 2-in-1 – 72Wh, FHD 350 nits, 1.2kg, 1.15kg

    Nice but they're Intel, and furthermore 9th Gen Comet-Lake apart from the Galaxy Books.
    I really want to buy Ryzen mobile not just for performance jump but simply out of principle and the spirit of supporting AMD as well.

    Therefore my best hope is that seeing as Lenovo just released Yoga 7i and 9i as "Intel" SKUs, there will be Ryzen 5800U Yoga 7,9a variants coming out in early 2021, fingers crossed. In the meantime, I'll order the Envy x360 13 and hope for a better keyboard than the display unit.

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 26, 2020 at 11:18 am

      Hi, that's quite some research!

      If you've decided for a Ryzen laptop, I'd also advise waiting a bit for Cezanne Ryzen U models to be announced earlier into 2021. No guarantee of top-tier designs, but fingers-crossed. Might take a while to see these in stores, though, probably around Spring, so up to you if you can wait that long.

      In the meantime, the current HP ProBook 635 Aero G7 or the Lenovo Yoga 6 could also be worth a look, even if they only get mid-sized batteries. That 635 is expensive, though, and the Yoga 6 is only 300-nits and might not be available everywhere.

      Finally, Intel 11th gen is not bad either imo. Ryzen still wins in multi-threaded CPU loads, but Intel Tiger Lake feels excellent with daily use and offers competitive integrated graphics, fast storage, Thunderbolt 4, etc. Careful though that Tiger Lake is highly dependent on the power-envelope, as manufacturers can implement the hardware at between 12 to 28W, with serious performance gains as they go up in power.

  7. Kurt

    November 26, 2020 at 12:35 pm

    Thank you again for all the tips, I really appreciate it!

  8. Zibi

    December 17, 2020 at 12:26 am

    I love everything about this laptop except the screen. Do you recommend to go for this one or stick with matte screens?

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 17, 2020 at 11:02 am

      depends on what you prefer. I'm a sucker for matte screens myself, but I can't recall any matte 3:2 options out there. Glare is what mostly bothers me with glossy screens, but should be fine as long as you don't nor ally use your laptop outdoors or in very bright environments. if you do, I'd go with a matte screen instead

  9. James Bennett

    December 26, 2020 at 2:44 pm

    Would you recommend the I5-1135G7 version of this? 8GB Ram and 512GB SSD.

    Currently available in the UK for £849

    Need a new thin laptop to replace the shambolic S730 Lenovo!

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 27, 2020 at 6:15 pm

      The i5 is a good processor for this class, but the question is, are 8 GB of RAM enough for your needs? Should suffice for daily multitasking and casual use, but heavier loads and even heavier Chrome sessions with 10+ tabs open at the same time might requite more memory

  10. Daniel

    January 18, 2021 at 11:31 pm

    Hey Andrei.

    The price has gone down quite nicely even with the 16gb/1tb model. The only thing i worry about is the battery life. Do you know if the retail piece is performing better in that sense or do i get 6 hours with 20 tabs open in chrome with this? and do you thinh lowering resolution could bring some more usage

    Thank you

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 19, 2021 at 11:56 am

      6 hours of lighter browsing should be possible here, although Chrome is a bit of a power hog and I haven't included it in my tests for a while.

      Lowering the resolution doesn't help, the number of screen pixels is fixed, just displayed differently when changing resolution. Lowering the brightness helps, though.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *